Donegal GAA thread

Replying To CCFabu:  "Does anybody know when we will hear about the venues/times of the final round of fixtures? It's a real annoyance trying to plan journeys"
It's a joke, they made the draws for the groups before the provincial finals were made, big rush to help with booking hotels etc was the reason, why the delay now for this last group game?
p1ss up in a brewery phrase springs to mind.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2860 - 03/06/2024 22:06:05    2549302

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Hey, if we finish on the same score difference as Tyrone, wouldnt we top the group since it would then go to head to head and we beat them?"
No because Cork already have 4 points. When 3 teams are equal points it's not head to head

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1425 - 03/06/2024 23:09:43    2549310

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Just wanted to get my thoughts here from the Cork game.
Been mulling over it the last few days... we let in 3 calamitous goals, the 3rd being something you would see on a blooper reel. Yet we lost by 2 (last point was last action of the game so pretty much a 1 point)

Paddy's first 2 from play could have been goals.
Might be harsh but at least one of them should have, he has a habit of hitting the ball high instead of low when one on one but i will credit him, his best championship game in a long time, he sure loves playing Cork though!

The over carry, the dropped shots..we just had a bad day and to be honest we could do with it, too much hype over us..need brought down to reality.

We need to get back to scoring goals, we have the players and the pace to do this and we will need goals against Clare in 2 weeks.
I fancy Tyrone to beat Cork by a few points, and say its 5, that means they would be on + 12.
As we are on +5 right now, we would have to beat Clare by at least 7 (if we are level with Tyrone on Score difference, we take the head to head i think)
No harm to Clare, lovely people, great hurling county, but our football team at our lowest beat them by 5 last summer, we should be beating them by 10+ easily.
Especially since they need to beat us by 22 or more points in order to finish 3rd.

Jim will have a plan and I am sure it will involve getting goals.

Worst case scenario, we finish 2nd and Cork or Tyrone top the group, who do we fear in prelims?
Derry will be the best 3rd place team and they look absolutely finished (Thank you Mickey Harte)
I wouldnt be afraid of any of the other teams, Roscommon, Meath, Louth etc are all teams we should be beating at home.
And yes, if we go that route and get to the 1/4 we will face either a likely Dublin, Kerry or Armagh/Galway, not sure if we can face our group winner again, but you have to play the best to be the best.

We overachieved this year and as the Murphy said after the first Tyrone game "Donegal are 10 months into a rebuild"
We are headed in the right direction, our youth teams are doing well, our only senior lost was a smash and grab goal fest from a team who we would beat 9 times out of 10 if we played again

The season is not over, we should have at least 3 games left, lets hope Jim can get us over the line in them
I think we will still top the group and I think we will score 3+ goals against Clare
Cork will be tough to beat for Tyrone but Tyrone will do what we should have done, and put them away.
Hopefully by the bare minimum.

Up Donegal"
Not quite correct. If Tyrone draw or beat Cork, then a Clare win would put them through in 3rd and we go out, because we would both be on 2 points and lose on head to head.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1425 - 03/06/2024 23:11:25    2549311

Replying To benjyyy:  "Not quite correct. If Tyrone draw or beat Cork, then a Clare win would put them through in 3rd and we go out, because we would both be on 2 points and lose on head to head."
Ah good point!

Very unlikely though

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 15 - 04/06/2024 00:25:21    2549315

Replying To benjyyy:  "No because Cork already have 4 points. When 3 teams are equal points it's not head to head"
got it, thanks!

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 15 - 04/06/2024 00:25:59    2549316

Apparently fixed for Castlebar 3pm Saturday the 15th. I will not make it, a wedding that day, I was hoping we would be on the Sunday.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 113 - 04/06/2024 14:48:52    2549443

Replying To CCFabu:  "Apparently fixed for Castlebar 3pm Saturday the 15th. I will not make it, a wedding that day, I was hoping we would be on the Sunday."
Horrible place I hate the sight of it, but we'll have to go and support the boys, where they go we go.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2860 - 04/06/2024 15:40:04    2549457

Replying To CCFabu:  "Apparently fixed for Castlebar 3pm Saturday the 15th. I will not make it, a wedding that day, I was hoping we would be on the Sunday."
If we don't top the group we'll be grateful for the early Saturday throw in.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 253 - 04/06/2024 15:49:56    2549460

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "If we don't top the group we'll be grateful for the early Saturday throw in."
Always look on the bright side Al! Hopefully we'll get back on track with a good win,
need Mcgee back though, hopefully he's ok.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2860 - 04/06/2024 16:42:29    2549484

No sign of this being televised?
It would be a joke if two games of Donegal in row doesn't get televised

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 485 - 04/06/2024 16:57:46    2549486

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Horrible place I hate the sight of it, but we'll have to go and support the boys, where they go we go."
Nothing wrong with castlebar fantastic stadium with a massive seated stand. Don't remember winning there very often but we should rectify that Saturday week.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2472 - 04/06/2024 17:43:19    2549503

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "No sign of this being televised?
It would be a joke if two games of Donegal in row doesn't get televised"
Not on TV by the looks of things. Good old spin again for supporters.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9264 - 04/06/2024 17:50:15    2549506

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Not on TV by the looks of things. Good old spin again for supporters."
Not on tv and a long enough aul spin for a lot of people alright. Not sure the gaa understand geography that well. I do though have great memories of beating Galway there in a great quarter final in 2003 so I'll stick with that. A win guarantees at least 2nd.
Although not in gaa go I hope they give the match due attention. There's so many scenarios in play I hope the media and gaa aren't asleep at the wheel like they were last year.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 730 - 04/06/2024 18:25:08    2549511

Replying To rorysboys:  "Nothing wrong with castlebar fantastic stadium with a massive seated stand. Don't remember winning there very often but we should rectify that Saturday week."
Roscommon town and the Hyde would have been a better venue. The Castlebar pitch is also one of the smallest in the county and this doesn't suit us. I hope the gardai have a traffic management plan for Charlestown, it was a mess for our quarter final replay there against Galway in 2004.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 92 - 04/06/2024 19:26:59    2549518

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Roscommon town and the Hyde would have been a better venue. The Castlebar pitch is also one of the smallest in the county and this doesn't suit us. I hope the gardai have a traffic management plan for Charlestown, it was a mess for our quarter final replay there against Galway in 2004."
Charlestown wasn't a mess in 2019 but it was not good from the ballina/foxford to the n5 back towards Charlestown. The guards prioritised the traffic from foxford/ballina road and the n5 backed up badly. That won't be an issue this time. Hopefully the Donegal support will get out again.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 730 - 04/06/2024 21:17:27    2549542

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Roscommon town and the Hyde would have been a better venue. The Castlebar pitch is also one of the smallest in the county and this doesn't suit us. I hope the gardai have a traffic management plan for Charlestown, it was a mess for our quarter final replay there against Galway in 2004."
Yeah that stretch of road after Sligo through Tubbercurry & on to Charlestown is a bit of a joke given how busy it is. I once got caught behind a load of cyclists on a trip to Galway. Not much room to manoeuvre. The humour wasn't good!

But sure look, it was always going to be a bit of a spin no matter what the venue was. Leave yourself plenty of time to get down, parked up & a bit of grub. Hopefully the weather will be decent, we'll get the win & the return journey home won't seem so bad.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9264 - 04/06/2024 21:18:33    2549543

Castlebar is sh** location for a game, an absolute bottleneck, parking a joke, roscommon a much better venue. Another farcical GAA decision

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 957 - 04/06/2024 21:59:57    2549556

I was hoping for the Hyde myself. Castlebar is a hole of a place. The traffic was coming past Bohola the last time but at least it won't be Mayo in opposition this time. I don't particularly like the ground itself from where it's situated to the massive poorly placed floodlight pylons that make some parts of the ground a nightmare for spectating.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2792 - 04/06/2024 22:27:26    2549566

Replying To totalrecall:  "Castlebar is sh** location for a game, an absolute bottleneck, parking a joke, roscommon a much better venue. Another farcical GAA decision"
Agreed forgot about the parking or lack of then trying to get away.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2792 - 04/06/2024 22:30:17    2549567

Lose to Clare and we are out. Even a draw against Cork would have been ideal. Big slip up whatever messing around/experimenting we were at.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1153 - 04/06/2024 22:46:07    2549572