Club Transfers

Clonard weren't Even in the Junior this year and still Struggled in Premier 3. There is a big difference between a Junior Club close to winning it and and one that's never going to win it foreseeable. Vincents or Dunsany would hammer Clonard by 20+ . Also the point on Cian Ward in regards,, Tones is nonsensical . Tones were on the crest of a wave with nearly a dozen great players of that era. Would have been close to 5 on Meath panels around 2006-2010 period. Also Stafford's Kwood had close to a dozen excellent footballers that emerged in mid 90s all be it (he had to wait for them to mature).

Jimmycricket (Meath) - Posts: 113 - 24/11/2021 16:35:53    2390657

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Yeah - I understand what you mean! But where do you draw the line - What if Matt Costello decided now that Dunshaughlin was intermediate he was going to move to Dunboyne! (I understand a player who transfers from a Senior club and has played in the current years senior championship can't play Senior championship for their new club the next year (if they transfer within the county!))
Maybe I'm being unfair, but I think it is hard enough for the clubs in the towns with smaller populations without running the risk of their star player moving to the nearest Senior club!"
Well I think each individual case should be taken it on its own merits. So the example you have given I wouldn't agree with that at all.

However a lad at basically a Junior B club who has given years of service to that club with little or no reward and with pretty much no prospect of playing at a higher level with that club and is maybe pushing towards 30 with a few Years left at his peak and has a real ambition to play at the top level in the county I would have no real issue with it.

A player moving from a good intermediate club to a neighboring senior club I wouldn't agree with. They are already playing at a reasonably high-level and have the prospect of success.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 24/11/2021 16:47:33    2390660

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Southy... LOL. Doesn't take long for the North Meath chip on lads shoulders to raised its head.

Flanagan possibly moving from Clonard to Summerhill is hardly a South Meath Club benefiting. Nor was Evan Kelly moving from Drumree to Simonstown. Or Rory Maguire moving from Longwood to O'Mahonys. Or the other lads from smaller clubs around Navan who moved to play for O'Mahonys over the years. Or The Tones keeper moving from Ultans a short drive to tones.

All ok I suppose because they are not moving to South Meath clubs.

Love the way every debate with some people becomes a North Meath v South Meath debate."
Dont Cry typically Dunboyne lad bottling it when pressure hits

Meath32245 (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 24/11/2021 16:48:11    2390661

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Southy... LOL. Doesn't take long for the North Meath chip on lads shoulders to raised its head.

Flanagan possibly moving from Clonard to Summerhill is hardly a South Meath Club benefiting. Nor was Evan Kelly moving from Drumree to Simonstown. Or Rory Maguire moving from Longwood to O'Mahonys. Or the other lads from smaller clubs around Navan who moved to play for O'Mahonys over the years. Or The Tones keeper moving from Ultans a short drive to tones.

All ok I suppose because they are not moving to South Meath clubs.

Love the way every debate with some people becomes a North Meath v South Meath debate."
Your correct in what your saying in most of this. I was told the Tones keeper was only third choice keeper with the Ultans and not getting a game. That's why he moved. The other lads we are talking about are the top players in the club young lads look up to them they aspire to be like them what message doe's it send to them if they move clubs.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 24/11/2021 16:50:31    2390662

I can understand if a player who is not established with Meath is playing with an average Junior club, in his late 20's and is trying to progress onto the Meath team that they would want to move to a Senior club. But moving at that age to a senior club a few kilometres away when you are already established with Meath and are playing at a high enough level in intermediate in Meath is not on. A total lack of respect to his club and friends who he grew up with.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 24/11/2021 16:53:28    2390663

Replying To Meath32245:  "Dont Cry typically Dunboyne lad bottling it when pressure hits"
I'm not a Dunboyne lad at all. Good comeback though. "Dont cry" a good constructive point.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 24/11/2021 17:00:23    2390665

Replying To latouche25:  "It says a lot about the character of the player who would walk out on their club just to play senior football. I'm sure the likes of Martin OConnell PJ Gillick, or Brian Stafford would be looking at this with amazement. They stayed with their clubs and dragged them through the grades to senior football. Just like Cian Ward and Donal Curtis to mention just a few.
I wouldn't want any of these lads in my club no loyalty at all."
I'm sure the likes John McDermott, Evan Kelly and John Cullinane are looking on and saying fair play.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 24/11/2021 17:23:37    2390670

Replying To Crinigan:  "I'm sure the likes John McDermott, Evan Kelly and John Cullinane are looking on and saying fair play."
I don't know what they are thinking but cullinane and Kelly were to clubs a good distance from their own. Mc Dermot is a different story.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 24/11/2021 17:52:51    2390675

Replying To Maestro:  "I can understand if a player who is not established with Meath is playing with an average Junior club, in his late 20's and is trying to progress onto the Meath team that they would want to move to a Senior club. But moving at that age to a senior club a few kilometres away when you are already established with Meath and are playing at a high enough level in intermediate in Meath is not on. A total lack of respect to his club and friends who he grew up with."
Who are we talking about here?

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 24/11/2021 20:32:25    2390696

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Who are we talking about here?"
Morris of nobber going to kingscourt

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 25/11/2021 09:26:48    2390714

Replying To royal1967:  "Morris of nobber going to kingscourt"
Sorry yes I forgot about that one. I agree completely . No need for him to transfer. Unless there is some personal or non footballing reasons for the transfer .

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 25/11/2021 09:40:21    2390718

Replying To latouche25:  "I don't know what they are thinking but cullinane and Kelly were to clubs a good distance from their own. Mc Dermot is a different story."
Drumree to Simonstown a 26 minute drive

Drumree to Longwood a 29 minute drive.

Hardly that far that you need to transfer clubs.

I wonder if Eoin Harkin from Dunsany moved to Ashbourne which is a 25 minute drive away or to Dunboyne which is a 22 minute drive away would you be saying it was ok because the Clubs were a good distance away.

I highly doubt you would.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 25/11/2021 10:05:26    2390723

I wonder if Cavan make the rise from Div 4 to Div 1 and we stay around Div 2/3 will players be tempted to jump ship?

Barney12345 (Meath) - Posts: 33 - 25/11/2021 11:01:06    2390734

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Sorry yes I forgot about that one. I agree completely . No need for him to transfer. Unless there is some personal or non footballing reasons for the transfer ."
To be fair he probably just wants to challenge himself at highest Level he can and that would be playing senior championships with Brian Farrel Retired and Sean Meade going traveling he has done all he has in Cavan his father and Grandad also played for Kingscourt

Meath32245 (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 25/11/2021 11:14:25    2390736

Replying To Meath32245:  "To be fair he probably just wants to challenge himself at highest Level he can and that would be playing senior championships with Brian Farrel Retired and Sean Meade going traveling he has done all he has in Cavan his father and Grandad also played for Kingscourt"
Is it confirmed if he is just jumping ship on Nobber or is he intending to play for Cavan as well? How this transfer could be granted is behond me. Kingscourt is 10 minutes up the road from Nobber. If Nobber had no team and were struggling at the lowest junior grade it would be half acceptable but they just came down from Senior.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 25/11/2021 11:56:59    2390750

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Drumree to Simonstown a 26 minute drive

Drumree to Longwood a 29 minute drive.

Hardly that far that you need to transfer clubs.

I wonder if Eoin Harkin from Dunsany moved to Ashbourne which is a 25 minute drive away or to Dunboyne which is a 22 minute drive away would you be saying it was ok because the Clubs were a good distance away.

I highly doubt you would."
Does Eoin Harkin live in Ashbourne or Dunboyne. What's your point here exactly. The two lads your referring to live in Simonstown and Longwood.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 25/11/2021 12:01:23    2390755

Replying To latouche25:  "Does Eoin Harkin live in Ashbourne or Dunboyne. What's your point here exactly. The two lads your referring to live in Simonstown and Longwood."
My point is if people are dead set against players moving from a junior club to a senior club the fact the player would have to drive 25 minutes to his home club is hardly justification for doing it.

Ok grand. So if a player moves to a big town to live that has a senior club and is only 20/25 minute drive from his home club which is a Junior club you would have no issue with that??

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 25/11/2021 12:21:25    2390764

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Is it confirmed if he is just jumping ship on Nobber or is he intending to play for Cavan as well? How this transfer could be granted is behond me. Kingscourt is 10 minutes up the road from Nobber. If Nobber had no team and were struggling at the lowest junior grade it would be half acceptable but they just came down from Senior."
Its all but confirmed he lives in Kingscourt works in Kingscourt Nobber are going to go down to junior next year without him and Sean Meade lets be honest they wont reach senior again and He does not intend to play for Cavan he wants to play for Meath

Meath32245 (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 25/11/2021 12:30:57    2390767

Replying To Meath32245:  "Its all but confirmed he lives in Kingscourt works in Kingscourt Nobber are going to go down to junior next year without him and Sean Meade lets be honest they wont reach senior again and He does not intend to play for Cavan he wants to play for Meath"
What if he decideds he has more of a chance of winning a provisional championship with Cavan than he does with Meath? Will he just decide to leave Meath as well when they aren't good enough for him?

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 25/11/2021 13:19:26    2390776

Replying To BigJoe14:  "What if he decideds he has more of a chance of winning a provisional championship with Cavan than he does with Meath? Will he just decide to leave Meath as well when they aren't good enough for him?"
My thoughts exactly on it. Seems like a very selfish move. He might be living and working in Kingscourt and good luck to him, but its not as if Nobber is a million miles away that he couldn't play for them. If the move is granted I'd honestly consider not picking him for Meath. If he's unwilling to travel 10-15 minutes for the club that invested in him since he was a kid I'd question his desire to want to play for a team potentially on the slide in Meath.

We've had players in the past who lived and worked elsehwere to varying degree's but most have tried playing for their home club until it was too far. Bernard Flynn and Kevin Cahill at varying stages were playing for Meath and Mullingar Shamrocks where they were based and Cahill at a later stage for Nemo Rangers in Cork due to work commitments. Think David Beggy was based in Scotland for a bit and still came home for O'Mahony's, Kevin Foley was based in Limerick and played with Trim and wasn't Gerry McEntee based in America for a while and still came back to play for Meath. And how many of these current lads are working/ studying in Dublin and coming back to training in Navan with the county or their own clubs.

It seems like an extremely selfish move to make and not of the character you'd want to go into battle with.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 25/11/2021 14:45:44    2390795