Donegal GAA thread

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "They fluked a final last year. Curran is never getting near the starting 15 this season."
You ever happy? Hardly hear from you when we win and then when we lose or someone doesn't play well you're straight on here to give out. Weird behaviour.

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 91 - 27/05/2025 09:54:20    2612950

Also, Donegal not on any form of tv or streaming service this weekend. So those who can't make it, it'll be radio only for you unless Cavan try and stream it which I don't think they will.

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 91 - 27/05/2025 09:55:38    2612951

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Aye. Let's see how they do this year. Until then, club football can take a backseat. Should only be worried about county for the next month or so."
Jeez, what's wrong with you. A club worked hard over many years and got themselves from intermediate all the way to a county final, yet you have to belittle their achievement.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 27/05/2025 10:58:15    2612977

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Aye. Let's see how they do this year. Until then, club football can take a backseat. Should only be worried about county for the next month or so."
It's not about how well div 2 teams do, it's about how this year and last we have seen consistently strong performances from players who fit the profile that the Donegal senior side has been lacking.

Every member of backroom team and training squad is sacrificing themselves for the cause, and this is in no way questioning dedication, talent, or ability, but we're playing footballers who have played less for club and county in two seasons than Evan Ferguson has appearances for West Ham. Where's the balance?

I understand there is secrecy around knocks and niggles, but we're asking for trouble when starting against the likes of Tyrone or Galway with one recognized full-back on the team or bench.

We would have beaten Galway with a second full-back. We would have beaten Tyrone if we had any support for McCole on pitch for final 10. It's not as if our forwards starting in backline created anything in final 10.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 461 - 27/05/2025 11:26:55    2612989

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Good luck in the Tailteann Cup Saturday against Waterford......"
My county dont play in the Tailteann lol. My address is where I live not where Im from. My county are far more successful than Donegal.Far more but I do hope Wicklow do well in the Tailteann.Nice people there.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 145 - 27/05/2025 11:31:32    2612997

Replying To greenfan:  "They fluked nothing. They got to the final on merit."
They also played very well in the final for a young team playing in their first final.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 506 - 27/05/2025 11:35:02    2612998

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Is there? Senior Champ runners up are Div 2, Gaeltacht Champions are Div 2. All Ireland Junior Champs Div 2.

Dungloe have the best defensive record in the county this year so far, and alongside Mark Curran there's Aaron Ward and Karl Magee in the county squad. Instead of showing any faith in lads from Dungloe, Termon, Four Masters, Aodh Ruadh, who are doing the business consistently championship and league, we're bringing in players straight from the injury room or that have not shown any sort of form, club or county, in years.

I suppose next year we'll say Division 2 is much stronger than Division 1 when Gaoth Dobhair and Kilcar swap with Dungloe and Aodh Ruadh."
Mark Curran quit the panel did he not ?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8403 - 27/05/2025 11:40:48    2613001

Replying To brayballer:  "Lol. Look on the bright side.When Mayo beat yous look at all the money yous will save"
you're a strange character

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 192 - 27/05/2025 11:57:05    2613006

Replying To Breffni40:  "Me neither. There were some Donegal posters suggesting it for their own county before the final though. Funny what some people choose to believe."
One poster from Tyrone said that Cavan threw the Ulster championship and that's where that "narrative" came from. I wish people would take a second sometimes to think things through before posting. Cavan people were hardly delighted to lose to Tyrone in Ulster and anybody suggesting otherwise... lán cac!

I hate the idea of giving up on an Ulster, for what? Like I said in another post there's no guarantees in life. Go out and try win every game you can

Looking forward to Breffni on Sunday it's been a wee while since I was there, a fine ground

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 192 - 27/05/2025 12:02:54    2613011

Replying To Scenicparish:  "They also played very well in the final for a young team playing in their first final."
Yep. I hate the sometimes snobby attitude towards teams operating in Div2 or at Intermediate level.
There was no such nonsense last year when we won Ulster and reached the AI semi final coming from Div 2.

I also think it's much harder to win a very competitive Donegal Intermediate Championship than it is to win the couple of games that are needed to retain Senior Championship status.

Dungloe fully merited their place in last year's county final and did very well when they got there too. Unlucky to come up against a way more experienced Eunans team who just had a bit of extra quality on the day.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9783 - 27/05/2025 12:06:10    2613014

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "It's not about how well div 2 teams do, it's about how this year and last we have seen consistently strong performances from players who fit the profile that the Donegal senior side has been lacking.

Every member of backroom team and training squad is sacrificing themselves for the cause, and this is in no way questioning dedication, talent, or ability, but we're playing footballers who have played less for club and county in two seasons than Evan Ferguson has appearances for West Ham. Where's the balance?

I understand there is secrecy around knocks and niggles, but we're asking for trouble when starting against the likes of Tyrone or Galway with one recognized full-back on the team or bench.

We would have beaten Galway with a second full-back. We would have beaten Tyrone if we had any support for McCole on pitch for final 10. It's not as if our forwards starting in backline created anything in final 10."
I wonder why you focus on this when there seem to be a whole pile more obvious reasons for losing.

Tyrone scored 17 points and I would have taken that before the game even allowing for the wet conditions. Mccurry got I think three from play and Canavan none and again you would have taken that.

The first goal was really nothing to do with defence, just a basic mistake. The second goal came from a shot into keepers hand and Donegal were never properly set and someone lost seanie O'Donnell l.

Donegal missed double digits in wides. Langan, ryan mchugh and mcbrearty were the only players to score from play. So gallen, Murphy, Thompson, o'baoill, the two O'Donnell's, moore didn't and they all been chipping in with points this year. you cannot expect to win then that's the case.
Also that poor two point giveaway free at the end of the first half was not clever.

Add that to the injuries and most notably Patton and they are all bigger reasons that not having another more defensive player at the back.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 839 - 27/05/2025 12:19:31    2613019

Replying To brayballer:  "My county dont play in the Tailteann lol. My address is where I live not where Im from. My county are far more successful than Donegal.Far more but I do hope Wicklow do well in the Tailteann.Nice people there."
No one asked and tbh no one cares?

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 91 - 27/05/2025 12:33:38    2613024

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Mark Curran quit the panel did he not ?"
His name was on the extended panel at the weekend

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 27/05/2025 12:37:16    2613026

Would do your head in at times some of the SAD cases on here. Would the same people have the balls to say the same things if ye met them in a pub, cafe etc at a match.

NORTHMEN (Donegal) - Posts: 19 - 27/05/2025 12:41:21    2613028

Replying To greenfan:  "His name was on the extended panel at the weekend"
Ah ok.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8403 - 27/05/2025 13:12:01    2613034

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "I wonder why you focus on this when there seem to be a whole pile more obvious reasons for losing.

Tyrone scored 17 points and I would have taken that before the game even allowing for the wet conditions. Mccurry got I think three from play and Canavan none and again you would have taken that.

The first goal was really nothing to do with defence, just a basic mistake. The second goal came from a shot into keepers hand and Donegal were never properly set and someone lost seanie O'Donnell l.

Donegal missed double digits in wides. Langan, ryan mchugh and mcbrearty were the only players to score from play. So gallen, Murphy, Thompson, o'baoill, the two O'Donnell's, moore didn't and they all been chipping in with points this year. you cannot expect to win then that's the case.
Also that poor two point giveaway free at the end of the first half was not clever.

Add that to the injuries and most notably Patton and they are all bigger reasons that not having another more defensive player at the back."
agree with you generally but Thompson definitely got a score early in the 2nd half fyi

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 192 - 27/05/2025 13:30:26    2613041

Replying To brayballer:  "My county dont play in the Tailteann lol. My address is where I live not where Im from. My county are far more successful than Donegal.Far more but I do hope Wicklow do well in the Tailteann.Nice people there."
How come you're too scared say where you're from? Strange behaviour.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 447 - 27/05/2025 13:31:04    2613042

I suppose it's in to cavan now. there's no doubt they'll be bouyed up by the against mayo. They changed their keeper for the mayo match and guess he'll be keeping his place. Paddy lynch was back after a long lay off with the acl and made a sub appearance. I guess he won't start but at the very least it add options. They gave us plenty of it in the league last year in breffni and were close to winning it. Faulkner cut through us a lot. The two weeks prep and all the matches donegal have played will surely help them as well.

And after 2020 any kind of Tyrone like hold over them is well gone. It's their first championship match in breffni of the year and there's sure to be a huge cavan crowd, especially after beating mayo.

I heard mcGuinness mention there would be one training session this week. With the knocked and bruises it's a challenge. If Patton is definitely out I guess kickouts will be a key focus..it's hard to win without the ball. He'll no doubt the players will be looking for reaction from themselves as well. I'd love to see them go hard at it from start.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 839 - 27/05/2025 13:47:23    2613044

Replying To dgcrusader:  "No one asked and tbh no one cares?"
And yet a poster on this thread asks. lol

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 145 - 27/05/2025 14:44:15    2613062

Replying To greatpoint:  "How come you're too scared say where you're from? Strange behaviour."
Why would I be scared to admit where im from? Im proud to be from county that had the greatest team of all time and a county that has 29 more All Ireland football titles than Donegal.Sorry you asked now?

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 145 - 27/05/2025 14:50:02    2613063