Wicklow Forum

Popular Posts from 61123

Div 4 - 2 Like(s)
Well done RTE on showing Div 4 games last night and some small bit of analysis. Nice to see the 'small' league given a wee bit of recognition.

61123 (National) - 26/10/2020 08:39:44

Are The Rumours True? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To greysoil:  "It would appear to be fruitless anyway as I doubt if there will be any championship after watching the footage on Twitter of the carryon in Dublin last night (and I am sure replicated across the country). Bloody idiotic & so disrespectful to those who passed & to those who work in hospitals & emergency services, absolutely disgusting."
Agree 100 %.

61123 (National) - 05/07/2020 23:15:39

Club Championships - 2 Like(s)
Very entertaining game of football tonight in Cavan. Credit to both teams. Looking forward to the replay now.

61123 (National) - 26/09/2020 21:45:27

Rathnew v st Vincent's - 2 Like(s)
Don't care 'what they bring, I'll certainly be shouting for them and so should the rest of the county.

61123 (Wicklow) - 03/11/2017 11:24:06

Wicklow Footballers Hit 47 Points - 1 Like(s)
Agree with last post. Certainly ran Kildare very close and that result could have gone either way. Credit to Kilkenny for fielding a football team but there is a long road ahead for them and the best of luck to them in so doing.

61123 (National) - 08/05/2019 08:57:14

Club Championships - 1 Like(s)
This game had everything , high fielding, direct running, brilliant free taking. Brilliant decision by RTE to show the game. Hopefully they now show the replay.

61123 (National) - 27/09/2020 16:15:54

Div 4 - 1 Like(s)
Wicklow certainly improved performance wise as the year went ahead. I feel an improved club championship here in Wicklow helped preparations. We have a good bunch of players now and coming through which along with a management set up that the players believe in certainly helped. Looking forward now to Division 3 and building on progress already made.

61123 (National) - 25/10/2020 09:30:12

Player drop out after Minor - 1 Like(s)
I have noticed for some considerable time now, that this was an issue that needs to be seriously looked at. There is a serious problem facing all rural clubs at the moment. The numbers being retained to play adult competitions is reducing every year. Our younger players are being pulled in every direction. We have an u17 competition being played at the moment and following on from this, our young player is being thrown into a senior set up where he will be probably not be ready for physically and psychologically. Where was the research for this proposal done. In a rural club there will be no bedding in time for this player to develop. Will this young player stay playing senior or Intermediate , no one knows. I like the idea of an u19 competition for clubs only.

61123 (National) - 18/10/2017 20:33:38

Cub Football Has Never Been In Such A Bad Place, Are Club Teams A Priority Any More? Is The County Board Even Concerned? - 1 Like(s)
Having read the above two articles a couple of thoughts came to mind. I acknowledge some clubs are struggling in Wicklow at the moment to field teams . However why the need to straight away and blame the County Board. Surely the clubs themselves have to take some of the blame. Where are the three year plans never mind five year plans that clubs need to take on board. If players are not available to the club then this would have been known at the start of a playing year. I agree the County have over all responsibility for all GAA matters within the County but we as clubs also have to take responsibility for whatever happens within our club confines. Secondly the leagues are not over. From what I understand there are games now to decide promotion and relegation playoffs in Division 1. Constantly I read on messages on all these GAA threads about how our County teams are not up to standard and hence the negativity that follows such displays. How are we going to change it. The preparation now being put in by the majority of county teams nowadays means we have to do likewise. The result of this means that clubs will be without their County Players for a period unless we as a county follow the old Kilkenny hurling module of playing early rounds of championship and releasing players. That's grand for Kilkenny where there is a history of success. However we are working from a much lower base. All is not desparate with GAA in this County. There are problems, no doubt. However when you see GAA pitches all over Wicklow booked out most nights, I think there are genuine people out there who love our Games, young and old, and regardless of the seemingless sad state of affairs here , we continue to play, coach and support our club teams as players, coaches and parents . I'll end on that positive note.

61123 (Wicklow) - 02/05/2018 22:14:23

Club First 2021 - 1 Like(s)
I think club first is a brilliant idea. Firstly from a positive point of view, it gives players a chance to shine and put themselves into the public eye and a chance to become part of a county panel. They can bring their good club form into the county set up. I agree from a GAA point of view that supporters will have a chance to come again to matches. The GAA need revenue to sustain their activities. I don't think there will be a problem between club and county managers as regards player availability. In Wicklow this year our club programme ran smoothly enough. In relation to supporters attending matches this will depend on a vaccine becoming available. If there is a delay putting club matches first will be alleviated by the availability of live streaming which was a big success this year.

61123 (National) - 30/11/2020 16:21:37

NFL Division 3 2021 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "With scoring forwards you always have a chance and Limerick have them now,c'mon Limerick."
Having watched all three Wicklow games I certainly rate this Limerick team. I agree with your assertion about scoring forwards. I am impressed with your physicality, movement and scoring ability. I certainly give yee every chance against a resurgent Derry. Good luck over the weekend.

61123 (National) - 11/06/2021 09:42:33

GAA on TV - 1 Like(s)

Replying To gatha:  "Not a Davy fan but have t admit he was very good last night."
Agree with you there. Not a great fan but have to admit that he was sincere in his analysis and his appreciation of the nightmare that 2020 has been and hence the joy we are getting from the coverage of our National games.

61123 (National) - 30/11/2020 16:24:37

U20 Football Championship - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Dreamer:  "Anyone who knows anything about football at that level knows that these group teams are to give lads football. The negativity around the county is unbelievable. Wicklow will remain a county divided and a laughing stock while people with this sort of a mindset continue to have any sort of an input. How many posters here have been to games this year?"
Well said Dreamer. Sure we might as well blame Brexit on this one as well. We have being giving out for years as to why players of this age group are not getting the chance to play games. If Killaveney or Shamrocks didn't facilitate the permissions this year where else would most of the players have played. Nowhere!

61123 (Wicklow) - 25/11/2019 00:05:52

Rathnew v st Vincent's - 1 Like(s)
Isn't it great to see such positive comments on our Wicklow threads for a change. Amazing what a bit of success brings. Well done Rathnew . Lets hope for an even bigger crowd on Sunday week.

61123 (Wicklow) - 15/11/2017 20:13:27

U20 Football Championship - 1 Like(s)
Some of these u20 games have been of a very high quality. Some have not. For me the timing of the competition is wrong. We are running off a competition that the players actually like in the middle of Winter. In relation to Dreamers point about the low number of permissions is an important one. Some clubs could hardly field the bare minimum of players in Some of the matches. 16 permission slips is not going to create too many extra teams. I hope the final next weekend is an entertaining one and neutral fans turn out. There was a very big attendance in Tinahely last Sunday morning which was great to see.

61123 (Wicklow) - 26/11/2019 11:33:45