Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Yellow:  "Every Cork and Dublin supporter will be cheering for Wexford."
Really! I don't think they will be overly interested in us not getting the day changed. Their concentration will be focused on their own game they might hope that Wexford would win and so knocking out one of the top seeds.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 366 - 17/06/2024 09:57:20    2552197

Don't know if true but heard rumour of this morning of 7pm in Nowlan Park on Saturday to facilitate Wexford.
I would caveat by saying source "questionable"......

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1202 - 17/06/2024 09:59:22    2552199

Shame they couldn't prop cork dublin up with louth and cork in the fotoball which will probably be in navan. And have a triple headed in croker on sunday with Tailteann cup

222 (UK) - Posts: 730 - 17/06/2024 09:59:47    2552201

Replying To hunting:  "Absolute disagree and I heard from a reliable source the very same Clare voted against it. I hope to god we stuff them satutday and I sick of he sight of Lohan and that Clare team at this stage(mainly because they have beaten us so much in the last few years:))"
Wexford could win and good luck to them if they do but its unfair to blame Clare for having anything to do with the change of date this was fixed months ago surely somebody should have factored in the fact that the Feile was on this weekend in WX.

Looking forward to a great game against ye

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 940 - 17/06/2024 10:02:07    2552205

A pity the match hasnt been changed to Sunday but we have to get on with now. Strange game on Saturday felt like a challenge game at times but we got the job done. Thought backs done well particularly Matt and Eoin Ryan however we really need to improve our tackling. Laois scored 13 points from placed balls we cant afford to give away frees on Saturday. Hearne and Liam Og were good midfield. Charlie caught a lot of good ball would love to see him have more confidence in himself and have his own shot although he handed ball off well to runners. Good to see Tucker get his debut. Chin and Mac were very good. Please god Chin's calf is okay heart was in my mouth when I seen him pull up end of first half. Fantastic to see Mac back to his best. We really need Mac, ROC , Chin and Cian on song Saturday. This is a massive game at the weekend. Im sick of the sight of Clare and we need to put them out of the championship now! We need every Gaa person in Wexford who is not involved in Feile to travel and support the lads. It would be a massive boost to hurling in the county to beat Clare and reach an All Ireland Semi Final. Any info on the injuries lads? Will Jacko, Liam Ryan ( see a poster suggesting he may be available although ive heard otherwise) Richie Lawlor ( is he injured or out of favour? ) , Dee be back in contention on Saturday? We need a big performance on Saturday but it is one we are capable of.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 321 - 17/06/2024 10:06:59    2552207

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Don't know if true but heard rumour of this morning of 7pm in Nowlan Park on Saturday to facilitate Wexford.
I would caveat by saying source "questionable"......"
I doubt it is true but that would be some occasion and atmosphere!

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 321 - 17/06/2024 10:17:04    2552213

Replying To clooney:  "Wexford could win and good luck to them if they do but its unfair to blame Clare for having anything to do with the change of date this was fixed months ago surely somebody should have factored in the fact that the Feile was on this weekend in WX.

Looking forward to a great game against ye"
When Clare delegates voted against the change to facilitate Wexfords supporters, then you can blame Clare.

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 79 - 17/06/2024 10:17:41    2552214

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "You've totally misunderstood my point. Nothing to do with playing at croke park. All to do with volunteers and youngsters not being able to attend an all Ireland quarter final next Saturday. Shameful decision"
Rugby was pencilled in for Croke Park next Saturday. If that happened there would be no option to change the Tailteann Cup to Sat so you would never have requested a change to Sunday for your game.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1749 - 17/06/2024 10:35:01    2552227

Match fixed for 3.15 in Thurles Saturday. Id encourage every Wexford Gaa supporter who can go to get their tickets today and lets get behind the lads on Saturday

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 321 - 17/06/2024 10:45:01    2552234

Replying To eoinog:  "Rugby was pencilled in for Croke Park next Saturday. If that happened there would be no option to change the Tailteann Cup to Sat so you would never have requested a change to Sunday for your game."
I don't understand how the Tailteann cup became involved in this. Wexford would have been happy to play Clare anywhere at any time on a Sunday. No need to be switching anything. Just let us play Sunday

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 293 - 17/06/2024 10:45:17    2552235

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I doubt it is true but that would be some occasion and atmosphere!"
It's just.not true. Read the statements. Quarter finals to proceed as planned

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 293 - 17/06/2024 10:46:57    2552236

Replying To eoinog:  "Rugby was pencilled in for Croke Park next Saturday. If that happened there would be no option to change the Tailteann Cup to Sat so you would never have requested a change to Sunday for your game."
You Still don't get it. Nothing to do with rugby or football. All to do about volunteers and kids missing out on attending the Wexford match. Wexford county board brought this matter to the attention of Croke Park 3 weeks ago .

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 515 - 17/06/2024 11:09:39    2552252

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "You Still don't get it. Nothing to do with rugby or football. All to do about volunteers and kids missing out on attending the Wexford match. Wexford county board brought this matter to the attention of Croke Park 3 weeks ago ."
Wexford GAA are giving a €150 bus subsidy to any club bringing underage teams to ensure children not involved in Féile get an opportunity to attend the game.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 395 - 17/06/2024 11:20:45    2552258

Is it not a bit much at this stage that they're telling people that tickets are going on sale at 2pm yet no one seems to be able to say what time the game is actually at?

Honestly since this position season has come in in its current guise it's been a complete mess across the board.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1378 - 17/06/2024 11:27:22    2552262

Replying To Afinestick96:  "A pity the match hasnt been changed to Sunday but we have to get on with now. Strange game on Saturday felt like a challenge game at times but we got the job done. Thought backs done well particularly Matt and Eoin Ryan however we really need to improve our tackling. Laois scored 13 points from placed balls we cant afford to give away frees on Saturday. Hearne and Liam Og were good midfield. Charlie caught a lot of good ball would love to see him have more confidence in himself and have his own shot although he handed ball off well to runners. Good to see Tucker get his debut. Chin and Mac were very good. Please god Chin's calf is okay heart was in my mouth when I seen him pull up end of first half. Fantastic to see Mac back to his best. We really need Mac, ROC , Chin and Cian on song Saturday. This is a massive game at the weekend. Im sick of the sight of Clare and we need to put them out of the championship now! We need every Gaa person in Wexford who is not involved in Feile to travel and support the lads. It would be a massive boost to hurling in the county to beat Clare and reach an All Ireland Semi Final. Any info on the injuries lads? Will Jacko, Liam Ryan ( see a poster suggesting he may be available although ive heard otherwise) Richie Lawlor ( is he injured or out of favour? ) , Dee be back in contention on Saturday? We need a big performance on Saturday but it is one we are capable of."
Charlie did have at least one wide Saturday

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12849 - 17/06/2024 11:38:08    2552268

Game was never going to be in Croke Park either way

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12849 - 17/06/2024 11:39:03    2552270

Replying To WEX98:  "Wexford GAA are giving a €150 bus subsidy to any club bringing underage teams to ensure children not involved in Féile get an opportunity to attend the game."
Great initiative by Wexford Gaa and I would hope a lot of clubs take up the offer. The way tickets are distributed online now could be an issue for clubs looking to bring underage teams though unless the county board organises an order for them?

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 321 - 17/06/2024 11:39:05    2552271

Rumours now on twitter games may be played later in the day. Makes no odds to myself I can travel but with Tickets supposed to be going on sale at 2 its a bit of a mess

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 321 - 17/06/2024 12:08:37    2552291

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Rumours now on twitter games may be played later in the day. Makes no odds to myself I can travel but with Tickets supposed to be going on sale at 2 its a bit of a mess"
It says 1:15 on ticketmaster. I presume that's the first game. If it was played at 7pm then realistically a large travelling support from Wexford could make it.

A side note, the last time we played em in Thurles there was no Wexford support to speak of. Maybe a few thousand? Maybe we are.looking too much into this large crowd miffed about not going. Where were they in 22?

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 293 - 17/06/2024 12:35:06    2552307

Replying To Yellow:  "Every Cork and Dublin supporter will be cheering for Wexford."
I'd expect Dublin to shout for us anyhow, the only problem is that there probably won't be many dubs supporters in Thurles. They don't really travel to follow the hurlers and especially after the Leinster final. And I wouldn't be too sure about Cork, I couldn't see a Munster county cheering for a Leinster team.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 225 - 17/06/2024 12:56:35    2552320