Galway Football thread

Replying To TJH:  "shes's lucky, the woman who gets ya!!!"
She often disagrees!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8112 - 23/06/2025 09:56:32    2620132

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "We could be out of our depth now, facing the third best team in it. Fantastic achievement for Galway to make the last 8 as the only 'unseeded' team."
Maybe instead of being sarcastic and b****y, you should hope you're team start playing to their potential where, if achieved, they can win an all ireland. Fact is at the minute they look flaky and vulnerable, and if you disagree with that you have your head in the sand. Galway should see this as a great opportunity to win an all ireland.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 1014 - 23/06/2025 10:08:46    2620140

Replying To jj19:  "Was it not kelly on havern according to Mike meehan??"
Kelly was on him at both throw ins, Fitzgerald was in the arc with him a lot through the second half when Down were trying to get him into position for 2 pointers

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 533 - 23/06/2025 10:16:48    2620146

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Hopefully Galway players and management think the same."
Hopefully Meath and Donegal people enjoy their own forums for the next few days

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 533 - 23/06/2025 10:19:57    2620148

Rumours from the camp is that a lot of the younger (well they are 23/24 now) are playing better that players who are actually on the team and after this year they wont stay around unless there is change. We have 4-5 lads no matter how bad they play will start, namely Silke, McHugh, Kelly, Conroy who all seem to be struggling with the new rules. Dont get me wrong these are great servants but sometime sentiment gets in the way. I even say Cooke is not used to new rules. There wont be change now but I think PJ could be leading the footballers the same way as what the hurling community did leaving player past their sell by date. Now I was in Down yesterday and I thought that Down kicked themselves out of it even though at the end we should great heart.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 101 - 23/06/2025 10:27:49    2620153

Replying To Eire89:  "We can't complain about draw anyway 2nd draw running where we have gotten the "easier draw". We should have enough fire power and athleticism for Meath. Biggest concern is injuries any idea how is McDaid? Is Walsh in trouble? Can we trust Damo from now on to stay fit? Also a concern is we are very open when ran at but I don't see Meath troubling us. Main thing in my opinion is to get through it with no injuries. Depending on how bad Walsh shoulder is I won't not risk him against Meath"
While Galway a firm favourites for sure, thinking you can just show up with the luxury of being able to rest your rest player because you don't think you'll need him is exactly the same sort of arrogance than got Kerry beat, and that got Dublin beat.

I think if Galway are at full tilt, you will likely have too much firepower all over the place. But at the same time I don't think you have any more athleticism, this is a young strong athletic Meath side. There's also a lack of tape on Meath. No games broadcast aside from the Leinster Final, so they're taken a bit lightly and come in completely under the radar.

Galway absolutely favourites and should win, but if you come into this game with an eye on a semi-final in 2 weeks trying to rest players for bigger days, then don't be shocked when Meath don't lie down.

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 33 - 23/06/2025 10:36:34    2620161

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Hopefully Galway players and management think the same."
They don't. No complacency there. Galway could shoot the lights out but they didn't do that the last day against a team relegated to Division 3 while ye beat Dublin and Kerry already. Galway definitely haven't played up to their potential yet and probably better coming in to a game knowing they've more to give. It's 60/40 to Galway for me.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8112 - 23/06/2025 10:39:04    2620164

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Maybe instead of being sarcastic and b****y, you should hope you're team start playing to their potential where, if achieved, they can win an all ireland. Fact is at the minute they look flaky and vulnerable, and if you disagree with that you have your head in the sand. Galway should see this as a great opportunity to win an all ireland."
This lot are always sarcastic & b****y wouldn't pay any heed to that . They've a great chance but most likely will bottle it again sure!

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 230 - 23/06/2025 11:03:44    2620177

Replying To smallfrank:  "Hopefully Meath and Donegal people enjoy their own forums for the next few days"
It's just a bit of crack lad, relax.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 1014 - 23/06/2025 11:13:46    2620185

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Maybe instead of being sarcastic and b****y, you should hope you're team start playing to their potential where, if achieved, they can win an all ireland. Fact is at the minute they look flaky and vulnerable, and if you disagree with that you have your head in the sand. Galway should see this as a great opportunity to win an all ireland."
You're unfamiliar with 'winatallcost' seedings perhaps.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4244 - 23/06/2025 11:14:53    2620187

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They don't. No complacency there. Galway could shoot the lights out but they didn't do that the last day against a team relegated to Division 3 while ye beat Dublin and Kerry already. Galway definitely haven't played up to their potential yet and probably better coming in to a game knowing they've more to give. It's 60/40 to Galway for me."
Only sides that are low on confidence do Galway under Joyce shoot the lights out against. Majority of their games go to the wire and are fine margin contests. Will be no different v Meath this weekend IMO

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3662 - 23/06/2025 11:23:49    2620194

Replying To S1234:  "This lot are always sarcastic & b****y wouldn't pay any heed to that . They've a great chance but most likely will bottle it again sure!"
Pot kettle and black come to mind with this post.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 510 - 23/06/2025 11:28:45    2620198

Replying To LottoPlus:  "Rumours from the camp is that a lot of the younger (well they are 23/24 now) are playing better that players who are actually on the team and after this year they wont stay around unless there is change. We have 4-5 lads no matter how bad they play will start, namely Silke, McHugh, Kelly, Conroy who all seem to be struggling with the new rules. Dont get me wrong these are great servants but sometime sentiment gets in the way. I even say Cooke is not used to new rules. There wont be change now but I think PJ could be leading the footballers the same way as what the hurling community did leaving player past their sell by date. Now I was in Down yesterday and I thought that Down kicked themselves out of it even though at the end we should great heart."
Id be surprised about those rumours. Only young player losing out on game time is Jack Glynn. Hernon has been handed starts and has overall been good but has he really done enough - prob looked better coming on vs Armagh than starting v down. DOF fantastic going forward but weak defensively - a bit of a liability in this game and it was noticeable for the 2nd & 3rd goals yday.
Sweeney by all accounts would have played if not for minor injury. Who else then - cooke is getting game time over Conroy this year as Conroy doing avg of 35 mins. Other young players kept in with team with mixed performances - Tierney, Fitzgerald, McGrath. Standout young players this year are Finnerty and Thompson, older players is Darcy and Shane. All players had a few difficulties - silke needed position change this week, Kelly got a man marking job and did well. McHugh prob in most danger but the next in line for that spot is Molloy who is roughly the same age.
Haven't seen any other young players really putting hands up and owning position or owning game.
Good sign as it shows the competition of squad.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 206 - 23/06/2025 11:29:24    2620201

Replying To Cabbagepatch1667:  "While Galway a firm favourites for sure, thinking you can just show up with the luxury of being able to rest your rest player because you don't think you'll need him is exactly the same sort of arrogance than got Kerry beat, and that got Dublin beat.

I think if Galway are at full tilt, you will likely have too much firepower all over the place. But at the same time I don't think you have any more athleticism, this is a young strong athletic Meath side. There's also a lack of tape on Meath. No games broadcast aside from the Leinster Final, so they're taken a bit lightly and come in completely under the radar.

Galway absolutely favourites and should win, but if you come into this game with an eye on a semi-final in 2 weeks trying to rest players for bigger days, then don't be shocked when Meath don't lie down."
I agree with everything you posted. At this stage nobody can take anyone for granted. While I love this Galway football team they never do things the easy way. Galway should be mild favorites and nothing more.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2563 - 23/06/2025 11:40:23    2620208

Lots of negative rubbish being spouted. On any objective analysis we are doing well. Room for improvement yes but talk of issues in the squad ..... not a chance. You don't fight back like we do if they are not united.

We mixed the bad with the brilliant yesterday. I think Liam Silke is struggling. I don't know if it is lack of form, the new rules not suiting him or if it's out defensive at up. Whatever it is, we are leaking too much much. Jack Glynn maybe? I wouldn't put DO'F in the corner. Not sure that would tighten us up. His impact of the bench is huge.

Keeper is an issue. I thought Fla was poor for the first goal. He showed the attacker the right side and made it easy. He might not have saved it anyway but... Kick outs were really poor again. Gleeson is not exactly Cluxton esque either but at least it is 10-15 yards longer and that matters. 2 poor games in a row. I would change now.

Cooke getting better every game. Driving forward now. Previously he seemed to go sideways a lot.

I also like that we are not trying to play all of our big men from the start. It is really important to have impact of the bench and potentially it could unbalance the team playing all of them.

Tierney was so so on Sunday. More in him and we need to see it.

Every chance going forward. Just need a couple of tweaks.

Hopefully Shane is OK.

The extra week will do Damo the world of good. BTW see him having craic with a few Down kids. He made their day. He's a legend and a decent skin

Gaillimh abù

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 23/06/2025 11:42:02    2620210

Replying To S1234:  "This lot are always sarcastic & b****y wouldn't pay any heed to that . They've a great chance but most likely will bottle it again sure!"
Someone from Mayo talking about another county "bottling it again" made me laugh out loud. The irony of it all.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1318 - 23/06/2025 11:45:10    2620214

Replying To LottoPlus:  "Rumours from the camp is that a lot of the younger (well they are 23/24 now) are playing better that players who are actually on the team and after this year they wont stay around unless there is change. We have 4-5 lads no matter how bad they play will start, namely Silke, McHugh, Kelly, Conroy who all seem to be struggling with the new rules. Dont get me wrong these are great servants but sometime sentiment gets in the way. I even say Cooke is not used to new rules. There wont be change now but I think PJ could be leading the footballers the same way as what the hurling community did leaving player past their sell by date. Now I was in Down yesterday and I thought that Down kicked themselves out of it even though at the end we should great heart."
With the exception of Daniel O'Flaherty, who probably deserves a start, what young player has shown enough to think they'd deserve to be playing over Silke, McHugh or Kelly? Jack Glynn is off couple of big mistakes in successive games. Not sure who else you could be referring to? Hernon has played plenty and missed Derry with a bereavement

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 302 - 23/06/2025 11:47:37    2620216

Replying To southmeathgael:  "It's just a bit of crack lad, relax."
There is nobody in Galway taking Meath lightly whatsoever.
The truth of the matter is that unless we improve massively we will lose at the weekend.
I think everybody in football circles in the county knows that only too well.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1318 - 23/06/2025 11:52:30    2620218

Replying To Cabbagepatch1667:  "While Galway a firm favourites for sure, thinking you can just show up with the luxury of being able to rest your rest player because you don't think you'll need him is exactly the same sort of arrogance than got Kerry beat, and that got Dublin beat.

Galway absolutely favourites and should win, but if you come into this game with an eye on a semi-final in 2 weeks trying to rest players for bigger days, then don't be shocked when Meath don't lie down."
Mcdaid is sound he came on again set up Darcy last point

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1596 - 23/06/2025 11:53:33    2620219

This poster is quite touchy southmeathgael. Very upset with how I ranked Galway but my rankings were based statistically on how the competition was so far. The only move after the weekends action from what I see is that Galway move from 9th down to 8th best team in All-Ireland series so far. Who knows they may be in top 4 after next weekend but I am just basing my rankings on what I have seen so far. There is very little between most teams. Think Armagh and Tyrone will have too much for Kerry and Dublin respectively while other two ties are every matched and depend on how sides perform on the day.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 709 - 23/06/2025 12:08:48    2620225