Dublin Stars Pocketing €6,000 For Promotional Gigs

Replying To MesAmis:  "Sorry what exactly is the problem here?"
Are you serious?

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 08/06/2019 18:42:19    2191784

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Are you serious?"
Yes.

Players, from all over, get money for promotional gigs.

Why are you against that?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 08/06/2019 18:56:50    2191796

It's a short playing career where lads make big professional career and social sacrifices, we shouldn't begrudge any player making a few pound for doing a promotional gig. The only problem i would have if the promotional gigs became more important than the game to players or if Bord na Òg teams got billed for something like a medal presentation.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 08/06/2019 18:57:32    2191797

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "If you can earn more in a year from the GAA then the average wage is it still a sacrifice? I'd call it a job and a career path to further employment after. Let's stop pretending every player is a slave giving up everything for the county. I know most players make very little but the top dogs do."
That's true. But many work damn hard at their jobs and football and hurling and will need some job after their GAA playing days are over. They're gold for advertisers, ready made role models. How much do they get for endorsements compared to other well-known faces in sport, TV etc? Possibly less, their amateur status being exploited.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 08/06/2019 19:01:49    2191801

Dublin are a professional outfit and subsequently get professional reimbursement. Nothing will be said or done because the Dubs are still the cash cow for the GAA. It's the Emperor's New Clothes. Nothing to see, move on. Only whingers complain about the Dubs, know your place culchies. Amateur game my h**e!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 08/06/2019 19:04:09    2191803

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yes.

Why are you against that?"
That ties in with their professional status If Johnny Sexton can do it ,why not them , I see Gough,Dublin Joe and Mc Goldrick are getting run outs in preparation for more important business down the road
.Are they included in the gravy train pool I wonder ? They have more than played their part

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 08/06/2019 19:18:09    2191812

Replying To 37sowhat:  "That ties in with their professional status If Johnny Sexton can do it ,why not them , I see Gough,Dublin Joe and Mc Goldrick are getting run outs in preparation for more important business down the road
.Are they included in the gravy train pool I wonder ? They have more than played their part"
So are Joe Canning and Cillian O'Connor professional now too? Both currently in ads on the telly, fair play to them both jmo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 08/06/2019 19:23:14    2191817

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Dublin are a professional outfit and subsequently get professional reimbursement. Nothing will be said or done because the Dubs are still the cash cow for the GAA. It's the Emperor's New Clothes. Nothing to see, move on. Only whingers complain about the Dubs, know your place culchies. Amateur game my h**e!"
Yeah. Sure why try and beat them when you can wallow in self pity.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 08/06/2019 19:31:13    2191821

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Yeah. Sure why try and beat them when you can wallow in self pity."
Thank You. You make my point perfectly. NOTHING will change while so many still doff their caps, tell themselves they are not worthy and worship at the Dubs altar. Give the rest of us 15 million Euros over the next decade and let's see if we can improve too. It is totally pathetic and embarrassing.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 08/06/2019 19:43:23    2191826

You got your awnser jack, now like a good lad put your spoon away.

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 08/06/2019 19:58:40    2191833

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Thank You. You make my point perfectly. NOTHING will change while so many still doff their caps, tell themselves they are not worthy and worship at the Dubs altar. Give the rest of us 15 million Euros over the next decade and let's see if we can improve too. It is totally pathetic and embarrassing."
Welcome back missed you lots :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/06/2019 20:09:24    2191838

Replying To superbluedub:  "Welcome back missed you lots :)"
Missed him more :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/06/2019 20:17:23    2191841

Still waiting on your sources Jack

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/06/2019 20:23:05    2191845

is it taxable?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 08/06/2019 20:27:57    2191849

Of course the likes of the Gooch and others would never charge corporate entities. They do it all for free.. everything

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 08/06/2019 20:38:06    2191855

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Remember guys, there's nothing to see here. Absolutely nothing untoward about Dublin and their finances. Just keep your heads in the sand, and your money in the GAA coffers, support your county and don't ask questions about Dublin and their finances.

Everything is fine."
But it is fine, you are taking about their own personal rewards. Yeah they get cars but so do other county players, yeah they ads but so do other county players. You are absolutely right, nothing to see here at all.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 08/06/2019 20:39:22    2191858

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Thank You. You make my point perfectly. NOTHING will change while so many still doff their caps, tell themselves they are not worthy and worship at the Dubs altar. Give the rest of us 15 million Euros over the next decade and let's see if we can improve too. It is totally pathetic and embarrassing."
Give Antrim 150M and you would piss it away in pretty inter-club squabbles

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 08/06/2019 20:39:22    2191859

Replying To GreenandRed:  "
Replying To Jack_Goff:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=Jack_Goff:  "link
As the hoganstand article suggests Dublin stars can expect to make up to €10,000 for appearances if they win the 5 in a row. Different ball game in the capital."
How do you know what else other county players are getting?

Good on them

Breaking their arse to be as good as they are"
"It highlights the contrast between successful players living in the capital and their counterparts around the country where such lofty figures would never be considered for a promotional appearance of any kind."

Straight from the Irish independent who spoke with industry insiders."]When you have have the facts, comparing what some Dublin players get paid for this to a non-Dublin play, instead of hearsay, put it up here. Either way there's an agent or a fixer here getting a cut too. Fair play to any player from any country for getting a few quid for this, they don't get enough for it in what could be a short career."]Honestly man

Fair play for exposing Jacks drivel so eloquently

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/06/2019 20:42:19    2191861

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yes.

Why are you against that?"
Nope, players from all over do not get money for promotional gigs.

Also, yours is a false equivalency. Dublin GAA players are now pocketing sizeable sums of money in a personal capacity, on the back of sporting success in a strictly amateur organisation where the team they represented benefitted enormously from skewed financial distribution.

And people don't see a problem here? Comical.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 08/06/2019 20:50:51    2191867

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "It's a short playing career where lads make big professional career and social sacrifices, we shouldn't begrudge any player making a few pound for doing a promotional gig. The only problem i would have if the promotional gigs became more important than the game to players or if Bord na Òg teams got billed for something like a medal presentation."
Honestly, can you not see the problem here?

The attitude of "fair play to them" is explicit support for an inherently flawed funding model that benefits one county exclusively to the detriment of the rest.
They're not making a few pound for promotional gigs, they're pocketing not insignificant amounts of money for sporting success in an amateur organisation where money played a vital, pivotal role in their four in a row.

I mean, this subject has been scrutinised endlessly by the media, and the facts are a very quick Google search away. There are endless articles outlining Dublin's finances.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 08/06/2019 20:56:25    2191873