Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To ComainRos:  "I think Ben's year is over for Roscommon unfortunately. He's a huge loss but massive credit to the lads who put in a great shift yesterday. Momentum is a great thing and hopefully that continues onto next weekend. In delighted for all the players and management. They've had to put up with a lot of stick this year but in fairness they've kept at it and plugged away. I felt after the Mayo game that we were slowly but surely improving and I think yesterday was further proof of that. Keep it going now lads and who knows what happens? I often wonder if we had Ciaran, Cian, Eddie and Conor D this year what could this team achieve? Hopefully next year we can hold onto all players in current squad and get those other lads back. Ros Comáin abú"
That's a real pity. Main thing is he makes a full recovery and gets back to fitness. All of them deserve credit for yesterday but I second the mention for Donie as well. I didn't think he had full games in him either. Serious contribution but he has been one of our hungrier players off the ball in previous games putting opposition players under pressure. Also I had doubted him last year but Ciaran Lennon puts in a huge amount of work off the ball. On the players missing you mentioned, even if we had half of them available. Squad depth is a weakness but hopefully everyone can dig deep next week again.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 931 - 23/06/2024 09:57:03    2553937

Went to bed late last night but could not help replaying those fantastic points (not pints) and defensive display in my head. Woke up this morning and the same thing is happening. I am particularly delighted for the more experienced members of our panel who have toiled for many years after suffering difficult minor, under 21 and senior defeats to Tyrone.
(Colin Lavin, Niall Daly, Ronan Daly, Tadhg O' Rourke, Ultan Harney, Brian Stack, Diarmuid Murtagh, David Murray, Donie & Enda Smith) THIS WIN IS FOR YOU LADS!!!!

There was no cup yesterday but it one of the best Roscommon wins in years, when you consider that we had to play without; Ciaran Murtagh, Cian McKeon, Conor Daly and Ben O'Carroll. Therefore Davy Burke and his management team who have taken some unfair criticism also deserve great credit.

I do not care who we get in the quarter final (Kerry, Armagh, Donegal) as I think that if we can improve even more. We only had four scorers yesterday but had ten scorers for both our two previous matches.

We need to believe we can do it!!! YES WE CAN.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 576 - 23/06/2024 10:18:03    2553940

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Still on such a bloody high after that game, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. The biggest result I've seen from our seniors outside Connacht.

Our first quarter since 2017, was that super 8s? I'm struggling to remember our last knock out quarter final, was it cork in 2010?"
The Mayo quarter final replay in 2017 was knockout. Mayo went on to reach the final losing by a point to Dublin,

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2233 - 23/06/2024 10:20:11    2553941

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Still on such a bloody high after that game, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. The biggest result I've seen from our seniors outside Connacht.

Our first quarter since 2017, was that super 8s? I'm struggling to remember our last knock out quarter final, was it cork in 2010?"
Our last knockout Quarter Final is best forgotten....replay v Mayo 2017. McStay and his experiment with a man who'd never played a Senior match.
Mind you most of the Round Robin Quarters series games best forgotten too.

The past is gone, the next match is all that matters now.
Going in with 2 successive wins is great but then all the teams in the Quarters had to win games to get there.
Bring it on......

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1633 - 23/06/2024 10:46:08    2553953

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Our last knockout Quarter Final is best forgotten....replay v Mayo 2017. McStay and his experiment with a man who'd never played a Senior match.

Going in with 2 successive wins is great but then all the teams in the Quarters had to win games to get there.
Bring it on......"
Momentum is a huge thing now, hope we can recover physically.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 931 - 23/06/2024 11:51:55    2553979

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Our last knockout Quarter Final is best forgotten....replay v Mayo 2017. McStay and his experiment with a man who'd never played a Senior match.

Bring it on......"
And 2 of our best players on the bench for the replay

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 192 - 23/06/2024 12:00:38    2553985

Well done rossies yesterday. We all know about the good forwards Roscommon have and that's not counting the ones that didn't play yesterday (Ben O'Carroll, Cian McKeon and Ciaran Murtagh) but what was most impressive yesterday was holding Tyrone to a mere 0-12 in Healy Park few sides have done that in championship football.

Mayo let Connacht down could and should have been three Connacht teams in the last 8. For Galway and Roscommon now is trying to give their best competitive effort next weekend no getting away from the ridiculous schedule that's a major advantage for the four group winners.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 148 - 23/06/2024 12:38:08    2553998

Replying To D.Hyde:  "No, Super 8s came in in 2018. 2017 was knockout after we won Connaught title in Salthill. Should have beaten Mayo the first day but paid a heavy price in the replay on Bank holiday Monday!!"
Aw jaysus, I was better off when I had forgotten about that game!!

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 153 - 23/06/2024 12:44:48    2554001

Imposter

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1766 - 23/06/2024 13:29:20    2554006

Can Louth not get Kerry now meaning we can only draw one of Armagh or Kerry?

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1093 - 23/06/2024 17:12:19    2554060

Ye can get either Donegal, Armagh or Kerry.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 128 - 23/06/2024 17:26:25    2554062

We can get anyone but Dublin. Armagh can only get us or Louth, Louth can only get Armagh or Donegal

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 192 - 23/06/2024 17:34:29    2554066

Replying To moros:  "Can Louth not get Kerry now meaning we can only draw one of Armagh or Kerry?"
We could also draw Donegal. Louth winning today though makes it more likely we get Kerry or Donegal and less likely we get Armagh. I would prefer to avoid Kerry. Armagh would probably be the preferred draw. We'll tune in tomorrow morning and see what happens.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2233 - 23/06/2024 17:35:35    2554067

Sound. Thanks

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1093 - 23/06/2024 18:33:50    2554083

Replying To moros:  "Superb win for Roscommon. Well done to the squad and management team. Now push on and win that game next week. We need to win a championship game in Croke Park. When is the draw to find out our opponents. I'd fancy Donegal or Kerry tbh."
Kerry really I wouldn't maybe you argue bit unrested but that work to their advantage I give ye a chance vs Armafh donegal maybe but I don't think roscommon would be Kerry

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 246 - 23/06/2024 18:46:54    2554087

Happy enough to have drawn Armagh. Make no mistake about it, if we can beat Tyrone in Omagh we are well capable of beating Armagh in Croke Park. Bring it on...........

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 576 - 24/06/2024 08:53:47    2554232

Having taken everything in since Saturday, it really was an enjoyable trip to Healy Park. Some fantastic scores by Roscommon (Daire, Diarmuid and Donie were on absolute fire) and some very good defending. We dictated the game from the 1st minute and even when Tyrone were coming on strong, we managed the game and did not panic. Probably the 1st time we have managed a game like this all season.

Armagh to look forward to now. This is a great chance to get into a semi final. We would avoid Dublin in a semi final going by what the GAA President said on the live draw. If we can have a plan and not get intimidated by a very physical Armagh team it could be an enthralling game - we have to learn from the mistakes Galway made against them in not putting them away at the right times.

Another day out in Croker is always a good thing. Hon the Ros

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 34 - 24/06/2024 09:08:02    2554238

So Armagh it is, the only defeat they had in the championship this year was on penalties in the Ulster final and they probably left that win behind them in normal time and extra time. We'll need top of range recovery sessions this week to have us ready for intense battle hopefully we are given the extra day with the match Sunday instead of Saturday.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3819 - 24/06/2024 09:26:24    2554246

Ye have a good chance lads. Look back at the Galway vs Armagh game. they were well beaten until we coughed up a stupid goal. Best chance in decades for Roscommon to reach the last 4.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 128 - 24/06/2024 09:54:25    2554268

Replying To The_analyser:  "So Armagh it is, the only defeat they had in the championship this year was on penalties in the Ulster final and they probably left that win behind them in normal time and extra time. We'll need top of range recovery sessions this week to have us ready for intense battle hopefully we are given the extra day with the match Sunday instead of Saturday."
Given Armagh's recent history we need to practice penalties this week.

The two best supporters teams will be Dublin & Armagh. As a lot of Gaa supporters work on Saturdays my GUESS would be that the Dublin match will be the second match on the Saturday
for travelling purposes, with the Armagh v Roacommon match on the Sunday. (Hopefully) The Louth v Donegal match nearly has to be on the Sunday as it would be totally unfair to only give Louth only 6 days to recover and some other quarter finalists 8 / 14 days.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 576 - 24/06/2024 10:06:41    2554280