Clare V Meath. Rd 6

This is one I think we will win. Meath by 3.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/03/2022 10:26:06    2405792

Replying To royaldunne:  "This is one I think we will win. Meath by 3."
Agree Meath can win in Ennis. , ditch the backwards/ lateral style of play and go for it

royler (Meath) - Posts: 259 - 19/03/2022 17:43:34    2405849

Replying To royler:  "Agree Meath can win in Ennis. , ditch the backwards/ lateral style of play and go for it"
I'd also say play with heads up

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/03/2022 18:22:48    2405853

This will be a tough one in Ennis. Any team news ?

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 20/03/2022 10:24:17    2405883

Just want to wish Andy Cillian and the lads the best of luck today. Not nervous at all today as I have never rated Clare. We should be winning this by 10 or more if we have serious aspirations of winning the All Ireland. Ground is drying up and can see now what Andy and his team have been planning all those weeks! Hon the Royal!

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 20/03/2022 10:26:37    2405884

Replying To Evernal:  "Just want to wish Andy Cillian and the lads the best of luck today. Not nervous at all today as I have never rated Clare. We should be winning this by 10 or more if we have serious aspirations of winning the All Ireland. Ground is drying up and can see now what Andy and his team have been planning all those weeks! Hon the Royal!"
We should be winning this by 10 or more if we have serious aspirations of winning the All Ireland.

Lord god almighty !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 20/03/2022 10:50:08    2405887

At least that's the relegation question out of the way. Things far from perfect but we need to dust ourselves down for championship now, we need to move on from the constant negatively. Things are not as bad as seemed a few weeks ago, 2 wins in a row, 4 games unbeaten and 6 out of 12 points. In reality mid table in division 2 is not a total disaster in terms of facing into the championship, it's probably typical of most of our campaigns in last 10 years or so. Next Sunday's game should be enjoyable preparation for championship with no pressure in terms of the result.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1360 - 20/03/2022 17:17:08    2405951

Jaysus Meath a brutal!

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 352 - 20/03/2022 17:31:35    2405954

Replying To grahamc9897:  "We should be winning this by 10 or more if we have serious aspirations of winning the All Ireland.

Lord god almighty !"
I think evernal is a very subtle and effective parody account. Fair play to him/her, took me a while to cop it.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 20/03/2022 17:35:05    2405957

Replying To grahamc9897:  "We should be winning this by 10 or more if we have serious aspirations of winning the All Ireland.

Lord god almighty !"
dead rubber. wouldnt get too high or low based on this game, we found a way to win well done to andy and the team. delighted for banty to get the winner. No doubt he must have been frustrated lately with his lack of game time.

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 20/03/2022 17:51:45    2405966

Replying To Crinigan:  "I think evernal is a very subtle and effective parody account. Fair play to him/her, took me a while to cop it."
Think it was fairly obvious

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 20/03/2022 18:16:52    2405972

Well done to all today. Look it wasn't great but the win and staying in D2 is a good achievement from where we started. Staying in D2 was crucial for Meath and for the next generation to stay in Sam Maguire and D2. Attacking play awful but great to see McGill back.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 20/03/2022 19:11:41    2405992

Starting 15 for champo is now obvious

1.Hogan
2.Harkin
3.McGill
4.Clarke
5.Keoghan
6.Harnan
7.Hickey
8.Menton
9.Jones
10.J McEntee
11.OReilly
12.Costello
13.Morris
14 Walsh
15.OSullivan

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 20/03/2022 19:33:25    2405999

We got what we needed. Jones was immense. Got to say delighted for James Conlon. Think he was scapegoated a bit after having a mare against Galway. Particularly when at least 10 if not more had the same type of game. Happy out with staying in division two that looked unlikely a few games ago. Must now concentrate on championship and a decent run in it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/03/2022 21:16:25    2406051

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Starting 15 for champo is now obvious

1.Hogan
2.Harkin
3.McGill
4.Clarke
5.Keoghan
6.Harnan
7.Hickey
8.Menton
9.Jones
10.J McEntee
11.OReilly
12.Costello
13.Morris
14 Walsh
15.OSullivan"
I'd say that's very close alright, fitness questions over J McEntee and Harnan the only two qs marks maybe imagine Muldoon and Bryan McMahon would come in if they can't start.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 20/03/2022 21:21:48    2406052

1.Hogan
2.Harkin
3.McGill
4.Clarke
5.Keoghan
6.Harnan
7.Hickey
8.Menton
9.Jones
10.J McEntee
11.OReilly
12.Costello
13.Morris
14 Walsh
15.OSullivan"
1. Hogan
2. Harkin
3. McGill
4. Clarke
5. J McEntee/Keoghan
6. McGowan/Keoghan
7. Hickey
8. Menton
9. Jones
10. J Scully
11. T O' Reilly
12. Costello
13. Morris
14. Walsh
15. O' Sullivan

I thinks Scullys work rate in the las has earned him a starting spot come championship barring a disaster against Derry. I just don't buy into Harnan I'm afraid and think McGowan or McEntee are good defensively but offer far more going forward as well and therefore get the nod ahead of him in my opinion. Other than that, I don't se many other changes or places up for grabs.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 21/03/2022 08:11:03    2406074

Dead rubber as it turned out both Meath and Clare are safe in Division 2 but good to win never have it handy in Ennis

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 21/03/2022 08:38:31    2406079

1.Hogan
2.Harkin
3.McGill
4.Clarke
5.Keoghan
6.Harnan
7.Hickey
8.Menton
9.Jones
10.J McEntee
11.OReilly
12.Costello
13.Morris
14 Walsh
15.OSullivan"
Scully for James McEntee but if everybody is fit I agree with the other 14

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 21/03/2022 09:23:20    2406086

Great to see we couldn't accuse Andy of nepotism yesterday anyways.... ;) Oh wait......

Team went down to Clare and did what they had to do. Clare is no easy place to go and they managed to get a result but our championship is going to be very short.

To me it seems the gap is only widening between ourselves and the top table. Next Sunday in Navan will really tell us where we are in terms of this team. The lack of a coherent attacking style and relying on our half backs to get up the pitch and create overlaps will be easily snuffed out by better teams and was rebuffed easily by Galway and Roscommon earlier in the league. The fact plenty of people can suggest (and are almost fully in agreement) our starting 15 for the championship already shows how poor overall the quality of forwards we have. O'Reilly, Costello, Morris, Walsh and even Cillian O'Sullivan haven't been even close to shooting the lights out at any stage and yet they're almost certain to start come the championship. I'm not suggesting there's players who should be coming in instead of them because our subs are having little to no impact either. I'm not sure if it's the style of play or lack of a killer instinct poor shooting or we just don't have players with the ability to score, but an average of 11-12 scores a game will not do it come championship time.

I know a lot will say I'm being overly negative but I don't see a lot to be positive about either. But hopefully I'll be proven wrong over the next couple of months.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/03/2022 10:05:42    2406103

It's so hard to know this year as the league performances were so inconsistent but we have to base on what we have.

The following is based on the hope that McMahon and Joey Wallace have that bit more experience in championship.

1.Hogan
2.Harkin
3.McGill
4.Clarke
5.Keoghan
6.Harnan
7.Hickey
8.Menton
9.Jones
10.O'Sullivan
11.McMahon
12.Costello