Galway Football thread

Replying To smallfrank:  "Sean Fitzgerald was touch tight to Pat Havern most of that second half. Havern didn't score from play with the wind. Mightn't get the headlines but top class after holding Andrew Murnan the week before"
Was it not kelly on havern according to Mike meehan??

jj19 (Galway) - Posts: 460 - 23/06/2025 08:21:53    2620081

We can't complain about the luck of the draw anyway. Avoided Donegal and Kerry last week and avoided Tyrone this week.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 928 - 23/06/2025 08:44:39    2620084

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Hold on he made 3 fine saves so catch yourself on.If Connor Gleeson gets back and he may do thats fine but you support whoever is there.You give them credit for the things they do right.He didn't cost the game and if you listen to Padraig Joyce being interviewed after game he praised him for composing himself to give 3 lickouts at the end for scores so please stop the negativity.Its getting boring."
Good lickouts are vital under the new rules.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8112 - 23/06/2025 08:46:05    2620086

I feel Joyce wishes he gave Flaherty more league time. Difficult to be thrown right in at the deep end, but I think he is better off sticking with him now. Couldn't ask for a better draw we should have enough for Meath. Will be a good test for our midfield also, as Meath just as big as us. They probably won't risk starting Walsh.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 23/06/2025 08:55:37    2620089

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "How am I getting personal, it's my opinion and that is what this platform is for,But it wasn't personal when it was someone else, my point here is that everyone has wished for him to be in goal now he is and he doesn't cut the mustard, I won't mention it again, the problem now if Gleeson does go back in goals there is even more pressure back on him again, all I want like everyone is for Galway to win an all Ireland,"
No you are getting very personal.You are not just saying he doesn't cut the mustard saying your 3 year old would make those saves .Connor Gleeson has made plenty of errors over 4 years and was never dropped.You can give an opinion without insulting and belittling a player.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 510 - 23/06/2025 09:02:59    2620095

Replying To galway19:  "We can't complain about the luck of the draw anyway. Avoided Donegal and Kerry last week and avoided Tyrone this week."
Ye'll take Meath alright. Then two weeks to a semi final. Galway could have been out of the championship but they're there now with a real chance. Matthew Thompson is a gem of a player for ye.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2486 - 23/06/2025 09:07:06    2620097

Favourable draw against Meath, they will be on a high after Kerry and self belief will be high.we should have enough power in the middle to have an enough possession to win it.i am worried about our defence and management are too by the tinkering around they are doing.Hopefully they find a solution as some of the goals conceded have been very soft.id say we will be playing sat.

Cornetto2 (Galway) - Posts: 175 - 23/06/2025 09:13:51    2620100

Replying To winatallcost:  "Well I think if you are basing on All Ireland Series and using Provisional series as a qualification process only, then it has to be in the order of those already qualified so that would leave a definite top 4. Armagh top as 1st qualified and other 3 based on points accrued. The rest are based on positions in group stages. The rankings will have a definite top 8 by Sunday evening. I think this year is unique and each match has to be taken on its merits. That means Galway ranked 9th could easily be a contender but you can't rank a team based on prior years or so called potential.

1. Armagh
2. Monaghan
3. Meath
4. Tyrone
5. Donegal
6. Dublin
7. Kerry
8. Down
9. Galway
10. Louth
11. Cork
12. Cavan"
We could be out of our depth now, facing the third best team in it. Fantastic achievement for Galway to make the last 8 as the only 'unseeded' team.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4244 - 23/06/2025 09:16:39    2620102

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Good lickouts are vital under the new rules."
shes's lucky, the woman who gets ya!!!

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 73 - 23/06/2025 09:20:25    2620103

Replying To StopTheLights:  "I very much doubt that. He's young and athletic. He was dominant.
Surely O Flaherty has earned his place by now."
I thought I saw him looking goosed just after the play before he went off.

He played well I thought too 50/20 him and DOF works well

His first start in 6 weeks no surprise he would be exhausted

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1596 - 23/06/2025 09:24:20    2620105

Replying To galway19:  "We can't complain about the luck of the draw anyway. Avoided Donegal and Kerry last week and avoided Tyrone this week."
It was very much due after a ridiculous run of bad luck in draws from 2022 to this year. 8 bad ones in a row

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 302 - 23/06/2025 09:27:41    2620107

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Good lickouts are vital under the new rules."
No wonder he conceded 3 goals if he had the time to give 3 good lickouts

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 356 - 23/06/2025 09:30:32    2620108

We can't complain about draw anyway 2nd draw running where we have gotten the "easier draw". We should have enough fire power and athleticism for Meath. Biggest concern is injuries any idea how is McDaid? Is Walsh in trouble? Can we trust Damo from now on to stay fit? Also a concern is we are very open when ran at but I don't see Meath troubling us. Main thing in my opinion is to get through it with no injuries. Depending on how bad Walsh shoulder is I won't not risk him against Meath

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 346 - 23/06/2025 09:30:35    2620109

Meath v Galway

Both teams and fans delighted with that id say. Meath will be 4/1 underdogs will suit them rightly. galway sould still have enough. 14 years since last meath v galway championship game in navan . Meath winning 0-14 to 0-13 i think, it was in front of 23,000 in pairc tailteann.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 852 - 23/06/2025 09:32:53    2620111

Replying To winatallcost:  "Galway or Donegal. Galway good forwards but new goalkeeper and leaky defence plus a few knocks. Match Donegal energy (they will have to go to the well again) and should be able for them from football standpoint. Donegal just try and outrun teams but may not be good enough to win an All-Ireland. You obviously want to play Meath?"
Well it was good while it lasted...
The power house of Meath will prove too hard., especially after their rest and our injuries.

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 316 - 23/06/2025 09:33:40    2620112

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "How am I getting personal, it's my opinion and that is what this platform is for,But it wasn't personal when it was someone else, my point here is that everyone has wished for him to be in goal now he is and he doesn't cut the mustard, I won't mention it again, the problem now if Gleeson does go back in goals there is even more pressure back on him again, all I want like everyone is for Galway to win an all Ireland,"
Well you dont seem to take any account of the pressure that was on Conor Flaherty in your not so personal analysis so we will leave it there.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 510 - 23/06/2025 09:38:48    2620117

The Royals next! The roadshow rolls on! Serious entertainment with these lads and a great win. I hate having a moan but it really is worrying to concede a whopping 3-21 to a now Division 3 team. 30 bloody points conceded!! We're more than porous at the back, you could drive a bus through there at fairly regular intervals. There is organisational work that has to be addressed in Loughgeorge and there are certainly answers on the bench. PJ and co have to know full well who they are. This is a great team and group of lads, and we all believe in them, now please can we sort this repeat defensive malfunctioning or we'll be gone.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1075 - 23/06/2025 09:39:03    2620118

Replying To Eire89:  "We can't complain about draw anyway 2nd draw running where we have gotten the "easier draw". We should have enough fire power and athleticism for Meath. Biggest concern is injuries any idea how is McDaid? Is Walsh in trouble? Can we trust Damo from now on to stay fit? Also a concern is we are very open when ran at but I don't see Meath troubling us. Main thing in my opinion is to get through it with no injuries. Depending on how bad Walsh shoulder is I won't not risk him against Meath"
You never want to already be looking at the semi final before the quarter finals but if that shoulder isn't right then there is no way he should be lining out next weekend. Get through it without him and he will have had 3-4 weeks rest for next day out. We can't be saying that we have a very strong panel and then be starting lads that are half fit.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 928 - 23/06/2025 09:45:22    2620122

Replying To Eire89:  "We can't complain about draw anyway 2nd draw running where we have gotten the "easier draw". We should have enough fire power and athleticism for Meath. Biggest concern is injuries any idea how is McDaid? Is Walsh in trouble? Can we trust Damo from now on to stay fit? Also a concern is we are very open when ran at but I don't see Meath troubling us. Main thing in my opinion is to get through it with no injuries. Depending on how bad Walsh shoulder is I won't not risk him against Meath"
Hopefully Galway players and management think the same.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 1014 - 23/06/2025 09:46:46    2620123

Both teams will be happy with that draw. Galway rightly favourites but I wouldn't rule out a Meath shock either, will depend whether or not Walsh is fit (can't see how he would be) and if Meath have Costello back after the last day given Flynn, Jones and Conlon already ruled out for the rest of the year.

RebelAlliance (Cork) - Posts: 37 - 23/06/2025 09:56:14    2620131