Kerry V Tyrone.

Laughing here, zero self awareness, you'd swear Kerry were some expansive creative team, they are a blanket defensive outfit, with high levels of cynicism, Paul Murphy and Sean O Shea in particular are tasked with pulling players down if they are going to run at the Kerry back line. Definitely not in a position to be telling other counties how to play the game.

Short memories to, the ref in the semi final last year was one of the worst performances I think I ever saw in Croke Park, then I went to the two finals. ;)

Having played both quite a bit recently, I'd be more fearful of Tyrone then Kerry.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/02/2020 19:54:23    2266534

Replying To blacknamber:  "None of the counties that called games off have pumped millions into a centre of excellence?"
So? Criticise a county for funding a facility where ALL their counties teams can train just because in the middle of one of the worst storms of the winter you aren't happy that your team of superstars were asked to play on a surface that isn't to your pleasing? FYI plans are in place for a resurfacing and drainage works in Healy Pk for later in the year so hopefully you won't be too inconvenienced by the surface on your next visit

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/02/2020 19:56:41    2266537

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jaysus you must be hard up for a laugh if a post is setting you off...."
With jokers like yourself around, I'll never be short of something to laugh at. Thanks man!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 09/02/2020 20:05:53    2266540

Replying To festinog:  "With jokers like yourself around, I'll never be short of something to laugh at. Thanks man!"
Whatever dude, whatever, always curious at these lads who spend so much time commentating on other games when their own county was playing.
Not bothered supporting Galway no?
Suit yourself, and good luck to you

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/02/2020 20:29:29    2266557

Really cant understand the negativity about this game. It seems to be the go to response for some posters when Tyrone play.

I actually thought it was a very exciting game, especially in the conditions that it was played in. Some of the scores were outrageous.

Also apart from the Clifford incident which he can feel rightly aggrieved about, I thought the game was very clean and played in the right spirit for the most part.

lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 116 - 09/02/2020 20:49:05    2266565

Replying To traleegerry:  "Well done to the winner. Thanks be to be God micky is not one of ours. We do not send our teams out to win at all cost this is what micky does best and has been doing for many years now Joe brolly had the right words for that type of game. I want no part of that.. And micky jumping up and down on the side line as if something great had been achieved."
You see Gerry the thing that is killing the gamer of Gaelic Football is the hatred people like you talk. it all started with Pat Spillane a man who had won 8 All Ireland Titles. Tyrone always looked to Counties like Kerry but in 2003 when Tyrone under Mickey Harte beat Kerry in the All Ireland Semi Final Spillane wore a black suit onto the sunday game and termed the phrase puke football against Tyrone how unsporting can you get. A man that had won so much could'nt find it within himself to say well done Tyrone. Add in your friend Brolly going on personal attacks on Tyrone players and the RTE bias. You state Mickey jumping up and down as if something great had been achieved, your hatred of Tyrone has blinded you he would have been happy and proud we beat the mighty Kingdom of Kerry ok it was only a League game but we won. I used to have great respect for Kerry but people like you have tainted my view over the years. Tir'Eoghain Abu'.

TyroneUltra (Tyrone) - Posts: 307 - 09/02/2020 20:50:00    2266566

What in the name of goodness
https://mobile.twitter.com/MonaghanGAAFans/status/1226538105127215104?s=08

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 09/02/2020 21:21:02    2266584

Bud I used to have respect for tryrone football under art mc Rory who brought ye within a whisker of winning an all ireland in 86 playing football the way it should be played. So let's not bring hatred into this to cover your own miss givings open your eyes to the tryrone play the under m. Harte . Spillane gave his opinion on the day and on that particular game and it was puke football.. Yes tryrone went to beat kerry and deservedly so in 2 more all irelands. And brolly was correct in his opinion. He nor I wanted any part of that way of winning matches.

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 09/02/2020 21:23:16    2266587

Replying To TyroneUltra:  "You see Gerry the thing that is killing the gamer of Gaelic Football is the hatred people like you talk. it all started with Pat Spillane a man who had won 8 All Ireland Titles. Tyrone always looked to Counties like Kerry but in 2003 when Tyrone under Mickey Harte beat Kerry in the All Ireland Semi Final Spillane wore a black suit onto the sunday game and termed the phrase puke football against Tyrone how unsporting can you get. A man that had won so much could'nt find it within himself to say well done Tyrone. Add in your friend Brolly going on personal attacks on Tyrone players and the RTE bias. You state Mickey jumping up and down as if something great had been achieved, your hatred of Tyrone has blinded you he would have been happy and proud we beat the mighty Kingdom of Kerry ok it was only a League game but we won. I used to have great respect for Kerry but people like you have tainted my view over the years. Tir'Eoghain Abu'."
Answer me this if RTE and the "southern media" are so bias towards Ulster teams etc why do they keep watching reading them?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 09/02/2020 21:26:25    2266589

Just saw the Clifford choking incident on Twitter / absolutely disgusting, where were the linesmen? If that happened off the field, it would result in arrest & caution. I hope there is some enquiry & sanction into this deplorable incident.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 09/02/2020 21:34:09    2266593

Replying To oneoff:  "Answer me this if RTE and the "southern media" are so bias towards Ulster teams etc why do they keep watching reading them?"
In case do not know Tyrone is in Ireland and I expect that they can watch a football match on RTE!, (and BBC do little coverage of our Gaelic games). Now we all watch programmes on RTE which has bias. RTE have historically dealt with reporting of Ulster/Northern affairs in a biased way and that includes the GAA.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 09/02/2020 22:07:50    2266607

Replying To benched:  "And a ridiculous headline on the homepage. People commenting from TV pictures that don't show how the Clifford started. No "outrage" from Hoganstand on Peter Harte being targeted off the ball (again) and receiving a second yellow?"
Yes, it reads like a personal blog by a teenager

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 09/02/2020 22:12:24    2266611

Replying To traleegerry:  "Bud I used to have respect for tryrone football under art mc Rory who brought ye within a whisker of winning an all ireland in 86 playing football the way it should be played. So let's not bring hatred into this to cover your own miss givings open your eyes to the tryrone play the under m. Harte . Spillane gave his opinion on the day and on that particular game and it was puke football.. Yes tryrone went to beat kerry and deservedly so in 2 more all irelands. And brolly was correct in his opinion. He nor I wanted any part of that way of winning matches."
Brolly has never been correct about anything; his job is to entertain - while sucking up to the big teams and pretending go be a rebel

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 09/02/2020 22:20:41    2266616

Replying To greysoil:  "What in the name of goodness
https://mobile.twitter.com/MonaghanGAAFans/status/1226538105127215104?s=08"
Selective editing at its best - he started it.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 09/02/2020 22:22:23    2266617

Kerry getting v handy frees near the end. Look, this is a very average Tyrone team who will win nothing. If losing Clifford with time nearly up is that big a deal for Kerry as per the ochon ochon juvenile headline on HS, then Kerry has bigger problems than losing an irrelevant league match.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 09/02/2020 22:26:01    2266619

Replying To greysoil:  "Just saw the Clifford choking incident on Twitter / absolutely disgusting, where were the linesmen? If that happened off the field, it would result in arrest & caution. I hope there is some enquiry & sanction into this deplorable incident."
It was pure cynical targeting of a key player. He was headlocked and hauled to ground and then gets a second yellow ridiculous what exactly was linesmen, linesmen looking at? I hate that in game it is disgusting.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 09/02/2020 22:31:44    2266620

Replying To greysoil:  "Just saw the Clifford choking incident on Twitter / absolutely disgusting, where were the linesmen? If that happened off the field, it would result in arrest & caution. I hope there is some enquiry & sanction into this deplorable incident."
I'd be very interested to read the referees report on that incident. The replays do him and his officials no favours.

David might get a suspension for his dissent as he left the field but in fairness who could blame him under the circumstances.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/02/2020 22:36:43    2266622

That is some "tackle" by the Tyrone lad. More Hulk Hogan than Hoganstand ! Throttling an opponent lying prone with his hands out is a straight red. Clifford should have stayed on and Tyrone should have lost another man.

johnq (UK) - Posts: 7 - 09/02/2020 23:21:53    2266641

Replying To greysoil:  "What in the name of goodness
https://mobile.twitter.com/MonaghanGAAFans/status/1226538105127215104?s=08"
There's a different angle of this that shows Cifford charge into the Tyrone player - can you source it?

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 09/02/2020 23:35:03    2266645

Wise up. David Clifford shouldn't have got involved. It was handbag stuff. I suppose if it a monaghan player on top of him you would be ok with the outcome.

Smiler21 (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 09/02/2020 23:36:55    2266646