Dubs Rivals - Kerry

Its a strange existence being a Dubs fan, ye all seem to flock to us to proclaim yourselves our "biggest rival"

I suppose we should take it as a compliment..... Meath yokes like to say they are our biggest rivals, often to the annoyance of Kildare Flourbags who see themselves as the true threat in the province. Biffos often lament the days that they indeed were our biggest rival, even the poor misfortunes in Laois one enjoyed the trappings of being seen as a rival of the mighty Dubs .....

Up North, teams come and go. We never know who our next "mortal enemy" from Black Ulster will be....One year its Tyrone proclaiming they have it over on us and talking of a special rivalry they and only they enjoy with the Dubs, but then, didnt Armagh say the same thing not so long ago? Donegal like to think they are seen as a rival also of the mighty Jackeen, but sure we only see ye once in a blue moon, hardly a rivalry!
And as with all "short term rivalries" with Ulster teams..in the end we see ye off, all of ye....we always do.....

Out west, the Mayo lads seem to have an indian aign on us, 2 defeats in the last 2 games and they seem to think that gives them a special place in the national psyche as the "tormentor in chief" on the dirty Dubs....harldy boys...hardly...come back when ye actually win something of note, theres good lads....Mayo are not on the horizon of the Super Jacks when we draw up our plans for national domination each Spring. Mayo dont figure...never have, and until they win something and stop proclaiming semi final wins as "the best day of me like like".....they never will

Cork - an interesting one. There is a natural rivalry, first city V Second City and all that. A cultural rivalry, but in sporting terms...no rivalry whatsoever. We never feared Cork, never will. Rivals, not on your nelly. Cork are nothing to us Dubs. They dont count in the grand scheme of things.

Kerry - thats another story. Thats a rival. A rival we can respect and fear in equal measure. A real Rival, and a rivalry that speaks to the very history of the organisation. A rivalry that transcends all otherS, even our own local rivalries with the Meaths and Corks of this world.
Aye, many of you have laid claim to he honour of being Dublins no.1 Rival, it seems something many of ye aspire to, but only one county can truly claim that crown. The mighty Kingdom of Kerry. And Sunday week this classic will have another chapter.

As a hard to understand baddie is a brilliant move once famously said.......LET THE GAMES BEGIN

Lets do this!

............... :) ...............

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/08/2013 15:51:06    1466579

I've never seen a hook packed with so much bait :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 23/08/2013 16:02:16    1466591

I didn't want to be no.1 anyway >:-(

Ps, we're not short of rivals in the Royal county at this stage, it's a long aul list!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/08/2013 16:04:20    1466593

Liam an answer for your other thread on HYPE etc and why people pick on the Dubs? ^^^^^^^^ read back my friend, read back ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11678 - 23/08/2013 16:04:27    1466594

And right on schedule, here comes the misty eyed sentimentality I predicted, 3 days early granted but lets look back at some old grainy 70's footage of the GAA in its heyday. To be honest with you Liam, I doubt if Kerry ever looked upon Dublin as a rival, more of a play thing I'd say.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/08/2013 16:04:57    1466595

It is not that everyone sees the Dubs as rivals. The dubs have all the advantages on their side, the population advantage, the financial advantage, the sporting facilities advantage, the playing every game at home advantage. It is nothing personal against Dublin GAA or their supporters, it is just a part of human nature to cheer on the underdogs against Dublin.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 23/08/2013 16:05:32    1466596

ha ha ha ha ha ha
i love this place!!!

even the wise ones here STILL dont get the craic!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/08/2013 16:06:43    1466597

Dubs v Kerry rivalry not what it used to be with other counties taking over Dublin's role in more recent times. It looks now though that Dublin are becoming consistently strong again. Listen, if Tyrone lose this weekend, I'm right behind the Dubs, fore square. But if Tyrone sneak past Mayo, I'd really have to see them get a crack at our friends from the south west. No harm to the Dubs, it would be the dream final imo.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 23/08/2013 16:51:50    1466643

Liamo , you could catch Moby Dick with the amount of bait tossed .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/08/2013 16:52:15    1466644

Dublin v Meath is the big one for me. Kerry seem to beat ye most of the time in the championship , nobody in Leinster is a threat until Meath re-group. Even when meath are weak they manage to rise it and give you a game.

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 23/08/2013 16:53:54    1466647

Meath. Always Meath.

Then Kerry.

After that they are all the same. Culchies.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 23/08/2013 17:03:03    1466653

Nasty rivalry = Dublin V Meath

Healthy rivalry = Dublin V Kerry

Big Flash City Show-offs rivalry = 31 V Dublin

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 23/08/2013 17:14:15    1466664

It's just the Green and Gold counties for the Dubs really isn't? I bets you's can't stand Leitrim, dirty shower them.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/08/2013 17:25:27    1466673

After that they are all the same. Culchies.
------------------------------------------------

Totally wrong!

Nordies are most definitely not culchies!!....they are 'nordies'!!.....they dont even share the same characteristics or smell!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/08/2013 17:28:37    1466677

Beautiful sentiment....sob

oricelt (USA) - Posts: 207 - 23/08/2013 17:28:42    1466678

Snuff

I don't discriminate. They are all the same.

Culchies the lot of them.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 23/08/2013 18:02:15    1466705

Out of the rivalries Liam mentioned above, the only one you could argue Dublin have got the better of is Cork. I'm talking last 30 years stuff now.

I've always thought Meath superior due to the fact Meath won 4 all-Ireland's to Dublin's 3 in that 30 year period. Add to that the 4 games in 1991 (still one of the greatest finishes to a football game ever) and Meath > Dublin. Also man for man in the early 90's Meath had real beasts of men playing for them. Mick Lyons could have caught jupiter with the saucepans of hands on him. Joe Cassells, O'Rourke, O'Connell right through to Darren Fay. Lads built like Volvo's, ready to be smashed up but perfectly safe afterwards.

In contrast I used to see Barr & Redmond more as pretenders to the throne of the Meath lads. The Dubs did have their own hard men before that too though, Duff, Mullins for example. Those lads took no guff on the field and you earned it when you played them.

Kerry are superior cos they hand out all-Ireland medals like Kimberley Mikado at xmas down there.

The Nordies because of 91, 92, 94, and Dublin not being able to beat them in the 00's. 95 was controversial, but it was Dublin's title.

As for Mayo I know they are not superior to Dublin as the Dubs have more All-Ireland's but come on, McDonald's point must still hurt.

Dublin would definitely be considered a great team if they can win this season's Sam. They'd have 2 out of 3 under different managers, showing that they have what it takes at all levels.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 23/08/2013 18:11:12    1466711

Funny how you say yous always see off the Ulster teams?...what about the hammerings Armagh and Tyrone gave to yous over a 10 year period?....same old dubs,thinking their the best.And also half of the ulster counties dont see yous as rivals!,they just raise there game vs the dubs because its always in your own patch.Same old Gaa,Dubs 1st-Everyone else 2nd.

El_Che (Donegal) - Posts: 25 - 23/08/2013 18:15:54    1466713

Come on lads! There's more 'grass' in Dublin than the rest of the country put together...

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1730 - 23/08/2013 18:23:10    1466717

Its as easy for these culchies to be wound up .. As easy as one..two...three.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 23/08/2013 18:42:40    1466726