Replying To SouthOfTheGap: "Jim lives rent free in his head, he gets a mention in his Irish Independent article nearly every single week, and often contradicts what he said the week before." Ah now lads, you are stretching the 'everyone's against us' trope a bit far if you need to add Dick Clerkin into the mix.
Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1259 - 25/06/2025 17:11:13
Replying To Lockjaw: "Lad, I dont deny that the split season was instigated by players and the GPA. Burns himself has said that concerts and alternative sporting events being held in Croke Park are a necessity for the GAA to be financially viable. I have absolutely no problem with that, it's a hard headed pragmatic approach. Both things are true.
We shouldn't just shrug our shoulders and accept the status quo, especially when some of the biggest names in the sport are voicing concerns. See my previous 2 week recommendation on my previous post for just an example." What big name players have voiced concern? None that I know.
ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 655 - 25/06/2025 17:14:22
Looking forward to the game now, there should be a real championship feel to it, as both managers wear their hearts on their sleeves and will have their teams pitched for battle, no better place than Croke park.
The defense setups will play a huge part. From what I have seen of Monaghan they tend to go more man-to-man inside their own 45, this has pros and cons, it's harder for the opposition players to receive a pass and will have less time on the ball, which happened us in the 1st half against Louth. But it should be easier to open up space inside the D if you pull the defenders out with you for the runners coming in heading for goal.
Donegal are the opposite with a more zonal defense setup around the 40m arc, which is good for denying opposition players space inside the D and harder to score goals. But the zonal defense which can be slow to shift across the field will be open to Monaghan's 2-pointer expertise.
Monaghan tend to position Beggan centrally outside the 45, and the tactic seems to be move the ball to one side, then a quick foot pass to Beggan, who then kicks the ball to the opposite side quickly, where a player receives it and tees it up for Ward, McCarthy, Bannigan or McCarron to come on a loop for a 2-pointer. Beggan is also good at picking out passes to the inside forward line and can obviously hit 2-pointers himself. But his Achilles heel is, if Monaghan gets turned over in an advanced position, he won't be the quickest back to his own goal.
To counteract the 2-pointer threat, I'd prefer to see Donegal use their 45 instead of the 40m arc as their defensive line and putting bodies into these 2-pointer zones to put pressure on the likes of Dessie Ward. As he will be one of the guys coming on the loop. Picking up or putting pressure on the main 2-pointers will not be an easy task because Monaghan have 5 or 6 good players who can score easily.
Monaghan will put the full press on Donegal for our kick outs as well, so midfield will be the launch pad for the attacks for both teams, Patton and Beggan will be key here also. The McGee/McFadden tactic worked well against Louth and gave us a lot of energy around midfield in the 2nd half, it'll be needed this Saturday. Safe journey to everyone travelling down. Donegal Abu.
The_viewer (Donegal) - Posts: 17 - 25/06/2025 17:23:17
Replying To Eddie the Exile: "You might be reading too much into that. Anyway there's no great animosity toward Donegal anywhere in Monaghan, the very opposite in fact. There's real connections between the supporters and the game in Clones a few weeks back bore this out again. At the end of the day, Donegal have Tyrone and Derry to occupy their minds in terms of rivalries, while Cavan and Tyrone do it for Monaghan. (not that Tyrone care too much!) On that note, it will be an interesting dynamic in Croke Park for the second game on Saturday- will Monaghan and Donegal supporters support Tyrone in the second match?? For the most part they will I'd say. Hard to look at another game after being knocked out of the All Ireland all the same." Hi, I wouldn't be regarding it as a Monaghan and Donegal thing, no. Have heard McManus and others give Donegal their dues and never found anything between Donegal and Monaghan fans either other than a nice competitive edge but respectful. I'm genuinely talking solely about Clerkin who I've read many a time with a negative angle on us. Have to say listening to Colm Boyle on Newstalk as well this week, I wonder if i am watching the same Donegal team as he is. Pundits can be baffling enough at times. Will be a great game this weekend I would say like the Ulster meeting. Enjoy, but not too much!
Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1470 - 25/06/2025 17:29:53
Replying To The_viewer: "Looking forward to the game now, there should be a real championship feel to it, as both managers wear their hearts on their sleeves and will have their teams pitched for battle, no better place than Croke park.
The defense setups will play a huge part. From what I have seen of Monaghan they tend to go more man-to-man inside their own 45, this has pros and cons, it's harder for the opposition players to receive a pass and will have less time on the ball, which happened us in the 1st half against Louth. But it should be easier to open up space inside the D if you pull the defenders out with you for the runners coming in heading for goal.
Donegal are the opposite with a more zonal defense setup around the 40m arc, which is good for denying opposition players space inside the D and harder to score goals. But the zonal defense which can be slow to shift across the field will be open to Monaghan's 2-pointer expertise.
Monaghan tend to position Beggan centrally outside the 45, and the tactic seems to be move the ball to one side, then a quick foot pass to Beggan, who then kicks the ball to the opposite side quickly, where a player receives it and tees it up for Ward, McCarthy, Bannigan or McCarron to come on a loop for a 2-pointer. Beggan is also good at picking out passes to the inside forward line and can obviously hit 2-pointers himself. But his Achilles heel is, if Monaghan gets turned over in an advanced position, he won't be the quickest back to his own goal.
To counteract the 2-pointer threat, I'd prefer to see Donegal use their 45 instead of the 40m arc as their defensive line and putting bodies into these 2-pointer zones to put pressure on the likes of Dessie Ward. As he will be one of the guys coming on the loop. Picking up or putting pressure on the main 2-pointers will not be an easy task because Monaghan have 5 or 6 good players who can score easily.
Monaghan will put the full press on Donegal for our kick outs as well, so midfield will be the launch pad for the attacks for both teams, Patton and Beggan will be key here also. The McGee/McFadden tactic worked well against Louth and gave us a lot of energy around midfield in the 2nd half, it'll be needed this Saturday. Safe journey to everyone travelling down. Donegal Abu." Well done Viewer, a lot of accurate information there.
The only caveat I would have is the wind, it dictates how far out you engage. Louth had a very good low block in the first half last week, it worked a treat with us kicking into a difficult wind. However it wasn't nearly as effective in the 2nd half.
SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 818 - 25/06/2025 17:35:19
Replying To Lockjaw: "Fair enough, I can accept that. But can you also accept that there is a convenience involved too? The GAA are right to capitalise on their prize asset when they can, but not to the point where their primary flagship competitions are being rammed into a few weeks.
The split season works well in general. Players know their playing schedule is defined and can plan their loves accordingly, which is great as that wasn't the case in the past. I would argue that it has been to the detriment of league football though, definitely the case in Donegal in my opinion.
Like anything, it can always be improved and tweaked. Let's see what 2026 brings." Of course I accept that there is an inconvenience involved. Me personally, I prefer the old season as a supporter. I respect that the players got the season they wanted and there is no sign they want "any" changes back. It just really irks me that every time I hear complaints about the new season most punters seem to believe GAA HQ brought it in and that's just fake!
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 959 - 25/06/2025 17:45:18
Right that's me done talking about fixtures, scheduling & Croke Park.
Time to concentrate on the games themselves. Monaghan are never to be underestimated. They play on the edge and have a fair sprinkling of quality players. I think maybe our better squad could be the difference though. If McMonagle is back I think we're pretty much full strength (amazing really considering all the games we've had to play in such a short period of time LOL)
Safe travels to all those attending and hopefully a good match in store.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9838 - 25/06/2025 17:48:11
Replying To The_viewer: "Looking forward to the game now, there should be a real championship feel to it, as both managers wear their hearts on their sleeves and will have their teams pitched for battle, no better place than Croke park.
Monaghan will put the full press on Donegal for our kick outs as well, so midfield will be the launch pad for the attacks for both teams, Patton and Beggan will be key here also. The McGee/McFadden tactic worked well against Louth and gave us a lot of energy around midfield in the 2nd half, it'll be needed this Saturday. Safe journey to everyone travelling down. Donegal Abu." It's true Beggan will be slow getting back to goal if they get turned over. You would love to see Donegal target this by kicking the ball long when they win a turn over. Its not in our DNA, we always run hard out of defense..... but There will be goals to be had if they have a strategy to catch Beggan off his line and move the ball quick
High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 25/06/2025 18:12:51
Replying To Lockjaw: "Right that's me done talking about fixtures, scheduling & Croke Park.
Time to concentrate on the games themselves. Monaghan are never to be underestimated. They play on the edge and have a fair sprinkling of quality players. I think maybe our better squad could be the difference though. If McMonagle is back I think we're pretty much full strength (amazing really considering all the games we've had to play in such a short period of time LOL)
Safe travels to all those attending and hopefully a good match in store." Yous are a spent tiresome camp. There is only one winner Saturday my friend.
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 256 - 25/06/2025 18:15:34
Replying To ORIELMAN85: "What big name players have voiced concern? None that I know." Daragh o'Se .. 6 time all ireland winner and multiple all star. Is that a big enough name for you
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 699 - 25/06/2025 20:58:45
Replying To The_viewer: "The GAA currently have an Amateur Status Review Committee Survey open. So we can all have our say, it takes maybe 15mins to complete, but worth getting the frustrations down in writing. It states to complete the survey by the 17th June, but I was able to complete it on Monday. Link below:
https://www.gaa.ie/article/amateur-status-review-committee-survey-issued" Do you honestly think any suggestions in such a survey will get traction ?? Unless you're given dem ideas on how to make more money of course.
totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1092 - 25/06/2025 21:32:16
Replying To greenfan: "Daragh o'Se .. 6 time all ireland winner and multiple all star. Is that a big enough name for you" Sure they wouldn't know what an All Ireland winner is in Monaghan man. lol.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3292 - 25/06/2025 21:55:17
Ah calm down. This is dragging on too long. Match is fixed forSaturday. Move on. It's getting beyond a joke at this stage. This is Quarter Final weekend. Eight of the topteams in the country based on this year's championship. Armagh Tyrone Galway
Donegal/Monaghan could go all the way. Hopefully it will be settled over 70 minutes or this page will be full of anti Donegal properganda next week
At least the winners next weekendwill have 13/14 days rest to the semi finals
Jack L (None) - Posts: 3164 - 25/06/2025 22:04:28
Replying To farneygael3: "Yous are a spent tiresome camp. There is only one winner Saturday my friend." Maybe. Could be said too that Monaghan haven't played one Division One team other than Donegal and they lost that one. The other games all Division 2 or lower teams.
Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1470 - 25/06/2025 22:17:35
Replying To greenfan: "Daragh o'Se .. 6 time all ireland winner and multiple all star. Is that a big enough name for you" Not actually playing at moment or have you noticed.
ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 655 - 25/06/2025 22:21:06
Replying To farneygael3: "Yous are a spent tiresome camp. There is only one winner Saturday my friend." Enjoy your last day out. At least you haven't far to travel from.
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 626 - 25/06/2025 22:21:47