Donegal GAA thread

Replying To totalrecall:  "Even shipping 3 goals, we were very unlucky not to take at least a draw away and were better than Cork for large periods of the game. There is no equity in how the GAA schedule their games, we played 5 championship games against div 1 opposition in 7 weeks,in the same period Cork played 3, and one of those was against Waterford ffs!"
We were full value for our win against Donegal, and BTW, we haven't played Waterford this year.
I'm also confident that we can get the win against Tyrone. Everybody keeps writing us off, but we are not that bad and we are definitely a team on the up.. As are Donegal.. See you in the AI final ; )

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 14/06/2024 14:39:29    2551443

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah sure we're blue in the face talking about it. I found it interesting to hear Eamon McGee totally disagreeing with Jimmy McGuinness on the whole provincial championship arguement.

We all know how highly Jimmy values the Ulster Championship.
Eamon's arguement is that it just leads to Kerry and Dublin sharing out All Irelands.

Do we scrap the provincials for a year or two and come up with yet another Championship format?"
And have you a plan B if Dublin and Kerry continue to dominate.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 735 - 14/06/2024 16:14:59    2551464

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah sure we're blue in the face talking about it. I found it interesting to hear Eamon McGee totally disagreeing with Jimmy McGuinness on the whole provincial championship arguement.

Eamon's arguement is that it just leads to Kerry and Dublin sharing out All Irelands.

Do we scrap the provincials for a year or two and come up with yet another Championship format?"
Kerry and Dublin were sharing All Ireland's when there was no back door and no split season . Back in the days when provinces were far more competitive than they are now

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 507 - 14/06/2024 16:55:48    2551472

Lot of people not giving Cork the credit they deserve for their victory , it's a bit disrespectful. Too many Donegal supporters getting a wee bit big-headed , thinking the only reason we lost was because of tiredness. It might have been a factor, but give credit to the opponent for a good game plan, well executed, just like Jim did after the game. Remember where we were last year, show a bit of humility and give other counties the respect they deserve, including Clare who will be a tough opponent tomorrow as they fight to stay in the championship.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 507 - 14/06/2024 17:03:05    2551473

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "We were full value for our win against Donegal, and BTW, we haven't played Waterford this year.
I'm also confident that we can get the win against Tyrone. Everybody keeps writing us off, but we are not that bad and we are definitely a team on the up.. As are Donegal.. See you in the AI final ; )"
It may not have been Waterford it was some mickey mouse outfit in munster, there is a reason Kerry have more all irelands than anyone else and that's because of the mickey mouse munster championship, they have never had to peak until the latter stages of the all ireland series

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 957 - 14/06/2024 18:21:16    2551486

The ulster championship has been detrimental to the advancement of ulster football in the all ireland series for years....ulster teams having to peak too early to get through the minefield

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 957 - 14/06/2024 18:25:12    2551487

Jim is the manager and I'll side with him. Jim likes the competitiveness of the Ulster Championship.
Wait until the season is over before making a judgement if it hindered our progress or not.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 14/06/2024 21:08:29    2551497

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "We were full value for our win against Donegal, and BTW, we haven't played Waterford this year.
I'm also confident that we can get the win against Tyrone. Everybody keeps writing us off, but we are not that bad and we are definitely a team on the up.. As are Donegal.. See you in the AI final ; )"
There is no doubting Cork played very well in spells against Donegal. I think we should have got a draw with the chances we had near the end.
I still think Tyrone will beat Cork but if you get a victory fair play and you will deservedly top the group and take your place in the quarterfinal.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 14/06/2024 21:16:41    2551500

Replying To greenfan:  "Lot of people not giving Cork the credit they deserve for their victory , it's a bit disrespectful. Too many Donegal supporters getting a wee bit big-headed , thinking the only reason we lost was because of tiredness. It might have been a factor, but give credit to the opponent for a good game plan, well executed, just like Jim did after the game. Remember where we were last year, show a bit of humility and give other counties the respect they deserve, including Clare who will be a tough opponent tomorrow as they fight to stay in the championship."
Exactly right, tiredness was a factor in how we played, nothing wrong with saying that because it's the truth, Cork were the better team on the day and deserved their victory, we could have snatched a draw at the end, we just didn't get the rub of the green as they say. There's no team I'd like to see doing well more than Cork as long as it's not against us as I said before.
This wee Donegal thread seems to attract attention from everywhere, lot of green eyed monsters around wanting Jim to fail,
enjoy the good times and get behind this team and management, the great days we had with Jim the last time might come again in a year or two, just enjoy it and to hell with the begrudgers.
Sorry to to see Jason not named on the matchday panel, hopefully he's fit for the next game.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2860 - 14/06/2024 21:24:53    2551502

Replying To sligo joe:  "And have you a plan B if Dublin and Kerry continue to dominate."
Ah here I'm not getting into the same debate with you again. Noone is saying that Dublin or Kerry still wouldn't be there or thereabouts. But they definitely would have to graft a bit more for it if an alternative to the current provincial set up ever comes to pass.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9264 - 14/06/2024 21:26:24    2551503

Replying To sligo joe:  "And have you a plan B if Dublin and Kerry continue to dominate."
What's Kerry dominating exactly?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 14/06/2024 22:26:53    2551516

Replying To Scenicparish:  "What's Kerry dominating exactly?"
Well if you take the last twenty titles, Dublin 9, Kerry 6, Tyrone 3 and a pair of one-hit wonders, so after Dublin, Kerry have some dominance compared to the rest.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 735 - 15/06/2024 09:08:12    2551545

How about let's try a real equal playing field in terms of championship structure and journey for everyone and see if your prophecy reads true in 10 years and see how many Sams are shared around then. Would be fascinating to see how it would fare out for teams once the turkey shoot style provincials are gone for some teams and the constant Division One opposition is gone for others.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1351 - 15/06/2024 10:09:26    2551552

Maybe you should concentrate on Sligo the the two pence Cup.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 862 - 15/06/2024 11:19:52    2551561

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Maybe you should concentrate on Sligo the the two pence Cup."
Sligo? Why? "Sligo Joe" "DUBLIN"

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 735 - 15/06/2024 12:29:01    2551580

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "How about let's try a real equal playing field in terms of championship structure and journey for everyone and see if your prophecy reads true in 10 years and see how many Sams are shared around then. Would be fascinating to see how it would fare out for teams once the turkey shoot style provincials are gone for some teams and the constant Division One opposition is gone for others."
I presume you might agree that the league has a level playing field. Ironic then that in the last 20 years the same two teams Dublin and Kerry are dominant with 11 titles between them. Donegal "one-hit" wonders again!

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 735 - 15/06/2024 12:41:03    2551584

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Maybe you should concentrate on Sligo the the two pence Cup."
Don't even engage with that lad, he is WUM, with an opinion on everything.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 92 - 15/06/2024 12:41:59    2551585

Replying To sligo joe:  "Well if you take the last twenty titles, Dublin 9, Kerry 6, Tyrone 3 and a pair of one-hit wonders, so after Dublin, Kerry have some dominance compared to the rest."
Wat about Sligo where u were born?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 339 - 15/06/2024 13:27:15    2551591

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Wat about Sligo where u were born?"
Why do you think I was born in Sligo, HS, name, Sligo Joe, County: DUBLIN

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 735 - 15/06/2024 14:05:54    2551599

A narrative on this Donegal thread that the poor return of All Irelands for Ulster teams is down to the tough campaign in Ulster. Maybe/maybe not. This tough Ulster campaign theory is repeated so often that it is taken now as fact. Proponents of this theory ignore the fact that the success rate of Ulster teams in the league is equally poor over the last 20 years. The same two teams with the most Sam's in these 20 years also have 11 of the twenty div1 league titles, Dublin and Kerry. Maybe the truth is there are many decent div1 teams in Ulster but just not quite good enough with a respectful exception for Tyrone.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 735 - 15/06/2024 14:20:31    2551604