Donegal GAA thread

Replying To S1234:  "Just because you don't like what you see it's not nonsense..thought this was a public forum ! You also post in different forums it's called free speech h grow up ."
What's your opinion on the shameful way your County Board got rid of Kevin Mc Stay and his backroom team?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 628 - 26/06/2025 10:34:01    2621157

I do see McGuinness point regarding the break but he's obviously using as psychological leverage at this stage!

So i can see why Monaghan chaps are tiring of it. Not their doing after all. Their break was due to winning the group so that's the prize. whether it is advantage we will only know from weekend's results.

Still, all adds to the crack and while normally I wouldn't bother heading in for full game if Dublin are playing afterwards i will definitely be there at 3 on Saturday. Two great games likely .

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3661 - 26/06/2025 10:47:11    2621158

Replying To Jack L:  "Ah calm down. This is dragging on too long. Match is fixed forSaturday. Move on. It's getting beyond a joke at this stage.
This is Quarter Final weekend. Eight of the topteams in the country based on this year's championship.
Armagh
Tyrone
Galway

Donegal/Monaghan could go all the way. Hopefully it will be settled over 70 minutes or this page will be full of anti Donegal properganda next week

At least the winners next weekendwill have 13/14 days rest to the semi finals"
Sick reading all these arguments. Some people are carrying on like spoilt brats. As I said b4 game is on Saturday and it's time to talk about the game. Most of the chat coming from people who think nothing of running other people down. Very selective in there criticism I must say. Hopefully farah and patton are fit to start, both didn't look right towards the end of the game last Sunday.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2641 - 26/06/2025 11:01:50    2621163

Replying To The_viewer:  "Looking forward to the game now, there should be a real championship feel to it, as both managers wear their hearts on their sleeves and will have their teams pitched for battle, no better place than Croke park.

The defense setups will play a huge part. From what I have seen of Monaghan they tend to go more man-to-man inside their own 45, this has pros and cons, it's harder for the opposition players to receive a pass and will have less time on the ball, which happened us in the 1st half against Louth. But it should be easier to open up space inside the D if you pull the defenders out with you for the runners coming in heading for goal.

Donegal are the opposite with a more zonal defense setup around the 40m arc, which is good for denying opposition players space inside the D and harder to score goals. But the zonal defense which can be slow to shift across the field will be open to Monaghan's 2-pointer expertise.

Monaghan tend to position Beggan centrally outside the 45, and the tactic seems to be move the ball to one side, then a quick foot pass to Beggan, who then kicks the ball to the opposite side quickly, where a player receives it and tees it up for Ward, McCarthy, Bannigan or McCarron to come on a loop for a 2-pointer. Beggan is also good at picking out passes to the inside forward line and can obviously hit 2-pointers himself. But his Achilles heel is, if Monaghan gets turned over in an advanced position, he won't be the quickest back to his own goal.

To counteract the 2-pointer threat, I'd prefer to see Donegal use their 45 instead of the 40m arc as their defensive line and putting bodies into these 2-pointer zones to put pressure on the likes of Dessie Ward. As he will be one of the guys coming on the loop. Picking up or putting pressure on the main 2-pointers will not be an easy task because Monaghan have 5 or 6 good players who can score easily.

Monaghan will put the full press on Donegal for our kick outs as well, so midfield will be the launch pad for the attacks for both teams, Patton and Beggan will be key here also. The McGee/McFadden tactic worked well against Louth and gave us a lot of energy around midfield in the 2nd half, it'll be needed this Saturday. Safe journey to everyone travelling down. Donegal Abu."
Nice analysis there.

I think Monaghans one to one marking leaves them susceptible to conceding goals with direct quick diagonal ball. Conceded a number of goals relatively soft goals in this manner against Louth and Down and I am sure the Donegal management will target this.
If Mohan is out it might allow Donegal play Murphy further in as Monaghan struggle on their own kick out without him.

That said there is a real freshness about Monaghan this year. With the likes of Dessie ward, Bannigan and Mooney really establishing themselves this year.
They need to step up again if Monaghan are to win on Sunday.

Should be a humdinger with Donegals better balance and experience to see them through.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 206 - 26/06/2025 11:03:16    2621164

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Enjoy your last day out. At least you haven't far to travel from."
We are going to hold a whip around for the Donegal fans for all their travelling this year :(

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 259 - 26/06/2025 11:49:00    2621171

Replying To Chops:  "Currently holidaying in south of France. Lourdes about 4 hours from here. Considering going there to get a mass said for all the poor Donegal supporters and players that have to travel to Croke park. And a 6 day turnaround, imagine. Game should have been in Ballygobackwards in at least 4 weeks time."
You think you'd enjoy what sounds like an amazing holiday instead of being so miserable as to post on another county's board with a message of begrudgery.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 286 - 26/06/2025 11:56:13    2621172

Replying To Chops:  "Currently holidaying in south of France. Lourdes about 4 hours from here. Considering going there to get a mass said for all the poor Donegal supporters and players that have to travel to Croke park. And a 6 day turnaround, imagine. Game should have been in Ballygobackwards in at least 4 weeks time."
Such a sad individual. Taking time out of a holiday to write a post in here, hoping to annoy a few Donegal people.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 701 - 26/06/2025 12:05:04    2621181

Replying To Scenicparish:  "What's your opinion on the shameful way your County Board got rid of Kevin Mc Stay and his backroom team?"
I wouldn't b quick to judge - you surely remember the shameful way we treated Paddy Carr..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1698 - 26/06/2025 12:05:59    2621182

The stuff posted in here these days is utter nonsense - very off putting.

Can we keep the childish stuff to the school yards please.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1698 - 26/06/2025 12:07:00    2621184

As suspected some good seats in the cusack stand are on ticketmaster now. I guess all the season ticket holders didn't use their allocation and maybe some back from the clubs.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 883 - 26/06/2025 12:07:25    2621185

Replying To farneygael3:  "We are going to hold a whip around for the Donegal fans for all their travelling this year :("
Ah noe...Sure you know we'll only spend it on celebratory ice creams in Monaghan town on way home ;-)

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 286 - 26/06/2025 12:13:19    2621187

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I do see McGuinness point regarding the break but he's obviously using as psychological leverage at this stage!

So i can see why Monaghan chaps are tiring of it. Not their doing after all. Their break was due to winning the group so that's the prize. whether it is advantage we will only know from weekend's results.

Still, all adds to the crack and while normally I wouldn't bother heading in for full game if Dublin are playing afterwards i will definitely be there at 3 on Saturday. Two great games likely ."
JMcG hasn't uttered a word to the media since last Sunday. Throw in times were decided after Monday's draw. Let's stick to facts before having a pop.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 615 - 26/06/2025 12:30:29    2621192

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I wouldn't b quick to judge - you surely remember the shameful way we treated Paddy Carr.."
What actually was the problem with Carr that time? Nothing really was mentioned after

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 785 - 26/06/2025 12:50:36    2621197

Replying To eunans4ever:  "The stuff posted in here these days is utter nonsense - very off putting.

Can we keep the childish stuff to the school yards please."
Agreed. When you have a Westmeath (knocked out by Wicklow) fan, on holiday on the French Riviera coming on to get a dig in, I think we can say the thing has bottomed out. You'd hope so anyway.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9842 - 26/06/2025 12:57:30    2621199

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sick reading all these arguments. Some people are carrying on like spoilt brats. As I said b4 game is on Saturday and it's time to talk about the game. Most of the chat coming from people who think nothing of running other people down. Very selective in there criticism I must say. Hopefully farah and patton are fit to start, both didn't look right towards the end of the game last Sunday."
apparently Gallen was cramp from the pods and interviews I listened to after the game but it looked to me like he went for a high ball and landed awkwardly. We had no more subs left at that time otherwise I'd guess he would have come off

Patton I don't know, someone told me he was limping at half time but again I thought he had hurt himself trying to get a touch on Sam Mulroy's two-pointer attempt

fingers crossed both were just wee niggles in-game and easily run off, we will need both of them without a doubt

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 230 - 26/06/2025 13:17:14    2621209

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Ah noe...Sure you know we'll only spend it on celebratory ice creams in Monaghan town on way home ;-)"
We won't begrudge yous that. #JammysWhiningMatches

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 259 - 26/06/2025 13:24:08    2621213

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I wouldn't b quick to judge - you surely remember the shameful way we treated Paddy Carr.."
He had lost the confidence of the players, and when informed of this he then resigned.

But you have the remember that the Head Coach, whom the Chair of the time insisted upon, and whom Carr had no relationship with, had the ear of the players, and it was ultimately he who replaced Carr.

But in defence of the players, it was a couple of them that ultimately brought Jim back, and for that we have to be eternally grateful. Without their input we could still be in the doldrums.

But the people at the helm of the County Board now are also a different pedigree to those of that time, and they have to be recognised for the part they have played.

All in all, as a county, we are doing a lot of things right.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 820 - 26/06/2025 13:35:50    2621220

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sick reading all these arguments. Some people are carrying on like spoilt brats. As I said b4 game is on Saturday and it's time to talk about the game. Most of the chat coming from people who think nothing of running other people down. Very selective in there criticism I must say. Hopefully farah and patton are fit to start, both didn't look right towards the end of the game last Sunday."
Couldnt understand why Farah wasn't taken off near the end, we were 15 points up at the time. I think it was more cramp than injury, seemed to be getting energy sachets from Antoin McFadden . Think Patton's issue was his shoulder, I'd say he will play even if shoulder isn't 100% because he's so important for kick outs. The games he missed were because of an ankle injury.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 701 - 26/06/2025 13:40:48    2621223

Its incredible, for all the activity on here, from contributors from different counties, there hasn't been a post on the Monaghan forum for nearly a full 24 hours at this stage. Apologies to Seanie08 and Exile who have posted sensible content.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 820 - 26/06/2025 13:44:03    2621227

Replying To S1234:  "You mean you hope you enjoy your own last day out ..funny how ye are so dismissive of Monaghan.
Waiting in the long grass Monaghan are !"
Are you still creeping around here?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1253 - 26/06/2025 13:46:10    2621229