Meath V Derry Rd 7.

Replying To Evernal:  "Just want to wish Andy Cillian and the lads the very best of luck today against Derry.

I only ever really log in now the day of a Meath since the Hoganstand got revamped and I feel its lost some of its lustre.

Reading back on the Clare thread I see I've been ridiculed and called names such as A Parody and I'm sorry but I have to address this.

I've always taught my daughter who goes to every Meath match with me BTW to stand up for herself and I'm going to follow that advice myself. Where do certain people get off on trolling like that?

I have my Season Ticket every year since they've come out (possibly last year I'll purchase as they are not as good value as before but that's another thread for the main page! ) so why is my opinion not as valid as anyone else's?

I believe in Meath every game and hence my predictions bear that out.

I don't go into rambling essays like some used to and declare that Meath will win cause the year ends in 9! Nor do I declare I know personally anyone on the panel or I meet any Meath legends at games.

I base all my predictions on having seen Meath play these teams year in year out. I've seen Meath unlucky not to beat Tyrone in Croke Park, in Omagh, in Navan and again up in Omagh. And Tyrone then go on to win an All Ireland.

So I see that and I believe we are not actually far away from the summit ourselves.

We just have to BELIEVE!

I'm actually too upset to write anymore suffice to say we will beat Derry by 9.

Hon the Royals."
Ha,
I remember commenting on your 'predictions' before. I wouldn't call anyone a parody. However I did say after a previous game that I hope you don't gamble on GAA games for a living!

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 27/03/2022 17:06:18    2407388

No score from play on the last 20 minutes. Time to admit the forwards just aren't there and but capable of getting there own scores

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 27/03/2022 17:13:25    2407396

Silly mistake from harry (who otherwise had a good game again) really cost meath today. Jack O'Connor was excellent and he will be pushing to start championship. Hopefully the jones injury is nothing serious he seemed to go off holding his arm.

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 27/03/2022 17:30:59    2407408

Shaky start playedsome real good foot pass football pressing kickouts quick hands.mixture of all.second half up by 5 scully jones gone fell apart.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 27/03/2022 17:36:30    2407411

Actually fancied Meath to win today ! Backed them at 2-1! Looked a great bet with ten mins to go ! Thought we had the job done..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/03/2022 19:37:47    2407511

A game we looked like winning midway through first half and tbh never looked like loosing until las 5/10 mins. Can't actually believe we lost. That been said some very good positives today. And let's not be too hard on hogan, it happens.
Looking forward to championship. Let's hope jones is ok and we keep a clean bill of health until then

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/03/2022 19:46:54    2407517

Have been very critical this year but after today and the last few performances maybe it's not as bad as it seemed. It's not great all the same but not gone as far backwards. Hogan has taken over as number 1 and settled in well. Defensively we have been good and limited teams to low enough scores. Midfield looks good when menton and Jones are in there, very poor without. Getting McGill, Jones and menton back settled it all down and brought some control.

Offensively not good enough but Jack o connor stood Out. I think while we don't maybe have stars in the forwards they are definitely suffering from no confidence. Walsh, Morris, o Sullivan, Costello etc aren't poor players by any means just can't seem to get a run of scores but it might come.

We were missing cathal hickey, Morris, o Sullivan and Harnan today. Frustrating to lose but from what looked like a bleak picture to finish 4th and perform well against a decent side is some progress.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 27/03/2022 21:07:21    2407562

I think with everyone fit we might see this for championship

1. Hogan
2. Harkin
3. McGill
4. Clarke
5. Keogan
6. Harnan
7. Hickey
8. Jones
9. Menton
10. Costello
11. O Reilly
12. Scully
13. O Sullivan
14. Walsh
15. Morris

I think J McEntee doesn't look fit to me at the moment but has so much quality he could end up in for Scully but that's harsh. O Connor will have his chance off the bench and personally I think Bryan McMahon could force his way in. Harnan if fit will play but he needs to sharpen up as he hasn't been great.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 27/03/2022 21:16:21    2407569

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "I think with everyone fit we might see this for championship

1. Hogan
2. Harkin
3. McGill
4. Clarke
5. Keogan
6. Harnan
7. Hickey
8. Jones
9. Menton
10. Costello
11. O Reilly
12. Scully
13. O Sullivan
14. Walsh
15. Morris

I think J McEntee doesn't look fit to me at the moment but has so much quality he could end up in for Scully but that's harsh. O Connor will have his chance off the bench and personally I think Bryan McMahon could force his way in. Harnan if fit will play but he needs to sharpen up as he hasn't been great."
I'd agree with this team I think O'Connor and James McEntee unlucky to lose out and Costello just about keeps his position after what wasn't the best league for him

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 28/03/2022 09:44:45    2407633

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "I think with everyone fit we might see this for championship

1. Hogan
2. Harkin
3. McGill
4. Clarke
5. Keogan
6. Harnan
7. Hickey
8. Jones
9. Menton
10. Costello
11. O Reilly
12. Scully
13. O Sullivan
14. Walsh
15. Morris

I think J McEntee doesn't look fit to me at the moment but has so much quality he could end up in for Scully but that's harsh. O Connor will have his chance off the bench and personally I think Bryan McMahon could force his way in. Harnan if fit will play but he needs to sharpen up as he hasn't been great."
Joe in no way being critical of you but i think you're giving them a bit too much credit. Your two posts have a look of several ifs ands buts and maybes about them and that after 6 years under the same manager is not good enough. Defensively yesterday we gave up 17 scores to Derry, they haven't scored more than 15 scores in a game during the league. We started without a single natural corner back and McGuigan and Loughlin when he came in made us pay. You mentioned we're limiting teams in terms of scores and that's all we seem to do and when we come up against better teams we're torn apart in the end. Midfield you're right looks good with Jones and Menton but the cupboard is bare beyond that. If Jones is out come the championship we're back where we are before both came back into the team. Lets hope he's fine and its not an issue as we're then looking at Harnan back in midfield and it's not working at all. Up top the worry is still these forwards still can't get enough scores from play with no forwards capable of getting you 3-5 scores consistently from play never mind that multiple of those players are needed. Look at all the top teams and they've 3-4 lads that can do it and maybe 2 that can come in and get multiple scores too. Again yesterday no scores from our bench and no scores from our forwards in the last 20ish minutes of the game. We laughed last year that we've replaced MOD's fast starts and fades outs with Andy's slow starts giving up huge leads and strong finishes. Now we've neither..

I find it hard to argue with your suggested 15 to start the championship and that to me is scary. There seems to be no competition for places. I don't blame that on Andy in any way as lads are simply not taking their chances when offered i.e. no scores from our bench yesterday.

Ultimately the campaign is nothing but frustration and whilst we started badly, for a team with a stated aim of aiming for promotion finishing joint fourth with Clare is simply not good enough. The fact we drew with both relegated teams and were lucky to do so is more of a reflection of where we are than anything.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 28/03/2022 10:15:30    2407646

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I'd agree with this team I think O'Connor and James McEntee unlucky to lose out and Costello just about keeps his position after what wasn't the best league for him"
Agree Leitrim some tight calls and I wouldn't be shocked to see those two end up starting

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 28/03/2022 11:07:20    2407674

Replying To brian:  "Joe in no way being critical of you but i think you're giving them a bit too much credit. Your two posts have a look of several ifs ands buts and maybes about them and that after 6 years under the same manager is not good enough. Defensively yesterday we gave up 17 scores to Derry, they haven't scored more than 15 scores in a game during the league. We started without a single natural corner back and McGuigan and Loughlin when he came in made us pay. You mentioned we're limiting teams in terms of scores and that's all we seem to do and when we come up against better teams we're torn apart in the end. Midfield you're right looks good with Jones and Menton but the cupboard is bare beyond that. If Jones is out come the championship we're back where we are before both came back into the team. Lets hope he's fine and its not an issue as we're then looking at Harnan back in midfield and it's not working at all. Up top the worry is still these forwards still can't get enough scores from play with no forwards capable of getting you 3-5 scores consistently from play never mind that multiple of those players are needed. Look at all the top teams and they've 3-4 lads that can do it and maybe 2 that can come in and get multiple scores too. Again yesterday no scores from our bench and no scores from our forwards in the last 20ish minutes of the game. We laughed last year that we've replaced MOD's fast starts and fades outs with Andy's slow starts giving up huge leads and strong finishes. Now we've neither..

I find it hard to argue with your suggested 15 to start the championship and that to me is scary. There seems to be no competition for places. I don't blame that on Andy in any way as lads are simply not taking their chances when offered i.e. no scores from our bench yesterday.

Ultimately the campaign is nothing but frustration and whilst we started badly, for a team with a stated aim of aiming for promotion finishing joint fourth with Clare is simply not good enough. The fact we drew with both relegated teams and were lucky to do so is more of a reflection of where we are than anything."
Have to be realistic Brian. We started the league without McGill, menton and Jones. We lost to roscommon by 4 points without them. It's not good enough no but have to be fair in criticism too. Attacking wise it has been poor all league as I said but I don't think they are as bad as they have been playing. If Jones is out we will suffer but if you take one of your better midfielders out of any county teams they would.

Yesterday we were wasteful and could have had 3 or 4 goals and their goal was unfortunate and an error.

Don't agree that there's no competition either. That starting 15 leaves out James McEntee, Jack o connor, Bryan McMahon, Joey Wallace, Ronan Ryan, Muldoon. Lads who all have a chance to start really and some who will feel disappointed they aren't.

Andy is gone at end of the year regardless but league is done, we stayed up when it looked iffy and finished 4th which will
Keep us out of tailteann cup. We could moan about the state of the team all summer but gets us nowhere Andy will be gone and we will get a new start but Until then maybe it doesn't have to be doom and gloom.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 28/03/2022 11:19:27    2407682

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Have to be realistic Brian. We started the league without McGill, menton and Jones. We lost to roscommon by 4 points without them. It's not good enough no but have to be fair in criticism too. Attacking wise it has been poor all league as I said but I don't think they are as bad as they have been playing. If Jones is out we will suffer but if you take one of your better midfielders out of any county teams they would.

Yesterday we were wasteful and could have had 3 or 4 goals and their goal was unfortunate and an error.

Don't agree that there's no competition either. That starting 15 leaves out James McEntee, Jack o connor, Bryan McMahon, Joey Wallace, Ronan Ryan, Muldoon. Lads who all have a chance to start really and some who will feel disappointed they aren't.

Andy is gone at end of the year regardless but league is done, we stayed up when it looked iffy and finished 4th which will
Keep us out of tailteann cup. We could moan about the state of the team all summer but gets us nowhere Andy will be gone and we will get a new start but Until then maybe it doesn't have to be doom and gloom."
Yeah fair play Joe you do make fair points and i know you're more glass half full and optimistic than me which is fair. We did start without jones, McGill and Menton but Galway and Roscommon were missing more than us on those days

Looked as you say Andy is done and lets see what hope comes with a new man in charge and how things could change for Meath. And tbf to him it can't be easy knowing he's out of time and still pushing on with things. I think the league has proven as much as we have had a go at Andy the players have not helped him either. That the mirror really needs to be shone on them.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 28/03/2022 11:31:58    2407688

Replying To thelutch:  "I think the fact we have nothing to loose or gain in this game it actually might suit us and maybe play with a bit of freedom and just go for it.

Would like to see Conlon and Joey starting, Young Morris has been very average during this campaign and will have to fight to keep these two boys off his back."
do you think so now . Yesterday the whole forward line looked very mediocre . and unfortunately the 1 or two points Morris may have scored ( has averaged ) were never going to happen, without him on the pitch .

Chaisleain_Abu (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 28/03/2022 13:44:29    2407754

Replying To thelutch:  "I think the fact we have nothing to loose or gain in this game it actually might suit us and maybe play with a bit of freedom and just go for it.

Would like to see Conlon and Joey starting, Young Morris has been very average during this campaign and will have to fight to keep these two boys off his back."
do you think so now . Yesterday the whole forward line looked very mediocre . and unfortunately the 1 or two points Morris may have scored ( has averaged ) were never going to happen, without him on the pitch .

Chaisleain_Abu (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 28/03/2022 13:44:33    2407755

Meath are a much better team when COS isn't putting his head down and running into players. Yesterday, at times, against a packed defence, we got joy with quick ball inside. Option 1 has to be early ball inside surely.

No movement from back 6 for k/os was another obvious take-away. We coughed up a lot of our early scores from not retaining them!

GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 28/03/2022 13:46:57    2407757

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "We were I think 12 ahead and decided to start packi to get out of Navan it hasn't a great rating.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/number-of-irish-towns-get-short-shrift-in-guidebook-1.1005402"
Still living off the All Ireland win in 1944 (had to google that - even google was struggling to find anything), wouldn't like to listen to you if you had any recent success :) :) :).
Unfortunately we don't get the handout ye get for living in disadvantaged areas so are not spoon fed.
Despite our barren times we are still All Ireland champions in U17 and ladies football

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 28/03/2022 14:03:16    2407765

End of another poor league, hopes of promotion more or less over after first two games and lets be honest, as things stand we are nowhere near required standard to prosper in Div One. After the dismal start 5th place in Div 2 is about our level. Jones and Menton big losses for Meath in early games, however, these were offset by Galway and Ros also missing a number of players so cannot to used as valid excuse. Expected better from us yesterday with all the pressure on Derry, but once again poor return on scoreboard, 13 scores and only eight from open play, more composure needed, went for goal too often when points on offer could have won the game. Conlon left on bench and should have been introduced sooner. Hopefull some within panel can push on and force their way into championship team, its a big ask as the tunnel vision to date is likely to remain in place for another few months.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 28/03/2022 14:16:31    2407771

Replying To Chaisleain_Abu:  "do you think so now . Yesterday the whole forward line looked very mediocre . and unfortunately the 1 or two points Morris may have scored ( has averaged ) were never going to happen, without him on the pitch ."
Nothing personal chaisleain abu, just my opinion, Jordan only managed 7 points from play in this league campaign which is not enough as your apparent main scoring man.

He scored 1 -08 from peno/frees which gives us a return of 1 -15.

Harry Hogan scored 14 points, who was our next highest scorer throughout the campaign.

If Jordan is deemed our main scoring man well it probably sums up why we were in a relegation battle again, not the lads fault, he does his best on the field but I just think we have to try something different.

I agree the others are not setting the world on fire however the twice I went to see Meath Jordan's decision making was very average , shooting when the score was simply not on, not a great passer of the ball either. Think the transfer saga has done him no favours this year and hopefully will come back a better player after he settles down in kingscourt setup.

As I always keep saying, maybe we are expecting too much from these lads, just because we are Meath doesn't give us the right to be a top 8 or 10 team. Look at Cork, Down, huge footballing counties who simply cannot compete either presently.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 28/03/2022 21:23:09    2407907

That was an Awful campaign by Meath in--- "Div 2"
Will RD continue the delusion for another summer, or realise its not the 90s anymore. ?

Vish (USA) - Posts: 89 - 28/03/2022 21:44:52    2407909