Casement Park redevelopment.

Ah Tyronetime do you not realise it was totally tongue in cheek and not to be taken seriously? My comments were a retort to brend's attack on Belfast people and not political or to put anyone down. I know the history of Belfast Nationalists only too well; my grandfather's people go back generations to the Lough Neagh area around Crumlin and East Tyrone/South Derry while my grandmother's folks are originally from Galway so I am of culchie stock too as are most Belfast people. Having said that some of the comments about Casement and Belfast have been petty and nasty from SOME of our fellow Ulster folk; you cannot deny that there is a form of 'bigotry' and anti-Belfast sentiment amongst SOME Ulster GAA elements and fans outside Belfast.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 08/02/2013 17:01:59    1330676

Ah good so we are having a bit of banter. Glad you have a wee bit of Trone in ye as we are the hardiest of stock, that inherited fortitude will serve you well.
Now you would have to admit you've had quite a few free ones at Tyrone supporters recently?
Brend's a rascal as you know and I have been very supportive of Belfast and the GAA community as you well know as have others.

In fact I reignited this discussion when the first impressions were released.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 08/02/2013 17:19:52    1330683

if it's all seater then it could be used in the 2023 rugby worldcup which i hear could be played in ireland.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/02/2013 20:21:43    1330747

Its a total waste of money building a GAA stadium of this nature in Belfast;
I have no real problems with the ulster final being in Casement!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 08/02/2013 20:54:39    1330761

Jack_Goff

I can't believe they aren't putting a terrace behind at least one of the goals. It's only 3,000 bigger than clones. A terrace could have brought it up to 45,000.

There will be big ulster finals in future that could have done with the extra capacity a terrace gives and a lot of people prefer it.

It should be used for all ireland quarter finals involving 2 ulster teams. It sold out would be much better than 30,000 from 2 ulster counties going to croker.

It's a joke to be honest. Really and truely I think they've made a hames of this. I just hope it gets brought up in some shape manner of form.

Kerry lad above, if they're making it all seater in the off chance they may get a game in a tournament which may or not be played in Ireland well that's slightly farcical.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 08/02/2013 21:32:27    1330779

understood sam, i'll keep out of it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/02/2013 21:58:12    1330797

the last rugby world cup had not got all seater stadiums anyway,i seen one match and they were standing on grass bank behind the goal very simliar to navan

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/02/2013 11:07:23    1330827

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/19305676
This is from August last year and clearly states the revamped Casement will be used in the IRFU world cup bid. Croke, Gaelic grounds, Cork, Killarney and Pearce staduim are the others Gaa grounds if the IRFU win it.

lufty (Antrim) - Posts: 77 - 09/02/2013 13:16:10    1330875

sure don't ye know lads that health and safety will want it to be all seated cause it'l make their job a lot easier, but i do think a roof would be a great idea, is there any of ye out there that thinks that would be a good idea?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2013 18:13:11    1330994

An Ulster final not played in pissing rain, wouldn't be the same kingdomboy!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 09/02/2013 18:18:14    1331001

The model I seen today had a glass roof over Andytown road end similar to New Landsdowne road

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 09/02/2013 21:22:37    1331136

I didn't realise that Tyronetime it's quite a good idea and I think it's something to do with the residents opposite that end like at the Aviva, to do with natural daylight and all that which is fair enough; people have to live there 365 days a year.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 09/02/2013 21:32:50    1331148

Hurl.Force.One

1330631 Why would you build a new GAA complex away out of sight in mid ulster? Ceasement pk will be hosting some of the GAA's major fixtures and really there is nowhere much better to show case than in Belfast! I would love to see the city decked in colour on an ulster final day not stuck in some small town like omagh. Really, If your finding it hard to travel to belfast from anywhere in Ireland you would be better sitting at home with rte2 on.

OPTION A: Build a Stadium in Omagh, a stadium that would mean travel times of no more than 45-50 minutes for all fans of Ulsters' 9 counties.

OPTION B: Build a Stadium in Belfast, because "there is nowhere better to show case than Belfast!". It's a big City, like sure fans can go see titanic quarters and all that.

What's more important when building a stadium, the fans travelling or the City Councils tourism adverts?

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 10/02/2013 22:00:12    1331785

I think it's something to do with the residents opposite that end like at the Aviva, to do with natural daylight and all that which is fair enough; people have to live there 365 days a year.

I'd say its the ones who bought the apartments with the balconies Ulsterman - nice wee spot for viewing the games as Casement currently is and there are always ones out on them when matches are on. God forbid they would have to pay through the turnstile... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 11/02/2013 11:12:37    1331895

What were the Stipulations attached to the GAA receiving such a large amount of money for a Stadium? When any sports body/organistation receives money in the form of a grant, there are normally strigent stipulations attach.
Is this Information available to the public?

Strange they would look to build 3 stadiums in Belfast City now.

As Croke Park is the All Ireland series venue, Casement stadium will only really be used for Provincial matches. Knowing the GAA, It will end up hosting almost every Ulster Championship match with the potential to draw a crowd in excess of 10,000.

With Ravenhill and Windsor Park also being developed, It is unlikely the venue will be looked at for holding concerts and other events too often. And with it essentially becoming the main Ulster GAA stadium, why place it in the extreme East of the province?

I am willing to bet that the British goverment insisted that the stadium money must be spent in Belfast, or the east of the province. All £72 Million of it. Could this all be purely to host the Rugby World cup?

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 18/02/2013 18:01:18    1335715

Two white elephants separated only by a stretch of motorway, if they're not careful they'll be breeding uncontrollably and the city will be full of them.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/02/2013 14:54:01    1336712

"If they are not careful they will be breeding uncontrollably and the city will be full of them". Is that Holyland students from Tyrone, Armagh and Fermanagh brend or civil service middle managers from the same places?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 20/02/2013 15:32:47    1336748

Ulsterman

"If they are not careful they will be breeding uncontrollably and the city will be full of them". Is that Holyland students from Tyrone, Armagh and Fermanagh brend or civil service middle managers from the same places?

You don't seem keen on outsiders coming to work in Belfast. You made similar comments on the previous thread on this topic.
Maybe if government departments were located on a fair basis ( I'm thinking on the Strabane/Ballykelly row recently ), people wouldnt have to travel to places like Belfast for work and you wouldnt have to make jibes then.

GAA matches don't draw vast crowds from abroad, with maybe the exception of All Ireland final's. Provincial crowds tend to travel from their respective counties on match day.
95% of fans will likely travel to and from the match on match day, either by car or bus.

If building a Provincial stadium, we should really take these facts into consideration as such a stadium will likely be the venue for the majority of big Ulster games in the future.
While some may argure that Antrim/Down have the majority of Northern Ireland's population. It is worth noting that they don't have the majority of GAA fans by any means.
A stadium that is built to service the needs of GAA fans in Ulster should be located in a central location of the 9 County Provincial Ulster. Otherwise keep it for Antrim and Down home games.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 21/02/2013 21:37:18    1337611

It seems that few people are taking into consideration the bigger picture: Surely the investment in sporting facility infra-structure is to be welcomed: the redevelopment of Casement, Windsor & Ravenhill will provide 21st Century facilities for 21st Century sports and will enhance and having witnessed 1st hand all these stadia recently; they are all in major need of it: he who pays the piper calls the tune and given the level of public funding involved the "fools on the hill" will be expecting a return on their investment for NI PLC; so anywhere other than Belfast was always a non-starter especially after the "Kesh fiasco". Casement/Windsor & Ravenhill will enhance Belfast & NI's ability to host major sporting events in years to come and given the dimensions of Casement it could be converted into an Athletics venue for one- off events: who knows future NI sporting may well see the development of the Antrim Forum and or Mary Peters Track: both Queens and Jordanstown have excellent sports facilities to be used as potential training facilities: Casement is only a 15 min walk from the train station 10 min taxi from City Centre and once the Westlink is sorted at The M2 junction it will have a 1st class road infrastructure: if the sports village concept kicks in additional parking will come on board:15-20 years ago no-one would have ever considered Belfast hosting an event like the World Fire and Police Games yet here we are staging them this year; we could be hosting major sporting events like the Special olympics for one in years to come: the Executive wiil be looking tto events like this to bring tourists and revenue back into the local economy: remember there is nothing within these plans which stipulates that the Ulster Council has to stage all major games here: the venues for fixtures will still be at the discretion of the Ulster Council

KevHill (Antrim) - Posts: 271 - 22/02/2013 16:03:48    1337942

KevHill

Casement is only a 15 min walk from the train station 10 min taxi from City Centre and once the Westlink is sorted at The M2 junction it will have a 1st class road infrastructure: if the sports village concept kicks in additional parking will come on board:15-20 years ago no-one would have ever considered Belfast hosting an event like the World Fire and Police Games yet here we are staging them this year; we could be hosting major sporting events like the Special olympics for one in years to come: the Executive will be looking to events like this to bring tourists and revenue back into the local economy: remember there is nothing within these plans which stipulates that the Ulster Council has to stage all major games here: the venues for fixtures will still be at the discretion of the Ulster Council

Knowing the GAA's past record with Croke Park after it's redevelopment with hosting Ulster finals there. I would not be full of confidence in them taking travel logistics of fans into account when deciding were games will be held.

The World Fire and Police Games?? I don't recall ever hearing of that event before, Is it a big well known event?.

Belfast is NOT suitable for having Ulster's main GAA stadium, in the same way that Clones was NOT convenient for many people for many years.
We have a superb opportunity to build a Ulster GAA stadium, which with careful planning will be convenient to all the people of Ulster.

I don't begrudge Casement Park getting a long deserved makeover. However I do object to the fact that it will become the hub of Ulster GAA games for many moons to come.
I only really see Antrim fans coming out strongly supporting it, with the odd Down fan too. Belfast is not convenient for the Majority of GAA fans in Ulster, not when compared with a more central location.

The Executive are merely regional supervisors with limited powers. That money came from London, likely with the view to hosting the Rugby world cup.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 22/02/2013 21:39:46    1338129