Stay Safe.

Replying To Morty:  "You're talking absolute ill-informed sh*te. I sincerely hope you're hubris doesn't effect anyone in your life in the coming months. Cop On."
What is I'll informed about my post ?
Explain.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/03/2020 18:02:08    2273899

Replying To catch22:  "Vaccines are at human testing stage and while obviously care has to be taken there are a number of pharmaceutical companies working night and day on this with that timescale projected.
That pisters silly stuff is what we don't need."
It seems the Germans are ahead of the US and Trump tried to buy sole rights to their vaccine.
https://www.politico.eu/article/germany-confirms-that-donald-trump-tried-to-buy-firm-working-on-coronavirus-vaccine/

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 15/03/2020 19:41:58    2273907

Replying To baire:  "It seems the Germans are ahead of the US and Trump tried to buy sole rights to their vaccine.
https://www.politico.eu/article/germany-confirms-that-donald-trump-tried-to-buy-firm-working-on-coronavirus-vaccine/"
Where Trump is involved I'm not surprised by anything anymore.
What is concerning is how easy a lot of people get hysterical. Social media generation in most cases. Mostly fools. Both of the previous commentators when faced with more realistic
Projections based on fact disappeared.
This will be serious but let's be responsible and mature not hysterical.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/03/2020 19:53:39    2273908

That's it , it's like a modern day version of War of the Worlds. Panic created by social media and mainstream media rather than just radio.
Take precautions as you should with any Flu and we'll be fine.
catch22 (USA) - Posts: 1211 - 15/03/2020 10:09:05 2273844

Thanks for the advice; by the way, what area of medicine do you work in and where?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2458 - 15/03/2020 19:54:10    2273909

Replying To Crinigan:  "I don't know who you are or where you are from but your ignorance is absolutely staggering.

Let me spell it out for you.

At least a million (probably a lot more) in the US are going to die from this and close to a hundred thousand will die in Ireland (hat tip to the dregs who went to Cheltenham). Your elderly relations and friends will most likely perish over the next year due to this virus and the subsequent exhaustion of the frontline staff while you sit at home muttering to yourself that it's just a flu.

Come back on here and post next sunday when the army and guards are patrolling the streets making sure fools like you are kept indoors.

I'd be surprised if admin let this be posted but as someone from a family of frontliners who's lives will be at risk for the next year because of ignorance like this, I think it should be posted so fools will wake up."
All these figures is worst case scenario and what would happen if we continued on as normal, but the fact that the country is practically shut down now should slow the virus down, its important we all play our part and most importantly not to panic especially if you say is true that your frontline staff.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 15/03/2020 20:16:34    2273912

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "That's it , it's like a modern day version of War of the Worlds. Panic created by social media and mainstream media rather than just radio.

Thanks for the advice; by the way, what area of medicine do you work in and where?"
Why do I need to be a member of the medical establishment to have common sense. You seem like you could do with some.
Join the rest of the idiot brigade if it gets you a few green thumbs.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/03/2020 20:34:25    2273918

Replying To catch22:  "That's it , it's like a modern day version of War of the Worlds. Panic created by social media and mainstream media rather than just radio.
Take precautions as you should with any Flu and we'll be fine."
Common Flu, obviously you don't have elderly relatives or know anyone with underlying health problems. Lucky you.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 15/03/2020 20:45:56    2273922

Replying To catch22:  "Where Trump is involved I'm not surprised by anything anymore.
What is concerning is how easy a lot of people get hysterical. Social media generation in most cases. Mostly fools. Both of the previous commentators when faced with more realistic
This will be serious but let's be responsible and mature not hysterical."
This is the best video I have seen on the Coronavirus. Dr. Paddy Mallon/ ID Physician at St. Vincent's and Professor of Microbial Diseases at UCD - he says there is no scaremongering going on, talks straight, to the point and gives good practical advice to the public. Well worth watching.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CsAeuFAPy4

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 15/03/2020 20:47:32    2273923

Replying To catch22:  "Where Trump is involved I'm not surprised by anything anymore.
This will be serious but let's be responsible and mature not hysterical."
'Realistic Projections' LOL!

You're spoofing big time - what scientific study are you taking your 'projections' from? Let's be honest, you probably half skimmed a Wikipedia page! Quote your scientific or medical sources or don't bother responding to me.

You keep going on about 'panic', 'hysteria' and 'social media' - again total spoofing. In reality, most people are calm and collected, they know there's a bit of a sacrifice to their normal lives for a few months but it'll be grand in the end. It means the health service won't crash in a few weeks and vulnerable family, friends and neighbours are less likely to die from the virus.

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 15/03/2020 21:05:46    2273927

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "That's it , it's like a modern day version of War of the Worlds. Panic created by social media and mainstream media rather than just radio.

Thanks for the advice; by the way, what area of medicine do you work in and where?"
Proctology I'd say!

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 15/03/2020 21:06:43    2273928

Replying To Crinigan:  "I don't know who you are or where you are from but your ignorance is absolutely staggering.

Let me spell it out for you.

At least a million (probably a lot more) in the US are going to die from this and close to a hundred thousand will die in Ireland (hat tip to the dregs who went to Cheltenham). Your elderly relations and friends will most likely perish over the next year due to this virus and the subsequent exhaustion of the frontline staff while you sit at home muttering to yourself that it's just a flu.

Come back on here and post next sunday when the army and guards are patrolling the streets making sure fools like you are kept indoors.

I'd be surprised if admin let this be posted but as someone from a family of frontliners who's lives will be at risk for the next year because of ignorance like this, I think it should be posted so fools will wake up."
INo doubt you're one of the ones queuing outside the shops in the morning running in to get toilet roll!
100,000 die in Ireland?? China have had 3000 deaths and they have a population nearly 300 time's Ireland's. People like you pedalling this nonsense does nobody any good! Makes things worse in fact!

sam09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 339 - 15/03/2020 21:15:24    2273930

Replying To catch22:  "

Why do I need to be a member of the medical establishment to have common sense. You seem like you could do with some.
Join the rest of the idiot brigade if it gets you a few green thumbs."
You really are a danger to the country with the views you hold on this. Clown like bahaviour. And so far out of touch with reality you seem like the type I would normally label a space cadet.
Any way a forst cousin is a doctor in one a hospital in the south of the county and shes is extremely frightened by this whole thing and has warned everyone she knows to not leave the house except for food and such necessities as this is so dangerous at the moment. I think I'll take her advice rather than your lunatic deluded outlook on this.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 15/03/2020 21:28:10    2273931

How do you Northern lads feel about the lack of action being taken by your government? If ye could stay within your own jurisdiction, that would be great.
Surreal times. Stay at home & safe everyone & this too will pass.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 15/03/2020 22:53:44    2273940

Replying To TheHermit:  "You are in healthcare??!!! Given how much time you seem to spend on here morning, noon and night I think we might now know why the HSE is in the state it is :D"
Wouldn't usually respond to this poster but just in from a voluntary stint in work today, tune in here for a bit of light relief and read this mocking post of healthcare professionals and the heath service.

All I will say, is I'm very proud of all my healthcare colleagues, people coming in on days off, people coming in from planned leave, old colleagues offering to come to help the effort, people being flexible in redeployment and helping wherever they can. The area of medicine I'm involved in encompasses a group of patients particularly vulnerable to this virus and are extremely frightened about the virus, treatment, impact and to be honest living through this crisis, as are their families.

Sending best wishes to the other front line healthcare professionals and their families who I'm sure are worried about them getting up going to work, going above and beyond and putting themselves at risk.

We will go to work, do our service for society to enable people like the above poster to sit at home and watch Netflix and mock us.

Hopefully we will prove up to the task and remain strong and resilient in adversity in the weeks and months ahead and prove "people" like the above poster wrong about healthcare workers and the health service.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/03/2020 23:23:54    2273941

Replying To baire:  "This is the best video I have seen on the Coronavirus. Dr. Paddy Mallon/ ID Physician at St. Vincent's and Professor of Microbial Diseases at UCD - he says there is no scaremongering going on, talks straight, to the point and gives good practical advice to the public. Well worth watching.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CsAeuFAPy4"
I thought it was joke, a consultant who is making the point about social distancing, sitting a foot away from the interviewer for just short of 15 minutes in what is obviously a busy cafe/restaurant & then he tells him he had lunch with another doctor the previous day. Social distancing mentioned a number of times but not practiced, do as I say but not as I do. Serious points that need to be made but double standards. It reminded me of the video clip doing the rounds of a female spokesperson in the States advising not to touch your mouth with your hands & then wets her finger on her tongue to flick the next page of the speech.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 16/03/2020 00:17:31    2273944

Replying To sourmilk93:  "
Replying To catch22:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "That's it , it's like a modern day version of War of the Worlds. Panic created by social media and mainstream media rather than just radio.

You really are a danger to the country with the views you hold on this. Clown like bahaviour. And so far out of touch with reality you seem like the type I would normally label a space cadet.
Any way a forst cousin is a doctor in one a hospital in the south of the county and shes is extremely frightened by this whole thing and has warned everyone she knows to not leave the house except for food and such necessities as this is so dangerous at the moment. I think I'll take her advice rather than your lunatic deluded outlook on this."]If anyone is taking that lunatic seriously god help them

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 16/03/2020 00:29:02    2273945

Replying To sourmilk93:  "
Replying To catch22:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "That's it , it's like a modern day version of War of the Worlds. Panic created by social media and mainstream media rather than just radio.

Any way a forst cousin is a doctor in one a hospital in the south of the county and shes is extremely frightened by this whole thing and has warned everyone she knows to not leave the house except for food and such necessities as this is so dangerous at the moment. I think I'll take her advice rather than your lunatic deluded outlook on this."]What behavior are you talking about ?
A danger to the country ? No overreacting there then. You and the rest of these dramatists are what cause panic and are the real danger to others.
I've said people need to take precautions and act responsibly what on earth are you on about you'd swear I suggested we all meet up for a mass rally and have a picnic afterwards.
Space cadet is right.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/03/2020 09:32:54    2273954

Replying To Morty:  "'Realistic Projections' LOL!

You're spoofing big time - what scientific study are you taking your 'projections' from? Let's be honest, you probably half skimmed a Wikipedia page! Quote your scientific or medical sources or don't bother responding to me.

You keep going on about 'panic', 'hysteria' and 'social media' - again total spoofing. In reality, most people are calm and collected, they know there's a bit of a sacrifice to their normal lives for a few months but it'll be grand in the end. It means the health service won't crash in a few weeks and vulnerable family, friends and neighbours are less likely to die from the virus."
Spoofing ? you think 100,000 deaths is a realistic projection. A million in the US ? a realistic projection ?
I certainly did not consult Wikipedia for any information on this but rather listen to people with a background in science and medicine. If people are responsible and take precautions this will pass. The panic peddlers are the ones that are a danger like you and your comrade on the previous page.
You still haven't told me what is so ill informed about my post.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/03/2020 10:20:33    2273957

Replying To catch22:  "Spoofing ? you think 100,000 deaths is a realistic projection. A million in the US ? a realistic projection ?
I certainly did not consult Wikipedia for any information on this but rather listen to people with a background in science and medicine. If people are responsible and take precautions this will pass. The panic peddlers are the ones that are a danger like you and your comrade on the previous page.
You still haven't told me what is so ill informed about my post."
Quote your scientific or medical sources or don't bother responding to me.

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 16/03/2020 11:11:15    2273964

Replying To greysoil:  "How do you Northern lads feel about the lack of action being taken by your government? If ye could stay within your own jurisdiction, that would be great.
Surreal times. Stay at home & safe everyone & this too will pass."
Our government is the same as yours. We will stay within our own jurisdiction of the 32 counties

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 16/03/2020 11:22:01    2273965