Replying To Viking66:  "Maybe he needs to get out more:-D"
I don't think a trip to Thurles on Saturday will help

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 296 - 18/06/2024 21:33:15    2552851

Replying To Viking66:  "Are you sure we co hosted Feile in 2017?"
Co hosted with Kilkenny. Harriers won Feile in 2016

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 515 - 18/06/2024 22:10:32    2552859

Replying To Doylerwex:  "That's an unbelievably pessimistic outlook. In 22 depending on other results they'd have been out. We beat them in a semi final in 17 and final in 19. We also beat them in every other competition in the last decade multiple times. Kilkenny go out to win every game so that doesn't wash with me m I will say they tend to improve as the season goes on.

I disagree about the scoreline this year. We totally dominated them in the first 25 minutes and the last 10. It was totally a 50/50 game that could have gone either way. They were lucky to hold out but that's history now.

We're better now than we were in 19. Trouble is almost everyone else is better too. We had no bench then."
"We also beat them in every other competition in the last decade multiple times."

In the last decade, Kilkenny have played in 6 All-Ireland finals, winning 2.
They have played in 9 Leinster finals, winning 7.
They have played in 4 National League finals, winning 2.

How have Wexford got on?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2573 - 18/06/2024 22:12:58    2552862

Replying To theboys:  "We only beat Kilkenny when they are already qualified for Leinster final and Notting game really,other than 1 occassion I think and we absolutely have to get a win!! Score line flattered us this year!!! Kilkenny only getting Goin now, don't even have to be a there best to win Leinster!!! We are average I think to be honest,I think when it comes down to it really we get found out,before ya start I would absolutely love to be proved wrong!!! I just think we have regressed since 19 and we are miles away from that level even,we haven't even shown half of that type of level!!! In proper games like these I really feel our big players are absolutely nullified and therefore we get beat!!!"
Unbelievably negative. Are we All Ireland contenders?Don't think so but outside limerick we are capable of beating anyone else.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 515 - 18/06/2024 22:16:34    2552863

Replying To Viking66:  "Are you sure we co hosted Feile in 2017?"
Absolutely 100%. I remember it well.

My own club hosted a team from the North who ended up paying us a return visit a couple of years later. And we made it to a final that year ourselves, that was played at Tinryland in Carlow on a scorching hot day.

Was a little incorrect in earlier statement though, as was actually Wexford, Carlow and Kilkenny who co-hosted it. I mistakenly said Wexford, Carlow and Wicklow. But Wexford was definitely one of the hosts anyway!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 18/06/2024 22:18:54    2552866

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""We also beat them in every other competition in the last decade multiple times."

How have Wexford got on?"
So....in the past decade:
- Kilkenny have a 58% success rate in finals.
- Wexford have a 50% success rate in finals.

Not that different, are they?

Disclaimer: you can prove anything with statistics :)

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 19/06/2024 00:52:09    2552882

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Co hosted with Kilkenny. Harriers won Feile in 2016"
He's right.

wendellgee (Wexford) - Posts: 29 - 19/06/2024 01:27:05    2552884

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""We also beat them in every other competition in the last decade multiple times."

Absolutely correct we need to come out of the fog,we might win a couple of games in Leinster but after that forget about it!!! If it was a Leinster team we were playing Sunday I'd think we have a chance but that don't happen!!! How can U say we are better than we were in 19 that's crazy we aren't half the side we were then!!! People get carried away here in Wexford,if U strip it back the facts don't lie!!! We would be under serious pressure to beat any Munster team!!! Like the only proper game we played was against Kilkenny this year and our poster boys were nowhere to be seen the good teams just cut them out and that's that,we were beat all ends up v Kilkenny,yes we hurled for 20 mins but that's a load of crap,IV watched it back lads a couple of times should have been bet by 6-9 points I reckon!!!our form since 19 is terrible what are ye on about!!! And by the way I'd be out a good bit and listen to crap about Wexford when the fact are staring you in the face,and people think we are better now than 19,cop on!!!!

theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 221 - 19/06/2024 06:55:55    2552886

One Leinster and a few Walsh cups.

You said before you're not being snarky or sarcastic so I'll assume your question is sincere.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2897 - 19/06/2024 07:31:57    2552889

Great piece by Tom dempsey in the paper today, confirming Clare were the only team out of the 4 playing Saturday that voted against changing the game. Say it all really. No direct quote for rossiter about Ryan, he expect at least one of jack and Mickie to be fit, D O K has put his hand up for selection and Lawlor good to go as well as Chin. No word on Molloy

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1012 - 19/06/2024 07:42:56    2552891

Replying To hunting:  "Great piece by Tom dempsey in the paper today, confirming Clare were the only team out of the 4 playing Saturday that voted against changing the game. Say it all really. No direct quote for rossiter about Ryan, he expect at least one of jack and Mickie to be fit, D O K has put his hand up for selection and Lawlor good to go as well as Chin. No word on Molloy"
Ryan is more than likely ruled out but no quote on him, that's interesting. I know he's carrying an injury but I wouldn't be surprised to see him on Saturday

Great news about Chin and Lawlor, would be great if Jack O and Dwyer make it too to increase options and strengthen bench,.I'm assuming Dwyer wouldn't be automatic starter. Molloy not involved in last while ao wouldn't expect to see him anyway, I hope he sticks with it as is a great prospect.

Dee O'Keefe another welcome addition to the panel, more than likely starts on bench.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 296 - 19/06/2024 08:34:03    2552892

Replying To theboys:  "Absolutely correct we need to come out of the fog,we might win a couple of games in Leinster but after that forget about it!!! If it was a Leinster team we were playing Sunday I'd think we have a chance but that don't happen!!! How can U say we are better than we were in 19 that's crazy we aren't half the side we were then!!! People get carried away here in Wexford,if U strip it back the facts don't lie!!! We would be under serious pressure to beat any Munster team!!! Like the only proper game we played was against Kilkenny this year and our poster boys were nowhere to be seen the good teams just cut them out and that's that,we were beat all ends up v Kilkenny,yes we hurled for 20 mins but that's a load of crap,IV watched it back lads a couple of times should have been bet by 6-9 points I reckon!!!our form since 19 is terrible what are ye on about!!! And by the way I'd be out a good bit and listen to crap about Wexford when the fact are staring you in the face,and people think we are better now than 19,cop on!!!!"
Well aren't you just a bundle of positivity, God forbid we do win on Saturday it will just ruin your weekend!

Loyalmodel (Wexford) - Posts: 16 - 19/06/2024 08:36:44    2552893

Replying To theboys:  "Absolutely correct we need to come out of the fog,we might win a couple of games in Leinster but after that forget about it!!! If it was a Leinster team we were playing Sunday I'd think we have a chance but that don't happen!!! How can U say we are better than we were in 19 that's crazy we aren't half the side we were then!!! People get carried away here in Wexford,if U strip it back the facts don't lie!!! We would be under serious pressure to beat any Munster team!!! Like the only proper game we played was against Kilkenny this year and our poster boys were nowhere to be seen the good teams just cut them out and that's that,we were beat all ends up v Kilkenny,yes we hurled for 20 mins but that's a load of crap,IV watched it back lads a couple of times should have been bet by 6-9 points I reckon!!!our form since 19 is terrible what are ye on about!!! And by the way I'd be out a good bit and listen to crap about Wexford when the fact are staring you in the face,and people think we are better now than 19,cop on!!!!"
Davy never bet a Munster team in the championship with us... What's your point?

Were you in nowlan park? ROC and Mac were excellent. Ok Chin didn't have his best Day.

I can't understand how you would think we were better in 19. Certainly better organized but David Dunne and Willie deverex came on off the bench. I think that basically ends the discussion.

Chin was good then, he's top 3 now. ROC was good then but was a child. He's a man now.

We won something in 19. Yeah great. That was amazing. We are better now, but the higher ranked teams have improved faster than us is my point. That happens in all sport.

I'll give you one more example that might help. Had we played Limerick in 19 I'd have been confident. I don't see any scenario where we could beat them this year. We're still better than we were then, bit they've gone from gifted youngsters to an unstoppable winning machine in that time.

Think of it this way. We've a similar team since 5 years ago but have added Eoin Ryan (massive improvement in Donohue). D Reck has developed from a novice into one of the finest hurlers in the country. Shane's gone from a debutante to one of the best man markers in the game.

We've lost Shaun Murphy. Very solid but never really elite. Same for Harry kehoe.

Paul Morris is a bigger loss but is he any more dangerous than Cian Byrne?

If you don't get what I'm saying by now I'll just drop it.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2897 - 19/06/2024 09:08:03    2552899

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  ""Awful bunch of people on and off the pitch"?

Are you being serious? Youve let yourself down badly with that one."
They're absolutely horrible, bitter and victimized. The way they have treated the Fitzgeralds speaks volume of them, they would have no All Ireland the last 100 years without Davy, yet look at what they done in Portlaoise in 2020 and within Clare. Was no shock the horrible crowd voted against change in days.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 656 - 19/06/2024 09:17:09    2552901

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "The funny thing was we went toe to toe with Clarecastle in the Clare final winning by a point in a replay if I remember correctly, then we annihilated all in front of us in the Ireland Feile beating a fancied Glen Rovers by a cricket score in the final. Hoggy was on the bench for Glen Rovers that day as an 11 or 12 year old.

I didn't make the panel for the Feile that year in 99.
I was very disappointed as I was on it through the Clare Feile but I was a year young for that group. Still have the medal at home though."
You could not make your club panel at u-14?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 656 - 19/06/2024 09:22:45    2552903

We aren't talking about how you got on against other counties. Only us.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12853 - 19/06/2024 09:25:33    2552904

Sound thanks!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12853 - 19/06/2024 09:26:13    2552906

Sound thanks!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12853 - 19/06/2024 09:26:18    2552907

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Absolutely 100%. I remember it well.

My own club hosted a team from the North who ended up paying us a return visit a couple of years later. And we made it to a final that year ourselves, that was played at Tinryland in Carlow on a scorching hot day.

Was a little incorrect in earlier statement though, as was actually Wexford, Carlow and Kilkenny who co-hosted it. I mistakenly said Wexford, Carlow and Wicklow. But Wexford was definitely one of the hosts anyway!"
Thanks Pikeman should've known better than dispute one of your posts;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12853 - 19/06/2024 09:27:02    2552909