Club Transfers

Much of this problem of good players from small clubs looking to play at a higher level is addressed in other counties with divisional senior teams. The most notable example is probably David and Paudie Clifford are from Fossa and play with East Kerry in the Senior championship. As for Jordan Morris if he was not with the county and not getting the benefits of being part of the panel and had ambitions for himself I would sympathise with his position but as it stands he is getting those benefits. What if Kingscourt get relegated what would happen then particularly if Nobber got promoted. How he was allowed the transfer is odd though when 6 and 7 year olds are being blocked by some clubs from transferring. This is all assuming the rumour is even true.

ABK67 (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 25/11/2021 15:06:56    2390799

Replying To ABK67:  "Much of this problem of good players from small clubs looking to play at a higher level is addressed in other counties with divisional senior teams. The most notable example is probably David and Paudie Clifford are from Fossa and play with East Kerry in the Senior championship. As for Jordan Morris if he was not with the county and not getting the benefits of being part of the panel and had ambitions for himself I would sympathise with his position but as it stands he is getting those benefits. What if Kingscourt get relegated what would happen then particularly if Nobber got promoted. How he was allowed the transfer is odd though when 6 and 7 year olds are being blocked by some clubs from transferring. This is all assuming the rumour is even true."
I think if he is living in Kingscourt and the fact it's a transfer to a different county there is no way of stopping it.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 25/11/2021 15:57:30    2390809

Are you Jordan Morris?? And if this rumor is true do you know the reasons for his decision to move?? Because in the times we're living in and a lot of keyboard warriors mouthing off behind a screen about county footballers who at the end of the day give 9-10 months of their life each year to play for us!! Maybe don't sit there and make up stories!! No1 judges you if you do your shopping in tesco or SuperValu so who gives you the right to talk about something you know absolutely nothing about!! Mens mental health is bad enough without everyone here hiding behind fake names judging a 21 year old on what he wants to do with his life!! Take a long hard look at yourself :)

Swingit (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 25/11/2021 16:15:04    2390815

I see Jordan Morris's transfer went through from Nobber to Kingscourt. Disappointing for Nobber to lose their main man. Will this call into doubt his commitment to the Meath squad, or will he look to transfer county allegiances as well?

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 14/02/2022 13:36:38    2400301

Replying To BigJoe14:  "I see Jordan Morris's transfer went through from Nobber to Kingscourt. Disappointing for Nobber to lose their main man. Will this call into doubt his commitment to the Meath squad, or will he look to transfer county allegiances as well?"
I still don't understand the transfer being granted, not as if it's the opposite end of the country and he can't get home to play, its a couple of miles. Who knows re his commitment to Meath but i suppose it's a watch this space.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 14/02/2022 16:04:30    2400334

Replying To brian:  "I still don't understand the transfer being granted, not as if it's the opposite end of the country and he can't get home to play, its a couple of miles. Who knows re his commitment to Meath but i suppose it's a watch this space."
I don't think it can be stopped if he's moved to Kingscourt!! I could be wrong but once he's moved out of the county I think it has to be allowed through, regardless of the distance.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 14/02/2022 16:47:12    2400347

padraig caffrey drumbaragh to kilmainham a massive loss to a small north meath club , when is the county board gonna stop destroying small clubs

brian (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 14/02/2022 17:09:48    2400355

Sure he's moving to a better/bigger club and maybe has some connections there. Not first player to transfer in such a way.

Best of luck to him and hopefully he still remains committed to Meath.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 14/02/2022 18:25:14    2400378

Replying To BigJoe14:  "I see Jordan Morris's transfer went through from Nobber to Kingscourt. Disappointing for Nobber to lose their main man. Will this call into doubt his commitment to the Meath squad, or will he look to transfer county allegiances as well?"
I would hope he stays with county. Loss to nobber definitely. But hopefully not to
Meath.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/02/2022 18:28:40    2400379

Replying To brian:  "I still don't understand the transfer being granted, not as if it's the opposite end of the country and he can't get home to play, its a couple of miles. Who knows re his commitment to Meath but i suppose it's a watch this space."
His father and grandad played for Kingscourt. He was born there and lives there. All his friends are there. Its disappointing for Nobber but it's an amateur sport played for enjoyment. Best of luck to him I hope we see him in the Green and Gold for a long time to come.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 14/02/2022 21:27:54    2400398

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Drumree to Simonstown a 26 minute drive

Drumree to Longwood a 29 minute drive.

Hardly that far that you need to transfer clubs.

I wonder if Eoin Harkin from Dunsany moved to Ashbourne which is a 25 minute drive away or to Dunboyne which is a 22 minute drive away would you be saying it was ok because the Clubs were a good distance away.

I highly doubt you would."
Fairly sure Cullinan started playing for Longwood in his 30's because he was living there. He certainly didn't go there for the glamour of playing at a high level because back then Longwood were in the Junior grade. Ridiculous bringing Cullinan playing for Longwood years ago into a debate like this when it was obviously a genuine transfer.

GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 38 - 15/02/2022 08:18:39    2400404

Once his address is in Cavan and it appears his 1st club was Kingscourt then it was automatic. I believe he has opted to continue playing with Meath

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 15/02/2022 08:29:25    2400405

I wonder if the incident in Ballinlough in last year's championship had any influence in his decision to transfer outside the county?

bluegossun (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 15/02/2022 08:45:09    2400406

It would have been quite standard to be granted. He lives in the parish, he works there, his family is from there, his father played for the club back in teh day. Doesn't matter if it's a few miles, the fact he has all of that and wants to transfer tells you all you need to know. He has strong roots there. Far stronger than other transfers we've seen

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2386 - 15/02/2022 09:22:21    2400409

Replying To bob1969:  "padraig caffrey drumbaragh to kilmainham a massive loss to a small north meath club , when is the county board gonna stop destroying small clubs"
You're quite obviously unaware that the young fella in question lives in Kilmainham and has done for the most part of his life. He's still underage so I'm not sure how it's such a massive loss.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 15/02/2022 09:55:08    2400419

Have been caught up in this for years through the Offaly club in our Parish and Lads looking to leave our club.

Thankfully it is all sorted now.

Two things.

1 - It is an amateur sport and players happiness/desire should be taking into consideration when a transfer or a request is submitted. We have to use common sense , e.g if a player looks to move, firstly bring him in and talk to him and try encourage him to stay, if he is set on transferring let him go because their is a huge chance he will come back in a few years. You try to block him you two either of two things, loose him for good or stop him from playing the game altogether.

We now have a policy in the club that if a player wants to leave we sign the transfer if we cant resolve it. The last two transfers we signed have since returned to the club and are playing again.

2- Every club wins some and loses some, we have 5 lads in my parish and county playing for a different club and county because they lived closer to the school in Westmeath. Why would you deprive a child the opportunity to play with his friends ? Common sense must always prevail and the players welfare.

No player should ever be denied the right to play GAA.

lastly
It must be for the love of the game and to progress their careers and certainly not bribes/money that is unfortunately going on with certain big clubs still, this is something we must try stamp out, play for pay.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 15/02/2022 10:23:36    2400429

Replying To brian:  "You're quite obviously unaware that the young fella in question lives in Kilmainham and has done for the most part of his life. He's still underage so I'm not sure how it's such a massive loss."
sorry padraig is not undeage , he is not elgible to play undeage any more and has to play adult football now and just because he lives in kilmainham doesnt mean he has to play for kilmainham , he has a choice to play for 3 clubs

brian (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 15/02/2022 10:26:32    2400430

Replying To brian:  "You're quite obviously unaware that the young fella in question lives in Kilmainham and has done for the most part of his life. He's still underage so I'm not sure how it's such a massive loss."
so if you are saying the player in question is underage ,wht did kilmainham play him in an adult competition the weekend before last v longwood

brian (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 15/02/2022 10:36:37    2400431

Replying To thelutch:  "Have been caught up in this for years through the Offaly club in our Parish and Lads looking to leave our club.

Thankfully it is all sorted now.

Two things.

1 - It is an amateur sport and players happiness/desire should be taking into consideration when a transfer or a request is submitted. We have to use common sense , e.g if a player looks to move, firstly bring him in and talk to him and try encourage him to stay, if he is set on transferring let him go because their is a huge chance he will come back in a few years. You try to block him you two either of two things, loose him for good or stop him from playing the game altogether.

We now have a policy in the club that if a player wants to leave we sign the transfer if we cant resolve it. The last two transfers we signed have since returned to the club and are playing again.

2- Every club wins some and loses some, we have 5 lads in my parish and county playing for a different club and county because they lived closer to the school in Westmeath. Why would you deprive a child the opportunity to play with his friends ? Common sense must always prevail and the players welfare.

No player should ever be denied the right to play GAA.

lastly
It must be for the love of the game and to progress their careers and certainly not bribes/money that is unfortunately going on with certain big clubs still, this is something we must try stamp out, play for pay."
Yous got yourselves a nice transfer this week.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 15/02/2022 10:55:09    2400437

Replying To bob1969:  "sorry padraig is not undeage , he is not elgible to play undeage any more and has to play adult football now and just because he lives in kilmainham doesnt mean he has to play for kilmainham , he has a choice to play for 3 clubs"
If he has a choice to play for 3 clubs then he has chosen. Move on, anyway you should amalgamate with your senior neighbour and play at the top level.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 15/02/2022 11:20:00    2400446