Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

shocking stuff....what a rubbish game...dublin supporters leaving when they are 15 mins away from WINNING a Leinster final...where else would you find it?..the monster has indeed been created

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 23/06/2019 17:24:57    2199094

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The Association should take a long hard look, this is the future of Gaelic football and the game will die if drastic action isn't taken. The crowds are staying away and people are bored stiff now. Turgid, turgid rubbish but you can't blame Meath who just want to keep the score down. The GAA have created a monster in Dublin that they can't, or more likely don't want to control. The game is dying a death."
All the "money", "unfair funding", "population" cannot be blamed for a team not having the ability to kick very scorable chances and frees. Meath shooting is shocking and adds weight to the GAA's view of counties looking at their own coaching of basic skills. Today's match shows something beyond "unfairness" is an issue in Leinster. Cutting Dublin's €1.3million will not result in other teams having the basic skills to compete overnight. What has happened a big, successful, traditional county like Meath? I'm afraid the GAA are correct when questioning coaching practices in some counties. You cannot blame Dublin for this!

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 23/06/2019 17:26:40    2199097

Utterly pathetic performance from Meath. I think they may reevaluate their opinion of themselves after that. Obviously put everything into the league when teams weren't at full throttle

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 23/06/2019 17:27:43    2199099

Replying To Whammo86:  "How do you say something like that? Dublin hammered Kildare in the semifinals."
Kildare "only" lost by 15 points and at least we scored 11 points.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 23/06/2019 17:34:35    2199105

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The Association should take a long hard look, this is the future of Gaelic football and the game will die if drastic action isn't taken. The crowds are staying away and people are bored stiff now. Turgid, turgid rubbish but you can't blame Meath who just want to keep the score down. The GAA have created a monster in Dublin that they can't, or more likely don't want to control. The game is dying a death."
You could at least attribute some sort of blame to whoever in the meath setup picks the shooting drills at training

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 23/06/2019 17:34:58    2199106

I think I justified not attending. Most meath fans stayed away too. I presume the GAA will provide meath with 1.5m a year in funding now. We need it more then Dublin.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 23/06/2019 17:35:16    2199107

Any chance Jim Gavin fancies a challenge in Ireland's 2nd city? Even he must be getting bored at this stage

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 23/06/2019 17:35:32    2199108

Jaysus that was a poor match. Dubs at a canter

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 23/06/2019 17:37:41    2199111

Well, congratulations Dublin, I suppose. Not much to celebrate from that game, but you can only play the team on front of you. Meath were tragic.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 23/06/2019 17:37:42    2199112

Meath are pathetic- Absolutely useless To only score 4 points against The dubs in second gear - London would have done better.

FrankAnnyalla (Monaghan) - Posts: 339 - 23/06/2019 17:38:08    2199115

Another nail in the coffin of Gaelic football.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 23/06/2019 17:39:06    2199118

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I think I justified not attending. Most meath fans stayed away too. I presume the GAA will provide meath with 1.5m a year in funding now. We need it more then Dublin."
Shame on you Jack, abandoning our lads.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/06/2019 17:39:36    2199120

The scoreline doesn't tell the full story. Meath actually matched Dublin for long periods of that game, just couldn't score. Every wide flattened the belief further, can't get anything going when you can't hit a barn door. Woeful shooting from very score-able positions. 4 out of 21 chances taken.

It's a psychology ingrained in this team for the past few years. When the chips are down, Meath wilt, and no leader stands out to drive the team. Cruising against Donegal, collapse. Had Tyrone beaten last year, collapse. Same story for years. Have the players, can cut out alot of Dublin's a attacks, can match them in open play for long periods, but no leaders to stand up to the occasion when the pressure comes on

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 23/06/2019 17:40:17    2199123

Well done to the Dubs, fabolous team in fairness, I think we were a bit nervous and left the kicking boots on the bus but we'll learn from it.

Dubs are well deserved winners, a joy to watch, well done.

I think we can rebound though and I'll be there the next day shouting the boys on. UP DA ROYAL!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/06/2019 17:43:13    2199126

Replying To jimski:  "Kildare "only" lost by 15 points and at least we scored 11 points."
Oh right, do you want a medal for being Leinster's "second best team"? Kildare were beaten from the first minute. Meath acquitted themselves far better than Kildare over 70 minutes in open play, just the shooting was turgid.

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 23/06/2019 17:43:30    2199127

Forwards really let us down. Such poor finishing.

Dublin just cruising. Fenton really should been black carded for the hand trip as Jones went through on goal. And Mannion's Neymar theatrics at the start were a bit disappointing.

Just depressing. Suppose we just need more volunteers and then everything will be fine.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 23/06/2019 17:46:11    2199130

Well done Dublin. Most unlike ye in the first half though. Meath were an absolute joke. There is no excuse for how bad they were in front of the posts today. You cannot blame Dublin or anyone else on that. Well you can but it would be complete deflection and not addressing your own inadequacies of which you have plenty.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/06/2019 17:47:55    2199131

Didn't think Meath could be as bad as that.

McEntee liooked stunned at the end.

Hard to see Meath recover from that

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 23/06/2019 17:48:23    2199132

Replying To JJ1:  "Utterly pathetic performance from Meath. I think they may reevaluate their opinion of themselves after that. Obviously put everything into the league when teams weren't at full throttle"
Looks that way alright, Offaly should have beaten them in the first round. Today was embarrassing to watch no matter who they playing and Dublin were even off colour today.

They look like the worst of the provincial finalists.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 23/06/2019 17:48:29    2199133

Replying To jimski:  "Kildare "only" lost by 15 points and at least we scored 11 points."
Race to the bottom lad, you either win or lose, no pride in the margin of loss!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/06/2019 17:51:01    2199134