Galway Football thread

Replying To kerry4sam25:  "Good chance for Galway to boost score difference against derry tomorrow"
Éirigh as, maith an fear. We've enough of the stirring already from all of your relations.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2347 - 31/05/2025 23:09:11    2613864

Replying To kerry4sam25:  "Good chance for Galway to boost score difference against derry tomorrow"
Yerrah sure it makes no odds to you down
in Kerry when ye get a nice handy draw year in year out

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 54 - 31/05/2025 23:39:52    2613871

Someone above hit the nail on the head in saying this team is gone a bit stale, thats not saying we arnt going to compete for the all Ireland or this isnt a very good crop of players we have at the moment. Sometimes we are way too predictable and teams suss us out constantly and we have no plan b. Hopefully we can get a good win later and drive up the confidence levels

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 144 - 01/06/2025 04:20:59    2613893

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "You know as well as the other poster that there is no tradition of hurling in Annaghdown whereas Claregalway was traditionally a hurling parish. It's great that Annaghdown are improving. Is it the role of clubs to provide a sporting outlet for the young people of their community? Or provide for county teams? The former is important and the latter is irrelevant."
No you're wrong, I know they've been hurling in Annaghdown since the 50s or 60s. Obviously had to start at junior level. When does tradition start for you, what year?

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 194 - 01/06/2025 09:20:34    2613916

Massive match 2 day have win it I know that stating obvious i thought Joyce would have shaken team selection up a bit but I suppose if history has taught me anything it's Joyce very predictable in his selection hope he much sharper on line than usual with subs waited way 2 long taking some players off no point loosing with subs on bench ,, one player who did well v Derry in league was Sam o Neill it's a wonder he not start him only joking by the way ,, I'm hong gor Galway win by 3

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1082 - 01/06/2025 09:49:00    2613923

Great to see Damien Comer back in the 26. Hopefully he can get a run at it now

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 01/06/2025 12:13:43    2613959

Ref letting everything go. Hands getting pulled, players dragged down, very strange in wet conditions. Galway look a very poorly coached side this year. They are getting worse as the year goes on.

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 181 - 01/06/2025 15:07:01    2614006

Very lucky. Darcy and Comer made difference. Finnerty did well. Way too open up the middle and lacking pace and energy except when our backs are too the wall and we go teams. Not efficient enough in front of goal.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 437 - 01/06/2025 16:01:27    2614023

Nowhere near enough physicality defensively on that last Derry attack to draw the game. Should have been fouling them back in their own half to slow it down

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 914 - 01/06/2025 16:39:20    2614033

Any chance we could coach our forwards to shoot low when going for goal?
We blast the ball straight at the opposing keeper in every game.
Starting O Neill instead of D'Arcy.... really?
Starting Walsh in the last 2 games......really?
A great game every 6 or 7 games just isn't good enough.
He's not a consistent free taker any more either.
Joyce has never tailored our game to suit Walsh's talent. He's best when running at the opposition up the middle, at speed. Impossible to stop without fouling, impossible to catch when he gets a yard.
Imagine if he played for Kerry or Dublin?

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 410 - 01/06/2025 16:40:00    2614034

Replying To StopTheLights:  "Any chance we could coach our forwards to shoot low when going for goal?
We blast the ball straight at the opposing keeper in every game.
Starting O Neill instead of D'Arcy.... really?
Starting Walsh in the last 2 games......really?
A great game every 6 or 7 games just isn't good enough.
He's not a consistent free taker any more either.
Joyce has never tailored our game to suit Walsh's talent. He's best when running at the opposition up the middle, at speed. Impossible to stop without fouling, impossible to catch when he gets a yard.
Imagine if he played for Kerry or Dublin?"
Galway scored 4 goals today. Not bad for a team that needs to be coached on how to shoot for a goal. Derry were outstanding today from the off. Galway did well to draw that. Didn't look likely 6/7 minutes from the end.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2443 - 01/06/2025 16:46:36    2614039

Get out of jail card used by Galway today. Were goosed without the goals and lucky to be up against a less than watertight Derry defence and that their keeper basically gifted the 4th goal to Galway.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 470 - 01/06/2025 16:57:10    2614046

Replying To galway19:  "Nowhere near enough physicality defensively on that last Derry attack to draw the game. Should have been fouling them back in their own half to slow it down"
Chopping and changing the central defensive channel a lot recently. Not a good sign. Haven't found the formula there yet either, on today's evidence.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4183 - 01/06/2025 16:58:40    2614047

Replying To hopballref:  "Very lucky. Darcy and Comer made difference. Finnerty did well. Way too open up the middle and lacking pace and energy except when our backs are too the wall and we go teams. Not efficient enough in front of goal."
Yeah the team seems to have gone a little bit stale quite quickly.

Especially with comer back daly at 6 seems a stronger option

As I predicted Lachlan Murray caused havoc.

Id be shocked if it happened but I'd be leaving out Kelly

The selection of O'Neill was odd and he was treated harshly.

Joyce might need to change up a few players he's been loyal to.

Oflaherty might give the team a fresh injection as our hb line is where it's stale in particular

I'd also change keeper but again unlikely to happen

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1559 - 01/06/2025 16:59:32    2614048

Replying To endgame:  "Galway scored 4 goals today. Not bad for a team that needs to be coached on how to shoot for a goal. Derry were outstanding today from the off. Galway did well to draw that. Didn't look likely 6/7 minutes from the end."
In general goal finishing is poor across the game just seen Armagh hit Cluxton twice and cork mayo missed numerous goal chances yesterday too

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1559 - 01/06/2025 17:01:29    2614051

We're going well considering we very generously gift wrap our kick out's to the opposition and have been for the last 3 or 4 years.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 143 - 01/06/2025 17:02:15    2614052

Matthew Thompson is a brilliant little player. Only 20 but look how much ball goes through him already. Finnerty and Tierney very good also. Darcy in fairness had a powerful last 20 minutes.

Conroy finally looking his age this year. Struggling to make the same impact as last year. McDaid unusually quiet. McHugh not as prominent as he was last year also. Shane mixed the bad (loose passes) with the brilliant (his goal).

Galway looked dead and buried twice there so you have to give them credit for battling back. As a unit they don't look as organised this year as last. Maybe Cian O'Neill being gone?

Have to beat Armagh now. If Armagh beat the Dubs they are guaranteed top spot. Will probably rest some players against Galway.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2390 - 01/06/2025 17:02:46    2614053

Massive draw, fair play to Galway lads, not easy come back twice.
Still alive and dangerous

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1744 - 01/06/2025 17:14:29    2614057

Replying To Marooned:  "Matthew Thompson is a brilliant little player. Only 20 but look how much ball goes through him already. Finnerty and Tierney very good also. Darcy in fairness had a powerful last 20 minutes.

Conroy finally looking his age this year. Struggling to make the same impact as last year. McDaid unusually quiet. McHugh not as prominent as he was last year also. Shane mixed the bad (loose passes) with the brilliant (his goal).

Galway looked dead and buried twice there so you have to give them credit for battling back. As a unit they don't look as organised this year as last. Maybe Cian O'Neill being gone?

Have to beat Armagh now. If Armagh beat the Dubs they are guaranteed top spot. Will probably rest some players against Galway."
Ya Thomspon also good very solid on the ball and half forward suits him. I would have himself, Tierney and D'Arcy in half forward line. McDaid Maher midfield.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 437 - 01/06/2025 17:39:17    2614062

Replying To endgame:  "Galway scored 4 goals today. Not bad for a team that needs to be coached on how to shoot for a goal. Derry were outstanding today from the off. Galway did well to draw that. Didn't look likely 6/7 minutes from the end."
Inter county forwards shouldn't blast the ball straight at the keeper.
O Callaghan doesn't do it, Clifford doesn't do it........
Shane Walsh did it v Cluxton 2 weeks ago.
So what if we scored 4.
What's wrong with scoring 6?
I coach U10 girls and we practice shooting low every night.
Just an observation.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 410 - 01/06/2025 17:43:08    2614067