Donegal GAA thread

I can't see the vote of no confidence going through tonight but could wrong..!!! If reports are true that Croke park are currently doing an audit/investigation on the academy and other dealings within the CB then any vote should wait until these are concluded. If the 2 officers in question are forced to stand down and Croke parks report finds they had didn't done anything wrong within their role's what happens then..? Could they take the CB to court..? I'm not sure , maybe some of the contributors here could clarify. What happens if the CB resign en masse. Have we that many people waiting in the wings to step up and do all the jobs. IMO I would let CP do its work and come back with the findings before we can move forward or it could be one step forward and 2 back. 3 weeks out from the first round of Ulster championship the players and management don't need another major distraction.

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 03/04/2023 16:27:33    2468605

Replying To himachechy:  "Good. The first step to getting ourselves out of the current mess."
need all the other clubs to get behind this also.....
https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/donegal-gaa-clubs-issue-statements-calling-for-the-resignation-of-county-board-members-42415983.html

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 483 - 03/04/2023 16:29:28    2468606

Replying To PeterQ92:  "As soon as Paddy Carr stood down they should have pulled the best coaches in the county together and got them to come up with a plan to take over the reigns for the remainder of the season. This will have brought a new energy and a freshness to training and the possibility of an Ulster Championship.
Instead they appear to have taken the lazy option and just offered it to O'Rourke and Bradley, who were clearly a large part of the problem in the first place. Training and tactics will be the same, I suspect the results will too.
Well done County Board. Another fine mess."
How could the best coaches be asked when over 30 of them resigned over the Lacey debacle?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 301 - 03/04/2023 17:12:19    2468616

If 2 separate votes of no confidence are proposed and passed then I don't really know how the current board can continue? It could be carnage for clubs.

I see McGuinness, Charles that is, has left the panel. Playing for his club yesterday was a step too far for O'Rourke.

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 03/04/2023 18:30:26    2468648

Replying To PeterQ92:  "I've looked at your link and am none the wiser as to the point you are trying to make. This is not the son of the former county chairman, as you have claimed. May I suggest that you check facts before making up theories.

The coach in this link was with Bonner for minors, u21s and senior and was top class by all accounts. The fact that he happened to coach a college team with O'Rourke means nothing. You are adding 2+2 and reaching 10.

We are now stuck with O'Rourke and Bradley and for me that is a very unsatisfactory situation. There were so many better options that our county board could have gone after."
The article refers to former aodh ruadh player Anthony mcgrath who played minor and u21 football for donegal, won senior championship with his home club residing and working in Belfast for over 20 years. Is the nephew of former referee and county chairman mick mcgrath. Anyone who knows Anthony will tell you he's a good coach and a gentleman.

I fail to see why this has been brought up in the wrong context

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 924 - 03/04/2023 18:57:34    2468651

Four masters letter now in circulation on social media. Calling for resignation of children's officer and coaching officer

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 924 - 03/04/2023 19:12:20    2468656

An extremely sad day for Donegal GAA after last night's county committee meeting. Looks like the review is going to be an inside job. RIP Donegal GAA.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 728 - 04/04/2023 08:21:16    2468686

Like the guards investigating the guards. No good.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 653 - 04/04/2023 10:13:13    2468705

Replying To ryan:  "An extremely sad day for Donegal GAA after last night's county committee meeting. Looks like the review is going to be an inside job. RIP Donegal GAA."
Genuinely, why do you think this?

Did you expect or want an independent review to be carried out. I would be concerned that they will just look after each other on this. Putting a block on any appointments or resignations would suggest that is exactly what is about to happen. It protects those in situ. Effectively shutting the door on the Academy at the most important time of year. To me it seems a strange decision, and damaging.

If they come back an absolve "the 2" on the CB then I think things could get very messy.

ninety-two (Donegal) - Posts: 27 - 04/04/2023 10:18:01    2468711

Laughable to call it an "independent" review.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 400 - 04/04/2023 10:23:28    2468714

On the football front, I see the Ulster council have moved the u20 game forward to this Saturday because Rory Gallagher had thrown his toys outta the pram because he thought he couldn't beat Fermanagh without the u20 players in his senior panel. Bit unfair on Donegal who probably had their preparation planned based on having the game next Wednesday.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 483 - 04/04/2023 11:01:20    2468731

Why do people think that Croke Park are not going to do a full review and publish their full independent findings..?? have people on here defending both sides made up their mind already that my side hasn't done anything wrong.

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 04/04/2023 12:25:47    2468754

Replying To ninety-two:  "Genuinely, why do you think this?

Did you expect or want an independent review to be carried out. I would be concerned that they will just look after each other on this. Putting a block on any appointments or resignations would suggest that is exactly what is about to happen. It protects those in situ. Effectively shutting the door on the Academy at the most important time of year. To me it seems a strange decision, and damaging.

If they come back an absolve "the 2" on the CB then I think things could get very messy."
This is a worrying development, considering a couple of weeks ago we were all told that Croke Park were 'invited' to complete a review. Wouldn't they be the poor guest of they found against the people who invited them.

Not sure what a review will achieve anyway. This situation is more about politics than process. Everyone needs to be pulling the same direction. I don't see how county board could expect to have everyone to start pulling together while divisive figures are still in place. Those figures will end up going sooner or later. For the good of Donegal football it should be sooner

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 04/04/2023 12:27:49    2468755

Replying To Mid Don:  "Why do people think that Croke Park are not going to do a full review and publish their full independent findings..?? have people on here defending both sides made up their mind already that my side hasn't done anything wrong."
You were asking earlier if McGrath and McGeehin were ousted by the clubs and no wrong-doing was found could they sue the county board...

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 400 - 04/04/2023 12:36:39    2468758

Replying To Scenicparish:  "How could the best coaches be asked when over 30 of them resigned over the Lacey debacle?"
When referring to the best coaches in the county I was referring to senior coaches. Senior coaches who have worked at senior level and are likely to be working at a high level at the moment.
I was not referring to underage Academy coaches, many of whom would not yet have the required experience to be involved at senior inter county level.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 04/04/2023 13:31:09    2468773

Replying To himachechy:  "This is a worrying development, considering a couple of weeks ago we were all told that Croke Park were 'invited' to complete a review. Wouldn't they be the poor guest of they found against the people who invited them.

Not sure what a review will achieve anyway. This situation is more about politics than process. Everyone needs to be pulling the same direction. I don't see how county board could expect to have everyone to start pulling together while divisive figures are still in place. Those figures will end up going sooner or later. For the good of Donegal football it should be sooner"
No matter what the review finds, the clubs in the county still need to step up and remove these divisive characters, because I doubt any of them will resign. It's a bit mad that we currently have 2 former chairmen on the executive. The same people just moving from one role to another year after year.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 483 - 04/04/2023 13:36:03    2468776

Replying To totalrecall:  "The article refers to former aodh ruadh player Anthony mcgrath who played minor and u21 football for donegal, won senior championship with his home club residing and working in Belfast for over 20 years. Is the nephew of former referee and county chairman mick mcgrath. Anyone who knows Anthony will tell you he's a good coach and a gentleman.

I fail to see why this has been brought up in the wrong context"
Only SouthOfTheGap knows the point he was trying to make. It was a wild one.

As for the "investigation" by Croke Park. I always suspected that it would be a facade and a pretext. Nothing more. The only people who can genuinely resolve the mess and ensure that fail safes are put in place (ie: identify the incompetence and take it out by the root) are the clubs!

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 04/04/2023 13:46:25    2468780

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "You were asking earlier if McGrath and McGeehin were ousted by the clubs and no wrong-doing was found could they sue the county board..."
Could they..??

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 04/04/2023 14:18:57    2468795

The lads who were defending the 2 lads from the CB have dropped off the thread I see.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 04/04/2023 14:23:48    2468797

Replying To greenfan:  "No matter what the review finds, the clubs in the county still need to step up and remove these divisive characters, because I doubt any of them will resign. It's a bit mad that we currently have 2 former chairmen on the executive. The same people just moving from one role to another year after year."
Even Putin made himself Prime Minister when he couldn't be President for a period. The optics of transparency and accountability while nothing really changes.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1322 - 04/04/2023 14:35:10    2468804