Meath V Offaly

Replying To sourmilk93:  "When going for the Roscommon job he withdrew."
My mistake, did not know he went for Ros job.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 24/04/2023 16:59:12    2473381

People on here need to wake up and smell the roses.
It's almost 40 years since a meath team contested a senior club all Ireland final it's over 20 years since the last meath team won a senior leinster final .
It's 22 years since Meath appeared in a all Ireland final and 13 years since we won a leinster .
Last time we were in Div 1 we lost every game bar 1 and the only time we got to the super 8s we lost every game .
We have lost to limerick , Longford , Offaly , westmeath , Clare in the championship since 2010 and its all now Colm ORourkes fault ??
Meath football is what it is we can't continue to live in the past its 1999 since our last all Ireland success that's before most of the players playing yesterday were born .
Club football in meath is poor and poorly reffed we are miles behind so many counties that was once the opposite . We can't compete physically with teams and that's a reflection on our club game that was once tougher than tough now refereed like a basketball game .
I listen to people on here naming players that should be still playing the same players that have played when we lost to the above teams I named so why would they make any difference now when they couldn't in the past .
All players past and present deserve great credit for the time they have given to the country the time and commitment is harder now than when meath were successful .
I feel sorry for the players now the game is horrible to watch and gone worse than soccer with fellas running up and down the sideline with note books in their hands I'm never surprised when I hear of players not wanting to play County football .
It's not Colm ORourkes fault or Andy McEntee or Mick ODowd or Banty or Eamon Barry or Eamon OBrien or the County board it's multitude of things but until the club football in Meath comes competitive again what we seen yesterday and for the last 20 years is here to stay unfortunately.

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 267 - 24/04/2023 17:07:20    2473388

Replying To Richieq:  "O'Rourle criticised yes, but Keegan and Cavanagh were sneering and enjoyed the opportunity to do so, of course I'm not happy, I drive from Donegal to these matches so i can assure you I'm not happy but the finger of fault is solely goimg to COR by many and that's wrong, bottom line is we are a county full of decent club players but not interconty players, I'm sure every player I've heard mentioned on here that should be on the county team or panel have been tried at one stage or another and many have been found wanting, the quality is not there at the moment and no system or plan in the world will make up for that. In a perverse way what happened yesterday and the realisation of the Tailteann Cup could turn out to be the best thing to happen for years. As for taking it seriously yes we all should, and I'd be disgusted if we didn't, water always finds its own level and for now we have found ours, its where we are and the players must go and do their best and as supporters we must do our best too."
Look I agree. But we are better than we have shown this year.. we haven't scored more than opposition apart from Carlow . Also was talking to a Offaly man today, he was happy but stated that Offaly will be beat easily by louth if the don't improve massively. Said it is a very ordinary team and without some of their best players yesterday, but that Longford etc were better than Meath. Worst Meath team he has seen in 60 years (his words ). He said when we luckily drew with them last year they were a far better team. The problem is as yet we have no game plan, no structure, no heart , no fitness etc. that is down to management, we won't be winning all ire or Leinster but we should be beating the likes of a very poor Offaly side , a Limerick side that had already decided to sack their manager and a louth team we would have better players than. That is down to Colm. No one else .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/04/2023 17:36:55    2473403

I have read some awful tripe on here over the last day or two. It absolutely infuriates me reading things like we don't have the players what do you expect Colm O'Rourke to do.. I'll tell you what I expect him to do, to devise a plan that might actually make it hard for teams to beat us. I absolutely agree that the standard of club football in meath is not good but it's absolute rubbish to use that as an excuse for a management team having absolutely no system put in place to suit the players they have playing.

Look at Donegal before Jim McGuinness took over look at Derry before Rory Gallagher took over look at Monaghan before Malachy O'Rourke took over.. in our own county look at the tones before Michael McDermott took over. He devised a system where every single man on the field knew their job, knew what way they were playing knew that they had the work done, the fitness work done and the training done to go out and put it to fruition and what did they do... they won a bloody championship. Would you say that wolfe tones had better players than rataoth summerhill Kells etc because I certainly wouldn't. It starts from the top and from what I've heard from the camp CO'R is absolutely no where near the level for senior intercounty management.

Look at his record for Simonstown the last 2 year. Abysmal. Ratoath first round of championship last year, down by 11 points at half time came back into it at in the second half but lost. Kells second round. Down by 10 at half time came back into it but lost. Donaghmore Ashbourne down at half time and lost. Anyone can come back into a game in the second half when the other team are so far ahead there will be a natural drop off from the other team.

There is not one semblance of tactics with this set up which I believe is absolutely inexcusable and it is downright lazy to just say the players aren't there. Are the players in louth better than meath I would argue not but look what Mickey Harte has done with professionalism and a system. World's apart from the meath set up.

ManicAggression1 (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 24/04/2023 17:56:51    2473415

Replying To mmc:  "People on here need to wake up and smell the roses.
It's almost 40 years since a meath team contested a senior club all Ireland final it's over 20 years since the last meath team won a senior leinster final .
It's 22 years since Meath appeared in a all Ireland final and 13 years since we won a leinster .
Last time we were in Div 1 we lost every game bar 1 and the only time we got to the super 8s we lost every game .
We have lost to limerick , Longford , Offaly , westmeath , Clare in the championship since 2010 and its all now Colm ORourkes fault ??
Meath football is what it is we can't continue to live in the past its 1999 since our last all Ireland success that's before most of the players playing yesterday were born .
Club football in meath is poor and poorly reffed we are miles behind so many counties that was once the opposite . We can't compete physically with teams and that's a reflection on our club game that was once tougher than tough now refereed like a basketball game .
I listen to people on here naming players that should be still playing the same players that have played when we lost to the above teams I named so why would they make any difference now when they couldn't in the past .
All players past and present deserve great credit for the time they have given to the country the time and commitment is harder now than when meath were successful .
I feel sorry for the players now the game is horrible to watch and gone worse than soccer with fellas running up and down the sideline with note books in their hands I'm never surprised when I hear of players not wanting to play County football .
It's not Colm ORourkes fault or Andy McEntee or Mick ODowd or Banty or Eamon Barry or Eamon OBrien or the County board it's multitude of things but until the club football in Meath comes competitive again what we seen yesterday and for the last 20 years is here to stay unfortunately."
Agreed, if you look at last years SFC the two finalists, Ratoath & Summerhill, were the two best teams in the competion by a fair distance, other clubs that we expect a lot of in terms of quality and competitiveness such as NOM, Dunboyne, Skryne, Simonstowm to name 4, all had not just dissapointimg campaigns but disastrous ones with NOM finally dropping to intermediate after struggling for a few years, all this does not reflect well for the quality of player available to the county set up, I don't see the Keegan Cup going beyond Ratoath or Summethill this year either, Don/Ash possibly as the next contender, but the quality of ayer outside the top two clubs is very worrying in my view, one could justifiably argue that the IFC is a far more competitive and quality competition than the SFC

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 24/04/2023 18:20:35    2473424

Replying To mmc:  "People on here need to wake up and smell the roses.
It's not Colm ORourkes fault or Andy McEntee or Mick ODowd or Banty or Eamon Barry or Eamon OBrien or the County board it's multitude of things but until the club football in Meath comes competitive again what we seen yesterday and for the last 20 years is here to stay unfortunately."
No one is saying we should be winning all ire or Leinster. Only thing people are saying is we should have a structure one thing we had when we lost to Westmeath Limerick Wexford clare etc. no one would care loosing to a very poor Offaly team if we were fit had a structure layed a hand on a opposing player and looked like we had a game plan. We had none of the previous mentioned thing. That is down to one man. Colm. Again if we looked anything like even a bad junior b team in past 6 matches then Colm could get a pass. The fact we don't is the problem

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/04/2023 18:30:22    2473428

Replying To ManicAggression1:  "I have read some awful tripe on here over the last day or two. It absolutely infuriates me reading things like we don't have the players what do you expect Colm O'Rourke to do.. I'll tell you what I expect him to do, to devise a plan that might actually make it hard for teams to beat us. I absolutely agree that the standard of club football in meath is not good but it's absolute rubbish to use that as an excuse for a management team having absolutely no system put in place to suit the players they have playing.

Look at Donegal before Jim McGuinness took over look at Derry before Rory Gallagher took over look at Monaghan before Malachy O'Rourke took over.. in our own county look at the tones before Michael McDermott took over. He devised a system where every single man on the field knew their job, knew what way they were playing knew that they had the work done, the fitness work done and the training done to go out and put it to fruition and what did they do... they won a bloody championship. Would you say that wolfe tones had better players than rataoth summerhill Kells etc because I certainly wouldn't. It starts from the top and from what I've heard from the camp CO'R is absolutely no where near the level for senior intercounty management.

Look at his record for Simonstown the last 2 year. Abysmal. Ratoath first round of championship last year, down by 11 points at half time came back into it at in the second half but lost. Kells second round. Down by 10 at half time came back into it but lost. Donaghmore Ashbourne down at half time and lost. Anyone can come back into a game in the second half when the other team are so far ahead there will be a natural drop off from the other team.

There is not one semblance of tactics with this set up which I believe is absolutely inexcusable and it is downright lazy to just say the players aren't there. Are the players in louth better than meath I would argue not but look what Mickey Harte has done with professionalism and a system. World's apart from the meath set up."
Unfortunately hard to disagree with what you wrote.
Has Colm lost the dressing room? Cause them players don't seem to be playing for him. That could be another problem

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/04/2023 18:51:23    2473436

Replying To royaldunne:  "Look I agree. But we are better than we have shown this year.. we haven't scored more than opposition apart from Carlow . Also was talking to a Offaly man today, he was happy but stated that Offaly will be beat easily by louth if the don't improve massively. Said it is a very ordinary team and without some of their best players yesterday, but that Longford etc were better than Meath. Worst Meath team he has seen in 60 years (his words ). He said when we luckily drew with them last year they were a far better team. The problem is as yet we have no game plan, no structure, no heart , no fitness etc. that is down to management, we won't be winning all ire or Leinster but we should be beating the likes of a very poor Offaly side , a Limerick side that had already decided to sack their manager and a louth team we would have better players than. That is down to Colm. No one else ."
Would u have better players than Louth don't think so

thestrapper49 (Louth) - Posts: 315 - 24/04/2023 19:00:36    2473442

Replying To Richieq:  "O'Rourle criticised yes, but Keegan and Cavanagh were sneering and enjoyed the opportunity to do so, of course I'm not happy, I drive from Donegal to these matches so i can assure you I'm not happy but the finger of fault is solely goimg to COR by many and that's wrong, bottom line is we are a county full of decent club players but not interconty players, I'm sure every player I've heard mentioned on here that should be on the county team or panel have been tried at one stage or another and many have been found wanting, the quality is not there at the moment and no system or plan in the world will make up for that. In a perverse way what happened yesterday and the realisation of the Tailteann Cup could turn out to be the best thing to happen for years. As for taking it seriously yes we all should, and I'd be disgusted if we didn't, water always finds its own level and for now we have found ours, its where we are and the players must go and do their best and as supporters we must do our best too."
Alright, as I said dont watch the Sunday game alot so didnt see it but if they were sneering thats not on and I stand corrected.As for driving from Donegal fair play that cant be easy.I agree cant blame COR for everything,the players must take some blame along with county board and clubs who may have neglected things a bit over the years.Yes we may not have a load of brillant players but disagree about a system is not going to make us better.We have as good a pool of players quality wise as Louth, Limerick,Offaly etc but yet couldn't beat them this year.This excuse of saying the players aren't there is a bit of a cop out for me.Not expecting to win all Irelands or Leinsters just beat teams in or around our level.I would imagine most fans thought at the start of the year we have a very good chance of reaching the Leinster final but yet we fall at the first hurdle.Westmeath, Offaly and Longford division 3 teams, Louth division 2 just up from 3 and ourselves division 2.on our side of the draw.Louth have system while not pretty to watch it makes them competitive and hard to break down and keeps them in the game.While yes the club scene is not at the standard we would like it to be in Meath I would say its around the same level as Louth, ,Kildare ,Offaly yet they are doing better than us.I dont think we should be getting rid of him but clearly something has to change whether that's different approach or different backroom team or both even I'm not sure.As for the TC yes I believe we should take it seriously and give it a proper go and I'll be at the games as that's the best I can do for the team.I hope Colm can turn things around and build strong foundations because without that the house will fall down.A good run in the TC get a couple of wins and restore some confidence and build fron there .

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 24/04/2023 19:02:17    2473443

A very bad week for Meath football (Senior & U20 ) but for me and most of Meath's loyal supporters who attend all their games, what happened yesterday was no surprise because although O' Rourke put out the wrong starting 15 we were probably going to be beaten by Louth or hammered by Dublin anyway. Unfortunately and although we could go well enough in the Tailteann we will have more tough times ahead and it will not be turned around quickly.
We should not be wasting time concentrating on getting rid of O' Rourke, we have much bigger problems than that. If it was only going to be that easy to sort a lot of the problems!
There is plenty of blame to go round and I will just highlight one area I have insight into (that contributes to the bad situation) and although certainly not the primary cause for where we are, it is just another failing, that is allowed to happen and no one in authority seems to be too bothered.
Apart from financing and providing gear/food for County teams, the biggest disappointment for me is the complete ignorance and hands off approach of the County Board to the underage and County Development squads. We had a fantastic talented panel of under 20 players this year, good enough to win an All-Ireland and yet we lost in the Under 20 on Tuesday against a very average Dublin team, mainly because this group has not been properly developed since Minor combined with just really poor selection and decision making by the under 20 management.
After that really good Minor team lost the 2020 All-Ireland semi-Final the management had no one to answer to, as the succession plan in place in Meath, was that the same management would remain in place with that group until under 20. This despite that Minor 2020 loss and a near Leinster Final defeat was due mainly to selecting some players who either were injured or had shown no form and then on top of that making absolutely ridiculous decisions on the line both days in the only real challenges in the championship that year.
Very few lessons were learned by the management and we had the same mistakes made again this year at under 20 including playing injured players and poor tactics.
People thought just because we had a really talented bunch of young players that the under 20 management could be left to their own devices and regardless of the management skill sets, the players would develop according to their potential and deliver an All-Ireland.
Well it is very obvious now that their development from Minor was way behind, that even of Dublin, even though this Under 20 Meath team hammered the Dubs in 2020 & 2021 Leinster Minor or even behind that of Sligo who are U20 Connacht champions (and Meath beat easily in 2021 All-Ireland semi final).
I didn't agree with Colm bringing 7 of the 20's into the panel for the Leinster Senior championship as I did not think they were ready but as we are now Tailteann bound they should be able for that level.
Because of the succession plan, It meant that the man who managed Meath to an All-Ireland Minor victory in 2021 (with what in my opinion was a less talented team than the 2020 team) could NOT have been considered for the under 20 job this year. You would think that a manager with proven success would count for something.
I also understand it is very unfair to be criticising people who give up so much of their time and do their best and on top of that John McCarthy is a very nice guy. I am sure he was doing his best, certainly didn't fail because of his lack of commitment and we should be very thankful for the mighty effort he put in with that group for the last 6 years. But we need to have to have an independent review at the end of each year in relation to reappointment of management at all of our County teams/ development squads/underage. The review has to include a confidential player survey. That independent review has to make recommendations and also set minimum goals for each team for the year ahead. A review and its recommendations probably would even have being a help to John.
Would John and more importantly the players have benefitted if he could have requested and availed of some specialised coaches? In hindsight John might have done things differently, if there was a review, that hindsight could be very beneficial to the man coming behind him.
In general and certainly by no means exclusive to John's panel but probably true for every Meath underage inter county panel for the last 30 years, is almost no apparent improvement in the development in the vast majority of players, even those who spend 6 or 7 years going through the various development squads. How many lads have come back to their clubs after 6 years in development squads and the club can really see the benefit of their player's time in Dunganny?
Of course you can tell I am annoyed over losing Minor, U20 and Senior games we should have won, that can happen the best of teams, but that is nothing compared to my annoyance and frustration that there is no oversight, no one bothered high up concerned to see what is going on. Like this week at Senior and under 20, what system were we playing?
In both games, did every player on the field know their role and how to execute that role?
If we don't look at what we done right and what we done wrong, how are the wrongs ever going to be fixed.
Although O' Rourke has been very disappointing so far we really need to be focusing on more fundamental issues.
This for me, is a very important one, But when we have the type of hands off approach where there is a succession plan in place and where you come up through from managing Juvenile development squads to be guaranteed managing under 20's regardless of your record, remains to be the policy, it will help to continue to keep us heading in the downward direction we are currently going.
As bad as things are, thank God we didn't have to go through the humiliation of been beaten by Louth in the championship and hopefully by the next time we meet them, we will be on a different trajectory.

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 24/04/2023 20:07:15    2473465

Replying To nobull456:  "For this poster the most difficult part of coping with the aftermath of the failure to improve after the early stage of development is the agendas and parochialism presented as logical and unbiased. Harmless enough of course but hardly constructive. I still say we have to compare like with like .You dont compare 6 months with 6 years and claim that is objective assesment. Forget about the WHO does the job and concentrate on WHATare the requirements and who would best fit the role with whatever resourses is appropriate.The problems are at least 20 years old they are simply a refusal to update to meet the requirements of the modern game in terms of coaching standards and preparation generally. I simply cannot understand at all why we are so poor in the basic skills and even standards generally. To me everything points to lack of leadership and vision from the top table.
I would expect cb to promote a "think in " workshop to assess, develop and maintain relevant standards .for example. Enough is enough. We have to promote interest to counteract the inevitable fall off in supporters after this setback.. Just one ingredient required to start with VISION. as demonstated by Dublin with full rewards delivered in full"
The draw for Meath football championship takes place this week. At least eight of the sixteen teams enter draw with little ambition other than to retain senior status for another year. A fair ambition, but little help to the future of Meath football. We will witness games of poor quality and low intensity, top teams in second gear until the latter stages. We need a shake up to make it more competitive, much easier said than done. A stronger more competitive championship will go some way to prepare players for the step up to intercounty and hopefully we would see improvement in basic skills and overall standards. They need to experience more pressure and higher intensity before joining senior setup. Getting clubs on board would be a huge problem.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 24/04/2023 21:16:16    2473485

Replying To royaldunne:  "No one is saying we should be winning all ire or Leinster. Only thing people are saying is we should have a structure one thing we had when we lost to Westmeath Limerick Wexford clare etc. no one would care loosing to a very poor Offaly team if we were fit had a structure layed a hand on a opposing player and looked like we had a game plan. We had none of the previous mentioned thing. That is down to one man. Colm. Again if we looked anything like even a bad junior b team in past 6 matches then Colm could get a pass. The fact we don't is the problem"
All that was in place. The PLAYERS did not execute the game plan or lay hands on offlay players. Open your eyes for once and don't be afraid to call out the players for what actually happened. They are all big boys now, so criticism comes with the role and if they cant accept that then that underlines the issue of them lacking the character to rise to the challenges being set for them which to dat this year, they have failed miserably. As I said in another post they are being given every support and training requirement, yet the players are not doing the business.

Now there are Three possible reasons why.

1. Players attitude issues. - our previous full back apparently didn't match this or show a desire to do so.
2. Players are not capable talent wise at this level(and its not a case of better players are not involved, this IS the best meath has to offer).
3. Management are not up to it; but based on the tripe we have seen over the last nearly decade and a half, it doesn't matter who is in charge if your in the grand national on a 3 legged donkey.

Not O'Rourke, the players.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 25/04/2023 08:55:45    2473546

Replying To seadog54:  "The draw for Meath football championship takes place this week. At least eight of the sixteen teams enter draw with little ambition other than to retain senior status for another year. A fair ambition, but little help to the future of Meath football. We will witness games of poor quality and low intensity, top teams in second gear until the latter stages. We need a shake up to make it more competitive, much easier said than done. A stronger more competitive championship will go some way to prepare players for the step up to intercounty and hopefully we would see improvement in basic skills and overall standards. They need to experience more pressure and higher intensity before joining senior setup. Getting clubs on board would be a huge problem."
The format was changed a few years ago. What's the next step?

Tinchy1 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 25/04/2023 09:21:09    2473561

Replying To Tinchy1:  "The format was changed a few years ago. What's the next step?"
Think the hurling format would be beneficial. Senior A and B, but you would get massive push back from clubs that would be in senior B as they wouldn't like the name.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 25/04/2023 09:45:07    2473568

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "All that was in place. The PLAYERS did not execute the game plan or lay hands on offlay players. Open your eyes for once and don't be afraid to call out the players for what actually happened. They are all big boys now, so criticism comes with the role and if they cant accept that then that underlines the issue of them lacking the character to rise to the challenges being set for them which to dat this year, they have failed miserably. As I said in another post they are being given every support and training requirement, yet the players are not doing the business.

Now there are Three possible reasons why.

1. Players attitude issues. - our previous full back apparently didn't match this or show a desire to do so.
2. Players are not capable talent wise at this level(and its not a case of better players are not involved, this IS the best meath has to offer).
3. Management are not up to it; but based on the tripe we have seen over the last nearly decade and a half, it doesn't matter who is in charge if your in the grand national on a 3 legged donkey.

Not O'Rourke, the players."
Orouke has brought an average midtable division two team down to a poor lower level division 3 team. That is a fact. He has done this in less than a year. Let's not kid ourselves. Clare and cork are better than us. We got lucky especially with Clare. They are a division two team. Us and limerick (proved by the only point they got was against us) deserved to be relegated. We will be next year if colm remains probably without getting a point. Who would we beat ? Fermanagh ? We won't catch cork again , louth are way better managed than us, Armagh ? We wouldn't have a hope cavan would easily beat us and as bad as donegal have gone they'd wipe the floor with us unless we change management. All you have mentioned I will agree with. So it is very clear the players aren't playing for the sideline and Colm has lost the dressing room. That won't change by keeping him there. Malachy O'Rourke could be an option as could obric. Or Gillespie. Cause if Colm is letting players not do as been told and keeps persisting then that is his problem too. Not having a pop at you just I think if we have to have a resemblance of stopping the slide into footballing oblivion then we have to stop the rot after we beat in tailteann

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2023 10:00:33    2473573

Replying To bert09:  "Does O'Rourke need to change his selectors/backup team? Support from outside the county?"
It looks like the backroom team are not up to the job. Certainly Colm needs to address that . I cannot see the same people remaining . I want Colm O Rourke to remain for the 2 years as he said . I want him to MANAGE . I am one of his biggest supporters. I am critical of his management at this early stage even .That does NOT mean i want him out. I believe the role of modern day manager has not been given the focus required by the top table. I want Meath to come up to speed off the field firstly . I think O Rourke should be a beneficary of proper vision from the top table . This neglect of forward planning by updating and development is there for over 20 years . I ASSUME Colm has every resourse he asked for.Maybe he needs to update that shopping list. Dont know the man and the vision i have of him is a person who can make things happen as distinct to a person to whom things happen. I KNOW it can seem unfair to be critical of him at this early stage BUT i refuse to accept no improvement in the basics . One can be critical and be a full supporter at the same time as long as the critisism is aimed at being constructive. Colm away you go for the 2nd chapter in the programme of recovery . Im sure the review will serve to enlighten, energise, encourage, in the best interests of Meath football

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 25/04/2023 10:02:35    2473575

Bring in Lar Wall as a Coach, over achieved with an average Kells team for years and won his championship last year with the The Downs in Westmeath and beat Ratoath in the Leinster Semi Final, knows meath club football inside out

DefenceWinsChampionships (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 25/04/2023 10:28:56    2473592

Replying To Tinchy1:  "The format was changed a few years ago. What's the next step?"
Less senior teams. Idea would go down like lead baloon with some clubs.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 25/04/2023 10:36:04    2473593

Replying To royaldunne:  "Orouke has brought an average midtable division two team down to a poor lower level division 3 team. That is a fact. He has done this in less than a year. Let's not kid ourselves. Clare and cork are better than us. We got lucky especially with Clare. They are a division two team. Us and limerick (proved by the only point they got was against us) deserved to be relegated. We will be next year if colm remains probably without getting a point. Who would we beat ? Fermanagh ? We won't catch cork again , louth are way better managed than us, Armagh ? We wouldn't have a hope cavan would easily beat us and as bad as donegal have gone they'd wipe the floor with us unless we change management. All you have mentioned I will agree with. So it is very clear the players aren't playing for the sideline and Colm has lost the dressing room. That won't change by keeping him there. Malachy O'Rourke could be an option as could obric. Or Gillespie. Cause if Colm is letting players not do as been told and keeps persisting then that is his problem too. Not having a pop at you just I think if we have to have a resemblance of stopping the slide into footballing oblivion then we have to stop the rot after we beat in tailteann"
'Orouke has brought an average midtable division two team down to a poor lower level division 3 team. That is a fact.'.
That's not a fact. It's not even an opinion as it blatantly contradicts an actual fact (we stayed in division 2 in the only year O'Rourke has managed so far).
Will you think before you write stuff like this when it's obviously blantly wrong.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1360 - 25/04/2023 11:25:25    2473628

Replying To bdbuddah:  "'Orouke has brought an average midtable division two team down to a poor lower level division 3 team. That is a fact.'.
That's not a fact. It's not even an opinion as it blatantly contradicts an actual fact (we stayed in division 2 in the only year O'Rourke has managed so far).
Will you think before you write stuff like this when it's obviously blantly wrong."
Are we better than clare who got relegated. What I am saying is we are BERY LUCKY to be in division two this next year. That is a fact. And we playing in the championship for division 3/4 teams. That is also a fact. Look we are where Colm brought us. Let's not let that continue. We all want what's best for Meath. And Colm has proved beyond doubt he is not what's best for Meath at this stage.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2023 11:43:34    2473635