Galway Football thread

Best of luck to the Galway team tomorrow, its good to have banter between Mayo and Galway but you will have a few sad sacks on both sides that go too far and need to get a life. Mayo have had plenty of good days but in the end could not finish the job, so cant be complaining/moaning if Galway do the job. Be great for Connacht football for a Connacht team to win the whole thing.

It will be a great game tmrw, better than the one on this evening anyways, Donegals running game will find it hard to get through the Galways well organised defence, and then Im not sure if Donegals defence is tight enough to hold Comer and Walsh. Game could turn into a shootout and I just think Galway will find the scores a bit easier than Donegal will. Jim will have to have something new, I think he will have something up the sleeve, maybe just a big lad in the square ( McGhee or McFadden) and go route one.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 619 - 13/07/2024 15:49:58    2558697

Replying To Kickitout:  "Not sure how u think Kelly at midfield has not failed actually most games he was wing forward centre forward not sure If he actually finished any game I know we can talk about injury but if he was fully fit woukd anyone think he a midfielder or half forward he a defender snd a good one at that"
He's not contributing like he normally does.
Obviously, he's re-injuring himself in every game resulting in him being half injured for every game.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 375 - 13/07/2024 16:15:28    2558703

Replying To yew_tree:  "Never said I hated Galway purple…quite the opposite actually. I think the difference is the constant jibes and remarks from Galway supporters towards Mayo. Now I live near the border so that's probably par for the course. I was in a Galway bar one year for a Mayo semi final and the vast majority were roaring for Dublin. Anyway good luck Sunday. I won't lose any sleep either way."
No you won't and neither will Clare and her ilk from the Mayo GAA Blog.

As for "constant jibes and begrudgery", I remember the attitude of Mayo people in the '98-02 period and [with a few honourable exceptions] it was one of jealousy and begrudgery in equal measure and it's only got worse in the years since. Quick to give a dig but can't take it when they get it back.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 879 - 13/07/2024 16:22:04    2558705

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "McStay the same on co-commentary at the 2022 final, when Kerry got the dodgy pivotal late free. Got giddy with delight/relief, and was nothing short of effusive in his reaction and support of the referee's call. *****."
So true. He couldn't contain his delight. Still think it was a deciding factor in that game.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 375 - 13/07/2024 16:32:14    2558706

Replying To tommy132:  "Best of luck to the Galway team tomorrow, its good to have banter between Mayo and Galway but you will have a few sad sacks on both sides that go too far and need to get a life. Mayo have had plenty of good days but in the end could not finish the job, so cant be complaining/moaning if Galway do the job. Be great for Connacht football for a Connacht team to win the whole thing.

It will be a great game tmrw, better than the one on this evening anyways, Donegals running game will find it hard to get through the Galways well organised defence, and then Im not sure if Donegals defence is tight enough to hold Comer and Walsh. Game could turn into a shootout and I just think Galway will find the scores a bit easier than Donegal will. Jim will have to have something new, I think he will have something up the sleeve, maybe just a big lad in the square ( McGhee or McFadden) and go route one."
Yeah, unusual scenario this game, in that you'd have more fear of what's outside the line than the talent that's inside the white lines, when it comes to Jimmy and Donegal.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 13/07/2024 16:40:17    2558707

Replying To smallfrank:  "I remember all the Shrule lads in Headford wearing the Meath jerseys in 2001 for the final. I also remember them getting out of town fairly quickly the same day.
Great times"
1996 FCÁ training camp in Castlebar made up of elements of units from all over the western command but the majority were from the 19th Inf Batt, a Mayo unit. Commanding Officer was a certain John Maughan last night of camp some of the Galway lads present (and there was only one Galway unit present, lads from the 5th Fld Engineers) went out the last night and ran the Meath flag up the pole in the middle of the parade square. By God, Maughan was spitting bullets when he came out the next morning to the site of the Meath colours flying over his camp in the heart of Castlebar. And the rest is history.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 13/07/2024 19:42:36    2558734

If we go on and win tomorrow the scramble for tickets will be insane as armagh bring a big crowd, be handy get tickets with kerry

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 13/07/2024 19:52:59    2558749

Kerry are a shadow of their 2022 team.
No leadership, panicked shot selection, no killer instinct, no self belief.
They allowed Armagh to build self belief in that second half then only scored 3 points in 23 mins of extra time.
If anything, Armagh showed too much respect to Kerry, especially in the first half..
They'll have learned from that!!
Can't wait for tomorrow.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 375 - 13/07/2024 20:10:45    2558769

Been singing their praises all year. Powerful side. Having said this if anyone can prepare for Galway it's jimmy. Fascinating game ahead.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9775 - 13/07/2024 20:21:38    2558781

Armagh showed great effort to stay in the game. Kerry butchered a few goal chances and the Kerry players just not fit enough when it came to extra time. Heroic defending at the end by O Neill from a dangerous dropping ball. Armagh are never beaten as we know ourselves. Still hard to know what to expect from Donegal and I suppose that's exactly what McGuinness would want but PJ will know exactly what to expect, a major battle awaits.

Best wishes to the lads tomorrow, leave it all on the pitch and have no regrets. I hope we bring the effort and heart we showed in the second half against the Dubs and will need to up our first half performance as it wasnt good enough as I'm sure PJ has drilled into the players.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 13/07/2024 20:42:48    2558796

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Been singing their praises all year. Powerful side. Having said this if anyone can prepare for Galway it's jimmy. Fascinating game ahead."
Agreed. Both sets of fans going into the game reasonably confident in their own sides abilities. Hopefully a tussle for the ages. Safe travels all, from Kill Rónáin to Gweedore, Dungloe to Dunmore.

Gaillimh go deo!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 13/07/2024 20:44:47    2558800

We need to win the game tomorrow end of.
I believe Kerry thought they had it won when Dublin went out. Same as 21 against Tyrone, lads dropping like flies with cramp. One game at a time, we have a good record against Ulster teams.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 13/07/2024 20:51:17    2558805

Replying To festinog:  "Agreed. Both sets of fans going into the game reasonably confident in their own sides abilities. Hopefully a tussle for the ages. Safe travels all, from Kill Rónáin to Gweedore, Dungloe to Dunmore.

Gaillimh go deo!"
Maith thú!

Should be a great contest tomorrow. Wouldn't rule out ET.

Safe travels to all.

Hoping to meet a few old Galwegian friends beforehand. Fantastic welcoming people. Spent some of the best years of my life down there in university.

May the best team win.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9432 - 13/07/2024 21:59:06    2558827

We now have to beat 2 Ulster teams to win Sam. If we fail then Ulster's domination is even more supreme than Munster hurling. Hogan cup. Sigerson, div 1, div 2. League, tailteann cup, minor , u20 AI, senior AI.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 923 - 13/07/2024 22:38:43    2558838

Everyone in maroon pack out the hill...show those Kerry lads how to fill a stadium. When I lived down there they only travelled for finals! Feed Comer nice and early. Handbrake off PJ. And keep it floored. Hon the Wesht!

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 14/07/2024 00:10:31    2558857

Replying To anotheralias:  "We now have to beat 2 Ulster teams to win Sam. If we fail then Ulster's domination is even more supreme than Munster hurling. Hogan cup. Sigerson, div 1, div 2. League, tailteann cup, minor , u20 AI, senior AI.
."
Galway have a great Championship record against Ulster sides. Today's game is very 50/50.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9775 - 14/07/2024 01:06:11    2558863

Best of luck today neighbours. Hope ye make sure there is a Connacht team back in the AI final. It would also be a great tribute to J O'Mahoney given the week that was in it. I fancy ye to win but you just never know what McGuinness can bring to the battle so it won't be easy.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 14/07/2024 10:54:45    2558915

Ours to lose from here. Hopefully dont pick up any knocks today, 2 weeks is a short turnaround for an all ireland. Donegal will give us a rattle for 50-60 mins hopefully.

Letitinnow (Galway) - Posts: 17 - 14/07/2024 11:54:59    2558932

Replying To Letitinnow:  "Ours to lose from here. Hopefully dont pick up any knocks today, 2 weeks is a short turnaround for an all ireland. Donegal will give us a rattle for 50-60 mins hopefully."
I'd be varying wary of Donegals running game and Mc Guinness will have something different up his sleeve..
Donegal favourites in my
Opinion

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 85 - 14/07/2024 13:45:14    2558954

Best of luck Galway today. I give you every chance of making the All Ireland final. It would be great to see another Connacht team in it.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 612 - 14/07/2024 14:46:55    2558974