Leitrim GAA thread

I see that Declan Bohan was elected as Chairman of the County Board but unbelievably, clubs did not nominate anyone to replace him as secretary. Declan is a great appointment but this really is shocking. I cannot recall a time where no one went forward for a position at county level. This is not what we want to hear going into 2025.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1070 - 20/12/2024 19:24:59    2584210

Replying To Square_B:  "I see that Declan Bohan was elected as Chairman of the County Board but unbelievably, clubs did not nominate anyone to replace him as secretary. Declan is a great appointment but this really is shocking. I cannot recall a time where no one went forward for a position at county level. This is not what we want to hear going into 2025."
Who'd be bothered?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2116 - 21/12/2024 01:27:55    2584219

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Who'd be bothered?"
Might as well stop playing games in the county if no ones 'bothered' so.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1070 - 21/12/2024 09:05:29    2584224

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Who'd be bothered?"
Who would be bothered?

Unfortunately if everyone took that attitude we wouldn't have any games or county team.

There would be no point in this forum either ,as there wouldn't be anything to complain about!!

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 522 - 21/12/2024 12:47:20    2584234

Just a brief Cómhgáirdeas to Declan Bohan on acceding to the County Chairman's role.
He's been a smashing Rúnai and while the task ahead looks difficult, we know he'll make a fine fist of it.
A replacement of his calibre will be hard found but you'd never know what might happen.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 720 - 22/12/2024 21:23:25    2584307

Leitrim played Longford on Saturday losing by three points with several players benched. The squad looks promising despite the losses The addition of the Harkin & Quinn brothers good news alongside Donal CaseyJordan Reynolds .Add in Beirne,O'Rourke Bros Prior, Honeyman & McNulty. A competitive side that provide hope for a good campaign.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 146 - 22/12/2024 23:43:15    2584314

Longford won 19-10 on Saturday afternoon. Very poor performance from Leitrim. Keith Beirne and Cillian Gaffey both injured and didn't feature. From accounts coming from within the setup the atmosphere and set up is very poor and unorganised. We can blame Mickey all we want but all we know is that Mark Plunkett and Pearse Dolan were the only definite departures from the squad. How has a manager allowed the following list of players to depart the setup.

Open to correction on this but are the following players not back this year?

Nevin O Donnell
Aidan Flynn
Conor Reynolds
Radick Oberwan
Arek Oberwan
Jack Gilheaney
Jamie Mcgreal
Tom Hughes
Paul Moran
Oisin McLoughlin
Jack Casey
Darragh Rooney
Niall Walsh
Donal Rynn
Paul Moran
Jake Tobin
Jordi Reynolds

18 Players and they would probably beat the current Leitrim team.

Rumour abound that Ryan wont be committing as-well this year and Shane Quinn will departing in February. Donal Casey will be missing for the first 4 rounds of the league. Alot of people were not happy with Andy Morans term and im still on the fence but the now i'm beginning to think he did a good job. Got promoted out of a league where Wexford, Laois, Longford(bar a bad run last year) are better than us and Tipperary and Carlow are on par with us. Im not sure with the current squad that we would have won many games in Division 4 never mind Division 3. There was consistency within the team and always positive messages coming from the players within the setup. I would question as to how Poacher has let this happen during his term. Alot of the negativity that is mentioned with his name seems to be coming to fruition. Announcing Barry McWeeney in the management team was a brilliant move as he is Leitrim football and would carry through he continuity from the last 3 years but he was allowed to setup away and take the 20's job. Great for the 20's but he should have been kept in the senior setup A big blow to the management team. Again how has poacher allowed this to happen. We announced a new goalkeeping coach but my understanding is the guy involved (Sharkey) the last two years was back in training the lads but left the management setup. Again why?

I fear for the year ahead, we seem to be regressing and the other teams seem to be moving forward. No good having the recent success underage if we cannot provide a pathway to a good senior setup.

Willies24 (Leitrim) - Posts: 3 - 23/12/2024 10:53:00    2584325

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Leitrim played Longford on Saturday losing by three points with several players benched. The squad looks promising despite the losses The addition of the Harkin & Quinn brothers good news alongside Donal CaseyJordan Reynolds .Add in Beirne,O'Rourke Bros Prior, Honeyman & McNulty. A competitive side that provide hope for a good campaign."
We need to prepare for possibility of 11 losses in 2025. A most difficult year lies ahead for Team Leitrim . On that optimistic note , I'll leave ye all with Christmas wishes to all before battle recommences in 2025.

MylesNaGopaleen (Leitrim) - Posts: 35 - 23/12/2024 11:31:04    2584329

Replying To Willies24:  "Longford won 19-10 on Saturday afternoon. Very poor performance from Leitrim. Keith Beirne and Cillian Gaffey both injured and didn't feature. From accounts coming from within the setup the atmosphere and set up is very poor and unorganised. We can blame Mickey all we want but all we know is that Mark Plunkett and Pearse Dolan were the only definite departures from the squad. How has a manager allowed the following list of players to depart the setup.

Nevin O Donnell
Aidan Flynn
Conor Reynolds
Radick Oberwan
Arek Oberwan
Jack Gilheaney
Jamie Mcgreal
Tom Hughes
Paul Moran
Oisin McLoughlin
Jack Casey
Darragh Rooney
Niall Walsh
Donal Rynn
Paul Moran
Jake Tobin
Jordi Reynolds

Rumour abound that Ryan wont be committing as-well this year and Shane Quinn will departing in February. Donal Casey will be missing for the first 4 rounds of the league. Alot of people were not happy with Andy Morans term and im still on the fence but the now i'm beginning to think he did a good job. Got promoted out of a league where Wexford, Laois, Longford(bar a bad run last year) are better than us and Tipperary and Carlow are on par with us. Im not sure with the current squad that we would have won many games in Division 4 never mind Division 3. There was consistency within the team and always positive messages coming from the players within the setup. I would question as to how Poacher has let this happen during his term. Alot of the negativity that is mentioned with his name seems to be coming to fruition. Announcing Barry McWeeney in the management team was a brilliant move as he is Leitrim football and would carry through he continuity from the last 3 years but he was allowed to setup away and take the 20's job. Great for the 20's but he should have been kept in the senior setup A big blow to the management team. Again how has poacher allowed this to happen. We announced a new goalkeeping coach but my understanding is the guy involved (Sharkey) the last two years was back in training the lads but left the management setup. Again why?

I fear for the year ahead, we seem to be regressing and the other teams seem to be moving forward. No good having the recent success underage if we cannot provide a pathway to a good senior setup."
How did Poacher let this happen? You're blaming the man for the problems in Leitrim football before he even starts. There are loads of players on that list that wouldn't be near a Leitrim first team.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 179 - 23/12/2024 13:12:24    2584337

Replying To Willies24:  "Longford won 19-10 on Saturday afternoon. Very poor performance from Leitrim. Keith Beirne and Cillian Gaffey both injured and didn't feature. From accounts coming from within the setup the atmosphere and set up is very poor and unorganised. We can blame Mickey all we want but all we know is that Mark Plunkett and Pearse Dolan were the only definite departures from the squad. How has a manager allowed the following list of players to depart the setup.

Nevin O Donnell
Aidan Flynn
Conor Reynolds
Radick Oberwan
Arek Oberwan
Jack Gilheaney
Jamie Mcgreal
Tom Hughes
Paul Moran
Oisin McLoughlin
Jack Casey
Darragh Rooney
Niall Walsh
Donal Rynn
Paul Moran
Jake Tobin
Jordi Reynolds

I fear for the year ahead, we seem to be regressing and the other teams seem to be moving forward. No good having the recent success underage if we cannot provide a pathway to a good senior setup."
What I've heard is that the players have been impressed with the training sessions but I did hear that some stuff away from the field has been disorganised.

That's a serious turn over of players and it does not bode well for the years ahead but Poacher cant surly be blamed for that?

Steven Poacher has probably one of the hardest jobs in the GAA atm it's a very tough job for his first gig as an intercounty manager I don't envy him.

The reality is that Leitrim were poxed with luck to get promoted this year. We lost to Carlow and Longford we robbed Wexford. And beat a complacent Laois.

I wouldn't have fancied our chances in Div 3 even if we had kept all the players you mentioned. So I agree it is going to be a very tough year.

I won't be too harsh on Steven Poacher in year one. My expectations are low. I'd agree I'd have liked to see a Leitrim man on the management team.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 356 - 23/12/2024 14:58:43    2584347

Nevin O Donnell
Aidan Flynn
Conor Reynolds
Radick Oberwan
Arek Oberwan
Jack Gilheaney
Jamie Mcgreal
Tom Hughes
Paul Moran
Oisin McLoughlin
Jack Casey
Darragh Rooney
Niall Walsh
Donal Rynn
Paul Moran
Jake Tobin
Jordi Reynolds

i thought someone mentioned Radek and Arek are injured, Shane Quinn deserves a break if he wants one as does Mark and Pierce. Nevin O'Donnell is from Cavan so its kinda hard to stop him going back. Donal Casey is someone who's commitment i'd question, doesn't play a massive amount of games for his club and its always hard to know if he's in or out, but he's a serious talent. Donal Wrynn is not county standard anymore and bar a fisted goal in the championship he was pretty poor. all the others have big futures in general and should have been coaxed a bit more to stay in but how do we know exactly what went on. most of these issues were there before Poacher took over (which is why Andy left) so its too easy and too early placing the blame on him. Ryan is maybe focusing on the club and wants to get himself fully right for the club championship as its kinda now or never for this fenagh team.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 135 - 23/12/2024 15:07:58    2584349

Nevin O Donnell
Aidan Flynn
Conor Reynolds
Radick Oberwan
Arek Oberwan
Jack Gilheaney
Jamie Mcgreal
Tom Hughes
Paul Moran
Oisin McLoughlin
Jack Casey
Darragh Rooney
Niall Walsh
Donal Rynn
Paul Moran
Jake Tobin
Jordi Reynolds

What a load of rubbish!

Leitrim@1960 (Leitrim) - Posts: 19 - 23/12/2024 17:08:19    2584358

Can anyone name the team that played at weekend? Really hope that's not true about Ryan not committing a hammer blow we just can't afford

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 257 - 23/12/2024 18:44:00    2584363

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "What I've heard is that the players have been impressed with the training sessions but I did hear that some stuff away from the field has been disorganised.

That's a serious turn over of players and it does not bode well for the years ahead but Poacher cant surly be blamed for that?

Steven Poacher has probably one of the hardest jobs in the GAA atm it's a very tough job for his first gig as an intercounty manager I don't envy him.

The reality is that Leitrim were poxed with luck to get promoted this year. We lost to Carlow and Longford we robbed Wexford. And beat a complacent Laois.

I wouldn't have fancied our chances in Div 3 even if we had kept all the players you mentioned. So I agree it is going to be a very tough year.

I won't be too harsh on Steven Poacher in year one. My expectations are low. I'd agree I'd have liked to see a Leitrim man on the management team."
All that matters are the training sessions. What does stuff away from the field being disorganised mean?

Sure all that matters is what happens on the field.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 51 - 03/01/2025 09:50:16    2584418

Replying To Leitrim@1960:  "What a load of rubbish!"
If you're going to call something a load of rubbish, at least tell us why it's a load of rubbish....

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1070 - 03/01/2025 12:53:23    2584438

Should have decent chance in the opener v Laois whom ye beat last year. If ye do then I would say at least 50/50 chance of remaining in 3. Not having seasoned players available in early stages of league can be a blessing in some ways. Best of Luck anyway.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 519 - 03/01/2025 16:43:50    2584454

Replying To martinjoe:  "Should have decent chance in the opener v Laois whom ye beat last year. If ye do then I would say at least 50/50 chance of remaining in 3. Not having seasoned players available in early stages of league can be a blessing in some ways. Best of Luck anyway."
Thank you ,always positive towards Leitrim.

It will be tough those year, due to players departures and injuries.It is a very inexperienced team, but with medium term potential.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 522 - 03/01/2025 19:34:57    2584473

A pity no preseason games this year to see who's in and out, even if we end up playing against 3rd string teams with a few lads who won't be seen again past January.

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 584 - 03/01/2025 21:20:17    2584485

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "All that matters are the training sessions. What does stuff away from the field being disorganised mean?

Sure all that matters is what happens on the field."
Off course it matters. Everything matters in the set up from players been looked after with gear, food etc. are gym sessions been conducted properly, is there a good physio on board. Everything matters

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 440 - 04/01/2025 08:21:07    2584511

People already giving poacher a pass when at least 3/4 starting players that have trained/committed for the year are gone. It's madness

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 440 - 04/01/2025 08:24:05    2584512