Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Conn Kilpatrick has been cleared to play against Roscommon tomorrow red card down graded to a yellow on a Tyrone appeal tonight. According to the rules " To strike or to attempt to strike an opponent with arm, elbow, hand or knee is a red card""
Vintage GAA, how does Fergal Boland's stand and Kilpatricks gets overturned. It's a pure lottery how the rules are applied.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 931 - 22/06/2024 11:32:58    2553578

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "We need a performance akin to those v Dublin and Mayo in 2023 if we're to win in this one.
Can we deliver one?"
Well they have it in them, can they deliver it is exactly the question. I think if the mood is good in the camp and the fight is there they can. This could be the last chance at reaching a QF for a few players, hope they can make it count. I don't know about Lee Keegan's simplistic talk of throwing off the shackles, you have to have good disciplined control and organisation against Tyrone. I can't see them throwing caution to the wind.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 931 - 22/06/2024 11:37:11    2553580

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "We need a performance akin to those v Dublin and Mayo in 2023 if we're to win in this one.
Can we deliver one?"
Well of the 53 people who have completed Lockjaws competition so far, 49 have gone for Tyrone, 2 have gone for a draw, but only myself and Dave1988 believe we can do it. Therefore the answer is "YES WE CAN".
About to hit and road from Dublin and no doubt will meet several die hard Rossies on the way who never give up supporting their team, even when they have to travel to home games.
Best of luck to the team, panel members and management today.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 576 - 22/06/2024 11:37:47    2553581

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Well of the 53 people who have completed Lockjaws competition so far, 49 have gone for Tyrone, 2 have gone for a draw, but only myself and Dave1988 believe we can do it. Therefore the answer is "YES WE CAN".
About to hit and road from Dublin and no doubt will meet several die hard Rossies on the way who never give up supporting their team, even when they have to travel to home games.
Best of luck to the team, panel members and management today."
So the odds are stacked against you !!!!
I'm one of the 49 that have gone for Tyrone but that doesn't stop me wishing you well. A win could herald a new beginning, a loss will probably bring this Mgt to its conclusion. I hope you win.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1752 - 22/06/2024 12:16:35    2553588

Roscommon can win this today or they could be beaten out the gate. It all depends on which Tyrone team turns up. Will it be the one who could challenge any team or will it be the one that couldn't be bothered.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 898 - 22/06/2024 13:57:12    2553600

I've a funny feeling ye could pull off a shock. I've ye to win (along with Mayo, Galway and Cork) in my accumulator so ye better ;) best of luck.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11303 - 22/06/2024 14:10:49    2553602

Replying To yew_tree:  "I've a funny feeling ye could pull off a shock. I've ye to win (along with Mayo, Galway and Cork) in my accumulator so ye better ;) best of luck."
You have wasted your money. Sadly to say but we haven't a prayer today. I expect result to be a foregone conclusion before half time

superos (Roscommon) - Posts: 48 - 22/06/2024 15:38:55    2553612

Savage stuff from The Rossies today. Great composure, great defending and some mighty scores.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7455 - 22/06/2024 18:38:53    2553677

Replying To yew_tree:  "I've a funny feeling ye could pull off a shock. I've ye to win (along with Mayo, Galway and Cork) in my accumulator so ye better ;) best of luck."
Good man yew!!
Brilliant result for the Ross!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8643 - 22/06/2024 18:39:06    2553680

Replying To superos:  "You have wasted your money. Sadly to say but we haven't a prayer today. I expect result to be a foregone conclusion before half time"
Your sum Roscommon supporter. Hang your head in shame. Excellent disiplined display. Well deserved

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 345 - 22/06/2024 18:39:18    2553681

Replying To superos:  "You have wasted your money. Sadly to say but we haven't a prayer today. I expect result to be a foregone conclusion before half time"
Some fan you are!

Great result for Roscommon and especially Davy Burke

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 22/06/2024 18:42:11    2553684

That will stop them talking.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 22/06/2024 18:46:21    2553687

?

Gaffman (Roscommon) - Posts: 23 - 22/06/2024 18:46:32    2553688

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Well of the 53 people who have completed Lockjaws competition so far, 49 have gone for Tyrone, 2 have gone for a draw, but only myself and Dave1988 believe we can do it. Therefore the answer is "YES WE CAN".
Best of luck to the team, panel members and management today."
You ye of little faith. What a win and well deserved.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 576 - 22/06/2024 18:53:16    2553693

well done the Rossies

SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 33 - 22/06/2024 18:59:22    2553694

Replying To BrigidsToom:  "Tough draw and not many expecting a win for us.
Hopefully we can shake of the shackles and go at Tyrone. My only fear is the amount we concede.
Brian Stack and Darragh Canavan will be a good match up and will go a long way to deciding the game.

All the best to the lads tomorrow in Omagh"
Glad my fears didn't come true! Brilliant performance and massive result. Controlled first half and defensively we were incredible. Decision making in possession and shot selection was brilliant. Stayed calm when Tyrone looked like getting back into it

Nothing to lose again next weekend. Nobody will want to play us

Well done players and management

BrigidsToom (Roscommon) - Posts: 10 - 22/06/2024 18:59:55    2553695

Delighted ! Im 45 best win I've seen from
A
Roscommon senior team - they stood up today fair play to all
Of
Them !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 623 - 22/06/2024 19:02:45    2553697

Replying To realdub:  "Good man yew!!
Brilliant result for the Ross!!!"
Great win for da rossies…fair play to them. Looks like my bet is going up in smoke though. My own team Mayo are in huge trouble here.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11303 - 22/06/2024 19:02:46    2553698

Replying To kiloughter:  "I actually think ye will win in Omagh. As mentioned by one of your posters ye are due a big performance that translates into a victory. Tyrone will be Tyrone but are beatable. As for us our biggest issue is ourselves. Although still unbeaten in the championship if I am being honest feels we are gone after blowing that 5 point lead. Mad how the season can turn in an instant."
Congrats Rossies. One prediction I got correct. Massive psychological win.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1963 - 22/06/2024 19:10:39    2553706

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Your sum Roscommon supporter. Hang your head in shame. Excellent disiplined display. Well deserved"
I won't feel any shame but delighted to be made look so foolish. Any honest Roscommon supporter never seen that coming. Taking off the Ross tinted glasses Tyrone were very wasteful and Roscommon didn't play all that well after half time but scored some beauties at the right time when our opponents were in full flow

superos (Roscommon) - Posts: 48 - 22/06/2024 19:13:36    2553707