Shocking 2nd half performance. Should have won that. Handling and shooting was terrible to watch. How many chances did Walsh waste? Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 383 - 02/03/2024 20:38:02 2529277 Link 1 |
Absolutely shocking not to win that game, should have been 8/9 points clear with the first half dominance and the missed goal chances. Cavan were not as good as I thought they would be at all, we kept them in it with our poor shooting. hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 02/03/2024 20:39:48 2529278 Link 1 |
Definitely left that behind but great entertainment by 2 fairly well matched teams , quality is still miles off the top 10 but i see progress which is good. thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1073 - 02/03/2024 20:41:14 2529280 Link 2 |
Ye jumped the gun on this one with the superior fitness level comment IMO. Wel look gassed after 55 minutes amd they definitely finished stronger in terms of fitness.
Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 1003 - 02/03/2024 20:42:45 2529282 Link 0 |
going into this, I thought Meath would be beaten reasonably well. So right away, Im happy to be wrong. I think, in the grand scheme of things, a shared point isnt the worst result. 6 points on the board. Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 596 - 02/03/2024 20:49:53 2529284 Link 5 |
Adam O'Neill and Keoghan just unreal. Hard one to stomach not winning, Shane walsh left a simple 1-3 behind. Diarmuid Moriarty unused sub is crazy stuff. Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 181 - 02/03/2024 20:51:19 2529286 Link 1 |
A great opportunity missed there. Can't get my head around how we did not win. Is promotion still possible? TownlandGael (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 02/03/2024 20:51:43 2529287 Link 0 |
Nah, both teams looked very leggy in the last 10, pitch was very heavy , we just sat and tried to play counter game, nearly worked, 2 great goal chances missed which one of them would have killed the game, I agree a few lads were out on their feet in the last 10 and probably should have been replaced, some very lazy fouling by Jones and Mc Bride which 2 point came off, but obviously nobody to replace them in the middle which again is not their fault, they gave it their all. I like to be more glass half full than empty. thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1073 - 02/03/2024 20:54:33 2529288 Link 4 |
Was hoping for some character in the Meath performance tonight and it was all that. I have to be honest I didnt see a decent defensive display coming from this team but tonight proved me wrong. Thought they were very good. There will be some tired bodies tomorrow with the effort they put in. Great to see. And Donal Keoghan pretty much destroyed the best and most in form forward in the country tonight! JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 246 - 02/03/2024 21:05:44 2529291 Link 4 |
Progress continues under Colm despite the dectractor. Was talking to a Cavan man on the way out and he was surprised by our display, reckons Colm making his mark. royalproxy (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 02/03/2024 21:52:58 2529311 Link 7 |
Should have won that very frustrating.The goal chances we had have to be taken.Two poor attempts straight at the keeper and a few bad wides although Cavan had poor wides as well.The defence was very good and first half we played lovely football. We lost it around the middle in the second half as the two lads tired.Showed good character when going behind and Kinsella getting the black card to fight back and get the equaliser.We could easily be on 8 points with the ball hitting the post (so unlucky)at the end and Costellos free v Fermanagh dropping short at the end.Definte sign of improvement especially defensively but would be worried about our scoring rate and also our midfield options.I think after the Arnagh game we all would have taken two wins and draw and hopefully we can keep the momentum going v Cork on St Patrick's day.well done to all on a hard fought point and game. Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 02/03/2024 22:24:57 2529321 Link 0 |
1st half was the best bit of football we've played all year albeit with some poor execution in front of goal, 2nd half we couldn't get firing and Cavan stepped it up, left 2 glorious goal chances out on the pitch and interestingly in the warm up we drilled 1v1s and didn't hit the net too much so a big area to work on, 1 goal in 5 games is not good enough so that needs a lot of work. A result v Cork keeps us in Div2 and a free shot at Donegal then in the final round LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 02/03/2024 22:36:45 2529325 Link 1 |
What you have said here makes alot of sense. Defensively we are in a decent place with Keoghan and O'Neill real leaders at the back. This was the case during the Tailteann cup campaign even though there were still alot of detractors. Our Keeper is very solid with the long range frees an added bonus. However our forward play in execution of skills going forward needs to improve especially shooting and final pass. This is not just limited to forwards with midfield and backs coming forward too. All the top teams have significant score tallies from their backlines. Have any of our backs scored in the league? I think Shane Walsh had an off night but remember this is his third game in a row and he is just back from a long lay off. We probably need another consistant high scoring forward in order to push on more but think we are steadily improving.
winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 02/03/2024 22:56:44 2529331 Link 1 |
Great defensive 1st half performance. Bravo Adam o Neill. cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 02/03/2024 23:52:38 2529337 Link 0 |
I think he missed 3 points in the first half and a goal in the second. But I'll say this for him he worked hard as part of that defensive display, particularly in the first half. Are we doing a Donegal here, and sorting the défense first? Very similar defensive style to the Kildare game
cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 02/03/2024 23:54:42 2529338 Link 0 |
Feels like we probably should have won with where we were at half time but when going behind twice late on showed balls to get equaliser twice and pity the one off the post late on didn't go over. bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 02/03/2024 23:59:16 2529339 Link 1 |
Positives Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 03/03/2024 08:20:00 2529353 Link 0 |
Between defenders & midfield they've scored 5pts in the 5 games which is way below what we need, other teams have defenders scoring at will and it's a big asset. Our average scoreline in the league is 11pts against not the best of opposition (except Armagh) and it's not enough at this level, that lack of goals make scorelines tighter and games can swing either way. You compare to last year and we'd a high tally of goals in the league but we also had Lenihan & Morris then who you'd always back in front of the goals
LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 03/03/2024 08:36:52 2529355 Link 0 |
Good result but we need to be more clinical when on top and that's the difference between the top teams and the teams trying to get there . mmc (Meath) - Posts: 280 - 03/03/2024 08:55:12 2529358 Link 0 |
Entertaining game, but very much two teams competing to be the 11th best county this year. That's not a complaint, just reflection of where we're at. It would be a problem if we haven't closed the gap next near. MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 94 - 03/03/2024 09:47:04 2529367 Link 0 |