Kerry V Tyrone.

I haven't seen the footage but if it transpires that Clifford wasn't entirely innocent then a lot of people, including some posters here, owe apologies to the referee and his umpires. More critically, RTE (again) didn't exactly cover themselves in glory. Neither Cantwell, Spillane or Whelan were at the game and yet they were happy to criticise the officials. They also (again) showed their bias by failing to look at, or even to mention, the Peter Harte yellow cards.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 10/02/2020 14:05:46    2266795

Replying To moc.dna:  "As a neutral watching the Clifford incident, Ciaran Whelan was correct, a shocking decision. That ref & set of umpires were way off the mark, no doubt the GAA will probably give the officiating of the All Ireland final to them now after all the grief they are rightly getting."
I'm the same , as a neutral it looked only one way to me and that was the Tyrone sub headlocks Clifford and drags him to the ground Clifford doent react and gets a second yellow. Again only two weeks ago he had his jersey ripped off him by a few of Dublins players and he walks away doesn't react and does nothing . I say Well done to the young man and he and all good forwards like Comer and Shane Walsh need better protection.

Johnnyprophet (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 10/02/2020 14:25:57    2266800

I just watched a rerun of the sending off of both players, Harte and Clifford.

An absolute shambles by the ref on the Harte sending off.
An absolute shambles by the umpires on the Clifford sending off.

Very cynical indeed by Tyrone to systematically target Clifford like this.

That's all I can say about it other than the umpires should now be schooled on taking responsibility on issues. I hope neither gets to officiate a game for a long time to come, that would send out a good message to others.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/02/2020 14:39:38    2266806

Replying To Trump2020:  "Things are getting tight in Division 1. A lot of 1 point decisions and draws lately. Some Karma on display too. Great season ahead. Galway Abu!"
The umpires are very selective when they get involved, and have caused many controversial decisions. Bring in TMO have a ref on the sideline reviewing and when the whistle is blowing he can bring the it to refs attentions if warranted, have another official do the time keeping the ref has enough to do, in extra maybe stop the clock and restart after free.

murphy32 (USA) - Posts: 15 - 10/02/2020 14:49:04    2266811

Such a furore over something that has been going on in the game for a long time now. Why the sudden outrage just because it's happened to Clifford? Regardless of who started the contact between himself and McDonnell the referee can only act on what he has been told. In this case how do we know for definite the umpires didn't act on something else other than what the TV cameras showed? Did Clifford in fact initiate the contact? Nobody aside from those within a few feet know the exact sequence of events. Diarmiud Connolly was saddled by Lee Keegan on plenty of occasions over the years and not a peep out of the press. Paul Mannion came on the other evening and got a yellow straight away for being "welcomed to the game" by the corner back as the commentators put it. Don't get me wrong Dublin defenders are unreal at it too and well versed in the dark arts so it definitely works both ways.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 10/02/2020 14:50:22    2266812

Replying To midlands:  "I haven't seen the footage but if it transpires that Clifford wasn't entirely innocent then a lot of people, including some posters here, owe apologies to the referee and his umpires. More critically, RTE (again) didn't exactly cover themselves in glory. Neither Cantwell, Spillane or Whelan were at the game and yet they were happy to criticise the officials. They also (again) showed their bias by failing to look at, or even to mention, the Peter Harte yellow cards."
I agree with you and add the Sunday game is a bit of a joke and we pay a licence to watch biased coverage from the selected individuals who are called analysts. I do not know who started the incident, but I do know that with any incident you can be selective with a photo and show who you want to as the culprit- usually called 'with blinkers on'.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/02/2020 15:00:47    2266815

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Such a furore over something that has been going on in the game for a long time now. Why the sudden outrage just because it's happened to Clifford? Regardless of who started the contact between himself and McDonnell the referee can only act on what he has been told. In this case how do we know for definite the umpires didn't act on something else other than what the TV cameras showed? Did Clifford in fact initiate the contact? Nobody aside from those within a few feet know the exact sequence of events. Diarmiud Connolly was saddled by Lee Keegan on plenty of occasions over the years and not a peep out of the press. Paul Mannion came on the other evening and got a yellow straight away for being "welcomed to the game" by the corner back as the commentators put it. Don't get me wrong Dublin defenders are unreal at it too and well versed in the dark arts so it definitely works both ways."
Diarmuid Connolly was saddled by Lee Keegan! lol Say no more!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1790 - 10/02/2020 15:08:56    2266818

Yes many people on here and on rte and ex Kerry players on twitter don't want to talk about the Peter Harte yellow card..ah sure but when it comes to kerry and the golden boy clifford..we all have to bow down to them

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 10/02/2020 15:14:12    2266819

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Was nice to get the win. Some good scores taken especially McCurrys from the sideline. As good a point as Clifford or Maurice Fitz scored but he'll probably not get lauded as much for it. Some questionable calls from the officials but sure it went both ways. I'm glad to see some posters on here can be honest in regards to styles of play etc and Kerry folk needn't think their lads are saints out there cos everybody's aware of how you "get the job done" in many's a game. You're no worse or better than any other outfit when it comes to doing what you have to do in order to win. We've been watching Kerry do it for years and nobody buys your protestations of innocence. Clifford needs to learn to control himself if he wants to realize his potential. That's 2 games out of 3 where he's got tangled up but sure just blame the other team,ref,or umpires if you want and see how that ends up. Anyhow I thought it was a fair enough game for early February considering the weather and that......"
I suspect it is a particularly narrow pitch. So, of course, is Thurles where MF scored his famous point.
Did McCurry break the line? if so, more poor officiating.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 10/02/2020 15:20:50    2266820

Replying To TheUsername:  "Laughing here, zero self awareness, you'd swear Kerry were some expansive creative team, they are a blanket defensive outfit, with high levels of cynicism, Paul Murphy and Sean O Shea in particular are tasked with pulling players down if they are going to run at the Kerry back line. Definitely not in a position to be telling other counties how to play the game.

Short memories to, the ref in the semi final last year was one of the worst performances I think I ever saw in Croke Park, then I went to the two finals. ;)

Having played both quite a bit recently, I'd be more fearful of Tyrone then Kerry."
Surely, an 'expansive creative team' like Dublin would have no bother hammering a 'blanket defensive outfit' like Kerry every time??

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 10/02/2020 15:29:44    2266827

Replying To Aibrean:  "I suspect it is a particularly narrow pitch. So, of course, is Thurles where MF scored his famous point.
Did McCurry break the line? if so, more poor officiating."
Interesting observation, watching the game it was clear that the linesman was telling him not to break the line before he went for the kick but then he did anyway and was not called for it. Why bother saying you are going to enforce it and point it out then not follow through? I'm open to correction on if he actually broke the line or not but it certainly looked that way from the camera angle.

Don't get me wrong though, it would have been stupidly harsh to call that as a foul on the ball, there is always a tiny bit of leeway given when a fella is having a crack from the sideline and rightly so imho. On the other hand, the linesman did point it out, never followed through and it had a massive bearing on the game.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 10/02/2020 15:56:06    2266837

Replying To Aibrean:  "I suspect it is a particularly narrow pitch. So, of course, is Thurles where MF scored his famous point.
Did McCurry break the line? if so, more poor officiating."
Yes the pitch was very tight as pitches go. You must take into account he had a strong wind at bis back... BUT.. In fairness he didn't break the line, it took superb accuracy to put it over and it took great skill to be able to judge that wind as it was going diagonally. Still a great point no matter how tight the pitch was.

AnFear16 (Kerry) - Posts: 34 - 10/02/2020 16:00:26    2266840

Replying To Aibrean:  "Surely, an 'expansive creative team' like Dublin would have no bother hammering a 'blanket defensive outfit' like Kerry every time??"
Maybe not hammering you lot every time, but make no mistake about it, we have no bother beating you when it matters every single time ;)

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 10/02/2020 16:57:02    2266852

Replying To Aibrean:  "Surely, an 'expansive creative team' like Dublin would have no bother hammering a 'blanket defensive outfit' like Kerry every time??"
That is an odd thing to say, do Kerry have some sublime record against Dublin that the world hasn't cottoned onto, its 11 years since you beat us in the championship.

You are welcome to win as many league games as you like, i was down in Castleisland recently and had to laugh, i picked up the Kerry eye of all things and it had Kerry's footballers 10 greatest moments of the decade, in there was the "Miracle of Tralee" - Kerry's win against Dublin in the league in 19, you know your in fair in trouble when a bog average league victory makes your top 10 moments of a decade.

Id also call a six point win in an All Ireland final a fair hammering, with Dublin knocking the ball around nonchalantly in front of the blanket, particularly as it handed Dublin the fabled 5 in a row.

Never change Kerry, never change.

Anyway the point i was making was in the very odd and patronising comments toward Tyrone's style of play, Kerry's way of playing is very far from champagne swashbuckling stuff, its a big dirty blanket and pull downs a lot of the time.

As for Clifford i think a line should be drawn under it now, you'd hate to see a young lad saddled with this type of reputation for getting riled, whatever about the incident you'd hate to see his card marked loosing his rag. He took of some class shot yesterday beyond the 45, hopefully more of this and less of the former.

Wishing Kerry all the best for the rest of league, if i was them id be giving it a fair crack, a national title would be fair booster to this team in Peters Keanes second year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/02/2020 18:19:15    2266863

Argue what you want about previous times and games...

A guy was sent on to do a job on a star forward and he done it. Its wrong in every sense of the word and not what GAA is about.. Its S**t like this that ends up in the likes of VAR in sport..

Lately no sub can seem to enter a game without having to try jossle every opposing player he meets... Same when players score, the first thing they wanna do is jeer or shoulder some opposing player in the back.. This is all a result and part of the sledging regime that has crept into our game...

Yeah its a mans game, but not a thugs game

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 10/02/2020 18:31:28    2266866

Replying To TheUsername:  "That is an odd thing to say, do Kerry have some sublime record against Dublin that the world hasn't cottoned onto, its 11 years since you beat us in the championship.

You are welcome to win as many league games as you like, i was down in Castleisland recently and had to laugh, i picked up the Kerry eye of all things and it had Kerry's footballers 10 greatest moments of the decade, in there was the "Miracle of Tralee" - Kerry's win against Dublin in the league in 19, you know your in fair in trouble when a bog average league victory makes your top 10 moments of a decade.

Id also call a six point win in an All Ireland final a fair hammering, with Dublin knocking the ball around nonchalantly in front of the blanket, particularly as it handed Dublin the fabled 5 in a row.

Anyway the point i was making was in the very odd and patronising comments toward Tyrone's style of play, Kerry's way of playing is very far from champagne swashbuckling stuff, its a big dirty blanket and pull downs a lot of the time.

As for Clifford i think a line should be drawn under it now, you'd hate to see a young lad saddled with this type of reputation for getting riled, whatever about the incident you'd hate to see his card marked loosing his rag. He took of some class shot yesterday beyond the 45, hopefully more of this and less of the former.

Wishing Kerry all the best for the rest of league, if i was them id be giving it a fair crack, a national title would be fair booster to this team in Peters Keanes second year."
This absolute obsession with Kerry cannot be healthy. Do you post about anything else at all at this stage? It gives us all a good laugh when we read your long essays of carefully worded propaganda, so do keep it up.

Never change lad, never change

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/02/2020 18:52:15    2266870

Kerry bleating about this sending off.

in the 14 semi final Keegan had 2 lads pulling out of him he kicked out making ZERO contact and the 2 Kerry lads tried and successfully got him sent now.

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 10/02/2020 19:09:17    2266872

Replying To TheUsername:  "That is an odd thing to say, do Kerry have some sublime record against Dublin that the world hasn't cottoned onto, its 11 years since you beat us in the championship.

Wishing Kerry all the best for the rest of league, if i was them id be giving it a fair crack, a national title would be fair booster to this team in Peters Keanes second year."
I dont recall any mention - at the time of the two All Irelands - of a Kerry 'defensive blanket'. In fact, my recollection is that both teams were praised for playing attractive attacking football.

Neither do I recall Dublin 'knocking the ball around nonchalantly' either in front of, or behind, the blanket in the drawn game.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 10/02/2020 20:00:22    2266881

Replying To greysoil:  "Just saw the Clifford choking incident on Twitter / absolutely disgusting, where were the linesmen? If that happened off the field, it would result in arrest & caution. I hope there is some enquiry & sanction into this deplorable incident."
And fellow county man did no Monaghan player ever do anything out of hand while wearing the Monaghan jersey?
I think that theyres a serious sense of hype that follows certain players and they end up being untouchable.
Take the Gooch, He cost us an all Ireland final spot because certain refs believed that he would do nothing outside the rules.
It's the umpires who called in the ref in this instance and told him their story. There was a lot of niggling going on from both sides .I
Our neighbours Tyrone deserved their win .McCarthy Curry was outstanding.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 10/02/2020 20:21:39    2266886

I think if this thread proves anything, Kerry like to dish out their own propaganda about other counties namely Tyrone in this case - a lot of it patronizing mistruths, I've seen it about Mayo as well, but they don't like when the arrow falls close to home and their own style, "progression" and "achievements" brought to critique and myths busted.

A lot of stuff said in this thread was beyond the game and incidents. Forgetting county loyalty, the GAA as a community should abhor some of the comments made in the thread about Tyrone.

But look it would be weird if they ever change, so I hope they never do. ;)

There a bit of craic if nothing else!

Best wishes for the rest of the year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/02/2020 20:35:27    2266892