Players Attitude

Can I pick the brains please: What is the best way to tackle or handle a group of players that have an attitude problem both on and off the field. Coaching an under age team of "invincible" teenagers, mouthy, disruptive, sniggering during team talks, total lack of respect for other players, coaches or refs.

Any opinions?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 22/04/2013 21:13:17    1372075

22/04/2013 21:13:17
Horsebox77
Can I pick the brains please: What is the best way to tackle or handle a group of players that have an attitude problem both on and off the field. Coaching an under age team of "invincible" teenagers, mouthy, disruptive, sniggering during team talks, total lack of respect for other players, coaches or refs.

Any opinions?

Does your club have a code of conduct?
By lack of respect how are the players showing this lack of respect?
If some players are causing serious trouble and annoyance to you and other coaches get the club chairman/ underage chairman to speak to players and check up club rules to see if anything can be done.
By team talks. How long are these talks? If theyre quite long shorten them as if theyre too long the teens will lose interest long before the end

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 22/04/2013 21:25:02    1372083

Get rid of the lads who are not interested, only way. They'll continue having a bad effect on the team. Send them home and tell them not to come back.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 22/04/2013 21:30:37    1372091

Sounds like most under age teams. When I played under age football we had a rule that if a player picked up a yellow card for mouthing or stupid play they didn't start the next game. Most lads grow out of mouthing and that silly crap by they're last year u16.
My own club I know has a code of conduct and so does other clubs in Kerry.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 22/04/2013 21:57:46    1372110

Appeal to their sense of pride in where they are from and pride in their own people!
Share with them the pride that you have for your own people!
Let them know what their own people have done for the county and for Ireland!
Instill in them that it is their duty to carry on the proud traditions of their people, their area, and its heros.
Let them know that they must uphold the dignity of their club/area/people and that it is in their gift to ensure that their people are always represented in a good light!
Let them know that when they wear their club tracksuit or hoodie or whatever on the street that people can see who they are and where they come from and that to love the club and to love football/hurling is to let the public see the lads who wear the 'X' club hoodie are fine young lads from a fine club!
Let them know that to love the club and to love their game is to treat it and everyone involved with it with the respect they all deserve just the same!

Young lads love discipline, because it give them a structure they often lack in the home!.....get them unified in something to be proud of and battle for....and watch them then not want to let 'each other' down!

Thats your basis for team unity.....not laps of the pitch type daftness, they will just walk away from!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/04/2013 21:59:01    1372111

Ormondbannerman: County: Clare: Posts: 4384:

Yes our club has a code of conduct, however I have inherited this team from other coaches who have had enough and walked away, with regard to respect, or lack of respect, when a coach is giving a team talk or explaining some facet of the game 2 or 3 will be talking away or laughing, even in a game you could have the full & Corner forward over in the corner talking. Serious discipline issues, mouthy to both coaches and refs several bookings for same plus sending off… which then are boasted about.

Dropping the player is fine and we have done that but with struggling numbers the odds are always stacked slightly in their favour. Teams talks are kept short and a different coach talk every time not to have repetition.

Snufalufagus: Appeal to their sense of pride in where they are from and pride in their own people!

I see what you mean Snuff…and thanks but not being ungrateful, that would be laughed at.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 23/04/2013 08:45:19    1372131

would it be worth having a senior player(s) in the club someone that they all look up to, having a chat with them some evening on giving respect to coaches.players and each other?

If not I start making examples of the main guys and once one ot them start acting up send him out to do 10 laps and make sure he does them while the rest are playing their game, they'll usually quiten down then if they know that 10 laps await them and they get no game at the end.

freddy2 (Wexford) - Posts: 215 - 23/04/2013 10:18:20    1372164

If not I start making examples of the main guys and once one ot them start acting up send him out to do 10 laps and make sure he does them while the rest are playing their game, they'll usually quiten down then if they know that 10 laps await them and they get no game at the end.

Done that.. after one lap out the gate and home, other option is punish everyone... one lad acts up they ALL go for 3-4 laps to teach the "team" ethic that if one gets sent off in a game all will take the flack... again pointless

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 23/04/2013 10:31:25    1372168

Horsebox77,

Fair enough, but it has worked for me before (not GAA but working class kids) but I find that kids crave a sense of identity and discipline that they dont find at home (or in school) in many cases!

You say you have kids that lack discipline and respect!....Whilst in my day they would be few and far between and regarded as a brat and social outcast.....today Im sure they are actually 'good kids' who are born to the time of the need for 'instant gratification' whether its, instant TV, instant music, instant social networking or any other rubbish!

Others on here have identified methods to stop the messing but that alone will not work and may see lads not turning up!

I'll tell you a story from Lucan Sars that was told to me by two mayo men who were at the Dublin V Cavan game to celebrate the opening of the new Lucan clubhouse at the 12th lock.
One man told me how despite all the chip vans etc that were there that day there was not a single shred of rubbish to be seen around the place...and then they seen something that astounded them....in front of the clubhouse were a bunch of kids eating chips and one of them dropped a load of chips to the ground.....the kid instantly went into the clubhouse and came out with a bit of cardboard from a crisp box and proceeded to use his foot to scoop the chips up onto the cardboard and carry them away to dump them in the bin! While this was happening one of the men had nudged the other to see what the kid was doing and quipped....'ya wouldnt get a kid doing that in our club'!!!

The point is that that kid knows that it is HIS club and he is delighted to be a part of it. In Lucan, the GAA is King! He is with his mates and he wouldnt want to be anywhere else but here at HIS club with everyone!

You should take a holistic view to sorting this:
1. Kids today want instant gratification so....Put up a 'programme of training' outlining what each trg session will consist of and have an end goal for each session and an achieveable end goal for the season! The kids need to know that they are working towards something and see it getting closer and be able to focus the mind on it!.....Praise them! 'Mol an óige agus tíocfaidh siad'!!
2. What kids absolutely crave is the structure, guide-rails, boundaries and discipline (and encouragement) they may be lacking at home so.....Enforce discipline!....no matter how good a lad is, the moment he gobs off on the pitch or whatever....take him off and do not start him for the next game!......Cold bowls of cumuppance are the best medicine to dampen any egos!
Team mates will soon get annoyed when a lad finds himself being punished for indiscipline by his own manager and demand he give up the antics!
3. Points I made in my opening post I wont go over again but vitally important sense of belonging and ownership of club and county etc!
4. Praise them!....let them individually know how good they are! Even when you take a lad off for indiscipline tell him, look how the lads are struggling without you out there with them, but I will not have you disrespect anyone like you do! You will be surprised how much they will respond to firm but fair actions! They 'want to belong' so you show them how to do it and what way is the only acceptable way!
5. Be honest!.....dont bluff or you will be found out!
And remember....they are kids, different generation to you and I, but kids nonetheless!

Firm...Fair...Friendly!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/04/2013 10:46:53    1372179

county players
get them in to talk to them.

I would talk to them and read them out a set of rules for the squad and get them all to sign it some day after training. if they aren't willing to abide by it, hit the high road.
reward the players later (if they adhere to it) with some gear (hoodies etc) or a trip to some non GAA related activity - outdoor sports etc

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1931 - 23/04/2013 10:52:50    1372183

Get out the wooden spoon

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 23/04/2013 11:24:27    1372200

Threaten them with Kevin O'Brien or Ger Brennan if they dont behave?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 23/04/2013 11:25:42    1372201

Naughty step worked well for me.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 23/04/2013 11:26:28    1372202

take away training games and challenges, make training long tough and boring until they are willing to change their ways. you could alos bring in an outsider for a session or two who will break them down.

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 23/04/2013 11:44:58    1372220

You know Snuff, I often coursed your posts and branded you a **** stirrer, but in all fairness you make fair sence there in your last post, so thanks.

Ya there are a few options open to us I don;t want to go down the "old headmaster route" but at this stage enough is enough and a tougher stand has to be taken, the funny thing is if these lads rowed in one direction there is a fair tidy team there that can go places, but I think 2 or three lads that are good and have the ability but lack the intereast need to be sent packing for a bit.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 23/04/2013 12:06:01    1372242

Horsebox77,

Dont worry, Im used to it!
I just get lambasted for telling the inconvenient truth!.....Sure didnt they crucify Jesus for the same!

"The gunfire around us makes it hard to hear. But the human voice is different from other sounds. It can be heard over noises that bury everything else. Even when it's not shouting. Even when it's just a whisper. Even the lowest whisper can be heard - over armies...when it's telling the truth!!!"

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/04/2013 12:28:51    1372259

Snufalufagus

1372179 Horsebox77,

Fair enough, but it has worked for me before (not GAA but working class kids) but I find that kids crave a sense of identity and discipline that they dont find at home (or in school) in many cases!

You say you have kids that lack discipline and respect!....Whilst in my day they would be few and far between and regarded as a brat and social outcast.....today Im sure they are actually 'good kids' who are born to the time of the need for 'instant gratification' whether its, instant TV, instant music, instant social networking or any other rubbish!

Others on here have identified methods to stop the messing but that alone will not work and may see lads not turning up!

I'll tell you a story from Lucan Sars that was told to me by two mayo men who were at the Dublin V Cavan game to celebrate the opening of the new Lucan clubhouse at the 12th lock.
One man told me how despite all the chip vans etc that were there that day there was not a single shred of rubbish to be seen around the place...and then they seen something that astounded them....in front of the clubhouse were a bunch of kids eating chips and one of them dropped a load of chips to the ground.....the kid instantly went into the clubhouse and came out with a bit of cardboard from a crisp box and proceeded to use his foot to scoop the chips up onto the cardboard and carry them away to dump them in the bin! While this was happening one of the men had nudged the other to see what the kid was doing and quipped....'ya wouldnt get a kid doing that in our club'!!!

The point is that that kid knows that it is HIS club and he is delighted to be a part of it. In Lucan, the GAA is King! He is with his mates and he wouldnt want to be anywhere else but here at HIS club with everyone!

You should take a holistic view to sorting this:
1. Kids today want instant gratification so....Put up a 'programme of training' outlining what each trg session will consist of and have an end goal for each session and an achieveable end goal for the season! The kids need to know that they are working towards something and see it getting closer and be able to focus the mind on it!.....Praise them! 'Mol an óige agus tíocfaidh siad'!!
2. What kids absolutely crave is the structure, guide-rails, boundaries and discipline (and encouragement) they may be lacking at home so.....Enforce discipline!....no matter how good a lad is, the moment he gobs off on the pitch or whatever....take him off and do not start him for the next game!......Cold bowls of cumuppance are the best medicine to dampen any egos!
Team mates will soon get annoyed when a lad finds himself being punished for indiscipline by his own manager and demand he give up the antics!
3. Points I made in my opening post I wont go over again but vitally important sense of belonging and ownership of club and county etc!
4. Praise them!....let them individually know how good they are! Even when you take a lad off for indiscipline tell him, look how the lads are struggling without you out there with them, but I will not have you disrespect anyone like you do! You will be surprised how much they will respond to firm but fair actions! They 'want to belong' so you show them how to do it and what way is the only acceptable way!
5. Be honest!.....dont bluff or you will be found out!
And remember....they are kids, different generation to you and I, but kids nonetheless!

Firm...Fair...Friendly!

Snuf this is a really great post and could be used as a blue print for mentors and how they should work with young players in any club. Horsebox you have your advice. Best of luck with it.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6199 - 23/04/2013 12:29:52    1372260

Snufalufagus

Horsebox77,

Dont worry, Im used to it!
I just get lambasted for telling the inconvenient truth!.....Sure didnt they crucify Jesus for the same!

"The gunfire around us makes it hard to hear. But the human voice is different from other sounds. It can be heard over noises that bury everything else. Even when it's not shouting. Even when it's just a whisper. Even the lowest whisper can be heard - over armies...when it's telling the truth!!!"

Jesus was big into humility as well Snuff, wee bit of work to be done there yet methinks!!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 23/04/2013 12:38:14    1372266

Horsebox

Drop them. No matter how good they might be, dont even use them as subs. Lose a few games if need be over it. Theyll either kop on of **** off. Make sure the kids who love it and are willing to listen are not disrupted by a couple of clowns.

If ye dont want to go that route then calla ameeting with players and parents and at the meeting name the couple of lads

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 23/04/2013 12:55:30    1372278

Jesus was big into humility as well Snuff
-----------------------------------------------------

Hmmm, not so sure!

He did have to keep proving himself right all the time and had lots of lads following him around!.....so the similarities between him and myself on this site are uncanny!
....and as the son of God, I think he had a little bit of a head start too...dont you!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/04/2013 12:57:02    1372279