Leinster Football Championship

Replying To royaldunne:  "Excellent, well thought out and accurate post"
Thanks for the comments Royaldunne.

Regards u below points in thread below. I think it is going to be very hard for us to get super 8 if we reach leinster final. If We lose to Dublin heavily , players will be deflated. If We lose in a tight game ,players will be disappointed. Leinster final.is still a final and still matters. When counties reach final.like Laois last year or Kildare in 2017 or Westmeath in 2016 or we did in 2012 2013 . While there is little optimism of winning, its still a big occasion and when teams lose leinster finals they is always a negative reaction.

Its very very rare for team to lose leinster final.and then win following qualifier. I could be wrong but I think since the beginning of quafiers there has been 17 leinster finals. There has been 17 leinster final losers entering the qualifiers. And of those 17 leinster teams that have lost leinster final only 1 of them a won the following qualifier game and qualified for q final / super 8 stage. That was Dublin when they defeated Sligo after losing leinster final to Meath in 2001 the first year of the qualifiers.

So in 17 attempts by leinster finalist to win a game after losing leinster final only 1 suceeded as far I can see. And I think overall since backdoor was introduced 90% of teams who lost their provicial final , 90% failed to win their following game in qualifiers. And seeing we cud probaly be meeting Donegal or Tyrone in the qualifiers if we lost leinster final. The chances r if we get to the final and lose the odds are heavily stacked against us , its highly unlikely we will win next game in backdoor and so reach the super 8. Its not impossible, but its going to be very tough. The best way teams get Super 8 is losing earlier before the provicial final. Thats why kildare if they get a decent draw after Dublin loss have a good chance of getting to Super 8. I think in Meath we will hoping to reach leinster final but a run through back door wouldnt be bad thing for this young team. As long we didnt play a Tyrone or top team in first game after losing leinster championship match.I think we will be competitive v Dublin but there is also a chance Dublin could hammer us. Dublin are capable of hammering every team in the country. But overall reaching leinster final.will be aim of the team and supporters will be hoping we do.

Carlow will be tricky. But Westmeath and laois should be the toughest game..We are ahead of both teams and I believe we are better team. I dont think eitheir Laois or Westmeath would have performed to our level v Donegal in two games and Tyrone in last few momths. Or both laois or Westmeath would have been promoted from.div 2 this year. But we are not good enough to take this game as a given. As the gap between all 3 teams is not a big one. And both laois and Westmeath are flying after laois winning 2 promotion in a row meaning they have won about 10 or games in last 2 years. And Westmeath winning 2 titles in spring.

Both team are flying and both will fancy their chances v Meath. And laois are Meaths only true bogey team with wins over Meath in 1985 1992 2003 2012. Only Dublin and kildare have beaten Meath more in leinster championship in last 45 years. While in last 20 years Westmeath have always thrown the kitchen sink at Meath in championship. Meath will be favourites and desevedly so on form. But laois and Westmeath will fancy their chances. If Meath reach leinster final ite another sign of Meath improvement. For laois or Westmeath will be a stern test for Meath.

Of course I wud love to reach super 8 but I wud worry for young and up and coming team like Meath playing 3 division 1 teams in month doesnt suit young up and coming teams. Its suits more established teams. Next year I think we will be better prepared for super 8 football. We cud end up super 8 group of Kerry Galway or Mayo and Monaghan. That would be a group of death. All established division 1 teams, all provicial champions in recent years. I would worry that it would be to much to soon for our young team and bad defeats cud be in line. But lets see how our young team do as they ave shown great maturity and ability this year. So who knows. But I do believe old quater final system suited young and upcoming teams better. I think next year we will be much competitive at super 8 level.

But overall I do feel we are entering, a new phase a new era in Meath football. The post Boylan era from 2006 to 2017 2018 is over. And Meath are now entering a more positive and progressive era in Meath football. We will have good days and bad days in next ten years. But overall I am optimistic we will be stronger in this coming decade then the previous. I think we can stay in divsion 1 next y ear. And in 3 to 4 years time win leinster title and beat Dublin. After that its impossible to say what level sucess we will have. But we cud get to Monaghans level , super 8 team , staying in div 1 and winning leinster title. Thats the aim. I also think we will be much stronger at underage in the coming ten years then in the last decade. The signs in that area are very good. But overall Meath will have ups and dowb even this year but overall we are going in the direction and we are improving and there is more room and their is potential for future improvement. Meath football , onwards and upwards we go.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 13/04/2019 16:57:34    2178684

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'd say that is very accurate. Although I think Louth will get a run in back door"
Royaldunne Louth have a poor record in the qualifiers. It all depends on the luck of the draw and who they get.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/04/2019 16:59:53    2178685

Replying To royaldunne:  "That's the semi final opponent I want."
If it was a Dubs/Kildare and Meath/Westmeath double header semi-finals in Croke Park I would go myself.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/04/2019 17:02:48    2178687

Replying To Furlong1949:  "No one is saying in Meath we will be soon be competiting in All Ireland finals. There is no evidence to suggest that Meath will reach an All-Ireland final or win Sam in next decade. No one in Meath is predicting that or expecting that.

This is what Meath supporters are hoping for. Not to get kerry or Dublin levels but over next few years to get to Monaghans level. Our aim is to what Monaghan have done . Stay in div 1 for a 5 or 6 years , be competitive at super 8 level and win provicial title in next 5 or 6 years. Thats what we are aiming for realistically. No one in Meath expects to win Sam or reach All Ireland final soon. We are years and years and years away from that level. If stay in div 1 for a couple of years and win leinster title in coming years that is the aim.

Regards People saying Tyrone wud hammer Meath. Im not making this up. Before Tyrone game many people were predicting Tyrone wud hammer Meath on this forum and elsewhere. The same thing was said before we played Donegal Galway and Roscommon. Theres nothing wrong with that. Im just saying that people were wrong about Meath getting hammered by Tyrone and Donegal. Maybe people will be wrong that when they say Meath will be relegated. Thats what Im.trying to say. People got it wrong about Tyrone and Donegal hammering us. And maybe they are wrong when they say we will be relegated.

Regards Meath have always had their achievements have been downgraded and never recognised. We won All Irelands and we never recognised for those achievements. Those achievements were downgraded. I can gve u countless examples. Meath won an All Ireland in 1996 , along with kerry team of 1975 the two youngest teams ever to win Sam. Meath won Sam in 96 with 7 under 21 players..It would be like kerry winning Sam last year with 7 players like Clifford and O Se. Meaths best players were 20 years of age in 96 eg Fay Giles. In both finals Meath were 6 points down with 15 mins. In both finals Meath showed remarkable courage and bravery for such young team to haul in 6 point Mayo lead in both games. Meath dominated last 15 mins in both games. Meath scored 6 points to Mayo none in last 15 mins of drawn game. Meath scored 1 - 3 in last 15 mins of replay to Mayos 1 point. And Brendan Reilly scored best point to win a final in last 50 years , better then Cluxtons in 11. The two finals were greatest display of never day spirit courage and bravey ever seen by a young team in All Ireland final ever. Give another example of a group of under 21 players winning Sam and give another example og under 21s making such great comebacks in All Ireland finals . Closing 6 point leads in last 15 mins of finals is very unusual .

Meath forward line of that day is one best forward lines of last 25 years with Tommy Dowd Tevour Giles Graham Geraghty Evan Kelly Brendan Reilly Ollie Murphy. That team along with kerry team of 1975 are the two greatest young teams to ever win Sam. Players like Pat Spillane in 1975 and Darren Fay in 1996 were still under 21 players. U dont win All Irelands with ur best players still playing under 21 football. If that Meath played Mayo ten times Meath would have won ten times. Because Mayo had good backs and good midfield but there forwards were not good enough to win Sam. Tommy Dowd Trevor Graham Geraghty Evan Kelly Brendan Reilly Ollie Murphy is a different league to Mayos forward line of John Casey Colm McMenanin James Horan Anthony Finnerty. Thats why Meath could score 6 points in last 15 mins of both games and Mayo had massive problems scoring a single point in last 15 mins of both games. Not one of Mayo players could have scored Reillys exquisite winning point from such a tight angle.
Regards McHale sending of. McHale was at midfield for the whole first game and he couldn't stop Meath taking controll of last 15 mins at midfield and Meath scoring 6 unanswered points. Mayo didnt have the forwards to win Sam in 1996. It is impossible to win Sam without top class forwards. Meath forward line was full of top class forwards. Mayo didnt have one.

Thats what happened in 1996. But all.we have heard since was three things 1 Ball bouncing bar after Coyle kick 2 Franca 3 McHale sent off. Thats all.we have heard since. Mayo stole the narrative. And Meaths great achievement was downgraded. Because Mayo couldnt take their beating. Thats what we mean by downgraded. And I can give countless nore example of Meath winning All Ireland finals , winning All Ireland semi finals winning leinster titles and putting brillant performances v Kerry Dublin Tyrone and Meath never got credit we deserved for that. So thats what I mean. Sorry for bringing up 1996 in leinster championship thread. But Im just trying to explain.what I meant by in the GAA all Meaths achievements are always downgraded and lessened and never given full credit for what we achieve."
Good man Furlong keep your posts going. I love reading them.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/04/2019 17:06:07    2178688

Replying To royaldunne:  "That's the semi final opponent I want."
You might regret that Royal!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 13/04/2019 17:08:53    2178689

Replying To Furlong1949:  "No one is saying in Meath we will be soon be competiting in All Ireland finals. There is no evidence to suggest that Meath will reach an All-Ireland final or win Sam in next decade. No one in Meath is predicting that or expecting that.

This is what Meath supporters are hoping for. Not to get kerry or Dublin levels but over next few years to get to Monaghans level. Our aim is to what Monaghan have done . Stay in div 1 for a 5 or 6 years , be competitive at super 8 level and win provicial title in next 5 or 6 years. Thats what we are aiming for realistically. No one in Meath expects to win Sam or reach All Ireland final soon. We are years and years and years away from that level. If stay in div 1 for a couple of years and win leinster title in coming years that is the aim.

Regards People saying Tyrone wud hammer Meath. Im not making this up. Before Tyrone game many people were predicting Tyrone wud hammer Meath on this forum and elsewhere. The same thing was said before we played Donegal Galway and Roscommon. Theres nothing wrong with that. Im just saying that people were wrong about Meath getting hammered by Tyrone and Donegal. Maybe people will be wrong that when they say Meath will be relegated. Thats what Im.trying to say. People got it wrong about Tyrone and Donegal hammering us. And maybe they are wrong when they say we will be relegated.

Regards Meath have always had their achievements have been downgraded and never recognised. We won All Irelands and we never recognised for those achievements. Those achievements were downgraded. I can gve u countless examples. Meath won an All Ireland in 1996 , along with kerry team of 1975 the two youngest teams ever to win Sam. Meath won Sam in 96 with 7 under 21 players..It would be like kerry winning Sam last year with 7 players like Clifford and O Se. Meaths best players were 20 years of age in 96 eg Fay Giles. In both finals Meath were 6 points down with 15 mins. In both finals Meath showed remarkable courage and bravery for such young team to haul in 6 point Mayo lead in both games. Meath dominated last 15 mins in both games. Meath scored 6 points to Mayo none in last 15 mins of drawn game. Meath scored 1 - 3 in last 15 mins of replay to Mayos 1 point. And Brendan Reilly scored best point to win a final in last 50 years , better then Cluxtons in 11. The two finals were greatest display of never day spirit courage and bravey ever seen by a young team in All Ireland final ever. Give another example of a group of under 21 players winning Sam and give another example og under 21s making such great comebacks in All Ireland finals . Closing 6 point leads in last 15 mins of finals is very unusual .

Meath forward line of that day is one best forward lines of last 25 years with Tommy Dowd Tevour Giles Graham Geraghty Evan Kelly Brendan Reilly Ollie Murphy. That team along with kerry team of 1975 are the two greatest young teams to ever win Sam. Players like Pat Spillane in 1975 and Darren Fay in 1996 were still under 21 players. U dont win All Irelands with ur best players still playing under 21 football. If that Meath played Mayo ten times Meath would have won ten times. Because Mayo had good backs and good midfield but there forwards were not good enough to win Sam. Tommy Dowd Trevor Graham Geraghty Evan Kelly Brendan Reilly Ollie Murphy is a different league to Mayos forward line of John Casey Colm McMenanin James Horan Anthony Finnerty. Thats why Meath could score 6 points in last 15 mins of both games and Mayo had massive problems scoring a single point in last 15 mins of both games. Not one of Mayo players could have scored Reillys exquisite winning point from such a tight angle.
Regards McHale sending of. McHale was at midfield for the whole first game and he couldn't stop Meath taking controll of last 15 mins at midfield and Meath scoring 6 unanswered points. Mayo didnt have the forwards to win Sam in 1996. It is impossible to win Sam without top class forwards. Meath forward line was full of top class forwards. Mayo didnt have one.

Thats what happened in 1996. But all.we have heard since was three things 1 Ball bouncing bar after Coyle kick 2 Franca 3 McHale sent off. Thats all.we have heard since. Mayo stole the narrative. And Meaths great achievement was downgraded. Because Mayo couldnt take their beating. Thats what we mean by downgraded. And I can give countless nore example of Meath winning All Ireland finals , winning All Ireland semi finals winning leinster titles and putting brillant performances v Kerry Dublin Tyrone and Meath never got credit we deserved for that. So thats what I mean. Sorry for bringing up 1996 in leinster championship thread. But Im just trying to explain.what I meant by in the GAA all Meaths achievements are always downgraded and lessened and never given full credit for what we achieve."
Self praise is no praise. You love telling anyone who will listen about how put upon ye are and how gallant and brave ye boys are but you can tell yourself that till the cows come home if it makes you feel better. If you need others to tell you about how great you are then you'll be waiting if experience in this game is anything to go by.
A spade a spade ye have done nothing in decades and have 3 times the pick of Monaghan so if you want to use them as a yardstick ye are massively underachieving.
This lad scored a point and didn't get lauded as the best thing since sliced bread would you go way outta that.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 13/04/2019 18:16:38    2178695

Replying To OLLIE:  "Good man Furlong keep your posts going. I love reading them."
Thanks for the comments Ollie.
Louth had a good league. Wayne Kearins looks a good manager. I can see louth getting promoted next year to div 2. There is allot of good work being done at underage in louth recently with Meath kildare louth and Wicklow all getting more gaa support from headquarters in last 6 months. This will help all the 4 counties into the future. Overall there seems to be upturn in allot of leinster counties.

Hopefully the leinster semi final is in Croker. Teams need Croke Park experience. When kildare reached 2017 leinster final with victory in Tullamore in the semis , a victory in leinster semi final in Croker wud have been more benefit for kildare when facing the Dubs in the final. A leinster semi final should be in Croker, while the atmosphere might not be great , a victory in Croke Park is so important for every team in leinster especially with Dublin amazing record there in this decade.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 13/04/2019 18:25:54    2178697

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "You might regret that Royal!"
Don't see how. It's the one I want.
Most of cause as many know on here. I personally live in Westmeath, so for me on a personal point I love the build up to these games. And the craic does be only mighty.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/04/2019 19:02:20    2178698

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks for the comments Ollie.
Louth had a good league. Wayne Kearins looks a good manager. I can see louth getting promoted next year to div 2. There is allot of good work being done at underage in louth recently with Meath kildare louth and Wicklow all getting more gaa support from headquarters in last 6 months. This will help all the 4 counties into the future. Overall there seems to be upturn in allot of leinster counties.

Hopefully the leinster semi final is in Croker. Teams need Croke Park experience. When kildare reached 2017 leinster final with victory in Tullamore in the semis , a victory in leinster semi final in Croker wud have been more benefit for kildare when facing the Dubs in the final. A leinster semi final should be in Croker, while the atmosphere might not be great , a victory in Croke Park is so important for every team in leinster especially with Dublin amazing record there in this decade."
He is indeed a good manger Furlong. The players are playing for him and he was part of the Louth Minor set up that reached the Leinster final in 2017. This was the first time since since 1971 that the Wee County had reached the Minor final.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/04/2019 19:33:52    2178700

Replying To catch22:  "Self praise is no praise. You love telling anyone who will listen about how put upon ye are and how gallant and brave ye boys are but you can tell yourself that till the cows come home if it makes you feel better. If you need others to tell you about how great you are then you'll be waiting if experience in this game is anything to go by.
A spade a spade ye have done nothing in decades and have 3 times the pick of Monaghan so if you want to use them as a yardstick ye are massively underachieving.
This lad scored a point and didn't get lauded as the best thing since sliced bread would you go way outta that."
U said Meath have done nothing for decades. Well u r wrong and so prove my point. I said people always downgrade underated and undervalue Meaths achievements. With ur statement on Meath above saying Meath have done nothing for decades , u r doing exactly that , u r downgrading undervaling not recognising Meaths achievements.

It doesnt matter how counties view us. But I am just drawing attention to the fact that people in the past, people in the present and people like good self always downgrade devalue not recognise Meaths achievements. U proved my point. Thank you.

Meath have done nothing for decades is false. Meath have been second most successful team in leinster in this decade.
1 Dublin 8 leinster
2 Meath 1 leinster 4 leinster final appearances could be 5.
3 Westmeath 2 leinster final appearances
4 Loais kildare Wexford laois 1 leinster final appearance each.

It is not as sucessful decade for Meath football in leinster as before. But we remain in the top 2 in leinster something we have done in every decade since 1920s. And outside All Ireland winning Meath Dublin Offaly teams 1 leinster title and 4 or 5 leinster final appearances would be seen as a very sucessful era in leinster football.

We also were the only county in the country to hammer the greatest Dublin team ever in championship in this decade, the decade u said we did nothing.

U said we did nothing for decades. Well that includes 00s the decade before this one a decade we were more sucessful then Dublin in many ways. We were most sucessful leinster outside provience in 00s.

We defeated the great kerry team of 00s by a record 15 points in All Ireland semi final, kerrys worst defeat in 100 years. Dublin failed to beat great kerry team of 00s. We defeated great Tyrone team of 00s in All Ireland quarter final. Dublin failed to beat great Tyrone team of 00s. And we also defeated Mayo in All Ireland quarter final in 00s. Dublin couldn't beat Kerry Tyrone or Mayo in 00s. Meath did.

Meath reached 1 All Ireland senior final in 00s. Dublin reached 0 All-Ireland senior final in 00s. Meath played in 1 All Ireland senior final in 00s and reached 3 All Ireland senior finals in 00s making it more sucessful then Dublin in 00s or any team in leinster in the decade u said Meath did nothing. After Kerry Tyrone Cork and Armagh Meath were one of most sucessful teams of the decade u said we did nothing.

U said Meath did nothing in decades is that 3 or 4 decades. Well in 90s we were team of 90s winning 2 All Ireland senior titles playing 4 All Ireland senior finals winning 2 national league div 1 titles and winning 4 leinster titles in an era that is considered the most competitive era in leinster football history. In 80s we produced one of greatest teams of all time.

So when u said we did nothing for decades u r wrong. And u prove my point.

Yes fair play to Monaghan. But yes Meath are having worst decade for generations. But so are so many strong counties. This has been worst decade in generations for Meath Galway kildare ( only 80s ) Cork Down Derry Armagh Laois Offaly.

Regards underachieving. Meath after kerry are a county that has overachieved more then any other. Meath overachieved for 80 years while Dublin underachieved for 80 years. The top 5 sucessful counties are kerry Dublin Galway Meath and Cork. After kerry , Dublin Galway and Cork should bein top 5 counties. Look.at their stature in Irish society they are the three nost iconic famous powerful counties in Ireland. They are the social economic centres of their provience. Meath is an average midlands county in comparison in terms of stature wealth and population. Yet Meath went toe to toe with Dublin Kerry Dublin Cork and Galway for decades from 30s to 00s.

Look at where Meath comes from in Ireland. A football mad area with football mad counties. But Meath have won more All-Irelands in the last 35 years then whole rest of leinster have won together in last 60 years ( leaving Dublin to one side). In the last 35 years Meath have been more sucessful then the whole provience of Connacht put together in last 50 years.

Look.at Meaths neighbours. Kildare had similar gaa structures and more clubs. Kildare had great tradition and great supporters and similar size county similar size population and landscape. But when u compare u see how Meath have overachieved. Kildare have reached 1 All Ireland senior finals in 90 years Meath have reached 15 All senior finals in 90 years. kildare have won 2 All Ireland titles in all grade in 90 years Meath have won 11 All-Irelands in all grades in 60 years. Kildare have never won national league div 1 title. Meath have won 7 national league div 1 titles. So county u said has underachieved is the county after kerry that has overachieved on a grand scale in gaelic football terms more then any county in the country. In last 35 years , in the decades u said Meath did nothing in last 35 years only Dublin and kerry have been more sucessful then Meath. Thanks for proving my point people always undervalue underate Meath , always fail to recognise Meaths achievements.

PS U said this fella scored a point. It was not just any point. It was at very tight angle in dying seconds of All Ireland final to win an All Ireland title for his county. Thats just not any other point. .People always rave about Cluxton point in 2011. Reilly point was from play and when got the ball it he was in the corner near the sideline and he had to dummy Mayo best defenders Mortimer hold his nerve with seconds left and scored an exquistie point of his weaker foot from a very tight angle to win Sam Maguire. Now that is no ordinary point. That is the greatest winning point to win an All Ireland in last 50 years. Name a better point scored by player in dying seconds of the game that won Sam Maguire. There is not one.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 13/04/2019 20:43:55    2178703

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I'll try this again. Hopefully post approved this time.

Preliminary Round:
Louth v Wexford...........Louth
Kildare v Wicklow..........Kildare
Meath v Offaly...............Meath

Quarter-Finals:
Dubs v Louth..................Dubs
Kildare v Longford.........Longford
Meath v Carlow..............Meath
Westmeath v Laois........Westmeath

Semi-Finals:
Dubs v Longford.................Dubs
Meath v Westmeath.......Meath

Final:
Dubs v Meath..................Dubs"
As an outsider I don't agree. I think Westmeath would beat Meath. More experience & cohesion.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 13/04/2019 20:52:09    2178705

Replying To greysoil:  "As an outsider I don't agree. I think Westmeath would beat Meath. More experience & cohesion."
You mean for second time in 140 years. Yeah right.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/04/2019 21:13:18    2178709

Right so basically ye have won shag all in decades.1999 the last and had plenty of seconds. The point you mention sounds like a complete fluke and a pure Hail Mary job that would be missed 9 out of 10 times.

To quote you below

"Meath played in 1 All Ireland senior final in 00s and reached 3 All Ireland senior finals in 00s ".

This is more of what you spend too much time at. Move on to Kildare if you like as your Monaghan story had a leak ar*e in it.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 13/04/2019 21:50:52    2178711

Replying To greysoil:  "As an outsider I don't agree. I think Westmeath would beat Meath. More experience & cohesion."
Lads apologies for RD above. I like the lad but the verbal diarrhoea is making us look bad.

The way I see it I'd be very surprised if we lose to Ofally. Carlow not so much but I believe they will be missing 2 players and their manager due to suspension. So with that factored in I can't see meath not making the semi.

Now the winner of Westmeath and Laois I fear. On paper we would be favourites of course and I wouldn't take either for granted but if I'm a betting man I'm putting my money on Meath.

They were on a mission this year to get promoted. Now they're on a mission to reach the super 8's. I don't believe for one second they are thinking of winning leinster or the all Ireland. Everything is going to be geared towards winning a leinster semi because that will get us to the last round of the qualifiers.

I know the likes of Carlow, Westmeath and Laois will think the same but I'm backing meath.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 14/04/2019 00:54:50    2178717

I will just throw this out there. It will surely annoy the Dubs but sure there is no harm in that. Its more factual commentary really. It depends if u agree or disagree.

This is Dublins most sucess decade ever. This is Meaths worst decade since 1920s. This is kerrys worst decade along with 1990s since 1900s.

Dublin are strong when Meath and kerry are weak ??.

When kerry had great teams in 30s, 1950s, 1970s , 1980s and 00 Dublin were unsucessful.
Kerry won 4 All Irelands in early 1930s. Dublin won 0 All Irelands in 1930s. Kerry won 3 All Irelands in 1950s with their one the first greatest kerry team ever Dublin won All Ireland at end of 1958 , but struggled in most of 1950s.
Kerry were sucessful in late 70s and early 80s. Dublin's All Ireland sucess halted in this period.
Kerry won 5 All Irelands in 00s Dublin won 0 All-Irelands in 00s .
When Meath had great teams in late 40s early 50s mid late 60s late 80s and 90s Dublin were by largely unsucessful.

Between 1947 to 1954 Meath win 2 All Irelands 5 Leinster titles 2 national league title. Dublin win 0 titles.
Meath win 1 All Ireland 4 leinster titles from 1964 to 1971. Dublin win no titles .
Meath win 4 All Irelands 8 leinsters and 3 national league titles Between 1986 to 2001. Dublin win 1 All Ireland in this period.

When Meath and kerry have great teams Dublin struggle. Dublin can never deal.with great Meath and kerry teams. This current decade Meath and kerry have had poor era. Meaths worst since 1920s while Kerry All Ireland win in 2014 is bottom of the table in the last 50 years of kerry 16 All Irelands. There is no way u could place the kerry team of 2014 above kerry teams of 70s 80s and teams of 00s and two in a row kerry team of 1969 1970. If u made a list of All Irelands kerry teams which won All Irelands since 1969 to 2019, 2014 wud come 16th on the list of 16. This is been a very poor decade in kerry terms.

Kerry won 3 All Irelands in 1900s
Kerry won 2 All Irelands in 1910s
kerry won 3 All Irelands in 1920s
Kerry won 5 All Irelands in 1930s
Kerry won 3 All Irelands in 1940s
Kerry won 3 All Irelands in 1950s
Kerry won 3 All Irelands in 1960s
kerry won 4 All Irelands in 1970s
kerry won 5 All Irelands in 1980s
kerry won 1 All Ireland in 1990s
kerry won 5 All Irelands in 2000s
kerry won 1 All Ireland in 2010s

As u can see 1990s and this decade is kerry worst era decade since 1900s. Kerry havent produced a great player in this decade up to Clifford. No kerry player debuted in this era would be an all.time great. Kerry debuted Sean Murphy in 1950s. Kerry debuted Mick O Connell in 1960s. kerry debuted Pat Spillane Paudi O Se in 1970s. kerry debuted Maurice Fitzgerald in 1980s . Kerry debuted D O Se T O Se and S Moyihan in 1990s and kerry debuted M O Se and Cooper in 2000s.. And each of those decades u had other great like Mickey Sheedy Bomber Listen Declan Sullivan Donaghy all debuted in each decade. The poorest decade in pretty much kerry history, no great kerry players debut since 2010 up to Clifford ( and we still neee to see if he can be great ). Kerrys worst All Ireland winning team in 50 years . Kerry are weak Dublin prosper. Dublin cannot handle a great kerry team. And on the horizon there looks like another great kerry team.

Dublin won 0 All Irelands in 1930s. Meath won 0 All Irelands in 1930s.
Dublin won 1 All Ireland in 1940s. Meath won 1 All Ireland in 1950s.
Dublin won 1 All Ireland in 1950s. Meath won 1 All Ireland in 1950s.
Dublin won 1 All Ireland in 1960s. Meath won 1 All in 1960s.
Dublin won 3 All Irelands in 1970s. Meath won 0 All Irelands in 1970s.
Dublin won 1 All Ireland in 1980s..Meath won 2 All Irelands in 1980s.
Dublin won 1 All Ireland in 1990s. Meath won 2 All Irelands in 1990s.
Dublin won 0 All Ireland in 00s. Meath won 0.All in 00s.

So Meath went toe to toe with Dublin for nearly 90 years. But Meath stops going toe to toe with Dublin in this decade look what happens
Dublin wins 6 All Irelands in 2010s. Meath win 0 All Irelands in 2010.

Meath stop putting it up to Dublin and there is no great kerry or Meath team Dublin prosper. Dublin cannot deal with a great Meath or kerry team.

To explain this furher look at the greatest gaa figure in kerry football history Mick Dwyer and greatest gaa figure in Meath football history Sean Boylan record v the Dubs.

In 00s somerhing happens that changes the face of Dublin football for good. No not Cuxtons debut no not Brogans debut no not appointment of Caffrey or Gilroy as Dublin manager. The game changer for Dublin is Boylan and Dwyer retire from leinster championship after 30 years of being Dublins main nemisises.

In the last 45 over 90% of defeats of Dublin in leinster championship are by Dwyer and Boylan teams. In last 45 years since Heffernans Dublin appeared in 1974 and created modern Dublin over 30 % of all defeats Dublin have suffered in All Ireland championship were by Boylan and Dwyer teams.

The managers who defeated Dublin in leinster championship in last 45 years ( There was no managers before 45 years ago so this is a list of all the managers who have ever beaten Dublin in leinster championship )

1 Victory over Dubs for Eamon O Brien Meath manager 2010
1 Victory over Dubs for Paudi O Se Westmeath manager 2003
1 Victory over Dubs for whoever was laois Manager 1981
2 Victories over Dubs for Eugene McGee Offaly Manager 1980 1981
3 Victories and 1 draw over Dubs for Mick Dwyer kildare manager 1998 and 2000 laois 2003. Draw 1998.
8 Victories and 4 draws over Dubs for Sean Boylan Meath manager 1986 1987 1988 1990 1991 1996 1999 2001. Draw 1983 3 draws in 1991.

While if u add Mick Dwyers 5 victories over Dublin in the championship, between them Sean Boylan and Mick Dwyer defeated Dublin 16 times and 5 draws in All Ireland championship in 30 years. Before Dwyer took over kerry Dublin were All Ireland champions., looked like they were going to dominate football for a decade. And when Boylan took over Meath Dublin were just as dominate in leinster as they are now and just as dominate in the whole country as they r now. The only difference they can beat kerry now they couldnt in late 70s and 80s.

So thats the record of how a Mesthman and kerryman teams stopped Dublin dominating football. But Meath and kerry teams were beating Dublin and keeping the Dubs long at bay before Dywer and Boylan. Between 1943 and 2010 Dublin defeated kerry twice in championship in 1976 1977. They defeated kerry in 1942 but that doesn't count as it was country lads playing for Dublin up to mid 40s. kerry played Dublin in All Ireland in 1942 and best kerry footballer on the field was playing for Dublin. And best footballer on the field was longford man playing for Dublin. When Dublin men started playing for Dublin kerry only lost twice in 70 years in the championship v Dublin.

Between 1958 and 1997 every Leinster title was was won by Meath Dublin and Offaly. If it wasnt for Meath and lesser extent Offaly. Dublin would have won nearly 40 leinster titles in a row in 1950s 60s 70s 80s and 90s.

So as I said at the start. When Meath and kerry are weak Dublin prosper. Dublin cannot deal.with great Meath and kerry teams. Dublin have had their greatest decade ever greatest team ever when there is no great kerry or Meath manager and Meath and kerry are having their worst decade in over 100 years pretty much. Is it coincidence or not.The facts tell one story Im sure the Dubs will tell.another story. Me Im saying nothing. I will leave it to u to form ur own opinion.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 14/04/2019 01:19:25    2178718

I will just throw this out there. It will surely annoy the Dubs but sure there is no harm in that. Its more factual commentary really. It depends if u agree or disagree.

This is Dublins most sucess decade ever. This is Meaths worst decade since 1920s. This is kerrys worst decade along with 1990s since 1900s.

Dublin are strong when Meath and kerry are weak ??.

When kerry had great teams in 30s, 1950s, 1970s , 1980s and 00 Dublin were unsucessful.
Kerry won 4 All Irelands in early 1930s. Dublin won 0 All Irelands in 1930s. Kerry won 3 All Irelands in 1950s with their one the first greatest kerry team ever Dublin won All Ireland at end of 1958 , but struggled in most of 1950s.
Kerry were sucessful in late 70s and early 80s. Dublin's All Ireland sucess halted in this period.
Kerry won 5 All Irelands in 00s Dublin won 0 All-Irelands in 00s .
When Meath had great teams in late 40s early 50s mid late 60s late 80s and 90s Dublin were by largely unsucessful.

Between 1947 to 1954 Meath win 2 All Irelands 5 Leinster titles 2 national league title. Dublin win 0 titles.
Meath win 1 All Ireland 4 leinster titles from 1964 to 1971. Dublin win no titles .
Meath win 4 All Irelands 8 leinsters and 3 national league titles Between 1986 to 2001. Dublin win 1 All Ireland in this period.

When Meath and kerry have great teams Dublin struggle. Dublin can never deal.with great Meath and kerry teams. This current decade Meath and kerry have had poor era. Meaths worst since 1920s while Kerry All Ireland win in 2014 is bottom of the table in the last 50 years of kerry 16 All Irelands. There is no way u could place the kerry team of 2014 above kerry teams of 70s 80s and teams of 00s and two in a row kerry team of 1969 1970. If u made a list of All Irelands kerry teams which won All Irelands since 1969 to 2019, 2014 wud come 16th on the list of 16. This is been a very poor decade in kerry terms.

Kerry won 3 All Irelands in 1900s
Kerry won 2 All Irelands in 1910s
kerry won 3 All Irelands in 1920s
Kerry won 5 All Irelands in 1930s
Kerry won 3 All Irelands in 1940s
Kerry won 3 All Irelands in 1950s
Kerry won 3 All Irelands in 1960s
kerry won 4 All Irelands in 1970s
kerry won 5 All Irelands in 1980s
kerry won 1 All Ireland in 1990s
kerry won 5 All Irelands in 2000s
kerry won 1 All Ireland in 2010s

As u can see 1990s and this decade is kerry worst era decade since 1900s. Kerry havent produced a great player in this decade up to Clifford. No kerry player debuted in this era would be an all.time great. Kerry debuted Sean Murphy in 1950s. Kerry debuted Mick O Connell in 1960s. kerry debuted Pat Spillane Paudi O Se in 1970s. kerry debuted Maurice Fitzgerald in 1980s . Kerry debuted D O Se T O Se and S Moyihan in 1990s and kerry debuted M O Se and Cooper in 2000s.. And each of those decades u had other great like Mickey Sheedy Bomber Listen Declan Sullivan Donaghy all debuted in each decade. The poorest decade in pretty much kerry history, no great kerry players debut since 2010 up to Clifford ( and we still neee to see if he can be great ). Kerrys worst All Ireland winning team in 50 years . Kerry are weak Dublin prosper. Dublin cannot handle a great kerry team. And on the horizon there looks like another great kerry team.

Dublin won 0 All Irelands in 1930s. Meath won 0 All Irelands in 1930s.
Dublin won 1 All Ireland in 1940s. Meath won 1 All Ireland in 1940s.
Dublin won 1 All Ireland in 1950s. Meath won 1 All Ireland in 1950s.
Dublin won 1 All Ireland in 1960s. Meath won 1 All in 1960s.
Dublin won 3 All Irelands in 1970s. Meath won 0 All Irelands in 1970s.
Dublin won 1 All Ireland in 1980s..Meath won 2 All Irelands in 1980s.
Dublin won 1 All Ireland in 1990s. Meath won 2 All Irelands in 1990s.
Dublin won 0 All Ireland in 00s. Meath won 0.All in 00s.

So Meath went toe to toe with Dublin for nearly 90 years. But Meath stops going toe to toe with Dublin in this decade look what happens
Dublin wins 6 All Irelands in 2010s. Meath win 0 All Irelands in 2010.

Meath stop putting it up to Dublin and there is no great kerry or Meath team Dublin prosper. Dublin cannot deal with a great Meath or kerry team.

To explain this furher look at the greatest gaa figure in kerry football history Mick Dwyer and greatest gaa figure in Meath football history Sean Boylan record v the Dubs.

In 00s somerhing happens that changes the face of Dublin football for good. No not Cuxtons debut no not Brogans debut no not appointment of Caffrey or Gilroy as Dublin manager. The game changer for Dublin is Boylan and Dwyer retire from leinster championship after 30 years of being Dublins main nemisises.

In the last 45 over 90% of defeats of Dublin in leinster championship are by Dwyer and Boylan teams. In last 45 years since Heffernans Dublin appeared in 1974 and created modern Dublin over 30 % of all defeats Dublin have suffered in All Ireland championship were by Boylan and Dwyer teams.

The managers who defeated Dublin in leinster championship in last 45 years ( There was no managers before 45 years ago so this is a list of all the managers who have ever beaten Dublin in leinster championship )

1 Victory over Dubs for Eamon O Brien Meath manager 2010
1 Victory over Dubs for Paudi O Se Westmeath manager 2003
1 Victory over Dubs for whoever was laois Manager 1981
2 Victories over Dubs for Eugene McGee Offaly Manager 1980 1981
3 Victories and 1 draw over Dubs for Mick Dwyer kildare manager 1998 and 2000 laois 2003. Draw 1998.
8 Victories and 4 draws over Dubs for Sean Boylan Meath manager 1986 1987 1988 1990 1991 1996 1999 2001. Draw 1983 3 draws in 1991.

While if u add Mick Dwyers 5 victories over Dublin in the championship, between them Sean Boylan and Mick Dwyer defeated Dublin 16 times and 5 draws in All Ireland championship in 30 years. Before Dwyer took over kerry Dublin were All Ireland champions., looked like they were going to dominate football for a decade. And when Boylan took over Meath Dublin were just as dominate in leinster as they are now and just as dominate in the whole country as they r now. The only difference they can beat kerry now they couldnt in late 70s and 80s.

So thats the record of how a Mesthman and kerryman teams stopped Dublin dominating football. But Meath and kerry teams were beating Dublin and keeping the Dubs long at bay before Dywer and Boylan. Between 1943 and 2010 Dublin defeated kerry twice in championship in 1976 1977. They defeated kerry in 1942 but that doesn't count as it was country lads playing for Dublin up to mid 40s. kerry played Dublin in All Ireland in 1942 and best kerry footballer on the field was playing for Dublin. And best footballer on the field was longford man playing for Dublin. When Dublin men started playing for Dublin kerry only lost twice in 70 years in the championship v Dublin.

Between 1958 and 1997 every Leinster title was was won by Meath Dublin and Offaly. If it wasnt for Meath and lesser extent Offaly. Dublin would have won nearly 40 leinster titles in a row in 1950s 60s 70s 80s and 90s.

So as I said at the start. When Meath and kerry are weak Dublin prosper. Dublin cannot deal.with great Meath and kerry teams. Dublin have had their greatest decade ever greatest team ever when there is no great kerry or Meath manager and Meath and kerry are having their worst decade in over 100 years pretty much. Is it coincidence or not.The facts tell one story Im sure the Dubs will tell.another story. Me Im saying nothing. I will leave it to u to form ur own opinion.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 14/04/2019 01:32:38    2178719

Just a postscript to my last message

These are top 5 most sucessful managers over Dublin .The football managers who have defeated Dublin most in the All Ireland championship ever

1 Sean Boylan Meath manager 8 victories and 4 draws over Dublin in championship
2 Mick Dwyer kerry / Kildare / laois manager 8 victories and 1 draw over Dublin in championship
3 Mickey Harte Tyrone manager 2 victories and 1 draw over Dublin in championship
4 Joe Kiernan Armagh manager 2 Victories, Eugene McGee two victories over Dublin in championship

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 14/04/2019 01:49:21    2178720

I made a mistake to my list in above message I left out great Paudi O Se and Jack Connor . Here is a new proper list.

These are top 6 most sucessful managers over Dublin .The football managers who have defeated Dublin most in the All Ireland championship ever

1 Sean Boylan Meath manager 8 victories and 4 draws over Dublin in championship
2 Mick Dwyer kerry / Kildare / laois manager 8 victories and 1 draw over Dublin in championship
3 Mickey Harte Tyrone manager 2 victories and 1 draw over Dublin in championship
4 Joe Kiernan Armagh manager 2 Victories over Dublin in the championship , Eugene McGee Offaly manager two victories over Dublin in championship , Paudi O Se kerry and Westmeath manager 2 victories over Dublin in championship. Jack Connor 2 victories over Dublin in championship.

The rest of the managers who have defeated Dublin , managers with 1 victory over Dublin in the championship

Loais manager 1981 1 victory over Dublin
Billy Morgan Cork Manager 1989 1 victory over Dublin
Brian McEniff Donegal manager 1992 1 victory over Dublin
Eamon Coleman Derry manager 1993 1 victory over Dublin
Pete McGrath Down manager 1994 1 victory over Dublin
Mickey Moran Mayo manager 2006 1 victory over Dublin
Pat O Se kerry manager 2007 1 victory over Dublin
Eamon O Brien Meath manager 2010 1 victory over Dublin
James Horan Mayo manager 2012 1 victory over Dublin
Jimmy McGuiness Donegal manager 2014 1 victory over Dublin

So that is list of every manager who defeated Dublin in championship between 1974 and 2018. No managers really before 1974. Modern Dublin gaa begins in 1974. So it is pretty much a definite list of all.the managers who have ever beaten Dublin in the championship.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 14/04/2019 02:04:41    2178721

Replying To Furlong1949:  "U said Meath have done nothing for decades. Well u r wrong and so prove my point. I said people always downgrade underated and undervalue Meaths achievements. With ur statement on Meath above saying Meath have done nothing for decades , u r doing exactly that , u r downgrading undervaling not recognising Meaths achievements.

It doesnt matter how counties view us. But I am just drawing attention to the fact that people in the past, people in the present and people like good self always downgrade devalue not recognise Meaths achievements. U proved my point. Thank you.

Meath have done nothing for decades is false. Meath have been second most successful team in leinster in this decade.
1 Dublin 8 leinster
2 Meath 1 leinster 4 leinster final appearances could be 5.
3 Westmeath 2 leinster final appearances
4 Loais kildare Wexford laois 1 leinster final appearance each.

It is not as sucessful decade for Meath football in leinster as before. But we remain in the top 2 in leinster something we have done in every decade since 1920s. And outside All Ireland winning Meath Dublin Offaly teams 1 leinster title and 4 or 5 leinster final appearances would be seen as a very sucessful era in leinster football.

We also were the only county in the country to hammer the greatest Dublin team ever in championship in this decade, the decade u said we did nothing.

U said we did nothing for decades. Well that includes 00s the decade before this one a decade we were more sucessful then Dublin in many ways. We were most sucessful leinster outside provience in 00s.

We defeated the great kerry team of 00s by a record 15 points in All Ireland semi final, kerrys worst defeat in 100 years. Dublin failed to beat great kerry team of 00s. We defeated great Tyrone team of 00s in All Ireland quarter final. Dublin failed to beat great Tyrone team of 00s. And we also defeated Mayo in All Ireland quarter final in 00s. Dublin couldn't beat Kerry Tyrone or Mayo in 00s. Meath did.

Meath reached 1 All Ireland senior final in 00s. Dublin reached 0 All-Ireland senior final in 00s. Meath played in 1 All Ireland senior final in 00s and reached 3 All Ireland senior finals in 00s making it more sucessful then Dublin in 00s or any team in leinster in the decade u said Meath did nothing. After Kerry Tyrone Cork and Armagh Meath were one of most sucessful teams of the decade u said we did nothing.

U said Meath did nothing in decades is that 3 or 4 decades. Well in 90s we were team of 90s winning 2 All Ireland senior titles playing 4 All Ireland senior finals winning 2 national league div 1 titles and winning 4 leinster titles in an era that is considered the most competitive era in leinster football history. In 80s we produced one of greatest teams of all time.

So when u said we did nothing for decades u r wrong. And u prove my point.

Yes fair play to Monaghan. But yes Meath are having worst decade for generations. But so are so many strong counties. This has been worst decade in generations for Meath Galway kildare ( only 80s ) Cork Down Derry Armagh Laois Offaly.

Regards underachieving. Meath after kerry are a county that has overachieved more then any other. Meath overachieved for 80 years while Dublin underachieved for 80 years. The top 5 sucessful counties are kerry Dublin Galway Meath and Cork. After kerry , Dublin Galway and Cork should bein top 5 counties. Look.at their stature in Irish society they are the three nost iconic famous powerful counties in Ireland. They are the social economic centres of their provience. Meath is an average midlands county in comparison in terms of stature wealth and population. Yet Meath went toe to toe with Dublin Kerry Dublin Cork and Galway for decades from 30s to 00s.

Look at where Meath comes from in Ireland. A football mad area with football mad counties. But Meath have won more All-Irelands in the last 35 years then whole rest of leinster have won together in last 60 years ( leaving Dublin to one side). In the last 35 years Meath have been more sucessful then the whole provience of Connacht put together in last 50 years.

Look.at Meaths neighbours. Kildare had similar gaa structures and more clubs. Kildare had great tradition and great supporters and similar size county similar size population and landscape. But when u compare u see how Meath have overachieved. Kildare have reached 1 All Ireland senior finals in 90 years Meath have reached 15 All senior finals in 90 years. kildare have won 2 All Ireland titles in all grade in 90 years Meath have won 11 All-Irelands in all grades in 60 years. Kildare have never won national league div 1 title. Meath have won 7 national league div 1 titles. So county u said has underachieved is the county after kerry that has overachieved on a grand scale in gaelic football terms more then any county in the country. In last 35 years , in the decades u said Meath did nothing in last 35 years only Dublin and kerry have been more sucessful then Meath. Thanks for proving my point people always undervalue underate Meath , always fail to recognise Meaths achievements.

PS U said this fella scored a point. It was not just any point. It was at very tight angle in dying seconds of All Ireland final to win an All Ireland title for his county. Thats just not any other point. .People always rave about Cluxton point in 2011. Reilly point was from play and when got the ball it he was in the corner near the sideline and he had to dummy Mayo best defenders Mortimer hold his nerve with seconds left and scored an exquistie point of his weaker foot from a very tight angle to win Sam Maguire. Now that is no ordinary point. That is the greatest winning point to win an All Ireland in last 50 years. Name a better point scored by player in dying seconds of the game that won Sam Maguire. There is not one."
Bit pointless all this rubbish talk about the past?? Who cares or remembers how many Leinster finals you were in over the last 10 years when Dublin have been using the Leinster championship as a warm up for the All Ireland?? How many players from 2010 are in your current squad?? Its 2019, Meath are in a better place than they were a few seasons ago, but a long way off the teams of 20 years ago. As for great points to win All Irelands, Steve McDonnell 2002, won ball in front of Moynihan turned without looking at the posts and slotted over. Armagh win my 1.

The_Biler (Westmeath) - Posts: 84 - 14/04/2019 09:06:41    2178726

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Lads apologies for RD above. I like the lad but the verbal diarrhoea is making us look bad.

The way I see it I'd be very surprised if we lose to Ofally. Carlow not so much but I believe they will be missing 2 players and their manager due to suspension. So with that factored in I can't see meath not making the semi.

Now the winner of Westmeath and Laois I fear. On paper we would be favourites of course and I wouldn't take either for granted but if I'm a betting man I'm putting my money on Meath.

They were on a mission this year to get promoted. Now they're on a mission to reach the super 8's. I don't believe for one second they are thinking of winning leinster or the all Ireland. Everything is going to be geared towards winning a leinster semi because that will get us to the last round of the qualifiers.

I know the likes of Carlow, Westmeath and Laois will think the same but I'm backing meath."
You apologized for me ? One thing never EVER do that again, 2 I think you will see that I was not the one who stated that we would beat dubs or other stuff , that was two other Meath posters. Read the thread. Finally you then go on to reiterate the exact same points I was making? Looks like the verbal diarrhea is catching:)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/04/2019 10:08:20    2178732