Leinster Football Championship

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Furlong your stats make our achievements as a county look even more impressive , fair play to you , you know your football history."
Just a couple of stats and facts before I go to back up what I am saying. These are all facts abd stats.

1 Dublin won the All Ireland in 1906 and 1907 with ten different players from 10 different counties.
In those two All Ireland finals in 1906 and 1907 not one Dublin man was on eitheir of those All Ireland Dublin winning teams.

2 When Dublin played Galway in 1942 they won with 2 midfielders for Dublin who were both kerrymen from Dingle. And 4 of the Dublin team that played in that final in total were from Dingle in kerry. The two kerrymen who played at centre field for Dublin were Mick Falvey and Joe Fitzgerald. Mick Falvey was member of civil service team which won Dublin senior club title in 1944. He was a civil servant.

In total when Dublin won the All Ireland v Galway in 1942 there was 6 kerry men playing for Dublin. There was also players from longford Sligo and Cork playing for Dublin. Only 4 of the starting 15 that won that All Ireland for Dublin were from Dublin.

3 Only 1 Dublin man has ever won senior All Ireland medal. Dublin have won 7 titles. The vast majority of Dublin hurling All Ireland winning teams were made up of gardai. Gardai from down the country. Garda Commissoner at the time Eoin Duffy transferred top hurlers from down the country and insisted they play for Dublin.

3 It was not til 1961 that a Dublin hurling team played in hurling All Ireland final and the team was made up of Dublin players. 14 players on that Dublin team in 1961 were from Dublin.

4 The GAA rule in 1930s and 1940s was a gaa player had to declare for the county they lived in. This was a massive advantage for Dublin.

5 In everyone of Dublins first 12 All-Irelands there was players from Wicklow.

6 In 1902 Bray Emmets won the All Ireland. Bray is in Wicklow. But what county did Bray Emmets represent Dublin. So Wicklow have won an All Ireland only their team was considered a Dublin team at time. Dublin team represented by a Bray Gaa club from Wicklow. won All Ireland in 1902.

7 Dublin won 14 All Irelands by 1924. They won 8 All Irelands in the following 80 years. It wasnt until 1903 that kerry won their first All Ireland, at which stage Dublin had 8. It took kerry less then 40 years to catch Dublin. Remwber football in first 40 years when Dublin won 14 All Irelands was influx. The rules were a mess , number of players and value of goal was always changing. And the effects of land War , Parnell Spilt, War of Independence, civil war meant the gaa was not organised well on a national scale.

8 Its not til 30s and 40s we see All-Ireland championship on a national scale similar to now. Up to 2010 Dublin had beaten kerry 6 times in championship ever. 3 of those victories over kerry by Dublin were prior to 1923. Dublin defeated kerry in 1923 the next victory was in 1976.
Dublin team up to 1950 were full of exiles from down the country who lived and worked in Dublin but who would have liked to have play for their own county. But this was possible. So Dublin teams of 1890s 1920s 1930s 1940s were made significantly of exiles from down the country.

9 One examole of many is Murt kelly. Murt kelly was dropped by kerry. A kerryman who moved to Dublin to work as a teacher. In 1934 this kerryman captained Dublin in the All Ireland semi final v his own county kerry. Dublin won. The game was in Tralee. The Kerry crowd were furious after match. The Dublin and Murt kelly left as quick after match as tensions where high with kerry men on the Dublin team and the kerry team. Incredibly kelly returned to kerry and scored a winning point in an All Ireland final v Dublin in 1941.

The modern kerry v Dublin rivalry begins in 1955. In the All Ireland 1955. For first time ever u had All Dublin team backboned by St Vincents team playing an all kerry team . It was a record crowd and such was excitement extra trains were put on throughout the country to see kerry who had won 2 All Irelands in 1952 1953 and lost final to Meath in 1954. But the main reason why was such an interest was , coz this was first Dublin team with majority of player born and bred in Dublin. 1955 Dublin team is the first indigenous Dublin team ever. Every Dublin team before this is residence based. Basically made up of playere residing in Dublin but not actually from Dublin. So 1955 really caught the countries imagination. Because for first time u had culchies v city slickers, Boggers v Jackeens.First time u had county kerry v City Dublin. It was first proper urban v rural All Ireland final.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 14/04/2019 21:17:30    2178834

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "You have some very good knowledge and insights there furlong, fair play to you. The main one of course that we can take 12 All Ireland's away from the dubs when they start closing in on our 37:-)."
You can do what ye want if we win the five in a row :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 14/04/2019 21:32:29    2178838

Replying To realdub:  "You can do what ye want if we win the five in a row :D"
May go on a months long holiday if that happens but can have no complaints as it will be a great achievement -).

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 14/04/2019 22:48:28    2178856

Thanks for the above comments Royaldunne ( a legend ) , KY4SSAM2015 , Kingdomboy1 , your all gentleman.
Thanks for the comments also username they are appreciated and ur a gentleman also.

Just regards some of ur comments. I am not anti Dublin but I know that Meath v Dublin rivalry is central to Meath football and was once to Dublin. U have a great team at the moment . The second greatest team of all.time and win the 5 in a row u will be greatest team of all.time. Great times to be Dub. The current Dublin team are credit to their county. A Great GAA county.

1 Yes I agree the explosion of Dublin gaa in the south side of suburbs has really pushed Dublin up a level. And u r right. Dublin produced great team every 50 years or so eg 1920s 1970s 2010s. Now u will see great Dublin team every second decade or so eg 2010s 2030s 2050s 2070s. U will. dip but instead of being in top 4 or 5 teams u will be in top 2. The next 20 or 30 years will be a battle between u and kerry for footballs top county. I can see another great Dublin team in 2030s. There is a massive surge in primary secondary school numbers in Dublin in this decade. In 2030s those youngsters who have grow up watching Dublin winning Sam annually will be on Dublin teams of 2030s. Sucess breeds sucess.

3 Not to long ago Meath was Dublins biggest game of the year. Now its just another game. But in 80s 90s and early 00s. Every year Dublin team set out to win Sam Maguire and beat Meath in championship.
Between 1984 and 1996 there was 9 Meath v Dublin leinster finals in 12 years. There was 5 Meath v Dublin leinster finals in a row between 1986 and 1990. And there was no back door. And I can ensure beating Meath meant everything to Dublin then. I was told so by many Dublin supporters what it meant to beat us by 10 points in 1995 and in 1989 by a couple of points then and even now.

I have read books articles interviews from Dublin players from that time , who admitted that. Alan Brogan last year said when he was debuted in 2001 the only thing he wanted in that year was to beat Meath. Thats all.they talked about in the Dublin camp in the lead up to championship. He said in early part of his career Dublin players and management the biggest game and the most important game to win was beat Meath. Meath defeated 9 times and 3 draws v Dublin in 12 years in the championship in 80s and 90s. Its understandable why Dublin v Meath was a massive game back then for Dublin players. Only an All Ireland final.was bigger. There was also no back door back then. And if they defeated Meath, Dublin knew they would have won leinster and have a right go at Sam. The first ever championship game not played on Sunday was Meath v Dublin. The first ever championship game televised live on TV that was not an All Ireland final semi final or Railway cup final was a Meath v Dublin championship match. The whole country wanted to see Meath v Dublin live back then. It was biggest game in gaelic football for near 20 years outside an All Ireland final. I used to go to Meath v Dublin games and people would travel all over the country to see Mick lyons up against Ciaran Duff.

Many people believe that 4 games Meath v Dublin saved the GAA. After Italia 90 there was a genuine feeling that socccer would take over GAA heartlands and soccer would threathen gaa popularity. I remeber articles debates after 1990 Italia , would the GAA suffer. Then 1991 4 games happened and people saw that as a turning point in modern gaa. Bertie Ahern said they should have built statues outside Croke Park to both teams in what they did to ensure gaa popularity continued. And many in Dublin said 91 helped with the growth of GAA in Dublin afterwards.

So there was time when Dublin supporters teams players and managers main aim was to beat Meath , and beating Meath was one of the highlight or the main highlight of the year. Dublin supporters have said to me and ex Dublin players and managers have said it in books and articles.

I have been at every leinster final.since 1983. And when Dublin defeated Meath in 1989 and 1995 it was the wildest celebrations I saw from Dublin supporters in any leinster final I ever saw Dublin compete in the last 30 years. The roar when Joe McNally hit net in 89 final to beat Meath was something else.

4 Regards Meath population firstly it guratees nothing look at Wicklow , look at Antrim ( I know half population are not interested) look at limerick ( hurling 1 title in 80 years up to last year, no football title since 1890s ) look at kildare when they disappeared from 1930s to early 90s. Also Meaths population growth is with people who have very little connection to the county. Mostly Dubs. 82% of people who live in Cork are from Cork. In the last census 27 % of people who live in Meath are from Meath. We need to tap into this population growth.

Meath won 7 All Irelands from 1930s to 1999. Meaths population exploded in 00s. So this population growth happened before Meaths All Ireland win. Meath when they won 7 All Irelands was an average midlands county. Yes there is a boom on east coast at moment. Meath pre 2000 , Meath was very much a more rural county and there was few job opportunities. The unemployment rate in Meath in 80s was 20%. Yes Meaths pop and affluence is prior 2000. Meaths population grew by 5 % in last 5 years.

Meaths population in 1996. Meath won All Ireland in 1996.

Meath population in 1996 was 109000
Meath population in 2019 is now 195000

Meath last reached a Final in 2001
Meaths population in 2002 was 134000.
Meaths population now is 195000

kerrys population in 1996 was 120000
Mayo population in 1996 was 110000
Donegal population in 1996 was 120000.
Meath population in 1996 was 109000.

When Meath played Mayo in 1996 Mayo had a bigger population.
( The growth in population in Meath and kildare in last ten years is the astest growth any county outside Dublin has witnessed in the history of the Irish state.)

So Meath population when Meath last won Sam was lower then Mayo Donegal kerry. Meath population has grown by 50% since Meath last won Sam. Basically Meaths population when Meath last won Sam was 100000 now it is 200000. So there is quite a difference between Meath population today and Meath in 1999.

But Meath is an average county compared Dublin Cork and Galway up 2000. Dublin Cork Galway are the three most iconic world famous Irish counties. Is Meath a iconic world famous county?. Cork is centre of ecomonic social and cultural life in Munster for hundreds of years. Galway is centre of economic social and cultural life in West of Ireland for hundreds of years. Dublin is centre of economic social and cultural life in Ireland for hundreds of years. These counties are no surprise in the top 5 most sucessful counties. Meath is and never was a centre of social economic cultural in Ireland. The most u could say about Meath up to 2000 was it had good land and rich history going back to Ancient times and a yearly concert in Slane Castle. After that it doesnt standout like a Dublin kerry Cork or a Galway.

In the years 1930 to 2000 Meath was an avarage midlands county with average population with very few economic outlets other then farming. In Irish society Meath was not a standout county in stature. It stood out in football terms. But not in other social economic cultural and political spheres.

Meath won 3 All Irelands up to 1980s. 3 All Irelands is average for strong sucessful gaelic football county. It doesnt look much to Dublin or kerrys haul or kilkenny hurlers. But 3 All Irelands is a massive haul in football terms outside kerry and Dublin. Great sucessful strong traditional football counties like Tyrone have 3 All Irelands , Offfaly and Mayo have 3 All Irelands, kildare have 4 All Irelands, Donegal another great football county have 2 All Irelands, Armagh a great football county have 1 All Ireland. Around 3 All Irelands is the average for strong football counties. Meath are not up at kerry levels but they are up with Cork and Galway levels. Counties that should be in top 5. Meath up to 2000 shouldn't have being.

Winning an All Ireland is achievement for kerry and Dublin and kilkenny hurlers but it not a remarkable achievement. For everyone else it is a remarkable achievement. Look at Mayo. Mayo a great football county are on 3 All-Irelands anf look how hard it has been for them to win a 4th. 70 years and 8 finals and still waiting for a fourth. Look at kildare a great football county. Have won 4 All Irelands but are 90 years on and still.waiting to win their 5th. Tyrone didnt win their first All Ireland for 120 years and Donegal it took 100 years. All great achievements when Donegal won in 92 and Tyrone won in 03 for first time. I think sometimes people dont realised the significance of 1 All Ireland win and most great football counties are starved of All Ireland sucess for generations. When u see Cluxton winning 6 or Henry Shefflin winning ten it seems not easy, but very attainable. But for most gaa counties an All-Ireland win is almost impossible. Maybe a new championship format would help to a wider spread of winners and more democracy in who wins.
Anyway thats enough from me.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 14/04/2019 22:59:59    2178857

That is an excellent post Furlong and to be honest, you've swayed me a fair bit, maybe not so much on the unbreakable bond bit between Meath and Dublin in terms of rivalary hisrtocially but in that period it was definitively live, I was at those four games my self (paper hat that melted in the rain and all).

I've learned a bit here particularly the stat on Meath success waking with the increase in population, that is a startiling stat and one I suspect with significant deeper meaning. Perhaps there is a tangent with Dublin with all those invaders from different counties to make a new county identity eventually.

That is fantastic point about how actually hard it is to win an All Ireland, it evokes a lot of memories when we were winning nothing, But it particularly relevent as we amass them, to hold each with significance and value. It's particuarly relevent to us as we bandy out numbers and stringing them up moving to a broader goal, so that is a really valuable learning point and reminder for me and thanks for the reminder.

I suppose in context when so many counties feel and expieremce the monumental effort it takes to win one, we and probably Kerry must be conscious not to be arrogant, a lesson in humility is sometimes the most valuable lesson you can learn. Hopefully we as a county practice that as the year unfolds.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/04/2019 00:06:28    2178862

Do posts on here have to be so long winded? Especially when they are basically repetitive. At least I don't need the sleeping tablets now.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 15/04/2019 02:46:51    2178864

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks for the above comments Royaldunne ( a legend ) , KY4SSAM2015 , Kingdomboy1 , your all gentleman.
Thanks for the comments also username they are appreciated and ur a gentleman also.

Just regards some of ur comments. I am not anti Dublin but I know that Meath v Dublin rivalry is central to Meath football and was once to Dublin. U have a great team at the moment . The second greatest team of all.time and win the 5 in a row u will be greatest team of all.time. Great times to be Dub. The current Dublin team are credit to their county. A Great GAA county.

1 Yes I agree the explosion of Dublin gaa in the south side of suburbs has really pushed Dublin up a level. And u r right. Dublin produced great team every 50 years or so eg 1920s 1970s 2010s. Now u will see great Dublin team every second decade or so eg 2010s 2030s 2050s 2070s. U will. dip but instead of being in top 4 or 5 teams u will be in top 2. The next 20 or 30 years will be a battle between u and kerry for footballs top county. I can see another great Dublin team in 2030s. There is a massive surge in primary secondary school numbers in Dublin in this decade. In 2030s those youngsters who have grow up watching Dublin winning Sam annually will be on Dublin teams of 2030s. Sucess breeds sucess.

3 Not to long ago Meath was Dublins biggest game of the year. Now its just another game. But in 80s 90s and early 00s. Every year Dublin team set out to win Sam Maguire and beat Meath in championship.
Between 1984 and 1996 there was 9 Meath v Dublin leinster finals in 12 years. There was 5 Meath v Dublin leinster finals in a row between 1986 and 1990. And there was no back door. And I can ensure beating Meath meant everything to Dublin then. I was told so by many Dublin supporters what it meant to beat us by 10 points in 1995 and in 1989 by a couple of points then and even now.

I have read books articles interviews from Dublin players from that time , who admitted that. Alan Brogan last year said when he was debuted in 2001 the only thing he wanted in that year was to beat Meath. Thats all.they talked about in the Dublin camp in the lead up to championship. He said in early part of his career Dublin players and management the biggest game and the most important game to win was beat Meath. Meath defeated 9 times and 3 draws v Dublin in 12 years in the championship in 80s and 90s. Its understandable why Dublin v Meath was a massive game back then for Dublin players. Only an All Ireland final.was bigger. There was also no back door back then. And if they defeated Meath, Dublin knew they would have won leinster and have a right go at Sam. The first ever championship game not played on Sunday was Meath v Dublin. The first ever championship game televised live on TV that was not an All Ireland final semi final or Railway cup final was a Meath v Dublin championship match. The whole country wanted to see Meath v Dublin live back then. It was biggest game in gaelic football for near 20 years outside an All Ireland final. I used to go to Meath v Dublin games and people would travel all over the country to see Mick lyons up against Ciaran Duff.

Many people believe that 4 games Meath v Dublin saved the GAA. After Italia 90 there was a genuine feeling that socccer would take over GAA heartlands and soccer would threathen gaa popularity. I remeber articles debates after 1990 Italia , would the GAA suffer. Then 1991 4 games happened and people saw that as a turning point in modern gaa. Bertie Ahern said they should have built statues outside Croke Park to both teams in what they did to ensure gaa popularity continued. And many in Dublin said 91 helped with the growth of GAA in Dublin afterwards.

So there was time when Dublin supporters teams players and managers main aim was to beat Meath , and beating Meath was one of the highlight or the main highlight of the year. Dublin supporters have said to me and ex Dublin players and managers have said it in books and articles.

I have been at every leinster final.since 1983. And when Dublin defeated Meath in 1989 and 1995 it was the wildest celebrations I saw from Dublin supporters in any leinster final I ever saw Dublin compete in the last 30 years. The roar when Joe McNally hit net in 89 final to beat Meath was something else.

4 Regards Meath population firstly it guratees nothing look at Wicklow , look at Antrim ( I know half population are not interested) look at limerick ( hurling 1 title in 80 years up to last year, no football title since 1890s ) look at kildare when they disappeared from 1930s to early 90s. Also Meaths population growth is with people who have very little connection to the county. Mostly Dubs. 82% of people who live in Cork are from Cork. In the last census 27 % of people who live in Meath are from Meath. We need to tap into this population growth.

Meath won 7 All Irelands from 1930s to 1999. Meaths population exploded in 00s. So this population growth happened before Meaths All Ireland win. Meath when they won 7 All Irelands was an average midlands county. Yes there is a boom on east coast at moment. Meath pre 2000 , Meath was very much a more rural county and there was few job opportunities. The unemployment rate in Meath in 80s was 20%. Yes Meaths pop and affluence is prior 2000. Meaths population grew by 5 % in last 5 years.

Meaths population in 1996. Meath won All Ireland in 1996.

Meath population in 2019 is now 195000

Meath last reached a Final in 2001
Meaths population in 2002 was 134000.
Meaths population now is 195000

kerrys population in 1996 was 120000
Mayo population in 1996 was 110000
Donegal population in 1996 was 120000.
Meath population in 1996 was 109000.

When Meath played Mayo in 1996 Mayo had a bigger population.
( The growth in population in Meath and kildare in last ten years is the astest growth any county outside Dublin has witnessed in the history of the Irish state.)

So Meath population when Meath last won Sam was lower then Mayo Donegal kerry. Meath population has grown by 50% since Meath last won Sam. Basically Meaths population when Meath last won Sam was 100000 now it is 200000. So there is quite a difference between Meath population today and Meath in 1999.

But Meath is an average county compared Dublin Cork and Galway up 2000. Dublin Cork Galway are the three most iconic world famous Irish counties. Is Meath a iconic world famous county?. Cork is centre of ecomonic social and cultural life in Munster for hundreds of years. Galway is centre of economic social and cultural life in West of Ireland for hundreds of years. Dublin is centre of economic social and cultural life in Ireland for hundreds of years. These counties are no surprise in the top 5 most sucessful counties. Meath is and never was a centre of social economic cultural in Ireland. The most u could say about Meath up to 2000 was it had good land and rich history going back to Ancient times and a yearly concert in Slane Castle. After that it doesnt standout like a Dublin kerry Cork or a Galway.

In the years 1930 to 2000 Meath was an avarage midlands county with average population with very few economic outlets other then farming. In Irish society Meath was not a standout county in stature. It stood out in football terms. But not in other social economic cultural and political spheres.

Meath won 3 All Irelands up to 1980s. 3 All Irelands is average for strong sucessful gaelic football county. It doesnt look much to Dublin or kerrys haul or kilkenny hurlers. But 3 All Irelands is a massive haul in football terms outside kerry and Dublin. Great sucessful strong traditional football counties like Tyrone have 3 All Irelands , Offfaly and Mayo have 3 All Irelands, kildare have 4 All Irelands, Donegal another great football county have 2 All Irelands, Armagh a great football county have 1 All Ireland. Around 3 All Irelands is the average for strong football counties. Meath are not up at kerry levels but they are up with Cork and Galway levels. Counties that should be in top 5. Meath up to 2000 shouldn't have being.

Winning an All Ireland is achievement for kerry and Dublin and kilkenny hurlers but it not a remarkable achievement. For everyone else it is a remarkable achievement. Look at Mayo. Mayo a great football county are on 3 All-Irelands anf look how hard it has been for them to win a 4th. 70 years and 8 finals and still waiting for a fourth. Look at kildare a great football county. Have won 4 All Irelands but are 90 years on and still.waiting to win their 5th. Tyrone didnt win their first All Ireland for 120 years and Donegal it took 100 years. All great achievements when Donegal won in 92 and Tyrone won in 03 for first time. I think sometimes people dont realised the significance of 1 All Ireland win and most great football counties are starved of All Ireland sucess for generations. When u see Cluxton winning 6 or Henry Shefflin winning ten it seems not easy, but very attainable. But for most gaa counties an All-Ireland win is almost impossible. Maybe a new championship format would help to a wider spread of winners and more democracy in who wins.
Anyway thats enough from me."
Duff and Murphy got our goals in 89', otherwise, fascinating :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 15/04/2019 07:40:17    2178868

Let's call a spade a spade - RD set up this thread so he could talk about Meath as his excitement hits epic heights. However, a blind man could have predicted it descending into farce. Dublin will win Leinster - this is a given - they are miles ahead of everyone. I watched Meath struggle to put away a woeful Cork team in PUR this year. Can't see them making the super 8's.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 272 - 15/04/2019 09:14:37    2178878

Replying To realdub:  "Duff and Murphy got our goals in 89', otherwise, fascinating :D"
You wrote plenty there about Meath - quite insightful. One thing however. Can a county be described as a midlands county if it has a coastline?

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 15/04/2019 10:19:54    2178891

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Let's call a spade a spade - RD set up this thread so he could talk about Meath as his excitement hits epic heights. However, a blind man could have predicted it descending into farce. Dublin will win Leinster - this is a given - they are miles ahead of everyone. I watched Meath struggle to put away a woeful Cork team in PUR this year. Can't see them making the super 8's."
Ah royaldunne is just a passionate Meath supporter, if we had more people in Meath with his attitude we'd be in much better health today. Also he does a great job of winding people up on HS, and long may that continue.

Anyway look, most people in Meath are well aware of challenge required to overturn the Dubs, but I love the amount of scorn leinster counties receive when even hint that they're hoping to challenge Dublin nevermind beat them.

The world and his mother might well know that Dublin are going to hammer the ever living jaysus out of every other team in leinster and that's fine. But each squad shouldn't think that way, if you've already lost the mental battle then there's no point in showing up for the physical battle!

It's good to have a bit of ambition and aim high.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/04/2019 12:31:27    2178919

Replying To OGarmaile:  "You wrote plenty there about Meath - quite insightful. One thing however. Can a county be described as a midlands county if it has a coastline?"
Not for much longer. There is talk that Louth and County Fingal will be sharing the Royal County Coast between them. The sharing will begin at the river nanny in Laytown so everything north of the river will be in the wonderful Wee County and everything south of the river will be in County Fingal.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 15/04/2019 12:42:01    2178926

Replying To OLLIE:  "Not for much longer. There is talk that Louth and County Fingal will be sharing the Royal County Coast between them. The sharing will begin at the river nanny in Laytown so everything north of the river will be in the wonderful Wee County and everything south of the river will be in County Fingal."
Sure the councils and all do their own thing. The GAA unlikely to go along with that.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 15/04/2019 13:38:28    2178942

Replying To royaldunne:  "I think that some of the best games of football over last couple of years has been in Leinster (obviously not involving Dublin) so looking forward to more of the same. Think it will be a Kildare v dubs, Meath be Westmeath semi finals, with both Dublin and Meath in the final."
Id say the majority of Meath folk look at his posts through their fingers with their hands over their face, he cant speak for Meath people surely.

Chubby (Louth) - Posts: 102 - 15/04/2019 14:38:04    2178959

Replying To OGarmaile:  "Sure the councils and all do their own thing. The GAA unlikely to go along with that."
Ah sure once there is money involved the GAA won't turn their noses up at it.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 15/04/2019 14:44:52    2178962

Replying To Htaem:  "Ah royaldunne is just a passionate Meath supporter, if we had more people in Meath with his attitude we'd be in much better health today. Also he does a great job of winding people up on HS, and long may that continue.

Anyway look, most people in Meath are well aware of challenge required to overturn the Dubs, but I love the amount of scorn leinster counties receive when even hint that they're hoping to challenge Dublin nevermind beat them.

The world and his mother might well know that Dublin are going to hammer the ever living jaysus out of every other team in leinster and that's fine. But each squad shouldn't think that way, if you've already lost the mental battle then there's no point in showing up for the physical battle!

It's good to have a bit of ambition and aim high."
I know Htaem, my post was more tongue in cheek than anything. I would love to see Meath back challenging at the top table again, and it appears they're on the right track. A pity my own county can't get their act together. The Meath v Cork battles of the late 80's will live long in the memory.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 272 - 15/04/2019 15:06:50    2178969

Replying To TheUsername:  "That is an excellent post Furlong and to be honest, you've swayed me a fair bit, maybe not so much on the unbreakable bond bit between Meath and Dublin in terms of rivalary hisrtocially but in that period it was definitively live, I was at those four games my self (paper hat that melted in the rain and all).

I've learned a bit here particularly the stat on Meath success waking with the increase in population, that is a startiling stat and one I suspect with significant deeper meaning. Perhaps there is a tangent with Dublin with all those invaders from different counties to make a new county identity eventually.

That is fantastic point about how actually hard it is to win an All Ireland, it evokes a lot of memories when we were winning nothing, But it particularly relevent as we amass them, to hold each with significance and value. It's particuarly relevent to us as we bandy out numbers and stringing them up moving to a broader goal, so that is a really valuable learning point and reminder for me and thanks for the reminder.

I suppose in context when so many counties feel and expieremce the monumental effort it takes to win one, we and probably Kerry must be conscious not to be arrogant, a lesson in humility is sometimes the most valuable lesson you can learn. Hopefully we as a county practice that as the year unfolds."
Thanks for the comments Username. If I have convinced a great Dublin supporter like urself my work is done here .

I am very Meath biased and definitely have a bit of chip on my shoulder about Meath but I am convinced of 3 or 4 things and I will argue them til the cows come home. Everything else I am easy about and open to listening to anything . The areas always get me going is Mayo and 96 ,we were better team better players and Meath wud have 10 games out 10 with Mayo in 96. People only remember McHale and bouncing ball but the simple fact in both games in last 15 mins Mayo struggled to score point as Meath hit 1- 9. So that always gets me going. And that 90s Meath team while not on the level of Tyrone or kerry 00s team or Dublin currently , but still it was a brillant team that played some cracking attacking football and only for leinster was so competitive at time would have won 2 in a row in 97 and would have played Galway in 98 for three in a row. I will argue that. The other points we were more then a tough team we had some brilliant skillful players like Fay O Connell O Malley O Rourke Dowd Giles Geraghty Murphy Flynn.

Third is that Meath have a great record v Dublin and both counties have reacted to each other in past. Ur right its not some unbreakable bond and rivalry has declined since 2010 and stopped in 2014 but in its heyday it was biggest rivalry in the country and at its peak both counties reacted to each other on and off the field. But the last great Meath v Dublin game was 2 games in 2007. Since that its being in serious decline. And while we are not at kerry or Dublins level we were never at that level but we have in other ways overachieved.
And finally how bloody hard it is and so bloody hard it was to beat u guys in Dublin. Dublin have always been the most difficult team to beat in gaelic football for the last half century. Its no coincidence that when Meath kildare Tyrone Donegal Armagh Mayo Kerry all defeated Dublin they had their greatest teams and their greatest players and great managers. Dublin in front of hill 16 in a packed Croke Park is the closest thing to an All Ireland final. Its probaly even more atmosphere the All Ireland final coz u have no neutrals. Dublin have always being the most difficult county to beat. Its the same now but it has always being the same.

Ur right also we need to tap into pop growth. There is no gurantee. Just look at Wicklow great tradition of football great clubs great gaa people big population, but it never worked for them. But since 2000 Meaths population has gone from 100000 to 200000. No county with exception of kildare in the history of the state has had that sort of population transformation as both counties. If Meath and kildare can tap into that it will be massive boost to both , but it will take time and effort and a bit of luck and sucessful team . But for me the dream would be to live to see a Meath v Dublin All Ireland final. The atmosphere in the county would be unreal . That would be mother of all Meath v Dublin games. But I cannot see that happenening in the next ten years at least. I would love to see Mayo v Galway All Ireland final also. U cannot beat GAA rivalries.

Anyway thanks for the debate Username. U convinced me of many things also. it was like Mick Lyons v Charlie Redmond we tore into each other for 70 mins. But shook hands at end of 70 mins with no complaints. The proper Meath v Dublin way. Hopefully in the next ten years we both to go to see a competitive Meath v Dublin leinster final because for all Dublins sucess that u dont have great Meath v Dublin leinster finals anymore that is something missing in terms of the crack the occassion the tension and the great warriors going to battle for both counties. We are years and years behind Dublin and kerry but hopefully in the future we will close the gap. I can see it now 2041 the 50th anniversary of 1991 we have the first Meath v Dublin All Ireland final ever. And Kevin Foleys great grandson scores the winning penalty v Stephen Cluxton Jnr to stop Dublin winning another 5 in a row. We can only dream in Meath.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 15/04/2019 16:24:55    2178983

Replying To kildare73:  "Do posts on here have to be so long winded? Especially when they are basically repetitive. At least I don't need the sleeping tablets now."
Fair enough But I suspose we live in twitter culture where people prefer snappy one liners I dont do snappy one lines I am long winded repetitive king.
Yes I can be repeitive. But I try and back what I am saying with facts and stats. The thing with facts is u cannot change them they r always the same. So if I use facts I cannot change them as facts and stats are consistent. But I will take into consideration not to be as repetitive but its seems to my default setting when I write.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 15/04/2019 16:36:41    2178986

Replying To royaldunne:  "You mean for second time in 140 years. Yeah right."
The Leinster championship is on 121 years old?? Where you getting 140 out of?

The_Biler (Westmeath) - Posts: 84 - 15/04/2019 16:53:01    2178988

Replying To realdub:  "Duff and Murphy got our goals in 89', otherwise, fascinating :D"
Ur right. I think why I thought it was McNally was when Murphy got the goal McNally hung from the goal post bar after the goal . And the place went beserk. I have never seen Dublin supporters in such wild celebrations. U have to remember in 3 years Meath and Dublin had played up to that match 5 games with 4 Meath victories and 1 draw and Meath had hammered Dublin in league final in May. This is the best run of wins any county has ever had v Dublin in 100 years. So when Murphy hit the goal the place erupted and I have been at every Dublin leinster final I have never seen Dubs celebrate like they did when Murphy scored and Dublin won.

But that was the year the only year not 1991 or 1990, 89 was the year we should won an All Ireland and didnt along with 1997. We were best team in the country by a mile. Once O Malley Lyons Harnan McEntee O Rourke and Stafford were fit we were unbeatable. Lyons was injured in summer 89. He was on bench in 89 final. He cud have played but Sean didnt want to rush him back. The only mistake he really made. It cost us the three in a row. We had hammered Cork in league div 1 semi final and were unbeaten v Cork in 3 All Ireland finals in 2 years. So we have beaten them in semis. But lyons missing was the difference.

Duff scored a brillant goal right up middle of Meath defence. Harnan was moved from centre back to full back. Harnan always had measure of Duff and no one ran up Meath defence in 1986 to 1991 with liam Harnan was centre back. And Vinny Murphy scored a great goal grabbing ball in square and banging ball to net. Mick lyons always had the measure of Murphy and always kept him scoreless. And when Mick Lyons was full back no one caught the ball in the square. If Lyons played I have no doubt Duff or Murphy would have scored no goals. And Meath wud have won 3 in a row. 1989 for me is one All Ireland that really got away from Meath as well as 1997 when u had the best leinster championship in living memory. When Dublin v Meath was best Meath v Dublin game ever , 3 game saga with kildare which included the 2nd game which was greatest games ever played in Croke Park according to Michael Muiritigh and Pat Spillane and 97 final between Offaly v Meath when Offaly won was a great great leinster final. A backdoor or if we didnt get involved in 3 game saga with kildare we wud won 2 in a row in 97 as Fay or O Connell would have the measure of Maurice Fitzgerald like they did in 01 semi final.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 15/04/2019 16:58:21    2178991

Replying To OGarmaile:  "You wrote plenty there about Meath - quite insightful. One thing however. Can a county be described as a midlands county if it has a coastline?"
Good point but the Meath coastline is quite small and vast majority of county is landlocked. There are few different Meaths . Meaths neighbouring counties and rivals have had big impact on Meath fooball. U have Meath up at Dublin border. Then u have Meath down at Kildare border. Then u have Meath up at Cavan and louth border and on the border with Ulster. And then u have Meath on the border with the midlands. I would consider allot of Meath especially west of the county , midlands. And fooball in this part of the county is influenced by the midlands. But as I said there are 4 or 5 different areas to Meath where the county borders other counties and that has had an influence in that area . Meath have had massive rivalries with kildare in the south and Cavan and louth in north. And whole county with Dublin. And Westmeath to the west. When u bring all those parts of Meath together u have a Meath football team. It doesnt matter were u r in Meath u have a rival on ur border ur doorstep , we have 7 no other football county has as many. This give u an identity and a fighting spirit. Meaths rivalries with Dublin kildare louth Cavan Westmeath Offaly have been the making of Meath football. It meant when Meath teams came out of the provience they were battle hardern aftet titanic struggles with Dublin louth kildare Westmeath Offaly.

But overall I would consider Meath characteristics make up as a midlands county , but population growth recently that has changed. In many way I see Meath as part of midland / mid Ulster football region traditiinally. U have always had a superpower in this region. Louth and Down wud be more North East. But in north midlands/ mid Ulster Cavan were first superpower in this region then Offaly then Meath and now Tyrone. All similar counties. Known for being tough not liked ( Offaly team early 70s were not liked none as toughest team ever ) and very sucessful v kerrys and Dublins. So ur own county Tyrone is natural heir to Meath football the same way Meath was natural heir to Cavan football. Thats the way I see it. I hope that makes sense.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 15/04/2019 17:13:35    2178994