Wexford Hurling thread 2024

First yellow was scandalous. Didn't see second

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 161 - 22/06/2024 16:32:51    2553628

I feel we never started that game today, Clare on top from the start. We couldn't win any puck out physicality is a huge problem for us.

We got punished for constant fouling as in every game, we don't seem to learn. Tactically outsmarted too for every long ball we launched we won none of em.

Too hard to analyse the year today but all in all positive mostly for Rossiter.

Today was just a very disappointing poor display

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 298 - 22/06/2024 16:34:38    2553629

All I'll say about the two yellows is that they were the sort of tackles Limerick do and get away with because they 'play on the edge'. Has there ever been an earlier yellow card? I wouldn't mind but ROC absolutely destroyed them whenever he got ball in hand, almost scored one of the greatest goals ever with that first run.

However, who was meant to be marking Kelly? He looked to be a shadow of his former self against Limerick but was as good as ever today. That first goal concession was weak too. After O'Donnell shook off Matt, no other defender engaged him. Compare that to O'Donnell vs. Cork in the first half, he broke his bollix off to block down a certain goal. I'd have my doubts as Foley as a defender, he's a very good stick man, and don't think Damien is a 6 either.

We didn't involve Chin in general play enough in first half and counted at least three long balls into Mac that went over the end line. Made Quilligan look like Fitzy with his saves.

At half-time, the hope remained alive. Went to pieces thereafter which is disappointing.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1437 - 22/06/2024 16:47:41    2553634

The sending off was a real pity

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 22/06/2024 16:52:48    2553636

Sending off ended whatever chance we had. Truth be told we were struggling albeit with a bit of momentum at the time. Refereeing not good enough but we're not good enough to compete with the top teams at the moment . Shane O'Donnell is some hurler

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 515 - 22/06/2024 16:53:16    2553637

A bad day at the office. Even without the sending off I feel clare would have won. If we allow clare to win their own puck out you would expect the backs to be tight with a man back.
We got cleaned out with good balls from their half back line into their full forwards.
We didn't put any pressure on them. Free men all over the place even before rory was sent off.
Disappointing to go out like that. Very flat.

In reality if you give the top teams so much time and space on the ball we never going to win.

Silly by rory when on a yellow card.

Now onto club championship.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 97 - 22/06/2024 16:56:58    2553638

Replying To wexfordwin:  "First yellow was scandalous. Didn't see second"
The first yellow was bad. However the second was worthy of a red on its own. This is what break fingers and hands or wrists. Pity though ruined the game and Wexford are not 12 points behind Clare. Will be a real force in a year or two.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2737 - 22/06/2024 17:11:36    2553641

Davy said something 2 years ago along the lines of 'Wexford have to be really aggressive to be competitive'. I didn't want to hear it at the time, because I want to believe that we can take on anyone 15 on 15 with no qualifications.

I remember the game against Kilkenny in Nolan Park 2 years ago because from minute 1 you could tell the team were right and were going to take some stopping. Even when we went down a few points I wasn't worried. It was clear that we were on it and we were going to fight like dogs.

The last time I got that feeling was the Galway game this year. We were good for 3/4 quarters of this year's game against Kilkenny but not at that same level of intensity and warlike aspect.

Davy was right - we have to be an in-your-face team. Just going out to play hurling won't work.

NR55 (Wexford) - Posts: 3 - 22/06/2024 17:24:32    2553645

Replying To beano:  "All I'll say about the two yellows is that they were the sort of tackles Limerick do and get away with because they 'play on the edge'. Has there ever been an earlier yellow card? I wouldn't mind but ROC absolutely destroyed them whenever he got ball in hand, almost scored one of the greatest goals ever with that first run.

However, who was meant to be marking Kelly? He looked to be a shadow of his former self against Limerick but was as good as ever today. That first goal concession was weak too. After O'Donnell shook off Matt, no other defender engaged him. Compare that to O'Donnell vs. Cork in the first half, he broke his bollix off to block down a certain goal. I'd have my doubts as Foley as a defender, he's a very good stick man, and don't think Damien is a 6 either.

We didn't involve Chin in general play enough in first half and counted at least three long balls into Mac that went over the end line. Made Quilligan look like Fitzy with his saves.

At half-time, the hope remained alive. Went to pieces thereafter which is disappointing."
Now,now take it easy. Limerick were not playing in this game. I was as disappointed as anyone for Wexford losing a man but the second card was worth a red on its own for pulling in on players hands as he is hitting the ball. Ye will have better days though down the road.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2737 - 22/06/2024 17:25:20    2553646

Hugely disappointing, obviously started poorly. The first yellow was a scandalous decision in my opinion but don't have too many complaints with the second. Rory is some hurler and was going really well but he has to have more restraint than that when he's already been booked.
Mac had a great chance of goal but hopeless execution. Has to be said that Conor Foley and Eoin Ryan were class, two young lads who along with Cian Byrne and Corey Byrne Dunbar will be the mainstay of our team for the next decade. We have some really top class hurlers but we also have too many average ones and until the balance changes we will continue to falter.

YellowShadeOfPurple (Wexford) - Posts: 11 - 22/06/2024 17:47:33    2553652

Thought the first yellow after 15 seconds was awful..if that was booking then the last three matches could be in huge trouble..he can't complain about 2nd yellow,as it was a stupid challange..thought the younger Wexford players today really gave it their all against a very strong Clare team..thought some of the long ball in first half was terrible and gave yere inside line no hope..it's a pity chin and McDonald couldn't have been more involved..a worry I might have is that some of the more experienced players might step away and there might be no one to replace them..overall I think it has been a huge year for Wexford and hopefully ye will continue to improve..division 1 next year will definitely help with bringing on the young players..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2279 - 22/06/2024 18:22:57    2553673

Can't really have any complaints I'm afraid folks, something like that was coming down the tracks with Rory and unfortunately that was today. Was always going to be an uphill battle but we were beaten by a much better and more powerful team.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 111 - 22/06/2024 18:31:45    2553674

Subdued atmosphere in Kilkenny Mcdonalds

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12873 - 22/06/2024 18:52:12    2553691

Replying To YellowShadeOfPurple:  "Hugely disappointing, obviously started poorly. The first yellow was a scandalous decision in my opinion but don't have too many complaints with the second. Rory is some hurler and was going really well but he has to have more restraint than that when he's already been booked.
Mac had a great chance of goal but hopeless execution. Has to be said that Conor Foley and Eoin Ryan were class, two young lads who along with Cian Byrne and Corey Byrne Dunbar will be the mainstay of our team for the next decade. We have some really top class hurlers but we also have too many average ones and until the balance changes we will continue to falter."
That sums it up unfortunately, we have some good hurlers but not enough to break into Top 6. We on a par with Dublin, maybe a little below them on results over last 3/4 years. Our backs as a unit were all over the place, you can't give Tony Kelly or Shane o Donnell a free runout in Thurles and expect to win? Foul after foul after foul. We were flat from the1st minute, we looked a beaten docket before it even started, we were not in their faces, physically we didn't match up well. Clare like Cork didn't have to play well to win, it's a handy 1/4 final for Clare year in year out. It's head scratching why we can't get up to playing and compete with Clare, I would of been happy if we threw the kitchen sink at it and if it wasn't good enough so be it we left every ounce on the field. Conor Foley,Eoin Ryan and Matt O Hanlon were best for me, we were beaten in every other position. McGuckian, Donohoe well below level required,Chin,McDonald,Reck not at races today or were easily handled. Unfortunately a poor year over all, Galway game the highlight but in fairness they were very poor this year. As the curtain come down on some of our long termers, won't be easy to find replacements to keep us competitive going forward. Maybe Club Championships will produce some players that are worth looking at?

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 170 - 22/06/2024 19:00:21    2553696

Replying To Viking66:  "Subdued atmosphere in Kilkenny Mcdonalds"
O'Loughlin Gaels lost?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2579 - 22/06/2024 19:04:01    2553700

Replying To Viking66:  "I have heard people rant and rave and bellow
That we're done and we might as well be dead
But I'm only a cockeyed optimist
And I can't get it into my head

- Oscar Hammerstein, South Pacific

Great quote for the year ahead!"
No bite no leadership nobody to stand up, no inthusiam, no Jacko no CM

fathermurphy (Wexford) - Posts: 317 - 22/06/2024 19:04:46    2553702

Replying To Canuck:  "The first yellow was bad. However the second was worthy of a red on its own. This is what break fingers and hands or wrists. Pity though ruined the game and Wexford are not 12 points behind Clare. Will be a real force in a year or two."
Why, because Anthony (impartial) Daly said so? Should never have been sent off. If I was a Wexford man I'd be livid. Destroyed the game. 100% turning point. All of the momentum was with Wexford, just on the cusp of half time. Joke of a sending off in May view

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 514 - 22/06/2024 19:16:42    2553709

The yellow for Rory after 30 seconds was a disgrace and as bad a decision I have seen for a long time. As for the 2nd it was a yellow but no way was it a red like a poster posted twice above. Very disheartened with today. We were poor and even with 15 today we wouldn't have beaten Clare. So disappointed, I can't really say much more at the moment.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1012 - 22/06/2024 19:18:46    2553710

Replying To beano:  "All I'll say about the two yellows is that they were the sort of tackles Limerick do and get away with because they 'play on the edge'. Has there ever been an earlier yellow card? I wouldn't mind but ROC absolutely destroyed them whenever he got ball in hand, almost scored one of the greatest goals ever with that first run.

At half-time, the hope remained alive. Went to pieces thereafter which is disappointing."
The first may have been harsh in a reply but if you raise your arm like that and it's high you are giving the ref a decision to make and in the first min he wants to set the tone. Yes worse have gone on punished and nothing to do with Limerick. Let's stop blaming others for our own players misfortune.
If you stick a defender on TK and that's all he does TK will be quiet, we can't afford to do that, Limerick can. I reckon Kilkenny will just man mark him as they just have more confidence in their defensive setup.
It has to be said their goals came when we were a man down. When tge player breaks through its a no win situation - go to him, he give the ball or take him down and it's a black card and penalty.
We didn't get Chin into the game or Clare kept him out of it. At the end of the day he didn't play well today and that's unfortunate as he has done so much this year. Foley did well today, he is not a fullback and everyone knows that and it's an issue that we don't have one.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1822 - 22/06/2024 19:24:24    2553711

Replying To hunting:  "The yellow for Rory after 30 seconds was a disgrace and as bad a decision I have seen for a long time. As for the 2nd it was a yellow but no way was it a red like a poster posted twice above. Very disheartened with today. We were poor and even with 15 today we wouldn't have beaten Clare. So disappointed, I can't really say much more at the moment."
Another positive post, you might back Wexford one day ..

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 190 - 22/06/2024 19:31:54    2553715