Meath V Derry Rd 7.

In many ways this is a dead rubber. In other ways we need to keep momentum going for championship so a win would be great. Derry are effectively a one man scoring machine. Stop him and we have a great chance.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2022 10:19:05    2406970

Replying To royaldunne:  "In many ways this is a dead rubber. In other ways we need to keep momentum going for championship so a win would be great. Derry are effectively a one man scoring machine. Stop him and we have a great chance."
We cant afford to take foot off the throttle.so id imagine a full press all in approach from meath.now i could be entirely wrong.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 25/03/2022 11:26:16    2406998

This is NOT a dead rubber. Our last competitive game before championship against a side looking to win and a team Meath really need to be competitive with if we are to make any inroads in Leinster. Workrate has been decent recently but really need to get inside forwards going, winning ball, taking on their men and being a general scoring threath.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 25/03/2022 11:46:49    2407005

Its a dead rubber in that we've nothing to play for but we need to keep up momentum and how they have been doing. Its going to be a slog of a game, we're hopeless v northern/ blanket defences so i'd expect a lot of the same over and back and up and turn back stuff, hand passes galore. So I'll not be nailing anyone for that come monday (I hope!!) Long spells f nothing happening between the two 45's.

They got a bit of a thumping from Galway in Owenbeg last week, so I'd expect them to batten down the hatches and play tight and controlled football. Like ourselves they're a 12-15 scores a game team and don't put up high scores so we should i hope know what needs to be done.

A win could be pivotal for this season and could turn things around a little leading into the championship. I'm not sure if/ what the leinster draw is beyond the 1/4 finals and i'd hope to avoid Dublin and Kildare before the final. The rest of the draw/ championship is a shot to nothing and you'd hope to get a game in Navan and take things from there.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 25/03/2022 12:30:00    2407014

Replying To brian:  "Its a dead rubber in that we've nothing to play for but we need to keep up momentum and how they have been doing. Its going to be a slog of a game, we're hopeless v northern/ blanket defences so i'd expect a lot of the same over and back and up and turn back stuff, hand passes galore. So I'll not be nailing anyone for that come monday (I hope!!) Long spells f nothing happening between the two 45's.

They got a bit of a thumping from Galway in Owenbeg last week, so I'd expect them to batten down the hatches and play tight and controlled football. Like ourselves they're a 12-15 scores a game team and don't put up high scores so we should i hope know what needs to be done.

A win could be pivotal for this season and could turn things around a little leading into the championship. I'm not sure if/ what the leinster draw is beyond the 1/4 finals and i'd hope to avoid Dublin and Kildare before the final. The rest of the draw/ championship is a shot to nothing and you'd hope to get a game in Navan and take things from there."
Well that's what I meant. As in its dead rubber as win lose or draw it won't affect our league position. However for momentum and to put our season on a strong footing it would be fantastic to get a win. The only caveat I'll add is I wouldn't risk a player who is not 100 percent. Ie the likes of hickey and harnan where they may still be getting over a knock.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2022 13:14:09    2407025

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well that's what I meant. As in its dead rubber as win lose or draw it won't affect our league position. However for momentum and to put our season on a strong footing it would be fantastic to get a win. The only caveat I'll add is I wouldn't risk a player who is not 100 percent. Ie the likes of hickey and harnan where they may still be getting over a knock."
Oh i wasn't disagreeing with you, it's a fair assessment you made for us, and your right momentum is key. And again you've nailed it in not risking anyone for this game unless they're fully fit and even allow some with any niggling or lingering injury to sit it out. I think Andy said it was groin and hamsrtings problems for Hickey and Harnan and they're not a fix in a week so allow them rest,

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 25/03/2022 14:23:27    2407041

Wish ye the best of luck as a win would help us but from the game I attended in Navan yer team is as bad and embarrassing as yer grounds and scoreboard so we will have to try and help ourselves

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 25/03/2022 14:48:59    2407055

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Wish ye the best of luck as a win would help us but from the game I attended in Navan yer team is as bad and embarrassing as yer grounds and scoreboard so we will have to try and help ourselves"
Good man Rossie. Any team that only bet us by 4 points this year and also drew with Clare at home doesn't deserve promotion I think but best of luck. Hopefully in 2 years when yous are back down in Div 2 we might have started on the ground but I wouldn't hold my breath.

Barney12345 (Meath) - Posts: 33 - 25/03/2022 18:36:35    2407096

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Wish ye the best of luck as a win would help us but from the game I attended in Navan yer team is as bad and embarrassing as yer grounds and scoreboard so we will have to try and help ourselves"
Little apples my freind.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 25/03/2022 18:46:35    2407098

Yeah well... we have unreal farm land in Meath. #tohellortoconnacht

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 352 - 25/03/2022 19:56:43    2407104

Replying To brian:  "Oh i wasn't disagreeing with you, it's a fair assessment you made for us, and your right momentum is key. And again you've nailed it in not risking anyone for this game unless they're fully fit and even allow some with any niggling or lingering injury to sit it out. I think Andy said it was groin and hamsrtings problems for Hickey and Harnan and they're not a fix in a week so allow them rest,"
Yeah that's it in a nutshell.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2022 20:33:11    2407109

Best pitch in Ireland. I remember after a shower a few years ago our game had to be abandoned as the Kip (aka as Hyde ) was waterlogged. We will be fine and will probably be meeting yourselves next year.
If you go up Will there be another rossie day :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2022 20:37:06    2407110

Ive been to Roscommon. I might as well have been on the moon for all the economic development and standard of living in the place.

Maybe that's what makes you so insecure as to make a post like that.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 26/03/2022 10:12:07    2407128

Replying To Crinigan:  "Ive been to Roscommon. I might as well have been on the moon for all the economic development and standard of living in the place.

Maybe that's what makes you so insecure as to make a post like that."
We were I think 12 ahead and decided to start packi to get out of Navan it hasn't a great rating.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/number-of-irish-towns-get-short-shrift-in-guidebook-1.1005402

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 26/03/2022 11:02:19    2407140

I think the fact we have nothing to loose or gain in this game it actually might suit us and maybe play with a bit of freedom and just go for it.

Would like to see Conlon and Joey starting, Young Morris has been very average during this campaign and will have to fight to keep these two boys off his back.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 26/03/2022 14:04:57    2407174

Best wishes to Andy cillian and all the team and management today.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/03/2022 09:44:50    2407288

Just want to wish Andy Cillian and the lads the very best of luck today against Derry.

I only ever really log in now the day of a Meath since the Hoganstand got revamped and I feel its lost some of its lustre.

Reading back on the Clare thread I see I've been ridiculed and called names such as A Parody and I'm sorry but I have to address this.

I've always taught my daughter who goes to every Meath match with me BTW to stand up for herself and I'm going to follow that advice myself. Where do certain people get off on trolling like that?

I have my Season Ticket every year since they've come out (possibly last year I'll purchase as they are not as good value as before but that's another thread for the main page! ) so why is my opinion not as valid as anyone else's?

I believe in Meath every game and hence my predictions bear that out.

I don't go into rambling essays like some used to and declare that Meath will win cause the year ends in 9! Nor do I declare I know personally anyone on the panel or I meet any Meath legends at games.

I base all my predictions on having seen Meath play these teams year in year out. I've seen Meath unlucky not to beat Tyrone in Croke Park, in Omagh, in Navan and again up in Omagh. And Tyrone then go on to win an All Ireland.

So I see that and I believe we are not actually far away from the summit ourselves.

We just have to BELIEVE!

I'm actually too upset to write anymore suffice to say we will beat Derry by 9.

Hon the Royals.

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 27/03/2022 10:36:53    2407291

Replying To Evernal:  "Just want to wish Andy Cillian and the lads the very best of luck today against Derry.

I only ever really log in now the day of a Meath since the Hoganstand got revamped and I feel its lost some of its lustre.

Reading back on the Clare thread I see I've been ridiculed and called names such as A Parody and I'm sorry but I have to address this.

I've always taught my daughter who goes to every Meath match with me BTW to stand up for herself and I'm going to follow that advice myself. Where do certain people get off on trolling like that?

I have my Season Ticket every year since they've come out (possibly last year I'll purchase as they are not as good value as before but that's another thread for the main page! ) so why is my opinion not as valid as anyone else's?

I believe in Meath every game and hence my predictions bear that out.

I don't go into rambling essays like some used to and declare that Meath will win cause the year ends in 9! Nor do I declare I know personally anyone on the panel or I meet any Meath legends at games.

I base all my predictions on having seen Meath play these teams year in year out. I've seen Meath unlucky not to beat Tyrone in Croke Park, in Omagh, in Navan and again up in Omagh. And Tyrone then go on to win an All Ireland.

So I see that and I believe we are not actually far away from the summit ourselves.

We just have to BELIEVE!

I'm actually too upset to write anymore suffice to say we will beat Derry by 9.

Hon the Royals."
Fair play

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/03/2022 11:15:56    2407297

5 points up on 59 mins
2 points down on 70 mins

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/03/2022 15:33:29    2407337

Replying To grahamc9897:  "5 points up on 59 mins
2 points down on 70 mins"
The team lost a huge amount when Jones went off injured. Really hope he is okay for championship. The depth is not there at midfield and we're a different team with Jones and Menton

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 27/03/2022 17:04:52    2407386