PENALTY -
(i) Cancel free kick.
(ii) Throw in the ball where the original
foul occurred except as provided
under Exception (v) of Rule 2.2.
(iii) Apply any other relevant penalty of
Rule 5.

It does not say it has to be the person fouled. Its any player."
I would dispute that, though I'm not saying you're wrong - its just my opinion on the matter. Maybe that's the issue with the rule - its open to interpretation from different people reading the same thing and so can be applied differently by different people, referees in this case. Its the inconsistency that really annoys players and supporters so maybe the rule (and similar others) should be locked down in wording so that everyone interprets it the same way. I'm sure that refs are appropriately coached and you'd imagine that this topic would have come up at some stage and, yet, refs are still making inconsistent decisions here.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 15/02/2019 10:15:30    2165442

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "I didn't see the incident in question but a throw in is only awarded if the fouled player retaliated (rule 5.40). If a 3rd man comes in, the incident is dealt with based on the merit of the infraction (i.e. a yellow / black / red card should be issued) but the original free should stand. It sounds like, in the case described above, the ref should not have thrown the ball in if the original player didn't retaliate."
Same as Donie Vaughan incident in the All Ireland final...Vaughan was the 3rd man in and retaliated ref then overturned the original free awarded...don't think it has to be the player fouled who has to retaliate for the free to be overturned...Morgan made a meal of it.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 15/02/2019 11:02:00    2165451

Replying To reffingmad:  "Player has to take responsibility for his actions. However I would question the ref for throwing in the ball. On two previous occasions in the game after frees were awarded there was pushing and shoving and the free was not lost."
Agree with this. I know it was extremely fustratating for the Ros supporters but the ref went by the book and was correct. Player has to learn and will. If he goes out and does the same thing next week you would have to take action. it was just a rush of bllod to head, we have all done it.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 15/02/2019 13:31:20    2165480

Replying To rahillyman:  "How was Morgan the Hero? failed to attack ball for Roscomon goal I always believed a Goalkeepers job was to prevent goals. As for Tyrone dont get me started players being hamstrung by the same system which hasnt worked we need a change and soon our sideline is long past its sell by date #timeforchange"
He's back!!!!!!!

It's been a long time rahillyman........

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 15/02/2019 13:32:55    2165482

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Agree with this. I know it was extremely fustratating for the Ros supporters but the ref went by the book and was correct. Player has to learn and will. If he goes out and does the same thing next week you would have to take action. it was just a rush of bllod to head, we have all done it."
ignoring the main point he made? "On two previous occasions in the game after frees were awarded there was pushing and shoving and the free was not lost."

What players and supporters need to see is some consistency from officials and BTW Morgan knew what he was at when he put his knees down on Gary Patterson, the dive from the light push was ridiculous. Its done now I just hope that point taken away from us doesn't prove costly.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 15/02/2019 17:00:23    2165538

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "ignoring the main point he made? "On two previous occasions in the game after frees were awarded there was pushing and shoving and the free was not lost."

What players and supporters need to see is some consistency from officials and BTW Morgan knew what he was at when he put his knees down on Gary Patterson, the dive from the light push was ridiculous. Its done now I just hope that point taken away from us doesn't prove costly."
Look I am a big Ros Fan but there was "no point taken away" from you, this is absurd. The ref. was right, Ros threw away the point due to a mad decision by Harney, omg.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 15/02/2019 19:00:05    2165555

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Look I am a big Ros Fan but there was "no point taken away" from you, this is absurd. The ref. was right, Ros threw away the point due to a mad decision by Harney, omg."
100%
If Harney was more disciplined and didn't react stupidly Ros would have tapped over the free and won. Even if Morgan did make more of it than it was, Harney should never have reacted and ultimately cost his team. Stop whinging and focus on the Cavan game now.

tribesman125 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 15/02/2019 19:47:20    2165561

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Look I am a big Ros Fan but there was "no point taken away" from you, this is absurd. The ref. was right, Ros threw away the point due to a mad decision by Harney, omg."
A point was taken away, a tap over free to win the game was earned with a great piece of play and was then overturned.

Morgan put his knee into Patterson after we won the free, Ultan should not have got involved but its what Morgan did that got it overturned, he went about to seek a reaction and once he got it he made the most of a light push and another ref wouldn't have fell for that play acting and it shouldn't be forgotten the same ref on the day allowed a few Tyrone frees to stand after our players were pushed over after Tyrone frees were given.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 15/02/2019 19:47:44    2165562

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "A point was taken away, a tap over free to win the game was earned with a great piece of play and was then overturned.

Morgan put his knee into Patterson after we won the free, Ultan should not have got involved but its what Morgan did that got it overturned, he went about to seek a reaction and once he got it he made the most of a light push and another ref wouldn't have fell for that play acting and it shouldn't be forgotten the same ref on the day allowed a few Tyrone frees to stand after our players were pushed over after Tyrone frees were given."
That stupid push cost Roscommon the game and if they lose in Cavan this Sunday, probably gets them relegated.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 18/02/2019 16:34:14    2166178

Lads will ye stop whinging it's in our own hands, the games that are over are in the past.
Lets just get on with it.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 18/02/2019 18:15:05    2166201

Replying To FootblockREF:  "That stupid push cost Roscommon the game and if they lose in Cavan this Sunday, probably gets them relegated."
The lazy analysis would be to blame Ultan Harney when he was lured in by a Tyrone keeper that "earned" a point for his side through his actions. Ultan had a fine game against Tyrone scored 1-1 and without him we probably would have lost and he also played a huge role in the win against Monaghan.

As already said its in our own hands to stay up and what happens in our remaining games will decide our faith.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 19/02/2019 17:44:44    2166413

I will go with wins for the Dubs, Tyrone, Kerry and Roscommon.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 20/02/2019 12:25:22    2166530

Mayo, Tyrone, Galway & Cavan.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 20/02/2019 13:09:37    2166542

Dublin, Tyrone & Monaghan to draw, Kerry and Cavan

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 20/02/2019 13:31:04    2166554

Dublin Monaghan Kerry & Cavan

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 20/02/2019 16:18:16    2166605

Dublin Monaghan Kerry Roscommon

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/02/2019 16:44:48    2166616

Mayo, Galway, Cavan and Tyrone all to win in NFL Round 4.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2194 - 20/02/2019 18:53:23    2166644

Dublin Kerry Roscommon Monaghan

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 20/02/2019 19:39:26    2166658

Dublin, Galway, Roscommon, Monaghan.

Itoldyouso (Roscommon) - Posts: 40 - 20/02/2019 21:16:55    2166679

Dublin, Galway, Tyrone, Roscommon

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 20/02/2019 21:26:41    2166684