2023 Club Hurling Championship

Replying To Gaelic_Games:  "Kildalkey should have to name 20 senior players next year who cannot play intermediate. And another 15 who cannot play junior. For one year only.
I do think other teams will be more competitive next year. This year was a once off"
Think ye are going a bit over the top here lads. Like other clubs kildalkey will be loosing players next year with immigration and retirement so won't be as strong and also as you have said"it is a once off".
A remarkable achievement that I'm not sure has ever been done before but I cannot see it happening again.
It should give other clubs a kick in the backside to improve next year and try push on, kildalkey outworked everyone this year in games and training and some clubs think they are working hard by putting in an effort for 3-4 weeks before championship starts. They are delusional and need to realise they are miles off what is required to win a championship.

Tobefair80 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 15/11/2023 16:52:43    2513213

Replying To Gaelic_Games:  "Kildalkey should have to name 20 senior players next year who cannot play intermediate. And another 15 who cannot play junior. For one year only.
I do think other teams will be more competitive next year. This year was a once off"
Why should things change just because Kildalkey had a good year? No talk of change when Kiltale were dominating, no talk of change when Trim were going well , so why this year. Kildalkey could loose players to emigration, retirement etc. sorry but it's up to other teams to get their house in order and compete with top teams. Kildalkey seems to be doing it right at the moment with player retention and a lot of youth coming through so other clubs need to get to that level too. Don't be punishing clubs for doing it right!

Woodbutcher (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 15/11/2023 18:43:55    2513233

Probably the fairest thing would be to get Kildalkey to play without their hurls, that's as ridiculous as what you are proposing. We need to be bringing the level of hurling in Meath up, not handicapping winners. Its hard enough to promote hurling in Meath, we are always afterthoughts. If your a hurling man, you will want it to thrive in Meath, not go backwards.

Stiofan (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 16/11/2023 08:07:12    2513270

Replying To Stiofan:  "Probably the fairest thing would be to get Kildalkey to play without their hurls, that's as ridiculous as what you are proposing. We need to be bringing the level of hurling in Meath up, not handicapping winners. Its hard enough to promote hurling in Meath, we are always afterthoughts. If your a hurling man, you will want it to thrive in Meath, not go backwards."
In saying that. What talents are we seeing at the various club at underage levels for the teams in Senior A and B. Anyone in the 14-18 group per club to keep an eye out on over the next few years. Also what is happening at academy level at these ages? Are they getting the same exposure, opportunity etc as their football counterparts?

hedgefund (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 16/11/2023 14:11:52    2513357

Am i right in saying Kildalkey v Kilmessan on sunday is kind of Semi Final in u21 championship? If Kilmessan win its cut and dried Kilmessan vs Trim final, a repeat of sundays game gone. If Kildalkey win they need to play the remaining two games vs Athboy and Killyon? they would need to match Kilmessan on 7 points at least to go through? But the final is pencilled in for Sunday week already i heard. So if Kildalkey win v Kilmessan they need to play three games in 7 days before a final? surely it would be pushed back? I suppose if Kilmessan were to win that would all be out the window.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 21/11/2023 20:36:48    2514096

Replying To dickie10:  "Am i right in saying Kildalkey v Kilmessan on sunday is kind of Semi Final in u21 championship? If Kilmessan win its cut and dried Kilmessan vs Trim final, a repeat of sundays game gone. If Kildalkey win they need to play the remaining two games vs Athboy and Killyon? they would need to match Kilmessan on 7 points at least to go through? But the final is pencilled in for Sunday week already i heard. So if Kildalkey win v Kilmessan they need to play three games in 7 days before a final? surely it would be pushed back? I suppose if Kilmessan were to win that would all be out the window."
You are correct. Similar to last year at this stage as should Kildalkey beat Thomastown (hopefully they do) at the weekend and then you have to factor in the Leinster final which would be the weekend after the u21 final date.

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 22/11/2023 20:33:19    2514223

Replying To showforit:  "You are correct. Similar to last year at this stage as should Kildalkey beat Thomastown (hopefully they do) at the weekend and then you have to factor in the Leinster final which would be the weekend after the u21 final date."
Sure didn't Trim play the Wednesday night before the leinster final on the Saturday last year? If you think the CB will rearrange things to the benefit of Kildalkey or just hurling in meath, forget it.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 23/11/2023 08:33:03    2514236

I have a feeling Thomastown will beat Kildalkey well enough. They were probably in the intermediate grade in Kilkenny for a few years too long and now have got that monkey off their back, they will be looking at going all they way. Just like Tullaroan a few years back. I hope I'm wrong and Kildalkey win but can't see it.

yourname (Meath) - Posts: 23 - 23/11/2023 15:32:13    2514321

Kildalkey without Paddy Barnwall too and I think another from suspension vs Trim will probabaly struggle vs kilmessan on Sunday morning, he would be their best u21 player. is a straight red card 1 or 2 game suspension? does it mean missing the Leinster match v Thomastown or just U21 competition?

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 24/11/2023 11:28:02    2514422

Kildalkey got fairly hammered today. No where near Thomastown. As one sided as it gets.

Premier12345 (Tipperary) - Posts: 38 - 25/11/2023 20:52:35    2514596

Was at the game yesterday. There was some gulf in class between the two teams. Just shows how bad Meath hurling is. No disrespect to Kildalkey. What that achieved this year is phenomenal. But they're the best of a bad bunch it seems.

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 352 - 26/11/2023 09:54:24    2514616

Replying To Selwyn:  "Was at the game yesterday. There was some gulf in class between the two teams. Just shows how bad Meath hurling is. No disrespect to Kildalkey. What that achieved this year is phenomenal. But they're the best of a bad bunch it seems."
Just goes to show what a result Trim had in KK last year.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 27/11/2023 08:35:12    2514671

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "Just goes to show what a result Trim had in KK last year."
Kilmessan won a Leinster by beating a Kilkenny side in their own back yard. Trim won nothing in Leinster so it's a meaningless result.

Joe_soap1 (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 27/11/2023 10:09:07    2514681

Replying To Joe_soap1:  "Kilmessan won a Leinster by beating a Kilkenny side in their own back yard. Trim won nothing in Leinster so it's a meaningless result."
Trim side actually win a game against a Kilkenny club and got to a Leinster final. That us a hell of a lot better than this year.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 27/11/2023 14:03:10    2514732

Replying To Selwyn:  "Was at the game yesterday. There was some gulf in class between the two teams. Just shows how bad Meath hurling is. No disrespect to Kildalkey. What that achieved this year is phenomenal. But they're the best of a bad bunch it seems."
Trim or ratoath would be much better suited to leinster hurling , kildalkey never have.
Its hard to believe trim threw away this years championship , far and away the best team in senior but lacked the commitment and discipline needed to win championships.
They really got carried away with their own hype and took their eye off the ball.

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 27/11/2023 14:41:00    2514736

Replying To hurlit:  "Trim or ratoath would be much better suited to leinster hurling , kildalkey never have.
Its hard to believe trim threw away this years championship , far and away the best team in senior but lacked the commitment and discipline needed to win championships.
They really got carried away with their own hype and took their eye off the ball."
Have to agree Trim or Ratoath would have stronger teams. Kildalkey wont care they have done very well to overachieve and win 3 championships in the past 5 years.

Gaelic_Games (Meath) - Posts: 13 - 27/11/2023 15:16:45    2514741

Replying To Gaelic_Games:  "Have to agree Trim or Ratoath would have stronger teams. Kildalkey wont care they have done very well to overachieve and win 3 championships in the past 5 years."
What constitutes a stronger team? Teams who win or teams that lose?

TownJohnT (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 27/11/2023 15:56:35    2514752

Replying To hurlit:  "Trim or ratoath would be much better suited to leinster hurling , kildalkey never have.
They really got carried away with their own hype and took their eye off the ball."
to be suited you must qualify, the teams mentioned plus my own didn't earn the right so therefore they are not suited, lets stop been childish and accept that we all have top lift the bar in our own clubs, particularly intermediate clubs, no second team in meath should be winning the inter championship, lets be real here,

pixey (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 27/11/2023 16:46:05    2514765

Replying To pixey:  "to be suited you must qualify, the teams mentioned plus my own didn't earn the right so therefore they are not suited, lets stop been childish and accept that we all have top lift the bar in our own clubs, particularly intermediate clubs, no second team in meath should be winning the inter championship, lets be real here,"
Trim by far the best team in meath at the moment. Don't know how they slipped up but they did. Ratoath would give leinster at right go also.

Premier12345 (Tipperary) - Posts: 38 - 27/11/2023 17:33:09    2514778

Some fair clowns on here, to say that trim and ratoath are stronger than kildalkey is just laughable. Ratoath have won little or nothing in 60 years and trim have won 1-2 in 20 years. But kildalkey overachieved by winning 3 in 5 years!! Winning underage competitions every year is not much of an achievement when you have bigger numbers than everyone else and is of no benefit if you cannot transfer that into adult success.
I do agree that Meath hurling is in a bad place, as is football. I haven't seen it as bad before and clubs need to have a look at themselves especially the larger clubs.
Any kildalkey person looking at these posts will be laughing at the jealousy of others after they wiped the floor with everyone else this year, they worked the hardest and got their rewards and for that I say fair play to them.

Tobefair80 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 27/11/2023 20:05:02    2514794