Club Transfers

Any other club related transfers as new Jordie Morris is of to Kingscourt to play senior football great move for him as getting senior with Nobber is the peak of what they can do so fair play to him hell only get better from this move!

Meath32245 (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 22/11/2021 15:08:24    2390343

Replying To Meath32245:  "Any other club related transfers as new Jordie Morris is of to Kingscourt to play senior football great move for him as getting senior with Nobber is the peak of what they can do so fair play to him hell only get better from this move!"
Strange one to hear! Moving outside of the county! Nobber were Senior the year before last and I'd say might have fancied their chances this year - but with Morris gone on top of Brian Farrell leaving the year before they might struggle. I wonder where they are in terms of a new manager - might change some peoples view not having Morris there!!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 22/11/2021 15:17:06    2390345

Big blow for Nobber. I can't imagine Nobber people being to happy with this seeing as Kingscourt is ten minutes up the road. Transfers should only be granted if the player is moving a huge commute away from their current club or if his current club cant field a team and don't' enter a competition.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 22/11/2021 15:57:23    2390354

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Strange one to hear! Moving outside of the county! Nobber were Senior the year before last and I'd say might have fancied their chances this year - but with Morris gone on top of Brian Farrell leaving the year before they might struggle. I wonder where they are in terms of a new manager - might change some peoples view not having Morris there!!"
100% and is Sean Meade gone travelling they could be in trouble for sure

Meath32245 (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 22/11/2021 16:13:52    2390357

Lads forgive my Ignorance on this Morris transfer but will that effect him playing for Meath?

I know there is no rule against a player playing club football in a different county and playing inter county but some Counties do have a policy that the players need to be playing club football within the County. I assume we don't have that policy in place?

I can't remember any examples of this situation occurring with Meath players before. Well not since Bernard Flynn back in the late 80s early 90s

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 23/11/2021 10:39:47    2390411

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Lads forgive my Ignorance on this Morris transfer but will that effect him playing for Meath?

I know there is no rule against a player playing club football in a different county and playing inter county but some Counties do have a policy that the players need to be playing club football within the County. I assume we don't have that policy in place?

I can't remember any examples of this situation occurring with Meath players before. Well not since Bernard Flynn back in the late 80s early 90s"
According to WEAREMEATH he'll be staying put with Meath

Meath32245 (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 23/11/2021 11:00:35    2390416

Replying To Meath32245:  "According to WEAREMEATH he'll be staying put with Meath"
Ok that is good news for the County. Big blow for Nobber alright but at least the county aren't losing him.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 23/11/2021 11:16:56    2390421

Replying To Meath32245:  "Any other club related transfers as new Jordie Morris is of to Kingscourt to play senior football great move for him as getting senior with Nobber is the peak of what they can do so fair play to him hell only get better from this move!"
Heard Niall Smullen from clonard going to the Bracks or Summerhill , along with the 2 flanagans going to Summerhill or maybe Na Fianna

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 24/11/2021 10:03:08    2390536

Replying To Bear10:  "Heard Niall Smullen from clonard going to the Bracks or Summerhill , along with the 2 flanagans going to Summerhill or maybe Na Fianna"
Every single year for the 5 at least I'd say Adam Flanagan has been leaving Clonard to go to one senior club or another. Yet to happen so I wouldn't hold by breathe .

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 24/11/2021 10:19:13    2390540

Replying To Bear10:  "Heard Niall Smullen from clonard going to the Bracks or Summerhill , along with the 2 flanagans going to Summerhill or maybe Na Fianna"
Isn't it great that these players can pick and choose where they might ideally like to go and play. Must have very high opinion of themselves.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 24/11/2021 10:34:50    2390543

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Isn't it great that these players can pick and choose where they might ideally like to go and play. Must have very high opinion of themselves."
Crazy to allow stuff like that! Junior clubs will find it very hard if key players are moving/being poached by more senior/larger neighbors !

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 24/11/2021 10:47:00    2390549

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Every single year for the 5 at least I'd say Adam Flanagan has been leaving Clonard to go to one senior club or another. Yet to happen so I wouldn't hold by breathe ."
Have to agree with you there but i think he didnt play for Clonard this year so this could be the big year yet

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 24/11/2021 11:09:07    2390558

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Crazy to allow stuff like that! Junior clubs will find it very hard if key players are moving/being poached by more senior/larger neighbors !"
I do agree with you to a point. But then also I look at it from the players point of view and they might have a huge ambition to play senior football and unfortunately for the likes of Flanagan that is never going to happen with Clonard. I am not saying I agree with it but from a players point of view I can see why they would want to test themselves at the highest level possible.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 24/11/2021 11:26:00    2390561

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I do agree with you to a point. But then also I look at it from the players point of view and they might have a huge ambition to play senior football and unfortunately for the likes of Flanagan that is never going to happen with Clonard. I am not saying I agree with it but from a players point of view I can see why they would want to test themselves at the highest level possible."
It says a lot about the character of the player who would walk out on their club just to play senior football. I'm sure the likes of Martin OConnell PJ Gillick, or Brian Stafford would be looking at this with amazement. They stayed with their clubs and dragged them through the grades to senior football. Just like Cian Ward and Donal Curtis to mention just a few.
I wouldn't want any of these lads in my club no loyalty at all.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 24/11/2021 12:54:31    2390583

Replying To latouche25:  "It says a lot about the character of the player who would walk out on their club just to play senior football. I'm sure the likes of Martin OConnell PJ Gillick, or Brian Stafford would be looking at this with amazement. They stayed with their clubs and dragged them through the grades to senior football. Just like Cian Ward and Donal Curtis to mention just a few.
I wouldn't want any of these lads in my club no loyalty at all."
Silly post!!!

I wouldn't be questioning the character of the likes of Evan Kelly and some others. It is a personal choice. The likes of Adam Flanagan probably owes his club nothing at this stage. Is heading towards 30 and wants to test himself at senior level something that is never gonna happen with his club who lets be honest are completely in the doldrums on the pitch at the moment and can't see that changing anytime soon .

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 24/11/2021 14:38:32    2390612

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Silly post!!!

I wouldn't be questioning the character of the likes of Evan Kelly and some others. It is a personal choice. The likes of Adam Flanagan probably owes his club nothing at this stage. Is heading towards 30 and wants to test himself at senior level something that is never gonna happen with his club who lets be honest are completely in the doldrums on the pitch at the moment and can't see that changing anytime soon ."
Only for covid these players would get a chance to play senior with the proposed regional senior championship so absolutely no need for them looking for a transfer

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 24/11/2021 15:21:15    2390628

I wouldn't be questioning the character of the likes of Evan Kelly and some others. It is a personal choice. The likes of Adam Flanagan probably owes his club nothing at this stage. Is heading towards 30 and wants to test himself at senior level something that is never gonna happen with his club who lets be honest are completely in the doldrums on the pitch at the moment and can't see that changing anytime soon ."
well I don't know how his club will ever get out of the doldrums if the best lads in the club jump ship as soon as they get to adult level. It was the hard work of people in the club that got him to this stage just like Morris. Evan Kelly moved to live in Simonstown and it made sense for him to transfer to them. Theres a huge difference in these two examples.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 24/11/2021 15:24:41    2390629

Grand you saying this as a southy thats benefiting from this

Meath32245 (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 24/11/2021 15:36:21    2390633

Replying To Meath32245:  "Grand you saying this as a southy thats benefiting from this"
Southy... LOL. Doesn't take long for the North Meath chip on lads shoulders to raised its head.

Flanagan possibly moving from Clonard to Summerhill is hardly a South Meath Club benefiting. Nor was Evan Kelly moving from Drumree to Simonstown. Or Rory Maguire moving from Longwood to O'Mahonys. Or the other lads from smaller clubs around Navan who moved to play for O'Mahonys over the years. Or The Tones keeper moving from Ultans a short drive to tones.

All ok I suppose because they are not moving to South Meath clubs.

Love the way every debate with some people becomes a North Meath v South Meath debate.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 24/11/2021 16:06:33    2390642

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I do agree with you to a point. But then also I look at it from the players point of view and they might have a huge ambition to play senior football and unfortunately for the likes of Flanagan that is never going to happen with Clonard. I am not saying I agree with it but from a players point of view I can see why they would want to test themselves at the highest level possible."
Yeah - I understand what you mean! But where do you draw the line - What if Matt Costello decided now that Dunshaughlin was intermediate he was going to move to Dunboyne! (I understand a player who transfers from a Senior club and has played in the current years senior championship can't play Senior championship for their new club the next year (if they transfer within the county!))
Maybe I'm being unfair, but I think it is hard enough for the clubs in the towns with smaller populations without running the risk of their star player moving to the nearest Senior club!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 24/11/2021 16:19:17    2390650