Wicklow Forum

Popular Posts from brayballer

Dublin GAA thread - 5 Like(s)
Oh yous of little faith.We have nt gone away you know.I hope the Dessie bashers are happy now. POCB and Kilkenny top class.

brayballer (National) - 17/05/2025 18:50:16

35 Championship Matchs This Weekend - 3 Like(s)
Its overkill and we cant see them all.Then come August we have nothing.The season is too condensed.

brayballer (National) - 07/05/2025 15:15:21

Dublin Hurling - 2 Like(s)
I know Cork are heavy favourites but we did beat Limerick and they are a better team than Cork.Anyone I hear from Cork thinks they have it in the bag.I know they always think that but love to really shake them up.COYBIB.

brayballer (National) - 01/07/2025 17:56:29

Dublin GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "No, not there yet. Might never be, but I prefer the whole thing to be in hands of ourselves rather than the constant running around after some big name. No harm to any of them, but we have a situation now where Donoghue will have huge inside knowledge of Dublin when they play Galway in what could well be a crucial. Certainly will be for one or other. That's ridiculous especially in the way he suddenly decamped! Footballers and DCB would never in a million years allow such a situation to come about,"
Agree with you and at the moment Dubs might be slightly better than Galway.Im certain MoD does nt want to lose to Dublin above all teams.

brayballer (National) - 08/05/2025 16:06:35

Attendances 2025 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To brianb:  "The beauty of the hurling championships is that there is a lot to play for. Every match matters. There is no jepordy in the All Ireland groups. We need to break the link to the league and reward championship performance with championship based promotion and relegation. That would immediately solve the current format. Imagine if the bottom placed team in the Connaught / Ulster / Dublin / Derry group were going to be relegated. That would allow the top 2 to go through to the 1/4 finals and no need to have the preliminary 1/4 finals. A much better format."
You could be right but the big problem is the short season.We are overloaded with games and cant get a chance to enjoy them.Then come August we have nothing.

brayballer (National) - 03/05/2025 22:17:49

Leinster Football Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Leinster Council delegates from all counties who voted to prevent this from happening again and again and again over the years should be held to account now. Especially those from smaller/weaker counties who time and again stood in the way of games being played outside Croker and time and again voted against the interests of their own county in order to enrich the Council and endear themselves to those running it. Well done Louth and Meath, the Dubs will be back, but here's to a great final."
I agree more games should be played outside Croker but Dublin did nt make the decisions. I also agree Croke park is of course an advantage but where else can you play finals. I have no problem with Dublin playing games away.In a perverse way Dublin are a disadvantage nowadays playing games outside of Croker as we not used to it like other counties.Croke park makes the decisions not Dublin and I know for true that alot of the players would like to play more games outside of Croker.Counties like Mayo and Kerry love playing there and other counties want the experience of playing there so its hard to keep everyone happy. Yes a home ground is an advantage and Dublin nominated Croke park instead of the Neller but for years both Meath and Kildare used Croke park as their home ground for all championship matches.

brayballer (National) - 01/05/2025 22:45:01

All Ireland Football Championship 2025 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I m in same boat as you RealDub. A team that scores 14 one pointers in a game are better than the team that score 4 two pointers and 6 one pointers. Like you ill take a win anytime but im not sure im a two pointer fan but Im def against the two point frees. Some of the rules are good but some I hate ."
From what I see the two pointers are suiting the weaker teams more.

brayballer (National) - 19/05/2025 21:32:32

Replying To Fionn:  "I still think one of Armagh, Donegal or Kerry will win Sam. With all 3 having a fully fit squad, there is very little between them. Cant see Armagh winning back2back tbh. I just cant. But they have a real good chance. Excellent squad. With Mayo gone, I think we have a real good chance of the 1/4 finals. Depends on the 1/4 draw after that....!"
Anyone but Donegal for me but tbh I think its between ourselves Armagh and maybe Kerry if the get their injuries sorted.They are very dependent on the two Cliffords though and my Kerry pal thinks the older Clifford in trouble with his injury. Armagh have best panel but tbh I thought we were better than them in croker but forgot where the posts were.Cant see that happenin again.I really think we have a great chance.Dubs or Armagh.

brayballer (National) - 16/06/2025 13:48:45

Donegal GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To gunman:  "I definitely was not shocked.When it comes to the treatment of Donegal people we never expect to get fair treatment.The only glimmer of hope I had was with the new improved Co Board.I don't know what input they have in to these decisions.2003 against Galway in Castlebar.Not much has changed.Regardless however we should win the game."
Poor Donegal whinging again.Even Jimmy losing Matches doesnt want to play in croker as it costs the poor Donegal misers too much money.All the games cant be in ballybofey.

brayballer (National) - 07/06/2025 16:10:45

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Yeah can't argue with that and if Con was there v Armagh we likely would have been a lot more efficient in front of goal either due to him scoring himself or being a focal point in general to create space for better placed shooting. Interestingly has been no word at all about his return - not sure if that's a good or bad thing! One striking thing that has come from the first two games is how a top class free taker in the modern game is essential. We were spoiled with Dean Rock and try as he may Costello just isn't in any way consistent. Anything from 40+ I think he forces it and the result is a bit of a lottery - makes some and misses some. Deano was some man for slotting big frees."
Con is a huge loss no doubt but we were the better team v Armagh but forgot our scoring boots.No doubt Con would have fared better than some but lads Bugler is the key. We had Con v Meath and looked lost as we had no Bugler. Its no coincidence that when Bugler is playing we are normally the better team.

brayballer (National) - 10/06/2025 19:16:10

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "You're not comparing apples with apples there at all. And it's nothing to do with being the "hard man" I simply said that if a lad is acting that way then he has to deal with whatever comes his way. I also said I don't condone the Armagh reaction but I'm also not surprised by it. I've said emotions are on a knife edge directly after the final whistle. You throw petrol on a flame then you just might get burned."
Dead right Trueblue 35

brayballer (National) - 13/05/2025 21:47:49

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "If we don't manage to win it outright I just hope Jim the Whinge McGuinness doesn't get next nor near it either!! I'd normally say Kerry too but can't see them going the distance. Losing to Meath by that much albeit under strength is not a good sign."
Yeah bud.Agree totally on Whinge mcGuinness. I dont really mind Kerry tbh.Most are good football people really and will shake your hand after game and congratulate you not like some.I cant stand Donegal.Id rather see England win. Dont like Cork either and hope we destroy them langers.

brayballer (National) - 16/06/2025 13:42:03

Good to see Danny Sutcliffe back for the hurlers and Conor McHugh seemed to have a sound debut.Young David Purcell could be a good prospect too.Slim chances of promotion so its preperation for the championship now.Hope O Ceallachain does well steering the ship and its nice to have a Dublin man as manager again.

brayballer (National) - 10/03/2025 17:42:33

New York Hurling - 2 Like(s)

Replying To sponger:  "Its just not fair to Monaghan, battling through a group for this treatment. It is just like a few years ago, when the GAA tried to cut smaller teams out of their championship. It is just not fair."
Not only Is it not fair.Its a terrible wrong.This is the Gaa trying to placate New York while pi**ing down on the weaker Hurling counties in Ireland.

brayballer (National) - 24/05/2025 17:27:03

All Ireland Football Championship 2025 - 2 Like(s)
Its anyone s All Ireland but I fancy Galway or Armagh. At this stage I dont care as long as Donegal dont win

brayballer (National) - 28/06/2025 22:54:21

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Nothing blind about it. If he goaded them, he was wrong. But he wasn't in their faces so can you correct that, he was a fair bit away from them. You seem quite keen to absolve the lads for assaulting a lad."
The Donegal player was unsporting and childish and no point in trying to defend that carryon.Donegal well able to whinge about Dubs playing in croke park and whinge about Armagh but when someone points the finger at them its wrong.

brayballer (National) - 13/05/2025 21:51:47

Replying To Fionn:  "Hearing Shane Walsh is back for Galway also. We have no Bugler, O'Donnell, Murchin, or Gannon. And our midfield pairing is as was.... it wont be strong enough for Galway. More than surprised Dessie has kept faith in that midfield to be honest, as it got cleaned out of it by Meath. In fact the only change from the Meath game is Cian Murphy coming in, and Kevin Lahiff going out. Hardly inspiring.....!"
Fionn I know your heart in the right place but you have to admit Dessie got his tactics spot on today and we destroyed the Galway midfield.Dessie is the right man in charge.I was always confident of beating Galway.I think we can beat their hurlers too.

brayballer (National) - 17/05/2025 19:02:50

Mayo GAA Thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Some crazy stuff going on all over Mayo GAA. It looks like any success on the sporting field is by accident rather than by design. Purpose of meeting - for the board to whine to the delegates about some lad who is trying to bully them Result of the meeting - Delegates feel sympathy for the board and have a vote to tell everyone on the board how great they are and how those bullies are just bad news. Sounds like a bunch of middle aged men patting each other on the back. P.S. we have been storing half a dozen of the county team in a container in Dublin to they don't have to pay rent in proper accommodation. Dodgy accommodation is not related to the players in ability to play well against Kerry, Leitrim, Sligo or Cavan. Players are "free range" - stored in shed but let out to run around for an hours training - they look like county players but just not as good as a real farm reared versions. The current board has a President, 7 chairperson, 1 deputy chair and 3 delegates who sit on other board (Connacht and central council) That's 12 of the 24 county board members who don't actually do any work, just going to meetings, talking and voting. Most of them would spend more time going to funerals than improving how Mayo GAA is run. Time for a full clear out, new structure and a whole new group of people who have some actual ideas and will put the shoulder to the wheel."
Rotten from the county board.Should be all put out to grass.

brayballer (National) - 27/05/2025 11:35:07

Munster Hurling Championship 2025 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To bloodandbandage:  ""I don't like that Cork team" A very strange statement to make. These are a bunch of young, honest lads giving their all for the county. What have they done to earn your dislike?"
I agree with foreveryoung and the team showed their true colours afterwards celebrating while sneering and demeaning Limerick. I have to be honest and admit I dont like Cork either. I know alot of lads I work with from Cork and Im friends with a few of them but Cork people are always about Cork. I will give you an example. When Cork are in an All Ireland or a big game against a team from another province the cork lads I know keep telling other Munster lads to shout for Cork.Let us Munster lads stick together and feck the other provinces.We are the one in Munster rugby ands so on and we should stick together.Thats what I hear from the cute corkies but the reality is they never shout for munster teams they shout against Kerry always unless the playing Dublin and they hate TIPP Clare Limerick and Waterford unless they play the cats. Thats cork for you. corkies also have a fierce chip on their shoulders against Dublin because the hate the fact we are the Capital. One of the best days ever was 83 when we humilated Cork in their own back yard after they were crying for home advantage.

brayballer (National) - 10/06/2025 12:09:12

Munster Hurling Championship 2025 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "Close, tight game. Could've gone either way. A poor standard though, riddled with mistakes. A fitting end to a poor enough Munster Championship."
Correct Mesamis. An exciting game but alot of basic mistakes.The skill level was below Leinster championship.

brayballer (National) - 10/06/2025 11:55:23