Congratulations to Mayo. What spirit! Nobody will want to play them in an All-Ireland semi-final. avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 03/08/2019 20:23:40 2220235 Link 3 |
Well done to mayo..an excited but poor game at times..jee donegal never turned up. I was so surprised considering how well they were going. Mcbrearty went down late on I hope he didn't tweak the knee.. ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 550 - 03/08/2019 20:25:17 2220237 Link 1 |
Well done Mayo. Done enough to win. Andy Moran still has it. Donegal did not play their best today and it must be a sore loss but they are still a great team. seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 03/08/2019 20:25:48 2220238 Link 1 |
Everybody are dead men walking. Nobody stands a chance against ye.
Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 03/08/2019 20:28:33 2220239 Link 4 |
Not a hope. We only have 10 Ulsters in our history. I wouldn't trade a single one of them. Today is a hard day to take, so was Ballybofey last year, but we have 2 Ulsters in our pocket and the young fellas will learn a hell of a lot from that game today. A dirty ol' day that needed smart play in the first half especially. Very disappointed but no doubt Mayo deserved winners. Onto Westport for the night now and I'll have the game dissected 100 times by midnight! JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 03/08/2019 20:28:40 2220240 Link 4 |
Donegal panicked with 20 min remaining really showed lack of experience ,Mayo well done Andy Moran brilliant hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 03/08/2019 20:33:46 2220244 Link 0 |
Great win for Mayo. Really enjoyed the contest, open game and end to end. Donegal failed to capitalise when they had Mayo on the ropes after the peno. Incredibly bad shot selection, even from Murphy and Paddy, really cost them. They really needed Murphy in the game a lot more. Pushing him inside, I know he won the peno, may have cost them as they were less industrious without him around the middle. Mcloughlin did a great job off the bench as did Moran, although a class act like him shouldn't have to resort to feigning injury which was a bit disappointing. If Mayo can bring that first half performance to the semi next week they will rattle either of Tyrone or Dublin. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 03/08/2019 20:34:52 2220245 Link 4 |
Well done Mayo shouldve had a few more green flags only for the keeper who made some decent saves. You can never write them off. They will probably be written off next weekend too. I would not be one bit surprised if they get to another final though regardless of next weekends opponents. fireinthebelly (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 03/08/2019 20:41:58 2220250 Link 1 |
he definitely should have got at least 1 yellow fouling constantly and it was a soft penalty lets be honest
mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 03/08/2019 20:44:43 2220252 Link 1 |
Mayo will take no stopping at all. As much as I would love to see them win an All Ireland, this is as good as it gets for them. They have squeezed as much as is possible to squeeze from this team and fair play to them -- both management and players -- for that. Best thing that can happen for the championship is that Dublin lose tomorrow (unlikely as that is to happen) against a weakened Tyrone...that way they will face their 2 most formidable opponents -- Kerry and Tyrone -- in the semis and final and really earn this last leg of the 5 in a row if they win it. Otherwise they will certainly beat Mayo and have only 1 of the 2 other possible winners of the All Ireland still left standing, to face in the final.
PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2011 - 03/08/2019 20:49:56 2220257 Link 1 |
Fair play and enjoy the evening Tis a mighty spot for the pints. Onwards and upwards next year. tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 03/08/2019 20:51:12 2220262 Link 2 |
Jesus Mayo, what do we have to do, there's 2 creatures that have survived everything nature has thrown at them (though for some reason admin would not allow me to name them) but anyway, I think we can add Mayo to the list. realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8744 - 03/08/2019 20:51:28 2220263 Link 5 |
Well done to Mayo. Still stuck in traffic but time to reflect. Mayo were the hungrier team in the first half but Bonnar should have known that our lads wouldn't be physical enough to carry the ball into contact in those conditions. We should have moved the ball when in space. The second half penalty was our lifeline but the bad wides by experienced players eventually cost us. Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 03/08/2019 20:53:48 2220264 Link 0 |
Said this earlier and got shot down for it. Constantly late into tackles and always mouthing to the ref. Good player but gets away far too muxh
kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 280 - 03/08/2019 21:02:37 2220269 Link 2 |
That's an easy question to ask in hindsight. We were poor today and fair lay to Mayo they pressured us to make us poor. Very proud of them though. A lot of the team are young and that was a big learning curve for those guys against a very experienced team. I would take an Ulster title all day long than a failed semi final against Dublin. Even if we got through we would be missing key players to give them a rattle, but I think all Donegal fans know we are not at their level. We might be in a few years. As good as Mayo's display was today. I don't think they will beat Dublin. So I don't how much will be gained in a few years time when we look back at it. The Ulster title will always be on the record books though. And would you take a Leinster title for Offaly. Of course you would? Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 03/08/2019 21:20:01 2220281 Link 0 |
Gutted. Absolutely gutted. No excuses, Mayo were the hungrier and better team on the day. Wish them all the best for next weekend in what will be a massive challenge against the Dubs. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9746 - 03/08/2019 21:21:27 2220283 Link 1 |
A big well done to an amazing Mayo team on a well deserved win. MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/08/2019 21:25:32 2220284 Link 0 |
Great game. carlovia (None) - Posts: 1536 - 03/08/2019 21:27:09 2220285 Link 0 |
Another spoofer exposed!!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/08/2019 21:27:13 2220286 Link 0 |
Congrats to Mayo, I remember saying after the league game that I would never right yee off and you've only gone and walked the walked. Big day out to look forward to next week. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4514 - 03/08/2019 21:35:56 2220291 Link 2 |