Galway Football thread

Replying To Kickitout:  "Galway need shake things up bigtime. Next day i can't understand why he start o Neill he was always going be first taken off no matter how he was doing I don't know any other top 8 team that makes as many daft selections 3 different full backs so far this year Fitz played very well v mayo no game since Mulkerrins poor v mayo plays him full back Mcdaid class midfield has not played in 2 years there for Galway convinces Cooke to come back in no start in 4 matches o flaherty unreal in most league matches corner back no match since definitely 2 day proved it's Joyce last year to loyal to some players , conroy was great player last 2 matches way off it Liam dilke poor mulkerrins poor Gleason poor my team v Armagh
Flaherty
McGrath. Fitz. O flaherty
Mchugh. Daly. Kelly
Maher / Mcdaid
Thompson. Cooke. Darcy
Finnerty. Walsh. Tierney

Walsh coining to end now as well I'd still start him then comer for him"
Criticising managemt for playing players outta position and you put DOF corner back and Cooke 11

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1563 - 01/06/2025 22:13:10    2614171

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I agree, Galway in bonus territory now, after that Houdini act today.

On the other hand, Galway still made time for some rank bad possessions/chance usage in those same last 7mins. At least three/four questionable/horrible efforts at late scores in that spell, especially once we reduced the deficit to 2, before Tierney's decisive goal strike. We did have the 'luxury' of mixing in a fair bit of sh*** finishing too in the last 7 minutes, and still pulled a rabbit out of the hat for a finish."
Agreed. Given that we won almost every kickout in the last 15 minutes, we actually butchered an awful lot of chances in that time. Cooler heads and we would have reeled them in without having to rely on a fairly fortuitous goal. Taking on a two point free to level it in those conditions instead of getting it down one with a tap over was another example.
We're still in it though, so let's see what the final round brings.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2350 - 01/06/2025 22:16:16    2614172

Replying To jm25:  "Criticising managemt for playing players outta position and you put DOF corner back and Cooke 11"
Where did o flaherty play in league ? I don't think Cooke at 11 is out position only my opinion i prefer Maher and Mcdaid in midfield where he won all star

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1084 - 01/06/2025 22:29:33    2614176

Replying To Kickitout:  "Where did o flaherty play in league ? I don't think Cooke at 11 is out position only my opinion i prefer Maher and Mcdaid in midfield where he won all star"
But McDaid does play midfield? Do you watch the games?

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 112 - 01/06/2025 22:39:39    2614181

Replying To Kickitout:  "Where did o flaherty play in league ? I don't think Cooke at 11 is out position only my opinion i prefer Maher and Mcdaid in midfield where he won all star"
He wore number 4 played some in corner. The vast majority of his football has been played half back midfield and imo that would be his best position

While I wouldn't have him in my team mulkerrin has shown himself well capable at this level and especially to comeback from a horrendous long term injury

Mcdaid has played super football at wing forward and midfield.

The vast majority of times numbers need to be ignored re position played.

Thompson played essentially same today as a 10 as he did wearing 15.

My team

Flaherty
McGrath
Kelly
Glynn
Mchugh
Daly
DOF
Mcdaid
Maher
Tierney
Thompson
Darcy
Finnerty
Comer
Walsh

Gleeson silke fitz molloy hernon cooke conroy sweeney Heaney Costello ONeill

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1563 - 01/06/2025 22:55:41    2614184

It's time to stop picking teams here with Flaherty in goal. Every game in this group was a must win and Gleeson has started, every game from here on out is absolutely a must win, Gleeson is gonna start. Why would Joyce start Flaherty when he's shown he's as cagey a manager as is out there?
Got outta jail today big time. 2 must win games so far and played very poorly, got outfought in both for most of the 2 matches. The knockout punch is coming soon, Galway should be playing like Armagh this year, a team on a mission with a plan and a ruthless attitude. They got outta jail in Castlebar and today. Looks like they'll want a very lucky few draws to make a semi final.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 195 - 01/06/2025 23:08:23    2614188

Replying To Ashrules:  "Was the last goal a square ball as a galway player was on the goal line before the ball was in."
Nobody knows the square ball rules anymore - many more mistakes made today. Comer should have had a penalty for being impeded after his mark at end of game. Derry stopped him kicking mark afterwards and no punishment not even stopped clock. Swings and roundabouts. Dubs better be careful Derry might eat ye alive.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 183 - 01/06/2025 23:28:45    2614190

The one thing that has to happen from the start against Armagh is surely John Daly has to play centre back. The defence is all over the place at the moment. We don't have a better option than Daly, no matter how many times they try Kelly or others there.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 915 - 02/06/2025 00:43:34    2614198

Lads on about 98/01 but Galway had one of the great managers. They lacked pace around the middle so donnellan moved to midfield. No centre back so Tomas mannon was put there. Poor under the high ball so in comes a tall keeper alan Keane and Fitz who were both good in the air. Everyone can see the issues with Galway but Joyce isn't making any changes. The longer Cian O'Neill is away the more Galway are regressing. John Daly isn't going to add any pace around the middle and Conroy's legs are gone. How can Rian O'Neill come back after one game and be flying it ?

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 185 - 02/06/2025 01:12:34    2614201

Galway should have put up a much stronger fight in those final moments. They'd battled back brilliantly, edged one point ahead by the 70th minute, and yet didn't throw everything at stopping Derry from levelling it. After all that effort to claw their way back into the game, they needed to show more urgency - more fight - to close it out. That was split seconds from getting 2 points on the board and staying safe.

Secondly - Matthew Tierney, what a player. He scored 2 goals in the last 8 minutes: that's the fire we need.
His first goal in the 62nd minute narrowed the deficit and galvanized the team. The second, a decisive punch into the net in the 69th minute, then the defensive team messed it all up.

Surely Peter Cooke has to start the next day. His impact off the bench was immediate - that two-pointer was pure class, and he brought a real presence and calm to the middle when Galway were crying out for it. If Galway want to take control early and not be chasing the game again, Cooke needs to be on from the start

Seán Kelly was immense again today - steady, driven, and carrying Galway forward when things were slipping. You could see him trying to rally the team, barking orders, breaking lines, dragging them back into it almost by will alone. That point he scored was massive, not just on the scoreboard but for the spirit of the side. He set the tone, as he always does.

Matthew Thompson's performance was impressive. Thompson's continued development and influence could be pivotal against Armagh.

Padraic Joyce now has serious work to do. Galway showed heart today - no question - but the structure wasn't there when it mattered most. After clawing back an eight-point deficit and edging in front, they looked disorganised in those final minutes. Joyce needs to galvanise them, get the shape right, and make sure every man knows what's expected when the game is on the line.

There's enough talent in this group - Kelly, Tierney, Cooke, Walsh - but talent alone won't win tight championship games. Galway need to be sharper, more disciplined, and better drilled. If they're serious about going deep this summer, Joyce has to bring that edge - now.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 02/06/2025 02:32:32    2614207

Replying To jm25:  "Criticising managemt for playing players outta position and you put DOF corner back and Cooke 11"
Hard to know where to play Cooke, composed on the ball and a lovely kicker, but can slow play down too much at times. Maybe better coming on in last 20. We need more pace in our attack, we are very lethargic looking at times.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 439 - 02/06/2025 07:07:08    2614213

Cian o Neill is badly missed,he had our defence spot on last year whenit was our forward play that was lacking,this year it's the reverse.Dylan McHugh since his injury not great,John Daly deserves another run at centre back.sean Kelly not anything like the player he was,maybe full back is his position.Dublin and Derry had great success when attacking down the left side,but we didn't seem to change things to counter.who is the defence coach in the Galway set up.? Anyway onto Armagh hopefully we can squeeze through,we badly need to get momentum going.

Cornetto2 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 02/06/2025 08:34:31    2614217

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Galway should have put up a much stronger fight in those final moments. They'd battled back brilliantly, edged one point ahead by the 70th minute, and yet didn't throw everything at stopping Derry from levelling it. After all that effort to claw their way back into the game, they needed to show more urgency - more fight - to close it out. That was split seconds from getting 2 points on the board and staying safe.

Secondly - Matthew Tierney, what a player. He scored 2 goals in the last 8 minutes: that's the fire we need.
His first goal in the 62nd minute narrowed the deficit and galvanized the team. The second, a decisive punch into the net in the 69th minute, then the defensive team messed it all up.

Surely Peter Cooke has to start the next day. His impact off the bench was immediate - that two-pointer was pure class, and he brought a real presence and calm to the middle when Galway were crying out for it. If Galway want to take control early and not be chasing the game again, Cooke needs to be on from the start

Seán Kelly was immense again today - steady, driven, and carrying Galway forward when things were slipping. You could see him trying to rally the team, barking orders, breaking lines, dragging them back into it almost by will alone. That point he scored was massive, not just on the scoreboard but for the spirit of the side. He set the tone, as he always does.

Matthew Thompson's performance was impressive. Thompson's continued development and influence could be pivotal against Armagh.

Padraic Joyce now has serious work to do. Galway showed heart today - no question - but the structure wasn't there when it mattered most. After clawing back an eight-point deficit and edging in front, they looked disorganised in those final minutes. Joyce needs to galvanise them, get the shape right, and make sure every man knows what's expected when the game is on the line.

There's enough talent in this group - Kelly, Tierney, Cooke, Walsh - but talent alone won't win tight championship games. Galway need to be sharper, more disciplined, and better drilled. If they're serious about going deep this summer, Joyce has to bring that edge - now."
Galway are just not that great, full stop.

Jimmymark2 (Donegal) - Posts: 8 - 02/06/2025 11:11:16    2614248

Half back line needs Daly. I would use Cooke for Conroy, Paul would be massiive for last 20. Kelly to full back.
We need to win this game to stop the rot. Armagh favourites will suit us.
Gaillimh Abu.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1744 - 02/06/2025 12:37:24    2614274

Let's be honest here, Derry we're on top form yesterday - especially their top men Glass and McGuigan. You have to give Galway huge credit for sticking with the task when coing back from 8 point deficits twice deep into the second half. The commitment and belief is certainly there but they need to be more methodical in their approach. I think Thompson needs to play at centre forward - what a balanced player, and heads up football all the time. The talent is there but the players need to address their level of consistency e.g. on a given day we don't know what Gleason, Fitzgerald, Daly, O'Flaherty, D'Arcy, Cooke and McDaid will provide. Perhaps a team meeting outside of management is what's needed to sort this issue.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 636 - 02/06/2025 12:41:53    2614276

Disappointing result yesterday , Galway can count themselves lucky they are still in the championship!
Few questionable performances yesterday !
We have looked disorganised & all over the place in the backline in games this year ! Half back line is great at going forward but forget to do their job defending !
Firstly Daly at 6 has been massive for us the last couple of years & you can see some of the unseen work he did for us in the last couple of games since he's not being picked ! He was the heart of that backline & must return & made a difference yesterday when he came on ! He has a good football brain & can pick out a kick pass !
Liam silk very poor yesterday & was Dylan mchugh , he's like a robot , he only ever hand passes the ball !
Glesson doing the dribbling kickouts need to stop !

Conroy & Mcdaid - Derry did there homework & seen the influence they had the last few games & wrapped them up yesterday !

Positive from yesterday -
Matthew Thompson is a great find , not afraid to get on the ball & make something happen with a kick pass !
Rob finnerty - superb again yesterday , scoring & making scores ! Again another not afraid to make or try something happen with a kick pass
Cein Darcy & Maher - massive influence on the game , when they get going & into the flow of things they get through some work !
Comer - getting more minutes is great , need him as an option ! Can be a great sub or starter & use as a focal point for our attack ! When he's in 14 & used proper he draws defenders on him & can win ball ! Get him motoring & he's hard stop !

Game is very fast these days & need lads that can run but we still need lads that can play football & have quality !
Few lads in 15 yesterday are strong runners but lack the the footballing skill & mind !

Big game against Armagh ahead !
Changes needed , start daly at 6 , give Kelly more freedom wing back or midfield !
Start Darcy , Start Comer ! Save Walsh as maybe a sub for when the Armagh boys are tired !

galwayXI (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 02/06/2025 12:43:37    2614280

Replying To hopballref:  "Hard to know where to play Cooke, composed on the ball and a lovely kicker, but can slow play down too much at times. Maybe better coming on in last 20. We need more pace in our attack, we are very lethargic looking at times."
He's slow but he also brings composure , something seriously lacking on the team. John Maher had another great game yesterday.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 02/06/2025 12:52:31    2614283

Subs made all the difference yesterday, as well as Derry seeming a bit leggy down the stretch after the 1 week turnaround between games. Considering all the poor misses in the last 10 minutes we should've at least drawn even without the flukey goal but would've been robbery after how bad the performance was overall.

We aren't anywhere near our best at the moment but still hanging in there in matches, think we need to start the likes of Molloy, Cooke and Daly the next day and see if they can bring the same impact from the get go that we've lacked.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 54 - 02/06/2025 13:35:44    2614300

Replying To Jimmymark2:  "Galway are just not that great, full stop."
Wish we could play Mayo every day

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 275 - 02/06/2025 13:47:20    2614305

It was a rollercoaster game, I think we really should have beaten them in the end, cool heads didnt prevail. We did well however to get it back so I will take the draw. I would start John Daly, Darcy, Cooke the next day and keep Comer and Walsh for the second half. Thompson is a big find and we will need another big performance from him against Armagh. They will go out to win but will in the back of their minds know they have already topped the group so will not want to get an injury or a suspension so thats an advantage to Galway. If we can get through we can regroup and have a say but its a big ask given the form we are showing is sporadic.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 157 - 02/06/2025 13:57:32    2614309