Do people think Cavan's comeback in second half was more down to Cavan upping their performance or did we go out in second half too much with mindset of holding on to our lead? bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 03/03/2024 09:58:58 2529370 Link 0 |
Positives defensive work has improved massively. Brennan kicking from 45 is much better and hopefully will continue. His kick outs were better last night than previous so again fair play to those involved. Mcbride had his best game for us and campion is improving every game. Keoghan and O'Neill very good again. royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/03/2024 10:01:51 2529372 Link 2 |
Without looking through remaining fixtures and permutations considering each team has 14 points to play for I doubt that even if we stay on 6 points we would finish in the bottom 2 of the division.
bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 03/03/2024 10:04:29 2529373 Link 0 |
6 of one half dozen of the other
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/03/2024 10:21:27 2529379 Link 2 |
Think Cavan upped it in the second half and started winning more ball around the middle and also started to run at us more compared to the first half.I dont think we went out to hold the lead in the second half if we had taken the two guilt edge goal chances the game was put to bed or even one of them.They got a run on us and the home crowd got behind them but was impressed with the way we never gave up especially when we went behind near the end and were unlucky with hitting the post at the end.
Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 03/03/2024 10:54:13 2529387 Link 2 |
Went along last night as a neutral and enjoyed the game overall. Perspective as a neutral is that Meath 100% left the game behind them. Shane Walsh had the winning of the game 3 times but his clear-through goal miss in particular seemed to turn momentum in Cavan's favour. That hits the net and its game over. Cavan used their bench much better than Meath who lost control on Madden GerrySmith and Ciaran Brady once the changes were made. That turned momentum. Also O'Rourke made the cardinal sin of waiting until a healthy lead was lost before changing anything substantial. He should have been ruthless when 4 or 5 points up and pushed on with fresh players. Thought Jones went missing at the crucial 3rd quarter stage and for all the quality in Costello, Meath didn't get enough damage out of him. I thought Cavan had no answer to those two had they imposed themselves on the game more. Finally, Keegan is still some player, a masterclass in defence last night. All in all the prevailing thought about Meath is a simple lack of ruthlessness and a necessary nasty streak to get the job done. Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1121 - 03/03/2024 11:17:53 2529390 Link 1 |
Lads, long time forum users know Im here since 2017 and have never been a hopeless optimist. Dont get me wrong, Im at most matches, but its rare ive been overtly optimistic here. Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 596 - 03/03/2024 12:14:24 2529398 Link 4 |
Are we looking at the genesis of one of the great Meath sides?
bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1807 - 03/03/2024 12:15:42 2529399 Link 0 |
Still waiting for a consistent display over 70 mins from Meath. Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 383 - 03/03/2024 12:23:12 2529401 Link 1 |
Still a huge game for Meath. League is now done and dusted as far as we are concerned with regards to promotion or relegation bad an unbelievable set of events. it's as you are for past over decade with exception of 19. However. There is the matter of the championship. We really don't want to be 4th seed (which we are cause of tv win) we should be aiming for our place in it as right been a league finish. One of Donegal or Armagh won't reach final so they will take up one position. I think it's imperative that we achieve a 3rd seed ranking rather than the 4th we now have. So the top seeds are the provincial winners. 2nd seeds are provincial finalists. Then the 3rd seeds are league. And so are 4th seeds along with previous years tc winner. We can take it that Kerry Dublin probably mayo and Derry are the winners. Runners up hard to tell. So 3rd in div 2. May give us seed 3. If we can get that. Then a scenario of say mayo clare us and louth are in one group. Now of course there is other nightmare scenarios such as Kerry Armagh Galway us. royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/03/2024 12:30:55 2529403 Link 1 |
And open to correction, but as long as Louth or Fermanagh don't pull off a shock today think we're mathematically safe MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 94 - 03/03/2024 12:32:37 2529404 Link 0 |
It'll depend on how the points tally up at the end, if for example we don't win the next 2 and stay on 6pts and a combination of 2 others of Louth, Cork, Fermanagh end up on 6pts aswell (assume Kildare don't win all last 3 games and go down) then it'll come down to score difference.
LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 03/03/2024 13:06:52 2529409 Link 0 |
Quiet happy with how yesterday went despite not getting the victory. First half was definetly the best we've played this year. Brilliant defending as a team, loads of tackles, blocks, good workrate. And then quick transition with a lot of heads up footpassing. Just not finsihing our chances. Second half we made some key mistakes and errors in decision , missed our two goal chances and started to give them momentum. I am happy that when we had 14 we went behind twice and levelled it both times, clutch scores by Costello and Brennan. There are negatives, namely our conversion rate, Walsh will be really dissapointed leaving 1-3 behind him. But overall the performance was much better and we were getting the balance of attack and defense. Players need to make individual improvements on parts of their game but they are at an age where you'd expect them to make improvements. Was happy with McBride, Coffey, Keoghan especially but Adam O'Neill MOTM for me. He has been absolutely outstanding in the league making the 3 jersey his own. LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1523 - 03/03/2024 13:11:55 2529411 Link 0 |
Could have won should have won is the storyline of last night , but I am not going to lie i am happy the way things are going , I see improvement especially in defence , that's the only thing I am ever interested in is a good defence because forwards and scoring and attacking always sorts itself out . WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 03/03/2024 13:44:57 2529416 Link 3 |
Jeepers is there any joy in your football life or do you just look for the most negative and critical angle all the time
49erroyal (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 03/03/2024 14:08:21 2529419 Link 3 |
Cork can end up on 6 points along with us, both fermanagh and louth can't as they play eachother in week 6 (assuming both lose to Armagh and donegal today of course). So it'll be kildare and either fermanagh or louth...... unless kildare beat cork today, in which case it'll be cork that get dragged back into it, not us.
southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 937 - 03/03/2024 14:10:52 2529420 Link 3 |
A very enjoyable if maybe helter skelter type of game. First half was really impressive stuff and as many have said we left a huge amount of scores behind us. However, we are creating chances and that's the crucial element. It will come if the improvement shown in other areas is anything to go by. Roger (Meath) - Posts: 478 - 03/03/2024 14:16:12 2529421 Link 0 |
Majority of posts sum up last night quite well. Brilliant in the first half, with the speed of transition being the best we have seen for a while. Despite Shane walsh missing 1-3 in the first half he never stopped showing and didn't hide. contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 03/03/2024 15:05:07 2529428 Link 0 |
Very little joy when it comes to Meath football buck
Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 383 - 03/03/2024 15:27:27 2529429 Link 0 |
A Jekyll and Hyde performance of sorts. UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 03/03/2024 16:36:47 2529456 Link 0 |