Donegal GAA thread

As the dust settles I think we can look back at a great year, promotion back to div one and Ulster champions. We could have won the semi final but Galway were better in those last 10 minutes and deserved their victory on the day. There is nothing between the teams that will play in div one next year.

There is a lot of talk about Jim finding some players in the club championship but I'm not sure that is likely. I think the players that will come into the reckoning next year are the likes of Finbar Roarty, Luke McGlynn and Donal MacGiolla Bride. No doubt that McFadden Ferry and Ethan O'Donnell would be great additions if they come back. Not sure there is some inside forward in club football out there that we don't know about, hopefully I'm wrong but lads like Gallen and McBrearty don't come around that often.

If Jim can get another 5% out of our current squad and we stay injury free, we will be very close next year. We have the best manager, that I have no doubt about. I am really positive about next year.

Interesting comments on the academy and I share those concerns expressed by others. It is back up and running but not sure it's at the same level as under Karl.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1903 - 06/08/2024 23:04:53    2564108

Replying To ThroughTheGap:  "And don't forget that the defining score of the game was a flukey goal from Donegal. A Galway player did something similar to Thompson a minute or so after the ref blew Thompson and the ref let it go. It led to a point. The overcarrying call on McHugh at the start of the second half was bizarre. It led to a point. Everything went Galway's way. Donegal are a better team."
I don't know how you can say with any real conviction that Donegal "are a better team" than Galway and that everything went our way but fair enough that's your opinion. What are your thoughts about the battle in the middle of the park? I thought Galway really had the edge around the middle and definitely targeted that as a weak point for Donegal, but there was nothing in it elsewhere.

Donegal scoring efficiency was outstanding but they ran out of steam in the last 10 and I think that really impacted your shot selection in particular. If you can increase the depth of your panel coupled with another year under Jim ye will not be far away in 2025.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 07/08/2024 12:19:33    2564143

Replying To ThroughTheGap:  "And don't forget that the defining score of the game was a flukey goal from Donegal. A Galway player did something similar to Thompson a minute or so after the ref blew Thompson and the ref let it go. It led to a point. The overcarrying call on McHugh at the start of the second half was bizarre. It led to a point. Everything went Galway's way. Donegal are a better team."
I think you're talking about the "ifs and buts" championship, can't say who would have won it but some likely results are Mayo would have beaten Dublin in the qualifiers, Armagh would have beaten Donegal in Ulster, Dublin would have beaten Galway in the quarters, all pie in the sky, fact is Galway finished stronger than Donegal and when the pressure came on Donegal lost their way and the best team won.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 781 - 07/08/2024 13:04:18    2564152

Replying To ahsure.:  "I don't know how you can say with any real conviction that Donegal "are a better team" than Galway and that everything went our way but fair enough that's your opinion. What are your thoughts about the battle in the middle of the park? I thought Galway really had the edge around the middle and definitely targeted that as a weak point for Donegal, but there was nothing in it elsewhere.

Donegal scoring efficiency was outstanding but they ran out of steam in the last 10 and I think that really impacted your shot selection in particular. If you can increase the depth of your panel coupled with another year under Jim ye will not be far away in 2025."
In fairness I think most Donegal fans would agree with your assessment, you will always get the odd comment that stirs the pot a little with the opposing fans.

Going into that game, Galway were seen as a Top 3 or Top 4 side, the type of test we hadn't really faced yet. I think most of us hoped we could beat this Galway side, especially with the McGuinness factor, but knew it was a really big ask in his first year back with a group that hadn't reached an All Ireland Semi final in 10 years.

After the game I think a lot of realised it was game we could have won, as both teams scored 15 times, but we missed a lot of scores late in the game and Galway got a crucial goal. I agree that Galway midfield were better and I think our missed chances late in the game were more to do with pressure that Galway were applying to our attacks, which was in part due to their bench making greater impact. Galway faced a massive injury problem this year too, so that has to be considered now that the dust has settled on this year, as I thought Galway were the stronger side in the All Ireland final.

But despite that, we were still very close and it showed that with some improvement we can dance with top sides again. And while I don't think we are better than Galway, I do think we can compete with the likes of Galway now. No guarantee of us beating those teams, but at least we are back in the conversation again.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 07/08/2024 13:27:48    2564160

It's hard to argue that Donegal didn't get parity in a couple of decisions that went unpenalised the other way around which was crucial in a game of small margins. As another poster pointed out Galway did dominate the middle especially on their kickouts. I don't think Jason was at full fitness which certainly played into it. However the game was there for the taking and we didn't grasp it so no point looking back. I prefer to concentrate on looking forward and we've lots to be positive about. There are a handful of teams including Donegal and Galway capable of winning Sam. Jim will pick apart where we can improve and I'm sure we'll see a step forward with confidence restored. We went 3 games unbeaten against the AI champions so we know we're close.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2806 - 07/08/2024 15:23:00    2564172

Hey folks..just wanted ask you all on what happen to Stephen mcBrearty..I always remember him being a class act scoring forward and was the main man in that minor team that got to the all-ireland final. What's is he doing now..is he still playing for kilcar and if so is he still scoring..and also what age is he now..? Be great to get a few people opinion on him..thanks

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 184 - 08/08/2024 11:57:05    2564244

Replying To RoryGall35:  "Hey folks..just wanted ask you all on what happen to Stephen mcBrearty..I always remember him being a class act scoring forward and was the main man in that minor team that got to the all-ireland final. What's is he doing now..is he still playing for kilcar and if so is he still scoring..and also what age is he now..? Be great to get a few people opinion on him..thanks"
He was still playing with Kilcar earlier this year and playing well, but not sure what his current status is.
I thought he would be a wing forward or CHF for Donegal eventually, but he didn't get a decent run there.

He left the Donegal senior squad years ago aand haven't heard any mention of him making a return.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 08/08/2024 13:19:11    2564262

Replying To Commodore:  "He was still playing with Kilcar earlier this year and playing well, but not sure what his current status is.
I thought he would be a wing forward or CHF for Donegal eventually, but he didn't get a decent run there.

He left the Donegal senior squad years ago aand haven't heard any mention of him making a return."
OK thanks man..do you know what age he is..?

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 184 - 08/08/2024 15:47:50    2564282

Replying To RoryGall35:  "Hey folks..just wanted ask you all on what happen to Stephen mcBrearty..I always remember him being a class act scoring forward and was the main man in that minor team that got to the all-ireland final. What's is he doing now..is he still playing for kilcar and if so is he still scoring..and also what age is he now..? Be great to get a few people opinion on him..thanks"
Hey

I dont think he was considered the main man in that minor team tbh and plenty of stars from that never made it really.
He was a good club player but he never cut it at County Level
I think he is around 27/28 now

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 08/08/2024 20:18:25    2564308

He was on the minor team that got to the final in 2014 so that puts him 28. He hasn't been hitting the same heights in club football anyway that other county men have from what I've seen. Pity. Was outstanding in tne AI semi against Dublin back in 2014.

ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 30 - 08/08/2024 21:10:02    2564315

Replying To ThroughTheGap:  "He was on the minor team that got to the final in 2014 so that puts him 28. He hasn't been hitting the same heights in club football anyway that other county men have from what I've seen. Pity. Was outstanding in tne AI semi against Dublin back in 2014."
Kilcar fairly underachieved with their golden generation of players a few years ago..one championship, and a bore it was..

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 08/08/2024 22:57:24    2564325

Replying To ThroughTheGap:  "He was on the minor team that got to the final in 2014 so that puts him 28. He hasn't been hitting the same heights in club football anyway that other county men have from what I've seen. Pity. Was outstanding in tne AI semi against Dublin back in 2014."
I don't think it was a case that he didn't make at county level it was that he didn't commit and pulled out of the panel.I remember him playing against Dublin in a league game a number of years ago in Croke Park and he was outstanding.I was watching Kilcar on TG4 in the Gaeltacht and he played well enough.However when he didn't commit to Donegal maybe he is just not 100% commited overall.From my memory there might have been injuries as well.I am sure there are people out there who know the story.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 08/08/2024 23:08:25    2564327

Replying To RoryGall35:  "OK thanks man..do you know what age he is..?"
He is 28 this year 2024.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 09/08/2024 08:27:31    2564337

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Hey

I dont think he was considered the main man in that minor team tbh and plenty of stars from that never made it really.
He was a good club player but he never cut it at County Level
I think he is around 27/28 now"
I felt Stephen McBrearty never really got a proper run at County level, like some players need more time to settle and I didn't think he got a fair crack at it.

Donegal have lost a lot of other talented players over the last 7 or 8 years to injury or other factors that would still be of eligible age to play for the team, like Odhran MacNiallais, Conor Morrison, Kieran Gillespie, Micheal Carroll, Declan Walsh, Cian Mulligan, Eoin McHugh, Odhran McFadden Ferry and Darrach "Jigger" O Connor.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 09/08/2024 08:44:35    2564339

I think sometimes we just have to face the fact that some players just do not want, or can't commit to county football.
Stephen McBrearty isn't the first, nor won't be the last, who was probably talented enough to have a county career but for his own reasons decided it wasn't for him.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 09/08/2024 08:48:29    2564340

First time poster, long time reader here. Enjoy the debates on here most of the time! What is everyone's predictions for the Senior, Intermediate and Junior Championships? Really hard to look past Glenties for the Senior Championship, have more or less the same squad as last season plus a couple of exciting minors coming through!

The Intermediate is a tough one to call, very much a minefield. I'd fancy Termon slightly, but any one of Malin, Buncrana, Naomh Columba or Bundoran could win it. These are the ones that I think are slightly ahead of the rest.

In the Junior, I think it's a toss up between Carndonagh and Muff, both with very good young squads and key county men to call upon. Bit of a drop off then after that with Convoy and Naomh Brid next up. I watched Convoy against Carn and thought they were quite poor, seem to be missing a lot from the team that played over the last few years. After that then you have Moville, Muff and Naomh Ultan, who could shock anyone on their day but just aren't consistent enough to challenge this year in my opinion.

Looking forward to reading all your opinions on the championship over the next 6/7 weeks!

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 24 - 09/08/2024 13:23:10    2564390

Replying To Commodore:  "I felt Stephen McBrearty never really got a proper run at County level, like some players need more time to settle and I didn't think he got a fair crack at it.

Donegal have lost a lot of other talented players over the last 7 or 8 years to injury or other factors that would still be of eligible age to play for the team, like Odhran MacNiallais, Conor Morrison, Kieran Gillespie, Micheal Carroll, Declan Walsh, Cian Mulligan, Eoin McHugh, Odhran McFadden Ferry and Darrach "Jigger" O Connor."
Odhran left himself, he was given plenty of opportunities and to be honest, he never really recaptured his form that he showed when he first burst on the scene
Eoin McHugh is the same, plenty of opportunities
Odhran Ferry has had some serious bad injuries and i dont think he gets in this team even if fit..
Same with Jigger, he was good in 2014, and wasnt any good after it, he doesnt really light it up at club level either
I disagree on the rest though too, dont think they were good enough

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 67 - 09/08/2024 21:59:18    2564473

Replying To dgcrusader:  "First time poster, long time reader here. Enjoy the debates on here most of the time! What is everyone's predictions for the Senior, Intermediate and Junior Championships? Really hard to look past Glenties for the Senior Championship, have more or less the same squad as last season plus a couple of exciting minors coming through!

The Intermediate is a tough one to call, very much a minefield. I'd fancy Termon slightly, but any one of Malin, Buncrana, Naomh Columba or Bundoran could win it. These are the ones that I think are slightly ahead of the rest.

In the Junior, I think it's a toss up between Carndonagh and Muff, both with very good young squads and key county men to call upon. Bit of a drop off then after that with Convoy and Naomh Brid next up. I watched Convoy against Carn and thought they were quite poor, seem to be missing a lot from the team that played over the last few years. After that then you have Moville, Muff and Naomh Ultan, who could shock anyone on their day but just aren't consistent enough to challenge this year in my opinion.

Looking forward to reading all your opinions on the championship over the next 6/7 weeks!"
I think this might be St. Eunans year for no real reason other than my gut, although Naomh Conaill appear to be like the Dubs in that they never get tired of winning and don't fall off the wagon so I'll never rule them out.
Intermediate is an absolute minefield as you say, so many teams could win it but I think I would put my money on Malin. Operating at a good competitive level in division 1 and lost the final last year although intermediate seems to be a horrible championship to get out of and teams don't seem to do well in it consistently.
Junior I can't look past Naomh Padraig Muff, strong panel with good young players and experience at a higher level of division 2 this year, Naomh Bríd, Carndonagh and Convoy all in with a shout though.

NPadraigAbu (Donegal) - Posts: 78 - 10/08/2024 00:29:53    2564494

Wondering what the thoughts are surrounding our current league structure, especially from junior clubs. This might not be a popular opinion but I wonder would we benefit from bringing back Division 4 and adding the teams from the lower half of division 3 and perhaps St. Eunans B and Naomh Conaill B? There seems to be a real gap in quality between some clubs and it's not really helping anyone getting beaten by 10+ points week on week. Of course you could argue there should be an onus on these clubs to bridge the gap but I'm just wondering whats the general consensus?

NPadraigAbu (Donegal) - Posts: 78 - 10/08/2024 00:34:47    2564495

Predictions for Championships

Senior: Naomh Conaill
Have added Finbarr Roarty to team. Ethan O'Donnell & Eoghan McGettigan back as well.

Intermediate: Termon
Could be any one of five or six teams but will give Termon the nod.

Junior: Carndonagh
Conor O'Donnell being back for Carn will be massive.

KHL (Donegal) - Posts: 107 - 10/08/2024 10:29:38    2564507