Gilroy to extend Australia stay as 15 Irish players join AFLW

August 19, 2020

Mayo's Aileen Gilroy is challenged by Olwen Carey of Dublin.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Aileen Gilroy has extended her stay with North Melbourne until the end of 2021 at least.

It comes after fellow Mayo women Cora Staunton and Sarah Rowe signed new deals with Greater Western Sydney Giants and Collingwood, respectively.

Gilroy was one of 15 Irish players to agree new deals ahead of last Monday’s deadline, with Cavan’s Aisling Sheridan extending her contract with Collingwood while sisters Niamh and Grace Kelly, who also play for Mayo, will be back with the West Coast Eagles next season.

Dublin duo Sinéad Goldrick and Niamh McEvoy will also be returning with the Melbourne Demons in 2021 after their upcoming All-Ireland SFC campaign concludes with the Dubs.

The other seven Irish players to commit to AFLW clubs in 2021 are Ailish Considine (Clare/Adelaide), Aisling McCarthy (Tipperary/West Coast Eagles), Yvonne Bonner (Donegal/GWS Giants), Katy Herron (Donegal/Western Bulldogs), Aine Tighe (Leitrim/Fremantle), Orla O’Dwyer (Tipperary/Brisbane) and Clara Fitzpatrick (Down/St Kilda).

Most Read Stories