NFL Division 1

Replying To katser:  "Kerry, Mayo, Roscommon and Galway all to win in Round 3 NFL"
Just Roscommon's draw let me down for the clean sweep!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 10/02/2019 15:53:51    2164042

Replying To katser:  "Just Roscommon's draw let me down for the clean sweep!!"
Fair play to you. Many incl. majority of us Galwegians did not see that coming in Inishkeen.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 10/02/2019 17:06:46    2164120

Replying To katser:  "Just Roscommon's draw let me down for the clean sweep!!"
Hard luck but you may blame the ref for that Ros far the best team. Tyrone only scoring 1.03 from play & there goal was very fortunate a miss kicked attempt for a point.

Itoldyouso (Roscommon) - Posts: 40 - 10/02/2019 17:07:01    2164121

Replying To Itoldyouso:  "Hard luck but you may blame the ref for that Ros far the best team. Tyrone only scoring 1.03 from play & there goal was very fortunate a miss kicked attempt for a point."
Blame the Roscommon player who retaliated,free in front of goal to win match

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 10/02/2019 17:38:24    2164131

Roscommon really should have won that, Tyrone were horrible again, flat and devoid of ideas. Getting a point from that will do fine. We were second best all day . Morgan was hero today .

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 10/02/2019 17:47:18    2164139

Replying To Itoldyouso:  "Hard luck but you may blame the ref for that Ros far the best team. Tyrone only scoring 1.03 from play & there goal was very fortunate a miss kicked attempt for a point."
I think it could be a Ulster dogfight for the drop between Cavan, Monaghan and Tyrone and maybe the Jacks too in that mix if they loose a few more games!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 10/02/2019 19:03:38    2164192

Replying To mooncat:  "Blame the Roscommon player who retaliated,free in front of goal to win match"
Player has to take responsibility for his actions. However I would question the ref for throwing in the ball. On two previous occasions in the game after frees were awarded there was pushing and shoving and the free was not lost.

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 10/02/2019 22:20:50    2164320

Replying To mooncat:  "Blame the Roscommon player who retaliated,free in front of goal to win match"
100% correct, nobody but himself to blame, unfortunately. Let his team down but I'm sure he will learn, apart from that incident he was very good.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 10/02/2019 23:00:24    2164333

Replying To reffingmad:  "Player has to take responsibility for his actions. However I would question the ref for throwing in the ball. On two previous occasions in the game after frees were awarded there was pushing and shoving and the free was not lost."
The in consistency of referees is terrible.
At the monaghan game yesterday some decisions were mind blowing for both teams. If anything we may have got a few rediclous frees. But just the inconistiance of there rules . If they were constantly bad at least a player would know what he will give and what he won't. It's very frustrating to watch .

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 11/02/2019 09:16:07    2164392

Replying To reffingmad:  "Player has to take responsibility for his actions. However I would question the ref for throwing in the ball. On two previous occasions in the game after frees were awarded there was pushing and shoving and the free was not lost."
The ref had no choice. He barged in and shoved Morgan to the ground. Harney wasn't even involved in the action that led to the free, so as the 3rd man in, it was a clear hop-ball.
It happens in plenty games, this one will just get highlighted more as it cost Roscommon the win.
I'm sure he'll be more annoyed at his actions than anyone and he'll learn from it.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 11/02/2019 09:16:08    2164393

Replying To WanPintWin:  "The ref had no choice. He barged in and shoved Morgan to the ground. Harney wasn't even involved in the action that led to the free, so as the 3rd man in, it was a clear hop-ball.
It happens in plenty games, this one will just get highlighted more as it cost Roscommon the win.
I'm sure he'll be more annoyed at his actions than anyone and he'll learn from it."
I didn't see the incident in question but a throw in is only awarded if the fouled player retaliated (rule 5.40). If a 3rd man comes in, the incident is dealt with based on the merit of the infraction (i.e. a yellow / black / red card should be issued) but the original free should stand. It sounds like, in the case described above, the ref should not have thrown the ball in if the original player didn't retaliate.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 11/02/2019 10:34:14    2164435

Replying To Game2Halves:  "Roscommon really should have won that, Tyrone were horrible again, flat and devoid of ideas. Getting a point from that will do fine. We were second best all day . Morgan was hero today ."
How was Morgan the Hero? failed to attack ball for Roscomon goal I always believed a Goalkeepers job was to prevent goals. As for Tyrone dont get me started players being hamstrung by the same system which hasnt worked we need a change and soon our sideline is long past its sell by date #timeforchange

rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 11/02/2019 10:36:51    2164437

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "I didn't see the incident in question but a throw in is only awarded if the fouled player retaliated (rule 5.40). If a 3rd man comes in, the incident is dealt with based on the merit of the infraction (i.e. a yellow / black / red card should be issued) but the original free should stand. It sounds like, in the case described above, the ref should not have thrown the ball in if the original player didn't retaliate."
Well if your correct (and you do seem to know your stuff) it is just another example of referees not knowing and implementing the full rules. Referees need to tighten up there own game . It's a thankless job and I hate giving out about them but they bring a lot on themselves .

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 11/02/2019 16:52:04    2164613

Replying To WanPintWin:  "The ref had no choice. He barged in and shoved Morgan to the ground. Harney wasn't even involved in the action that led to the free, so as the 3rd man in, it was a clear hop-ball.
I'm sure he'll be more annoyed at his actions than anyone and he'll learn from it."
I just highlighted the inconsistencies of the referee and how he dealt with similar incidents. If he deemed player as 3rd man in he should have carded him. Morgan was actually 3rd man and the aggressor in this incident

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 11/02/2019 18:34:39    2164641

It's a costly lesson for Harney, which I hope he takes on board. What Morgan did was nasty (I remember Fermanagh's McCluskey getting a red card for a similar action in a c'ship game against Monaghan a few years ago) but it should have been left to the ref to deal with. Harney was in the wrong and it would appear that the ref made a mistake. The game is over so it's time to learn lessons and move on.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 11/02/2019 22:35:43    2164711

It's over lads, on to the next games.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 11/02/2019 23:18:31    2164717

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "I didn't see the incident in question but a throw in is only awarded if the fouled player retaliated (rule 5.40). If a 3rd man comes in, the incident is dealt with based on the merit of the infraction (i.e. a yellow / black / red card should be issued) but the original free should stand. It sounds like, in the case described above, the ref should not have thrown the ball in if the original player didn't retaliate."
5.27 For a player to retaliate between the award of
a free kick to his team and the free kick being
taken.
PENALTY -
(i) Cancel free kick.
(ii) Throw in the ball where the original
foul occurred except as provided
under Exception (v) of Rule 2.2.
(iii) Apply any other relevant penalty of
Rule 5.

It does not say it has to be the person fouled. Its any player.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 13/02/2019 21:41:30    2165213

Here are my predictions as to how league will end
Kerry
Mayo
Dublin
Roscommon
Galway
Tyrone
Monaghan
Cavan

Crossgaa (Mayo) - Posts: 553 - 13/02/2019 22:28:17    2165220

Replying To Chops:  "5.27 For a player to retaliate between the award of
a free kick to his team and the free kick being
taken.
PENALTY -
(i) Cancel free kick.
(ii) Throw in the ball where the original
foul occurred except as provided
under Exception (v) of Rule 2.2.
(iii) Apply any other relevant penalty of
Rule 5.

It does not say it has to be the person fouled. Its any player."
Not trying to be smart but can you actually 'retaliate' if nothing has happened to you personally?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 14/02/2019 22:13:08    2165411

Replying To neverright:  "Not trying to be smart but can you actually 'retaliate' if nothing has happened to you personally?"
haha ;)

You can of course. . .how many times in conflicts, for example, has someone acted in retaliation to an act which didn't involve themselves personally. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 15/02/2019 08:22:41    2165429