Dublin Stars Pocketing €6,000 For Promotional Gigs

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Honestly, can you not see the problem here?

The attitude of "fair play to them" is explicit support for an inherently flawed funding model that benefits one county exclusively to the detriment of the rest.
They're not making a few pound for promotional gigs, they're pocketing not insignificant amounts of money for sporting success in an amateur organisation where money played a vital, pivotal role in their four in a row.

I mean, this subject has been scrutinised endlessly by the media, and the facts are a very quick Google search away. There are endless articles outlining Dublin's finances."
Cillian O'Connor & Joe Canning are currently 2 players in TV ads at the moment. They did not do this for free. The great Colm Cooper made 250k on his testimonial. Any problem with that? Any PA that these Dublin players do, the money goes into the players fund. So no, they don't pocket 6k per PA. Nothing of the sort.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/06/2019 21:33:35    2191889

Replying To maroondiesel:  "is it taxable?"
Don't think so. Revenue didn't go after Colm Cooper for the 250k he made for his testimonial.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/06/2019 21:34:51    2191892

Setting aside the Dub's who seem to be suffering collective myopia on the subject, it's hard to see how anyone can think this is a good thing.
How can less wealthy counties compete? Do ye not get it lads? A few appearances a month and ye're footballers can quit their day job and focus on their football. If ye have no issue with the sport going professional (as long as you're lucky enough to play in a county with that kind of wealthbase), then come out and say it; otherwise, this kind of disparity is going to kill the sport.

Long term, you'd be wondering how anyone would be willing to pay any money at all to hear players on a team playing a dead sport; attendance figures are already dropping....

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 08/06/2019 21:37:22    2191896

I'm not opposed to the mindset this creates, to be honest, 17 mill in games development money, multi millions in sponsorships and perks, all games at home, now traveling to training, world class facilities, players retiring to focus on their sporting careers.

Come and play us, the fear or belief in these facets create another advantage, a lot of teams are beaten before they leave the dressing room believing these facets, whether they be true or not, they've rolled over in their heads and best the knee in their minds before they put on their county shirt. Read the match thread for tomorrow's game, Kildare are beaten before they even get to the ground.

These articles just add to the aura and pepuatute the fear and undermines teams playing against us, keep them rolling.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/06/2019 21:51:26    2191902

Replying To Jackeen:  "Cillian O'Connor & Joe Canning are currently 2 players in TV ads at the moment. They did not do this for free. The great Colm Cooper made 250k on his testimonial. Any problem with that? Any PA that these Dublin players do, the money goes into the players fund. So no, they don't pocket 6k per PA. Nothing of the sort."
If what you say is true and it goes into a players fund, then that's fair enough. Can you post evidence for that?

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 08/06/2019 22:11:02    2191911

Replying To arock:  "But it is fine, you are taking about their own personal rewards. Yeah they get cars but so do other county players, yeah they ads but so do other county players. You are absolutely right, nothing to see here at all."
Funny that. I've never seen a Cavan player get a car. Or A Fermanagh player. Or a sligo player.....

Want to see something interesting?

Go to Google search and type in "Dublin GAA funding". Its amazing reading, trust me, you'll love it.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 08/06/2019 22:18:26    2191913

Mulligan in his book said he cleaned up after winning all Ireland's

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/06/2019 22:29:13    2191919

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "If what you say is true and it goes into a players fund, then that's fair enough. Can you post evidence for that?"
Unfortunately not as I'm not the accountant looking after the Dubs. But I can tell you my partner never got 6k for a PA not even close. Would you not like to see evidence of figures from the journalist who wrote this story? Where is the proof from the journalists in question? Quote from the article in question "it highlights the contrast between successful players living in the capital and their counterparts around the country where such lofty figures would never be considered for a promotional appearance of any kind." How does he know this? Has he proof? Is he assuming? Did he even bother to find out? Do you care?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/06/2019 22:34:39    2191925

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Funny that. I've never seen a Cavan player get a car. Or A Fermanagh player. Or a sligo player.....

Go to Google search and type in "Dublin GAA funding". Its amazing reading, trust me, you'll love it."
But you've seen a Mayo player, a Kerry player and a Galway player get them!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/06/2019 22:36:15    2191929

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Funny that. I've never seen a Cavan player get a car. Or A Fermanagh player. Or a sligo player.....

Go to Google search and type in "Dublin GAA funding". Its amazing reading, trust me, you'll love it."
Not many if any players are given a free car. Plenty of players, probably including Cavan players, are given a sponsored courtesy car from a garage within their county. They then publicise that in their Twitter, Facebook, Instagram etc, a picture in the local papers. The garage get nice publicity, the player gets use of a nice car. Everyone's a winner.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 08/06/2019 22:39:05    2191933

Ireland is a nation of begruders

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 08/06/2019 22:47:06    2191936

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Nope, players from all over do not get money for promotional gigs.

Also, yours is a false equivalency. Dublin GAA players are now pocketing sizeable sums of money in a personal capacity, on the back of sporting success in a strictly amateur organisation where the team they represented benefitted enormously from skewed financial distribution.

And people don't see a problem here? Comical."
?????

You actually think that it's only Dublin players that get promotional opportunities despite the fact that players from all over the country get these opportunities.

Comical indeed man.

You're either stupid or being deliberately obtuse.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 08/06/2019 22:59:20    2191944

fair fecks to them, nobody complains about players driving sponsored cars and the likes so make hay while the sun shines, players deserve everything extra they get for providing us with the entertainment they give us for minimal financial gains doesnt matter what county they play for

mrme (USA) - Posts: 22 - 08/06/2019 23:00:49    2191945

Ah sweet jasus will ya stop , I'm close to tears here , funny that :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/06/2019 23:07:55    2191949

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "If what you say is true and it goes into a players fund, then that's fair enough. Can you post evidence for that?"
Evidence ? this is a forum , no one is on trial here , get a grip for crying out loud .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/06/2019 23:10:20    2191951

Replying To MesAmis:  "?????

You actually think that it's only Dublin players that get promotional opportunities despite the fact that players from all over the country get these opportunities.

Comical indeed man.

You're either stupid or being deliberately obtuse."
I'm leaning towards stupid :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/06/2019 23:36:15    2191954

Replying To Jackeen:  "Eh the lads aren't pocketing this money. I wish. It goes into the players fund for their holiday. As Conor Mortimer tweeted that there are lots of players in other counties getting the same and more & I would never begrudge any player anything."
They are pocketing over €6,000 for appearance fees. Unless they're staying in 5 star hotels on the moon the top players won't be throwing 50k or 60k into a holiday pot each. Obviously top players from other high profile counties will get similar but Dublin obviously have most of the top players.

The issue for me is the GAA is basically a paid job for the top counties especially Dublin but not for the weaker ones. In light of this I feel the GAA should increase the grant the lower team players get. It's only 1-2k a year but players at the top getting big sponsorship deals don't need these grants. The players not getting them do.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 09/06/2019 01:07:21    2191979

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "link
As the hoganstand article suggests Dublin stars can expect to make up to €10,000 for appearances if they win the 5 in a row. Different ball game in the capital."
Are you suggesting this is a bad thing? FYI, not just the capital.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 09/06/2019 01:12:50    2191980

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "They are pocketing over €6,000 for appearance fees. Unless they're staying in 5 star hotels on the moon the top players won't be throwing 50k or 60k into a holiday pot each. Obviously top players from other high profile counties will get similar but Dublin obviously have most of the top players.

The issue for me is the GAA is basically a paid job for the top counties especially Dublin but not for the weaker ones. In light of this I feel the GAA should increase the grant the lower team players get. It's only 1-2k a year but players at the top getting big sponsorship deals don't need these grants. The players not getting them do."
That's a good proposal in fairness. Hopefully make more incentive for younger ladies and lads in so-called weaker counties to stay involved in the GAA when there are are plenty of distractions in this day and age.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 09/06/2019 03:22:22    2191992

Replying To Jackeen:  "Unfortunately not as I'm not the accountant looking after the Dubs. But I can tell you my partner never got 6k for a PA not even close. Would you not like to see evidence of figures from the journalist who wrote this story? Where is the proof from the journalists in question? Quote from the article in question "it highlights the contrast between successful players living in the capital and their counterparts around the country where such lofty figures would never be considered for a promotional appearance of any kind." How does he know this? Has he proof? Is he assuming? Did he even bother to find out? Do you care?"
Jackeen most people on here long enough knows you've a partner involved in the Dublin set up and know your very honest but they don't want to hear you say that their not getting 6 grand they've already made their minds up and convinced themselves it's true. Just like the poster thinks only Dubs get cars when we all know all the big county players from all over Ireland get cars , sure Donaghy was getting a sponsored car back in 06 he wrote about it in his book.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/06/2019 05:52:11    2191996