Galway Hurling thread

That was a dire performance from
Galway..are ye now back to a stage where the starting 15 just can't be named..ye seemed to have huge problems in middle of defence,Fintan Burke struggled for pace and Gavin lee was under pressure when Cody came to centre forward..midfield completely beaten..Fleming wasn't to bad,whelan well tied up by butler..
Does donohue now go back for daithi and David Burke and play cooney at full forward?why was burns so late coming in?
I watched with my don and we both called for players to be taken off first even though there were worse on the field..now I'd be thinking ye won't be as bad again and fixtures falling kindly and strong possibility ye still make Leinster final..
We are all waiting for Galway to be competing with kk but today ye looked miles away..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2495 - 19/04/2025 23:56:43    2602938

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "The attitude towards Dublin in particular is mind-boggling. They knocked us out in the final round-robin game last year and have beaten us 5 times since we joined the Leinster championship but there still seems to be plenty of Galway fans who always write them off against us."
If you look at our recent record in leinster we have a worse record against Dublin than kilkenny

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 270 - 20/04/2025 01:06:54    2602944

Fairly grim how far we've fallen. Must be the lowest ebb we've been at in 20 odd years. I don't think that's a great Kilkenny side yet they beat us easily despite picking up a few injuries themselves. Imagine what a Cork, Limerick or Clare would have done to us.

50/50 whether we even get out of Leinster.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2377 - 20/04/2025 02:33:16    2602950

Replying To Ailteoir:  "I won't out him ;) To be fair, another Wexford lad at the time said such confident predictions might come back to bite."
It will be our first game up there in a long time that I can't make, my youngest daughters making Communion. If we don't pick up any injuries between now and then, and we have Reck, Mac, Jippo, Dwyer starting, or at least fully fit and available to start as 2 of those might not get to start anyway, I think we will push you very close, there won't be anything in it, assuming you get back to more usual form. If you play like you did yesterday I imagine we will win.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15450 - 20/04/2025 06:23:42    2602952

Replying To katser:  "We can't be as bad again as We were v KK, get a win v Offaly and with home games v Wexford and Antrim to come it's only better We can get."
Dublin relegating Galway in Parnell Park. That's the future Katser old chap.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3437 - 20/04/2025 08:06:38    2602955

Replying To Ailteoir:  "I won't out him ;) To be fair, another Wexford lad at the time said such confident predictions might come back to bite."
Indeed.

I am very hopeful we have a big season in us, but never so confident that I'd be over here digging the boot in.

Didn't we beat ye for the first time in Leinster 6 days after losing to Antrim?

There's an awful lot of hurling to be done yet.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3511 - 20/04/2025 08:17:30    2602957

Replying To katser:  "We can't be as bad again as We were v KK, get a win v Offaly and with home games v Wexford and Antrim to come it's only better We can get."
We were bad last year in Wexford and got worse at home to Dublin.

He's a great character but I hope the Galway lads arnt listening to Cyril Farrell blowing up their ability out of proportion

It's just simply the players arnt good enough

If we were to pick the best available to us gmac Joe Cooney canning Jonny coen would still be involved

Jose mourinho says his best career achievement was getting Man U to 2nd place

Henry shefflin could say his best career achievement was getting this Galway side to push limerick in semi finals

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1456 - 20/04/2025 09:00:32    2602962

Daithi burke has to be moved to 6 to shore up the centre.
Gavin lee has to move to the half forward line to add some pace and aid mannion picking off scores. We have no pace up front. I would be taking out grealish from the corner. Time to bring Whelan out of 14 also, waste of time when no ball is going in.

BigBàsMan (Galway) - Posts: 115 - 20/04/2025 10:33:57    2602984

Replying To jm25:  "We were bad last year in Wexford and got worse at home to Dublin.

He's a great character but I hope the Galway lads arnt listening to Cyril Farrell blowing up their ability out of proportion

If we were to pick the best available to us gmac Joe Cooney canning Jonny coen would still be involved

Henry shefflin could say his best career achievement was getting this Galway side to push limerick in semi finals"
Apart from probably the Cats, any of the Leinster teams could beat one another. Not slagging Galway but the arrogance of some lads like Katser is pretty staggering,

I will make one prediction. That Offaly team if it stays together will be serious challenger in 2/3 years. Dublin were outhurled and only survived with a bit of steel in the end. That advantage has a short shelf life!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3437 - 20/04/2025 10:56:52    2602994

Replying To Viking66:  "It will be our first game up there in a long time that I can't make, my youngest daughters making Communion. If we don't pick up any injuries between now and then, and we have Reck, Mac, Jippo, Dwyer starting, or at least fully fit and available to start as 2 of those might not get to start anyway, I think we will push you very close, there won't be anything in it, assuming you get back to more usual form. If you play like you did yesterday I imagine we will win."
If we play like we did yesterday, you'll win and win well.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 895 - 20/04/2025 11:35:11    2603005

Galway don't mind the begrudgers. Ref did us no favours. But we hand pass too much. A more direct style will get goals. Games are won with goals and points. Not handpasses.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2602 - 20/04/2025 12:01:36    2603013

Who was the last top class inter county goalkeeper Galway have had. I'm thinking John Commins. It has cost us year after year in between. It's incredible with all the underage success over the last 40 years that we haven't developed a top inter county keeper.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 490 - 20/04/2025 13:22:41    2603032

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Apart from probably the Cats, any of the Leinster teams could beat one another. Not slagging Galway but the arrogance of some lads like Katser is pretty staggering,

I will make one prediction. That Offaly team if it stays together will be serious challenger in 2/3 years. Dublin were outhurled and only survived with a bit of steel in the end. That advantage has a short shelf life!"
Ignore Katser. You won't find many (if any) others on this forum with the same inflated view of the state of Galway hurling currently. I'll put it down to wishful thinking.
The reality is we're miles behind and we're actually getting further away each year for the past while. Someone above mentioned that Shefflin's greatest achievement might have been getting this team to be competitive with Limerick in a semi-final. But that wasn't even this team. The best players a few years ago were on the slide then and are even moreso now.
The fact is we're going to have to endure some bad beatings and performances over the next while, if we're to eventually rebuild.
I do think there's a very legitimate question around player development in Galway over the past 7 or 8 years at least. We don't have the numbers of players some people think, but we still have a good pool relatively speaking.
I don't doubt that people have been working very hard, but the results speak for themselves.
This isn't reactionary to yesterday. I've made the same comments previously. Yesterday wasn't a surprise at all to me, given what we've seen over the last number of years.
We've been a non-factor most years at U20. 4 minor titles in 5 years has yielded very little beyond that. I'm hope the right people are looking at the structures we have in place. The fact is they haven't the desired result, not even close.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2276 - 20/04/2025 13:23:30    2603033

Replying To jm25:  "We were bad last year in Wexford and got worse at home to Dublin.

Henry shefflin could say his best career achievement was getting this Galway side to push limerick in semi finals"
After a bad League run We had 4 weeks to get the team ready for KK and We still haven't a team sorted for Championship. No improvement from our 1st League game v Tipp.
We have the buffer of a limited Leinster opposition and We could bluff our way through the group phase but that would be it.
I have more faith in the older lads and I'd start a team like this to avoid anymore humiliation
Fahy, Loftus, D Burke E Ryan, P Mannion Lee, Garvey, Fahy Linanne, Flynn, C Mannion Niland, B Concannon C Cooney C Whelan

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2546 - 20/04/2025 13:36:03    2603039

Replying To Viking66:  "You were last year, comfortably so, and apart from Fleming who was decent today it's just rinse and repeat this year. Now before you all get excited, you are still favourites for the game in Salthill, but that's making the assumption you will improve. But will you?"
Ah would you look I am only having ye on. It seems the slightest unkind word about Wexford hurling in here sees a fleet of ye coming in to defend yourselves. Are ye that insecure?

For what it's worth, on current form ye will take us.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1660 - 20/04/2025 13:47:37    2603046

Solid enough start for the minors with a 7 point win in Parnell Park. Kilkenny will be an altogether different proposition than Dublin next week but we had a good spread of scorers and looked decent on the ball. Roche is a handful at full forward and Tadgh McCartaigh looked classy for a lad who is u16. Two Loughrea lads up top fairly handy as well, Coleman and Shaughnessy.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 870 - 20/04/2025 14:27:46    2603052

Nothing short of a shambles yesterday. We won't get third. Genuinely think we need a year or two in the Joe McDonagh or Nickey Rackard to blood these lads

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 515 - 20/04/2025 15:20:36    2603065

Replying To ahsure.:  "Ah would you look I am only having ye on. It seems the slightest unkind word about Wexford hurling in here sees a fleet of ye coming in to defend yourselves. Are ye that insecure?

For what it's worth, on current form ye will take us."
Of course we are insecure. You would be too if you followed Wexford hurling for any length of time ;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15450 - 20/04/2025 19:31:06    2603185

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Ignore Katser. You won't find many (if any) others on this forum with the same inflated view of the state of Galway hurling currently. I'll put it down to wishful thinking.
The reality is we're miles behind and we're actually getting further away each year for the past while. Someone above mentioned that Shefflin's greatest achievement might have been getting this team to be competitive with Limerick in a semi-final. But that wasn't even this team. The best players a few years ago were on the slide then and are even moreso now.
The fact is we're going to have to endure some bad beatings and performances over the next while, if we're to eventually rebuild.
I do think there's a very legitimate question around player development in Galway over the past 7 or 8 years at least. We don't have the numbers of players some people think, but we still have a good pool relatively speaking.
I don't doubt that people have been working very hard, but the results speak for themselves.
This isn't reactionary to yesterday. I've made the same comments previously. Yesterday wasn't a surprise at all to me, given what we've seen over the last number of years.
We've been a non-factor most years at U20. 4 minor titles in 5 years has yielded very little beyond that. I'm hope the right people are looking at the structures we have in place. The fact is they haven't the desired result, not even close."
Your management has to be braver. Unless they were under orders from your CB to remain in div1a why did they make wholesale changes and drop most of the younger lads who started against Tipp and took a bit of a beating? They aren't going to improve at Senior intercounty level if they don't get experience playing at that level. Yes your results improved, but most of the lads you started since were lads who have already been around between 3 and 10 plus years.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15450 - 20/04/2025 19:37:14    2603187

Replying To katser:  "After a bad League run We had 4 weeks to get the team ready for KK and We still haven't a team sorted for Championship. No improvement from our 1st League game v Tipp.
We have the buffer of a limited Leinster opposition and We could bluff our way through the group phase but that would be it.
I have more faith in the older lads and I'd start a team like this to avoid anymore humiliation
Fahy, Loftus, D Burke E Ryan, P Mannion Lee, Garvey, Fahy Linanne, Flynn, C Mannion Niland, B Concannon C Cooney C Whelan"
Ah yes, a great idea for building a Galway team for the future to emulate the achievements of the famous 60s team over the next 10 years.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15450 - 20/04/2025 19:40:24    2603189