Dublin Stars Pocketing €6,000 For Promotional Gigs

In 1998 after we won Sam, 12 of the team got a car.
Tomas Mannion was offered a car but said he wanted a jeep for the farm and got one!

manager5 (Galway) - Posts: 724 - 09/06/2019 07:04:43    2192000

Replying To superbluedub:  "Evidence ? this is a forum , no one is on trial here , get a grip for crying out loud ."
Of course, everyone should just post unsubstantiated nonsense. Spoken like a man not well versed in reading newspapers.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 09/06/2019 09:25:48    2192029

there is nobody involved in the inter county game who isn't getting paid at this stage.
players are getting decent expenses,the county team management and entourage of s&c,psychologists,dieticians,statisticians,kitman,etc are all being well remunerated at this stage.
i heard of an inter county player wanting 4k to present underage medals.
its difficult to see a way back to the amateur ethos which the game is supposed to be.
and meanwhile the clubs have shut up shop for the summer.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 09/06/2019 09:27:07    2192030

Replying To yew_tree:  "Ireland is a nation of begruders"
Wrong. We're a nation of people who applaud corruption and injustice. We actually enjoy it when the government screws us over, just so we have something to complain about.

Similarly with the GAA, there is patent disparity in the funding model, but people like you applaud it by saying "I'm not afraid of the Dubs, it's up to my own county to get their act together" in order to act the tough guy in the face of manifest inequality.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 09/06/2019 09:34:00    2192036

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Jackeen most people on here long enough knows you've a partner involved in the Dublin set up and know your very honest but they don't want to hear you say that their not getting 6 grand they've already made their minds up and convinced themselves it's true. Just like the poster thinks only Dubs get cars when we all know all the big county players from all over Ireland get cars , sure Donaghy was getting a sponsored car back in 06 he wrote about it in his book."
Clon I wish he was getting that money. He never got a car. He got to use a car for less than a year. None of them get cars to keep and only a handful of them get cars at all. My partner has a very close pal that plays for another county. Years ago he got into a bit of trouble (the friend) and the main sponsor of his team took over his mortgage payments for a year till he got sorted. And thank God they did. I don't see anything wrong with any of this at all. Cannot understand the begrudgery here but it's all too common in GAA and Ireland in general.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/06/2019 09:46:48    2192042

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Of course, everyone should just post unsubstantiated nonsense. Spoken like a man not well versed in reading newspapers."
But you're happy to accept the word of "industry sources" without any proof or any info showing comparable fees from other counties. Right so.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/06/2019 09:50:18    2192050

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Wrong. We're a nation of people who applaud corruption and injustice. We actually enjoy it when the government screws us over, just so we have something to complain about.

Similarly with the GAA, there is patent disparity in the funding model, but people like you applaud it by saying "I'm not afraid of the Dubs, it's up to my own county to get their act together" in order to act the tough guy in the face of manifest inequality."
Give us your solution to this disparity, as you call it, in the funding model. Let's not discount things like county population, number of clubs to service, dual code status etc. Right let's hear your proposal and your master plan for having billions of games development fund money pumped into Cavan GAA to pull it out of the Stone Age.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/06/2019 10:12:09    2192056

The begrudgery here is unbelievable. Typical anti dubs attitude on this forum.
It wasn't too long ago colm cooper was flogging tickets for his testimonial dinner....

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 09/06/2019 10:18:27    2192058

Cavan Shambles I applaud your brevity in the face of the sheepish "we're a nation of begrudgers". Let them know that it's not right!

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 09/06/2019 10:25:51    2192063

Replying To Joxer:  "Give us your solution to this disparity, as you call it, in the funding model. Let's not discount things like county population, number of clubs to service, dual code status etc. Right let's hear your proposal and your master plan for having billions of games development fund money pumped into Cavan GAA to pull it out of the Stone Age."
What's your solution? Keep it as it is at all costs. Do you remember when you played football on the green and you'd pick teams so you'd have a proper game.
Keep all the advantages so the others say I'm not bothered anymore. Is that it?

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 09/06/2019 11:01:13    2192073

Well they deserve every money they get, they're expected to train and play like professionals but get nothing for it, the amount of time they take out of work and family

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 09/06/2019 11:07:44    2192079

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Wrong. We're a nation of people who applaud corruption and injustice. We actually enjoy it when the government screws us over, just so we have something to complain about.

Similarly with the GAA, there is patent disparity in the funding model, but people like you applaud it by saying "I'm not afraid of the Dubs, it's up to my own county to get their act together" in order to act the tough guy in the face of manifest inequality."
What are you waffling on about? What has GAA players getting a few dollars on the side got to with corruption?

They provide the entertainment so deserve anything they can get.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 09/06/2019 11:23:45    2192091

County players train like professionals, live like professionals yet are expected to get by like average Joe's. Until that cycle changes, and I dont know how you set about doing that, players will feel well within their rights to make a bit on the side and unless the critics are paying those players bills then it's none of there business what money they make!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 09/06/2019 11:25:03    2192092

Sponsorship does not grow on trees. It is a business investing money for a return. In the US they talk about a sports franchise having a market. The market generates the money to fund the team.

The Dublin market will always be bigger than the Leitrim market. 1 million versus 30k people.

To level the playing field the markets need to be leveled. Eg splitting Dublin and merging smaller counties into (perhaps provinces. See other thread)

The question. Is this possible while remaining amateur?

shaneShankill (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 09/06/2019 11:25:29    2192093

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Of course, everyone should just post unsubstantiated nonsense. Spoken like a man not well versed in reading newspapers."
'The Irish Independent has learned that the representative of one Dublin player recently gave €6,000 as the price for a promotional appearance.

It highlights the contrast between successful players living in the capital and their counterparts around the country where such lofty figures would never be considered for a promotional appearance of any kind.'

Yeah. Plenty of facts there. No name, maybe one rep for a Dublin player told somebody something. Did the player get 6K? Maybe but there's nothing solid there, hopefully he got more. As for the country counterparts, what evidence has he to back up his claim? Breheny co-wrote this. A man who rarely has anything good to say about anything and poor journalism of a so-called bad news story. It' s clickbait.

Hopefully plenty of GAA players get decent money from endorsements. Clearly Dublin is the larger market so Dublin players can gain there. If not GAA then companies might look to other sports for role models to sponsor. And that could possibly be a tipping point to edge potential athletes out of the GAA towards other sports.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 09/06/2019 17:31:12    2192243

Martin Breheny is becoming a real hitter journalist in my opinion. Maybe he should investigate the Galway GAA financial scandal which seems to have disappeared.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 09/06/2019 19:11:15    2192318

Replying To GreenandRed:  "'The Irish Independent has learned that the representative of one Dublin player recently gave €6,000 as the price for a promotional appearance.

It highlights the contrast between successful players living in the capital and their counterparts around the country where such lofty figures would never be considered for a promotional appearance of any kind.'

Yeah. Plenty of facts there. No name, maybe one rep for a Dublin player told somebody something. Did the player get 6K? Maybe but there's nothing solid there, hopefully he got more. As for the country counterparts, what evidence has he to back up his claim? Breheny co-wrote this. A man who rarely has anything good to say about anything and poor journalism of a so-called bad news story. It' s clickbait.

Hopefully plenty of GAA players get decent money from endorsements. Clearly Dublin is the larger market so Dublin players can gain there. If not GAA then companies might look to other sports for role models to sponsor. And that could possibly be a tipping point to edge potential athletes out of the GAA towards other sports."
I posed the same questions but you've said it much better than me fair play.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/06/2019 19:43:14    2192334

Replying To yew_tree:  "Martin Breheny is becoming a real hitter journalist in my opinion. Maybe he should investigate the Galway GAA financial scandal which seems to have disappeared."
Newspaper journalists are scared, they know they're on the way out fast, circulation figures hitting all time lows, they'll stoop to any level to stay in the game, no bad news, no media.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 09/06/2019 20:09:47    2192356

Replying To realdub:  "Newspaper journalists are scared, they know they're on the way out fast, circulation figures hitting all time lows, they'll stoop to any level to stay in the game, no bad news, no media."
By that logic leinster GAA officials are terrified. Circulation (attendance) figures have plummeted.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 09/06/2019 22:43:19    2192491

Sources Jack?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/06/2019 09:44:34    2192611