Limerick V Kilkenny

Replying To ke40:  "Brian Cody is a legend and is and will be forever the best manager in any sport! Limerick were out worked in the first 20 minutes and ultimately lost the game here. Kilkenny's tackling and hunger all over the field had Limerick all over the place. Limerick are a good team when defenders stand off them and they get plenty of time on the ball in Munster but today they met a team that fought for every ball from start to finish. TJ Reid while he didn't score from play could be found as much defending as attacking and his will to win every ball is savage. Fair enough Limerick can feel aggrieved over a deflected ball at the end but the penalty they got was generous enough and slowed down Gillane was holding Lawlors Hurl under his arm. I hope some of the Limerick supporters on here appreciate what they achieved last year, and bring some of them back down to earth after some of the cocky ness they were going on with on here. Cody is a master and he can slay any system and any manager in a short space of time, written off after the Leinster final and now back for another final."
Agreed! I'd have laughed if someone told me I wouldn't consider Bill Belichek the best coach who, like Cody get more from his players than he rightfully should expect or likely any other coach could. But what Brian's done since the mass exodus of many who are to be considered the best or close to anyone to play their position. It was one thing to achieve such heights w/a team the likes of we'll never see again. Making this AI Final, deflection or no, has cemented him far above his colleagues in any sport that I'm at all familiar with. He's something else.

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 02/08/2019 12:32:39    2219724

Replying To ballydalane:  "
Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

That said I do think it is just a matter of time before one county objects to a decision like that given the time, effort and money going into team preparation.

It is over now nonetheless and good luck to both teams in the final. Kilkenny and Tipp have been very consistent in the championship and are potentially 70 minutes away from glory. Enjoy the big day!

At least with an objection they'd be trying to do something about the result. To me, a "complaint" just comes across as petty and passive-aggressive by the Limerick county board. The ref, linesman and umpire didn't see the deflection. Maybe they should have, but they didn't. What exactly do Limerick want the GAA to do about it?"
I don't think both teams have been consistent. Tipp shot the lights out in the group stages but got hammered in the Munster final, were merely functional against Laois (I have a feeling they were going in third gear in that match), before pulling out all the stops against Wexford.

Kilkenny were no more than ok in the group stages. Looked in trouble in the first half v Dublin before coming good, nearly pulled out an unlikely draw at home v Galway, battled hard for a draw away to Wexford. I thought we were awful in the Leinster final. I wouldn't have put bad money on us getting past the QFs that evening. The team and management shipped a lot of criticism in the county after that match and maybe that's served as a motivational factor and helped focused minds because the subsequent performances against Cork and Limerick were obviously massive improvements and took most people by surprise.

Still can't fully trust that defence though! If they can effectively shut down that Tipp forward line, then I might change my opinion of them!"
I am not been smart, but I do not belive that Tipp were trying their best in the Munster Final. They practically all had Munster medals and their eyes were on bigger fish IMHO. I also feel our lads would have preferred to have got out of Munster in Third place, rather than as championships. I firmly believed that that day in Thurles, they thought Cork woud beat Clare and that would give us an old firm Final and and we would have slipped nice and quietly on to meet a McDonagh Cup side like last year. I also just wonder about your own counties 'simple misses' in the last five minutes of the Leinster Final. They showed no signs of such wastefulness last Saturday anyway or indeed against Cork In both those latter games the wides tally was substantially reduced. That is what makes it very hard to predict between these sides. I thought your fullback line looked nervous and unsure for the first 20 minutes against Cork, but they have been rock solid since. I just think with lads coming back from injury etc your side can only improve and I feel ye will,albeit with great difficulty claim the major prize."]Ah man, you're not seriously suggesting Kilkenny's wides in the Leinster final were deliberate?"]I have KK since 1963,probably long long before your time and I do not think I ever saw them as wasteful.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 02/08/2019 12:33:13    2219725

Replying To katser:  "
Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

That said I do think it is just a matter of time before one county objects to a decision like that given the time, effort and money going into team preparation.

It is over now nonetheless and good luck to both teams in the final. Kilkenny and Tipp have been very consistent in the championship and are potentially 70 minutes away from glory. Enjoy the big day!

At least with an objection they'd be trying to do something about the result. To me, a "complaint" just comes across as petty and passive-aggressive by the Limerick county board. The ref, linesman and umpire didn't see the deflection. Maybe they should have, but they didn't. What exactly do Limerick want the GAA to do about it?"
I don't think both teams have been consistent. Tipp shot the lights out in the group stages but got hammered in the Munster final, were merely functional against Laois (I have a feeling they were going in third gear in that match), before pulling out all the stops against Wexford.

Kilkenny were no more than ok in the group stages. Looked in trouble in the first half v Dublin before coming good, nearly pulled out an unlikely draw at home v Galway, battled hard for a draw away to Wexford. I thought we were awful in the Leinster final. I wouldn't have put bad money on us getting past the QFs that evening. The team and management shipped a lot of criticism in the county after that match and maybe that's served as a motivational factor and helped focused minds because the subsequent performances against Cork and Limerick were obviously massive improvements and took most people by surprise.

Still can't fully trust that defence though! If they can effectively shut down that Tipp forward line, then I might change my opinion of them!"
I am not been smart, but I do not belive that Tipp were trying their best in the Munster Final. They practically all had Munster medals and their eyes were on bigger fish IMHO. I also feel our lads would have preferred to have got out of Munster in Third place, rather than as championships. I firmly believed that that day in Thurles, they thought Cork woud beat Clare and that would give us an old firm Final and and we would have slipped nice and quietly on to meet a McDonagh Cup side like last year. I also just wonder about your own counties 'simple misses' in the last five minutes of the Leinster Final. They showed no signs of such wastefulness last Saturday anyway or indeed against Cork In both those latter games the wides tally was substantially reduced. That is what makes it very hard to predict between these sides. I thought your fullback line looked nervous and unsure for the first 20 minutes against Cork, but they have been rock solid since. I just think with lads coming back from injury etc your side can only improve and I feel ye will,albeit with great difficulty claim the major prize."]For once I agree with you reference the Final, I also feel KK will win.
What's the advantage of finishing 3rd and slipping quietly on to play a McDonagh Cup side....your still going to end up playing the Provincial runner up in the Quarter Finals!!
I'm all for the direct route, win the Province and straight into Semi Final.
In fairness both Provincial Champions this year had lots of opportunities to win their Semi Finals and they bottled it!!"]Well at least we were not knocked out on the grounds of a pathetic, lethargic and third rate performance against Carlow.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 02/08/2019 12:34:56    2219727

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Heartbroken. We congratulate Kilkenny on their fine victory and wish them well in the final. What we will not do is
(1) Start saying that we did not hurl in the first 20 minutes. That was all because being KK the good team they are did not let us
(2) Start saying we would have won if Declan Hannon did not have to go off
(3) Start blaming the referee
(4) Start looking for John Kiely's head as a certain Glway poster did for Michael Donoghue's the day after last years final.
(5)Start complaining we were too tired- oh sorry- that the break between Munster Final and yesterday's game was too long.
What we will do is take our beating like men, acknowledge KK were a better team on the day, desist from belittling their achievement, and go back to the drawing board and go again.
As regards your comment about not supporting us, well we could not care less, we have thousands of loyal supporters both inside and outside our county.
BTW What are you heartbroken about? It is only a game and there are winners and losers."
A true sports fan. The kind you're not ashamed to be lumped together with. Good man. Great team w/a great management team. It's likely already happened, but I sure hope I don't hear calls for John Kiely to step down. The GAA has so little patience when it comes to managers. Class outfit all around who will be back & likely better than ever. Wides killed Lmk, it happens.

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 02/08/2019 12:58:20    2219740

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

I am not been smart, but I do not belive that Tipp were trying their best in the Munster Final. They practically all had Munster medals and their eyes were on bigger fish IMHO. I also feel our lads would have preferred to have got out of Munster in Third place, rather than as championships. I firmly believed that that day in Thurles, they thought Cork woud beat Clare and that would give us an old firm Final and and we would have slipped nice and quietly on to meet a McDonagh Cup side like last year. I also just wonder about your own counties 'simple misses' in the last five minutes of the Leinster Final. They showed no signs of such wastefulness last Saturday anyway or indeed against Cork In both those latter games the wides tally was substantially reduced. That is what makes it very hard to predict between these sides. I thought your fullback line looked nervous and unsure for the first 20 minutes against Cork, but they have been rock solid since. I just think with lads coming back from injury etc your side can only improve and I feel ye will,albeit with great difficulty claim the major prize."]For once I agree with you reference the Final, I also feel KK will win.
What's the advantage of finishing 3rd and slipping quietly on to play a McDonagh Cup side....your still going to end up playing the Provincial runner up in the Quarter Finals!!
In fairness both Provincial Champions this year had lots of opportunities to win their Semi Finals and they bottled it!!"]Well at least we were not knocked out on the grounds of a pathetic, lethargic and third rate performance against Carlow."]Yer out and Galway out, if my aunt had balls she be my uncle, opinions are like backsides everyone has one. Oldtourman it's time for us all to stop with the ifs and buts. Looking forward to next year Gaillimh ABU

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 02/08/2019 13:45:34    2219761

Replying To heartbroken:  "
Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

In fairness both Provincial Champions this year had lots of opportunities to win their Semi Finals and they bottled it!!"]Well at least we were not knocked out on the grounds of a pathetic, lethargic and third rate performance against Carlow."]Yer out and Galway out, if my aunt had balls she be my uncle, opinions are like backsides everyone has one. Oldtourman it's time for us all to stop with the ifs and buts. Looking forward to next year Gaillimh ABU"]You should tell that to Katser. The remark was not directed at you my friend

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 02/08/2019 13:56:23    2219765

Replying To Gowran_Yank:  "A true sports fan. The kind you're not ashamed to be lumped together with. Good man. Great team w/a great management team. It's likely already happened, but I sure hope I don't hear calls for John Kiely to step down. The GAA has so little patience when it comes to managers. Class outfit all around who will be back & likely better than ever. Wides killed Lmk, it happens."
Thanks Gowran

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 02/08/2019 13:58:14    2219766

Replying To katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

In fairness both Provincial Champions this year had lots of opportunities to win their Semi Finals and they bottled it!!"]Well at least we were not knocked out on the grounds of a pathetic, lethargic and third rate performance against Carlow."]It was really the last group game that finished us!
I'm just giving my opinion of what I saw in the All Ireland Semi Finals and LK blew it! and now all of a sudden your saying...oh pitty we didn't win the Munster Title and sleder and sneek in the backdoor as 3rd place team like last year.
Well you can do that next year 2020!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 02/08/2019 14:36:45    2219783

Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

In fairness both Provincial Champions this year had lots of opportunities to win their Semi Finals and they bottled it!!"]Well at least we were not knocked out on the grounds of a pathetic, lethargic and third rate performance against Carlow."]It was really the last group game that finished us!
I'm just giving my opinion of what I saw in the All Ireland Semi Finals and LK blew it! and now all of a sudden your saying...oh pitty we didn't win the Munster Title and sleder and sneek in the backdoor as 3rd place team like last year.
Well you can do that next year 2020!"]Your opinion can't be taken seriously because of the inane shite that you've posted consistently and bizarrely about limerick over the last year or so.
You've become a parody.

So I'm surprised that I find myself agreeing with you this time..
we blew it against Kilkenny. They were excellent on the day and playing poorly enough we could have got over the line.

Thing is Kathy, if you want to have a constructive conversation about hurling try and troll less..
You'll be surprised at the results.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 02/08/2019 15:12:28    2219797

Replying To skillet:  "
Replying To katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

Well you can do that next year 2020!"]Your opinion can't be taken seriously because of the inane shite that you've posted consistently and bizarrely about limerick over the last year or so.
You've become a parody.

we blew it against Kilkenny. They were excellent on the day and playing poorly enough we could have got over the line.

Thing is Kathy, if you want to have a constructive conversation about hurling try and troll less..
You'll be surprised at the results."]Thank you for your cooperation that's all I wanted to hear...ye blew it!! Funny thing is ye would have hammered Tipp in the Final!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 02/08/2019 15:42:06    2219808

Replying To katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

You've become a parody.

You'll be surprised at the results."]If it walks like a troll, looks like a troll and squaks like a troll then , well, you guessed it.
Thing is , if you go to the bother of trying to explain anything to these eejits it's a waste of time and you're just giving them something to post more scutter about.
You can't help someone who doesn't want to be helped.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/08/2019 16:00:30    2219811

You've become a parody.

You'll be surprised at the results."]I tried to have an adult discussion with him on a few occasions- it is just pointless. As and from now I will just not respond to anything he posts. Over and out.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 02/08/2019 16:08:43    2219815

Replying To skillet:  "[quote=katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

You've become a parody.

You'll be surprised at the results."]Thank you for your cooperation that's all I wanted to hear...ye blew it!! Funny thing is ye would have hammered Tipp in the Final!!!"]Is this the same Tipp team that you had pegged to hammer us in the Munster final?

Like I said. Try and troll less..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 02/08/2019 16:19:16    2219819

The quote function has gone to s***e on this thread, I don't know who's replying to who anymore!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 02/08/2019 23:53:24    2219941

Replying To skillet:  "[quote=katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

You've become a parody.

You'll be surprised at the results."]I tried to have an adult discussion with him on a few occasions- it is just pointless. As and from now I will just not respond to anything he posts. Over and out."]Over and out.....like LK in the Semi Final!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 03/08/2019 10:26:39    2219999

Replying To katser:  "[quote=skillet:  "[quote=katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=katser:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=ballydalane:  "[quote=slayer:  "After the 2013 Minor Semi Final I don't think the Limerick County Board would want to go down the road of an objection. I think they called it right. They have to represent the players and Management but objecting is not the done thing unless a team plays an illegal player.

You've become a parody.

You'll be surprised at the results."]Thank you for your cooperation that's all I wanted to hear...ye blew it!! Funny thing is ye would have hammered Tipp in the Final!!!"]Is this the same Tipp team that you had pegged to hammer us in the Munster final?

Like I said. Try and troll less.."]I'm going to say the unthinkable...... LK name was on the All Ireland this year, what a great chance to win 2 in a row and that's coming from your No 1 fan!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 03/08/2019 10:29:34    2220000

Couldn't agree more BD: total shambles of a set-up, even when it works. And God help is all when someone replies to a long post that was in turn replying to a long post; you end up not knowing where one comment ends and the other begins: case in point, just look at that lúdramáns post above mine. Total dogs dinner.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 03/08/2019 15:28:43    2220086

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "Great contribution when you don't have an argument ......or don't agree what's your default ? School yard humour fair play pal NEXT"
Hey Katser, go away

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 04/08/2019 12:40:18    2220549

Replying To Gowran_Yank:  "Hey Katser, go away"
Your not in the U.S now..stick to the baseball!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 04/08/2019 13:36:18    2220582

Replying To Gowran_Yank:  "Hey Katser, go away"
If only it was that easy.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 04/08/2019 14:24:11    2220601