Hogan Cup Final Preview

April 01, 2010
Hogan Cup Final Preview -
St Colman's College Newry v St Brendan's Killarney
Saturday 10th April 2010
Snippets
Edited by Rónán Mc Mahon

St Colman's Prepare For Hogan Cup Final

St Colman's College Newry is preparing for an All Ireland Hogan Cup Final for the first time since 1998, which for the Violet Hill fraternity, was much too long a stay in Hogan Cup wilderness.

The legacy left by Ray Morgan and Peter Mc Grath

In 1998 the Violet Hill College was managed and coached by Ray Morgan and Peter Mc Grath. Both managers have since moved on from the teaching staff but have far from been forgotten. Their names and faces adorn the walls of St Colman's, a privilege afforded only to managers who succeed in annexing the coveted Hogan Cup title. Ray and Pete managed 5 Hogan Cup winning teams (1975, 1986, 1988, 1993, 1998) in an era of unrivalled footballing dominance in Ulster for Violet Hill. St Colman's record of national titles is surpassed only by St. Jarlath's Tuam who have amassed 12 titles. (St Brendan's Killarney have won 2 Hogan cups - 1969, 1992)

Mr Cathal Murray (Manager)

A new order has emerged in St Colman's at MacRory Cup level with past pupil and Hogan (when Rannafast Cup winners graduated to All Ireland pursuit), Sigerson (Ranch, 1989) and Senior All Ireland winning player (Down, 1991) Cathal Murray chief in command.

This term Mr Murray has passed an important milestone for him, winning a Mac Rory Cup in a managerial capacity for the first time. The Clonduff GAC man would be quick to point out that despite the welcomed success, for this team a Mac Rory Cup is simply not enough. All involved will not rest easy until Corn Uí Ógáin makes a return to the hallowed halls where it has resided six times previously.

Mr Murray has the ability to draw on a wealth of playing experience at Senior level and surely this vast experience allows him to understand the psychology of the player in the heat of competition. Cathal can also be proud of steering players such as Martin Clarke and James Colgan when he taught in St Louis Grammar Kilkeel, who he took to a MacRory Final in 2005.

Cathal has enjoyed the experience of working with this team and points to a few new initiatives this year as being pivotal to the success of the panel. 'No stone has been left unturned. In early October the boys started a weight training programme which was tailored for their individual needs. I also insisted that they use the ice baths immediately after training and was entirely grateful for the help of my former pupil and now close friend Martin Clarke who kept us up to date on best physiological practice in training and in competition.

Former Collingwood and current Down star Martin Clarke has not forgotten or does not underestimate the impact Mr Murray has had on his career. 'Cathal Murray is great football manager. He knows his players inside out and uses this to create an appropriate game plan. I loved playing under him because he wanted the team to win as much as the players did. It was under Cathal that I and many of my team mates at St. Louis began to mature as players. This St. Colmans team are visibly growing with every game under Cathal. I've no doubt they are well enough prepared to win the Hogan. Good luck lads.'

Mr Murray also thanks the school for their support. 'We are especially thankful to everyone in the College for their help in preparing teams. We were well looked after all year and anything we needed, to prepare the team adequately, was provided. I thank Canon Brown for his support and indeed Patrick Cullen (Catering Manager) for the time and effort he and his staff put in to preparing food for the team.'

The support from pupils has been outstanding this year, the blue army has travelled in mass throughout Ireland to support the team. This support could not have made it to the matches without the help of Ms Archer and her dedicated team who have given up so much free time to look after supporters on buses.

Mr Declan Mussen (Trainer)

At Master Murray's right hand side is another Violet Hill past pupil, Declan Mussen. Widely regarded as one of Ulster's finest coaches Declan has given a lifetime of service to the promotion of good football in Down. Declan firmly believes in striking the right balance between physical fitness demands and honing in on the development of core skills. Declan is also charged with the task of overseeing athletics within the school and has successfully guided the team to three Ulster and two All Ireland titles in the past 5 years.

From 2007 to 2009 Declan trained the Down Senior Panel and successfully guided the Mourne County to a Dr Mc Kenna Cup victory. Declan, alongside Ross Carr and St Colman's College Vice Principal Michael Doyle, brought Down's 2005 Minor team to an All Ireland Semi Final, narrowly beaten by eventual All Ireland winners Tyrone.

Liam Doyle, former Hogan Cup winning pupil with St Colman's is unreserved in his praise of Mr Mussen. 'I have been privileged to play under Declan and benefitted from his style of training. Rarely is training done without the ball, and all drills require speed of thought. I pitied the likes of Benny (Coulter) who likes to have a 5 minute nap in training as concentration is key to Declan's sessions. Anyone who has witnessed his training will testify to that.

A Semi Final victory for Declan's Hogan Cup players in Longford meant that he would see the best part of 6 months training bear the fruit it deserved and get the college one step closer to the Promised Land.

Declan is renowned for his unrivalled attention to detail, a feature of his training that has been valued immensely by players at Down Minor and Senior level. He currently trains Ballymacnab in Armagh who are preparing for an assault on Division 1 status.

Mr Barry Kelly (Coach)

Being Vice Principal of a College like St Colman's provides it's own challenges, indeed Mr Barry Kelly's Dunlops are rarely seen on the Downpatrick Road before dusk. A man with such a vast knowledge of the game could not be spared from having some involvement with teams in the College despite the heavy workload of the job.

Barry cut his Managerial cloth in Red High Downpatrick and in no small part helped nurture the talents of special players such current County men Paul Mc Comiskey and Connor Maginn as well as last year's Down captain Dan Gordon. Dan couldn't be more praiseworthy of his former master 'I would look at Mr Kelly as one of the most influential stakeholders in my development as a footballer and as an individual. Winning the Mc Larnon Cup under Mr Kelly in 2001 still ranks as one of my most significant and memorable feats as a player. I wish him good luck in the final.'

Mr Eamonn Mc Evoy (Coach)

The youngest member of the Management Team is Ballymartin man Eamonn Mc Evoy. Graduate of University College Dublin he represented the University at Fershers, Intermediate and Senior level while continuing to travel home consistently to training from Dublin during his Uni days and more recently from Coleraine in subsequent years whilst teaching in Loretto College.

Eamonn's Senior football career has spanned over 20 years and last year was full back when the club won only it's second championship at Intermediate level.

As a player Eamonn has always been a disciplined, conscientious trainer and has played out his career so far by focusing on consistent rehearsal of the basic skills of the game. Eamonn truly believes that discipline is key to success. Eamonn is son of the late Killeavy man Mal Mc Evoy who played for Armagh. Eamonn's father scored Armagh's goal in the 1953 All-Ireland final against Kerry and was also a member of the 1948 team that lost the junior All-Ireland.

Eamonn is keen to register his appreciation for the opportunities afforded to him by his colleagues in the MacRory and Hogan Management from whom he has learned much through both campaigns.

The MacRory boys trained in Tollymore and Castlewellan Forest Parks over Christmas last and the common denominator on these occasions was the sight of History and Politics Head Of Department leading the pack!

Team Effort

Other colleagues in the College can take some of the credit for the team's achievements so far this year. Cormac Sweeney and Michael Doyle Managed this team two years ago when the boys won the Rannafast Cup, defeating Omagh CBS in the final. Eamonn Mc Evoy trained the team that year so he knows very well just how the players tick at this stage.

Kevin Franklin, with the help of Rónán Mc Mahon has worked with most of this panel as well. Kevin and Rónán can be proud of their dedication to football in the College and certainly feel some ownership of the successes of the senior team as well. The St Peter's Warrenpoint men have quite a record at Corn na nÓg level, managing to take 3 teams to the last 4 finals, 2 of which were victorious.

Kevin's uncle Peter Rooney remarkably won a Hogan Cup and a Senior All Ireland with Down in the same year (1967/8) at the age of 18 while Rónán's late grand uncle Canon John Treanor was President of St Colman's and manager of the historic first Hogan Cup winning team in the same year.

Other teachers who invest time in training teams are Brendan Mc Ardle (Glenavy), Shane Keenan (Ballyholland) JP O'Hare (Mayobridge) and Michael Mc Laughlin (Kilcoo).

Team Captain

This group of MacRory Cup players has prepared impeccably and has been lead by an inspirational Captain Niall Mc Parland. An unassuming and modest student who embodies all the ideals that Master Murray demands of his players. He is a grafter, who goes about his schoolwork with the same aplomb that he goes about his work between the white lines.

Niall is a graduate of an underage academy in John Martin's Glenn which has also churned out the auspicious talents of Liam Bagnall (currently employed at Sunderland and Rannafast Winner with St Colman's in 2008) and indeed Shay Mc Cartan (son of John Mc Cartan) winner of a Corn Na nÓg title in 2008 and a vital cog in St Colman's Mac Rory team set up. Shay is heading to Burnley to take up an apprenticeship with the Premier League Club in July.

Niall is looking forward to the challenge on April 10th and understands that he is on the verge of joining an exclusive club of only 6 members so far - that is, St Colman's Hogan Cup winning captains.

St Colman's Embraces New Faces

St Colman's College has always embraced pupils who want to combine both academic and sporting pursuits in Violet Hill. For 2 young pupils their decision to move to Armagh road has also proven to be the right decision.

Caolan Mooney (Rostrevor) is well respected among former class mates and indeed teachers in his former school St Mark's and is widely regarded for his total discipline in preparing for competition.

Caolan is understandably still loyal to his former contemporaries and values dearly the tuition he received in Warrenpoint. On his own graduation as a footballer to inter county and Hogan Cup level Caolan points to the guidance of former mentor Barney Mc Aleenan as being the person who gave him his first big chance. 'I was picked for the 5th year team in third year and this meant a lot to me. I see it as my first big break and will always remember Master Mc Aleenan in appreciation of that.

Caolan is enjoying ICT and construction A Levels, which the College afforded him the opportunity to do.

Chris Clarke (Centre half Forward) (Bryansford) is another lad who made the transition to St Colman's (Chris studied formerly at Red High Downpatrick) to pursue studies and has enjoyed the experience in Newry so far. He was attracted to the College first and foremost because of the great reputation that the PE A-Level course in the College commands. Chris' ultimate goal is to study Physiotherapy at 3rd Level so PE at A-Level was a natural choice. Chris is a popular member of the panel. He may not say a lot but when he does it is well worth paying attention to!

Family Ties

Colin Stevenson (Right Corner Forward) is nephew of Canon Liam Stevenson who is currently Parish Priest in Banbridge. Canon Stevenson was President of St Colman's when the coveted trophy made it's way to the College in 1998. Colin plays for Sarsfields in Lurgan and is son of former Armagh player Denis Stevenson. Colin wants to further his studies by undertaking an undergraduate course in Accountancy at QUB where brothers Peter and Richard both studied, the former representing Queens on Sigerson Cup teams in the early 2000's.

Ryan (Left Half Back) and Jerome Johnston (Centre Full Forward) are sons of current Down selector Jerome Johnston. Ryan has another 2 years of MacRory football ahead of him. Jerome won a Down club championship at Senior and minor level this year. 'It is always an honour to wear the Kilcoo jersey and this year meant a whole lot to a lot of people in the Parish. The underage coaching in St Malachy's PS and the club, as well as in school here has allowed myself and Ryan to make this team, without a doubt.'

Shane Mc Greevy (Corner Back) Tony mc Greevy (Corner Forward) are brothers and play for Clonduff GFC.

COUSINS

Paul Lively (Left Half Back) and Rory Lively (Left Corner Back) are brothers and play for Clonduff GFC.

Donal O' Hare (Right Half Forward) is nephew of former Armagh footballer and All Ireland winner Oisin mc Conville.

St Colman's All Star Winner 2009

Ross mc Garry (sub) is St Colman's only Ulster Colleges All Star this year. Ross was Down Minor captain last year and converted a penalty in the final quarter of Rannafast final in 2008 which spring boarded the team to victory. The Management are sweating on Ross' fitness for the final.

President Canon Brown Savours Successes

This has been a particularly enjoyable year for College President Canon Francis Brown. On March 6th Dr Brown witnessed his nephew Conal lift the Corn Na nÓg for the College. It was a sweet moment for Canon Brown who is proud to say that he joins a long list of esteemed Presidents who has had the pleasure of making room for the MacRory Cup in the College foyer's cabinet.

Canon Brown will not be entirely happy, however, until he has had the pleasure of seeing the Hogan Cup make the journey up the Avenue on April 10th 2010. If the College are to win the trophy it will be housed in state of the art facilities, the College having very recently undergone major refurbishment.

Mammoth Challenge

One thing no one in the College is taking for granted is the mammoth challenge that awaits them at GAA headquarters on April 10th. St Brendan's Killarney will be an entirely different prospect to the St Gerald's side who seemed somewhat unprepared for the lightning quick pace of Hogan Cup football.

Kerry teams are never pushed over easily at Páirc an Chrocaigh and the 'Sem' as they are known are able to call on the likes of Chris O'Leary who registered an impressive 2.2 in the Semi Final against St Patrick's Navan or indeed corner forward Jeff O' Donoghue who registered 1.1 in the same fixture.

St Patrick's Navan under the guidance of Colm O'Rourke, only managed to score 0-2 from open play, a clear indication of the strength of Brendan's defence. Cathal and team have been fortunate that the watchful eye of GAA fanatic Fr Terry Rafferty has ensured that St Brendan's advance to the Hogan Cup Final has not been missed in County Down.

The hope is however, that in the 50th Anniversary of Down's historic All Ireland final victory, a success which meant that Sam Maguire would go further north than ever before, the St Colman's lads can repeat history by defeating a Kerry team in an All Ireland Final in Croke Park.

Pen Pics

Name: Niall Mc Parland
Club: Glenn
Honours: Captained club to under 14 all County championship and school to a Rannafast title. Won Down Junior Championship with club at senior level.. Selected for under 16 Ulster elite squad. Represented county at underage level and at minor level.

Name: Tony McGreevy
Club: Clonduff
Honours: Rannafast Cup winners, Corn na nOg runners-up , Peadar Barry 7's winners, U16 division 2 runners-up, U16 'B' championship runners-up, Gary Murray Tournament winners, U10/U16 Player of the Year

Name: Chris Clarke
Club: Bryansford GAC
Honours: Corn Mc Quillan 2004, Corn Loch an Luir 2006 , U14 Down County Championship 2004, U16 Down County Championship 2006, U17 Ulster Club Championship 2007, Down Club Minor 7's 2009, Down U14-U17 Development Squads, Down Minor 2008/09, Down U21 panel 2010

Name: Caolan Mooney
Club: Rostrevor
Honours: under 16 south down champions 2009, Under 16 all county runner up 2009, Under 16 south down league runner up 2009, All county minor b champions 2009, Under 20 south down b runner up 2009, County minor Ulster final runner up 2009, All-Ireland semi finalist 2009

Name: Niall Donnelly
Club: Tullylish
Honours: U14 division 2 runners up, U16 division 2 winners, Corn na nÓg runners up, Peadar Barry 7's winners, Rannafast Cup winners

Name: Shay McArdle
Club: Burren
Honours: U 12 South Down championship 2005, U-14 South Down League and championship 2007, U 16 South Down Championship 2008, U16 South Down League 2009 ,U 16 All County League 2009, Minor South Down League 2009, Minor All County League 2009, U 20 South Down Championship 2009, U 20 All County Championship 2009

Name: Ross McGarry
Club: St.Peters Warrenpoint
South Down u-16 league winner, Senior league Division 2 winner 2008, Player of the year every age (u-8 - minor), All county minor championship runner up 2009, Down Development squads u-14 - u17, Down Minor 2007, 2008, 2009 captain in 2009., Top scorer in Ulster Championship 2009, Rannafast Cup winner 2007, Ben Dearg runner up 2003, Ulster Colleges Football Allstar 2010.

Name: Paul Hillen
Club: Drumgath
Honours, Rannafast Cup 2007, South Down U16 B Championship 2007, All County U16 B Championship 2007, South Down U16 Division 2 League 2006

Name: Colin Stevenson
Club: Sarsfields
Honours: Rannafast Cup 2009, National League Winners 2009, U14 North Armagh championship, U16 North Armagh League, U15 All County 7's

Name: Paul Lively
Club:Clonduff
Honours: Rannafast 07/08, Minor B Championship 07/08, Minor division 2 league winners

Name: Pearse Casey
Club: St Patricks Cullyhanna
Honours: U-12 Championship, U-10,12,14,16 league Titles, Corn Na Og Runners up, U-16 all-County Championship, U-16 Ulster Runners up

Name: Shane McGreevy
Honours: Honours: South Down Minor League runner up, South Down U16 Championship runner up, South Down U16 League runner up, Minor B League 07/08
Longstone tournament winners, Minor B championship 07/08, Rannafast 07/08

Name: Matthew McNeice
Club: Annaghmore
Honours: U-12, U-14, U-18 League, Rannafast Cup, Corn Na Og Runners Up.

Name: Eamon Lynch
Club: St. Michaels
Honours: under 14 division 2 runner up, Under 16 division 2 winner, Rannafast cup winner

Name: Donal O'Hare
Club: Burren
Honours: 1 under 12 south down league, 1 under 14 south down league, under 14 féile runner up, 1 under 16 south down league, Runner up in 2 under 14 championships and 2 under 16 championships, 2 All-County Minor Leagues, 2 South Down Minor Leagues, South down Minor 7's, 3 south down under 21 championship, 3 all county under 21 championships, 1 ulster under 21 championship, 1 premier reserve championship. Runner Ulster Minor Championship. Development squads
Rannafast cup - 5th year

Name; JJ Mc Laughlin
Age; 18
Club; Kilcoo
Honours; 6 All County Championships, 1 All-Ireland Feile, 5 East Down Championship, 1 Rannafast Cup, 1 Corn Na nOg runners up, 6 East Down Leagues, 1 Peadar Barry 7's

Name: Jonathan Mc Nally
Club: Saval
Honours: under 16 B championship runner up ( 2008), minor B league winners(2008), under 16 B championship winners ( 2009), under 16 all county B runner up ( 2009), B league runner up (2009), minor B league runner up (2009

Name; Jerome Johnston
Age; 17
Club; Kilcoo
Honours; 7 All County Championships, 1 All County Senior Championship runners-up, 1 All-Ireland Feile, 5 East Down Championship, 1 Rannafast Cup, 1 Corn Na nOg runners up, 6 East Down Leagues, 1 Peadar Barry 7's

Name: Neil Smyth
Club: Mullaghbawn
Honours: League winner at U.12, 14 and 16. Rannafast Ulster medal. Peadar Barry winner. Corn na nÓg runners up.

Name: Darragh Sherry
Honours:Ben Dearg Runners up, Rannafast Ulster Champions, Runner up U16 Player of the year, U16 Championship Runner Up 2007, U16 League Runner Up 2007, U21 Championship Runner Up 2009, Down U14 Development Squad.

Name: Patrick Matthews
Club: Clonduff GAC
Honours: U- 21 Championship runners up 2009, Minor player of the year 2009, Handball player of the year 2007, U-16 Championship runners up, U-16 League runners up, Corn na nÓg runner up

Name: Michael Garvey
Club: St Michaels Newtown Hamilton
Honours: Rannafast Ulster medal.

Name: Paul Óg Carty
Club: St Peters Warrenpoint
Honours: South Down U-16 league winner 2006, Senior league div 2 winner 2008, All county minor championship Runner up 2009, Rannafast cup winner 2007, Ben Dearg Runner up 2003

Name: Ryan Johnston
Club: Kilcoo
Honours: 3 U12 Championship & league, 1 U14 Championship& League & All-Ireland Feile, 3 U16 Championship & League, 1 Minor Championship, Corn na nÓg

Name: Darren O' Higgins
Club: Leitrim Fontenoys
Honours: Rannafast Cup, East Down U21 Championship, Under 16 League x 2 , Under 14 Championship

Name: Conor O'Neill
Club: Shane O'Neills
Honours: U10 league, championship, U12 championship, runner up league, U14 runner up championship, U14 feile runner up, 2 U16 div 2 league, 2 Minor div 3 league, Senior- junior championship, Rannafast winners

Name: Eamonn Magee
Club Saval C.L.G.
Honours: Rannafast Cup, Peadar Barry Cup, Corn Ben Dearg, Corn Na nOg Runners-up, 3 South Down League Titles, Reserve League 2009, 2007 All-County Minor Championship Runners-Up, Under14 through under 17 County Development Squads

Name: Kealan Haughey
DOB:17
Club: Ballyholland GAC
Honours: Rannafast , Peadar Barry 7's, Ban Dearg, U12 south Down Championship, U12 south Down league, U14 south Down championship, U14 South Down League, U16 South Down Championship

Name: Karl O'Hagan
Honours: Rannafast Cup Winners, , Runners up Minor Divison 2,, 2 Championship runners up medals , Runners up South Down U-20 2009, U-10 league winners , 2, Player of the Year awards, u-11 league winners , Longstone tournament winners

Name: Sean O'Hare
Club: Annaclone
Honours: 1 Minor Hurling Championship, 1 u16 Hurling League,

Name: Ruairi Lively
Honours: Played corner back for the Ulster under 16s , Was on down under 14 to 16 development squads, Rannafast winner, Peadar Barry winner, Ben Dearg winner, Under 11 league winner, Under 16 player of the year

Name: John McAleavey
Honours: South Down Minor League runner up, South Down U16 Championship runner up, South Down U16 League runner up, Down U17 Handball singles runner up

Name: Shay Mc Cartan
Club: Glenn
Honours:U'14 A All-County championship 2006,U'14 A Feile 2008,Corn Na Og medal 2008, Ben Dearg medal 2006, 2 U'12 A south Down Championship medal, Dalton and Corn na nÓg cup runners up medal 2007, Signed for Burnley Football Club 2010

Name: Che Curran
Honours: Honours: South Down Minor League runner up, South Down U16 Championship runner up, South Down U16 League runner up, Minor B League 07/08
Longstone tournament winners, Minor B championship 07/08, Rannafast 07/08

Most Read Stories