New Additions For Meath Panel 2020...

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "I really hope McBride stays. I know it's a great opportunity but we can't just be passive in this. We need to sell it to him that he could be instrumental in bringing Meath back to the top rather than an also ran in the AFL.

I'm not saying he couldn't be more successful than that but chances are slim enough for most lads.

Nash was dropped from the Hawthorns starting squad but made it back on by the end of the season. Hard to see him back for a few more years now.

Imagine what he could have been doing in the green and gold."
Well unfortunately he is going and is getting a two year contract. It is a extremely hard offer to turn down as it is a once in a lifetime chance to play sport professionally. Players are now better supported when they go to Australia in terms of education and general everyday living so he has nothing to lose by taking this huge opportunity. I am sure playing senior football for Meath is a massive thing for him as well and would have been a very tough thing to leave behind, but the lad is still only eighteen and if he decides to come home after the two years he will still only be twenty/twenty one and baring injury, and if he wants to, the Meath Senior team will be there for him. While I understand and fully support the lad going it is very disheartening to lose another strong atheltic midfielder (which we badly need) to AFL again and must be very hard for coaches who brought him through to the player he is for AFL coaches to come in and poach him before he breaks into the Senior team. This is why the GAA need to act on this and create a stronger incentive for players like McBride to stay in Ireland. I don't think it is any coincidence that is the more rural counties like Meath, Sligo, Kerry and Armagh that are getting players poached while only one Dublin player (James Doran last year) since Brian Stynes has gone to AFL, and don't tell me any of their players have been approached because they have but the difference is their county board because of its vast wealth can afford to offer them a almost better deal to stay here and go through college and to try break into the Senior team. Look at Ciaran Kilkenny as a walking proof of that.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 12/10/2019 11:00:52    2242963

Players from the weekends semi finals that could be brought into the Senior squad:

Trim
James Toner (probably unlikely with hurling)
Aaron Lynch

Oldcastle
Jason Scully (I know he was on the squad last year but I think he will have a bigger role in 2020)

Nobber
Jordan Morris (Was extremely quite at the weekend but has the ability to be a county player)

Clann na Gael
Cian Swaine

Ratoath
Joey Wallace
Eamon Wallace
Cian O'Brien
Gavin McGowan

Summerhill
John Keane

Gael Colmcilles
Seamus Mattimoe
Fionn Ferguson
(Both kept very quite yesterday but are good enough for senior football considering we are very short on inside forwards based on this year's championship)

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 14/10/2019 18:25:31    2243506

Definitely have 2 Wallace's from Ratoath along with Cian O Brien , Kevin Ryan and 2 Larkins from Summerhill,, Aaron Lynch from Trim

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 14/10/2019 20:29:34    2243535

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Players from the weekends semi finals that could be brought into the Senior squad:

Trim
Aaron Lynch

Oldcastle
Jason Scully (I know he was on the squad last year but I think he will have a bigger role in 2020)

Nobber
Jordan Morris (Was extremely quite at the weekend but has the ability to be a county player)

Clann na Gael
Cian Swaine

Ratoath
Joey Wallace
Eamon Wallace
Cian O'Brien
Gavin McGowan

Summerhill
John Keane

Gael Colmcilles
Seamus Mattimoe
Fionn Ferguson
(Both kept very quite yesterday but are good enough for senior football considering we are very short on inside forwards based on this year's championship)"
Fionn Ferguson was a sub yesterday.

You're thinking of Liam who was in previously.

Could still be worth another shot.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 14/10/2019 20:39:20    2243541

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Players from the weekends semi finals that could be brought into the Senior squad:

Trim
Aaron Lynch

Oldcastle

Nobber

Clann na Gael
Cian Swaine

Ratoath
Joey Wallace
Eamon Wallace
Cian O'Brien
Gavin McGowan

Summerhill
John Keane

Gael Colmcilles
Seamus Mattimoe
Fionn Ferguson
(Both kept very quite yesterday but are good enough for senior football considering we are very short on inside forwards based on this year's championship)"
Lynch from Trim had some performance!

Meathman678 (Meath) - Posts: 63 - 14/10/2019 20:57:55    2243545

Replying To Bear10:  "Definitely have 2 Wallace's from Ratoath along with Cian O Brien , Kevin Ryan and 2 Larkins from Summerhill,, Aaron Lynch from Trim"
But do the two Wallaces want to play with Meath? Surely they would have been in last year if they did.

Also, what age in Aaron Lynch? 19? I think we need to be careful introducing small skillful forwards too soon. Big difference between an intermediate club match in Meath and championship matches at county level - early introductions for Joey Wallace, James Conlon have not been overly successful. A gradual development through under 20's first I'd say.

Cian O'Brien, Gavin McGowan and the Larkins I would say are good options but would McGowan switch from hurling to football?

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 14/10/2019 21:25:37    2243551

Trim
Aaron Lynch

Oldcastle

Nobber

Clann na Gael
Cian Swaine

Ratoath
Joey Wallace
Eamon Wallace
Cian O'Brien
Gavin McGowan

Summerhill
John Keane

Gael Colmcilles
Seamus Mattimoe
Fionn Ferguson
Darragh Griffin Clann na nGael is also a very good player and worth a look. Lynch is 19 and performs well every time he plays. He's not selfish and lays the ball off when required.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 506 - 14/10/2019 21:28:20    2243552

Replying To jackhackett:  "Fionn Ferguson was a sub yesterday.

You're thinking of Liam who was in previously.

Could still be worth another shot."
Sorry I meant the full forward Fionn Reilly, not fionn Ferguson.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 14/10/2019 22:02:24    2243565

Lynch, gets a lot of hard hits and gets on with it from what I have seen, always very positive with the ball and not greedy which sometimes players can be at that age. Too early for Meath team next year, let him continue to develop with u20s. Excited to see him in the future, think he has a lot more potential than Jordan Morris.

Anway players I would like to see in Meath Squad are

Brian McGrath Simonstown
P McKeever (If he would come back)
S Mattimoe Kells
Oisin Reilly Kells
Joey Wallace Ratoath
Cian O'Brien
Gavin McGowan
David Larkin Summerhill (not playing as well as last year but would give us something different off the bench maybe, worth a try)
Oisin O'Brien N'OM
Alan Forde

Probably forgetting 1 or 2 but thats who I thought showed potential this year.

Still have an exciting young bunch of players coming through like Cathal Hickey, Luke Mitchell, Matt Costello, James O'Hare, Lynch.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 14/10/2019 23:24:53    2243585

Replying To winatallcost:  "Darragh Griffin Clann na nGael is also a very good player and worth a look. Lynch is 19 and performs well every time he plays. He's not selfish and lays the ball off when required."
I would throw Killian Price from Castletown into the mix as well. Seen him for the first time on Saturday and was very impressed with him. Serious pace and a direct runner. Believe he is quite young as well maybe 21/22

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 15/10/2019 09:02:56    2243606

Replying To juicy:  "I would throw Killian Price from Castletown into the mix as well. Seen him for the first time on Saturday and was very impressed with him. Serious pace and a direct runner. Believe he is quite young as well maybe 21/22"
Think Price is only 18 as he was on minor panel last year.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 506 - 15/10/2019 10:03:37    2243615

Replying To winatallcost:  "Think Price is only 18 as he was on minor panel last year."
My bad, taught it was the 20/21 he was on over the past few years, knew he was involved with some setup.

but thats even better if younger again, will given him a few years to build himself up to the required standard but being around the county panel at this stage would only be beneficial to him.

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 15/10/2019 10:47:01    2243637

Good to see so many names been mentioned. Can only spell good things for the future

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/10/2019 18:46:07    2243786

On another note has anyone any word on Ford??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/10/2019 18:46:43    2243787

Replying To juicy:  "My bad, taught it was the 20/21 he was on over the past few years, knew he was involved with some setup.

but thats even better if younger again, will given him a few years to build himself up to the required standard but being around the county panel at this stage would only be beneficial to him."
Lads I know this kind of talk happens at this time of year and its just a bit of craic , all I would say is anyone who was in pt at the weekend would have seen the huge and I mean huge gulf between intermediate and senior. A good 18 or 19 year old especially with pace and in pt particularly should really stand out at the intermediate grade. Yes the named young lads were outstanding and I would add the young castletown centre back to the list, but let them develop through the county age groups and gain the requisite training/games which will help with s&c etc. But the good thing is that the underage county set up has brought through a number of fine young players in recent years and andy mcentee will have plenty of food for thought when he sits down to decide what his squad will look like

Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 15/10/2019 21:09:34    2243813

Replying To Footnote:  "Lads I know this kind of talk happens at this time of year and its just a bit of craic , all I would say is anyone who was in pt at the weekend would have seen the huge and I mean huge gulf between intermediate and senior. A good 18 or 19 year old especially with pace and in pt particularly should really stand out at the intermediate grade. Yes the named young lads were outstanding and I would add the young castletown centre back to the list, but let them develop through the county age groups and gain the requisite training/games which will help with s&c etc. But the good thing is that the underage county set up has brought through a number of fine young players in recent years and andy mcentee will have plenty of food for thought when he sits down to decide what his squad will look like"
No strength and conditioning being done at too many clubs, especially intermediate level. Any promising young player in Meath at the minute has bucket loads of work to do if they are to even compete for a place in the squad. These players are good players but they need to have been doing proper S&C work from the age of 14 and by the time they are 18/19 they are ready to step into the Senior squad to build more layers on top of what they have already done. Unfortunately some are going to arrive in aged 18/19 with little to no work done and will struggle as a result!

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 15/10/2019 21:52:36    2243829

James Reilly from Kells was outstanding all year and deserve a chance with the Meath panel, Not a Kells man but I think the work he does is very under appreciated and deserve more credit. Marked McMahon very well while still having an impact going forward.

greengiant2001 (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 24/10/2019 10:46:44    2245393

Replying To greengiant2001:  "James Reilly from Kells was outstanding all year and deserve a chance with the Meath panel, Not a Kells man but I think the work he does is very under appreciated and deserve more credit. Marked McMahon very well while still having an impact going forward."
Lucky for you he has been asked in.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 24/10/2019 11:33:16    2245414

Replying To Barney123:  "Lucky for you he has been asked in."
Who else has been asked in do you know?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 25/10/2019 11:22:54    2245672

Replying To Barney123:  "Lucky for you he has been asked in."
Who else has been asked in do you know?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 25/10/2019 11:23:39    2245673